< >
Hello, guest! Please log in or register.

The PokéCommunity

Go Back     The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub > Beginner’s Lounge [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices

Beginner’s Lounge Where all good (and bad) ideas start. This is the Beginner’s Lounge, where if you need a helping hand or want to develop your small ideas, you bring it here. We won't bite.

Closed Thread Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #6951    
Old November 11th, 2008 (11:07 AM).
Kaizer-X's Avatar
Kaizer-X Kaizer-X is offline
RoM HaCkeR
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Look outside your window and you will see me there
Age: 25
Gender:
Nature: Bold
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by Busted 101 View Post
How do can you translate text from a rom with advance text. Or what script editior would translate it?
i dont quite get you there but if u want to edit text like the opening msg use a-text but if u want to edit script use xse. Anyways what do yo mean by translate?








LINKS:
MY HACK:
Pokemon Twilight: Road to Dreams
MY TEAM:
Rom Tempest Crew
NEWLETTER:
Rom Hacking Newsletter
Credit to Rényui for theme

Relevant Advertising!

  #6952    
Old November 11th, 2008 (2:14 PM). Edited November 11th, 2008 by Nytkoi.
Nytkoi's Avatar
Nytkoi Nytkoi is offline
Pokemon Copper!
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: In your charasmatic fantasy.
Posts: 1,637
1. the charizard pallete offset (without the colors that you can't change)
Thanks a lot, whoever helps!
Pokemon Copper Version - Now on PC!
New pokemon, new region, new adventure!

i am a graphic designer :: want to help me w/ pokemon copper?
  #6953    
Old November 11th, 2008 (7:01 PM).
Busted 101's Avatar
Busted 101 Busted 101 is offline
Majestic but Crazed
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Somewhere...
Gender:
Nature: Brave
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaizer-X View Post
i dont quite get you there but if u want to edit text like the opening msg use a-text but if u want to edit script use xse. Anyways what do yo mean by translate?
When I mean translate I mean like to convert from one language to another.
  #6954    
Old November 11th, 2008 (8:02 PM).
Shadows's Avatar
Shadows Shadows is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 20
Nature: Calm
Posts: 857
Quote:
Originally Posted by Busted 101 View Post
When I mean translate I mean like to convert from one language to another.
Your gonna need a Hex editor, May need a script editor, A-text is optional.
  #6955    
Old November 11th, 2008 (8:31 PM).
Busted 101's Avatar
Busted 101 Busted 101 is offline
Majestic but Crazed
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Somewhere...
Gender:
Nature: Brave
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by T View Post
Your gonna need a Hex editor, May need a script editor, A-text is optional.
Would a hex editor translate the games language all at once?
  #6956    
Old November 11th, 2008 (9:02 PM).
IIMarckus's Avatar
IIMarckus IIMarckus is offline
[email protected]
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Gender:
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by Busted 101 View Post
When I mean translate I mean like to convert from one language to another.
If you don’t know the language then don’t bother even attempting a translation.
iimarck.us / hax.iimarck.us

If you want me, please contact me by email. [email protected]

If you want to hack Pokémon RBY or GSC, read, read, and read some more. This has tons of valuable information.

Pokémon Red disassembly project

Rules that should be rethought: 25charlimit, bumping.
Bad posts are bad posts, regardless of how many words are in them or how old the thread is.
Good posts are good posts, regardless of how old the thread is—and brevity is underrated.
  #6957    
Old November 11th, 2008 (10:55 PM).
GoldFlareon's Avatar
GoldFlareon GoldFlareon is offline
Flareon Lover
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The world of pokemon.
Age: 22
Gender: Female
Nature: Naive
Posts: 47
Send a message via AIM to GoldFlareon
Hey, how do I edit the beginning script of Prof. Oak speaking? (And the bit with the little Pikachu sprite up the top; the three pages of text with a blue background)

Also, is there a way I could edit Pokemon Abilities--like, change the name of the ability? And the types. I would like to change one of the types, because I have a new type I would like to put into the game. I know I will have to overwrite the sprite of an existing type, and I am prepared to get rid of one type to add mine. I just don't know how to do it. ;;

Thanks.
"I need professional help."
"No arguments here!"
  #6958    
Old November 11th, 2008 (10:59 PM).
Ripper's Avatar
Ripper Ripper is offline
The Dark Knight
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Zealand
Gender:
Nature: Mild
Posts: 496
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Ripper
Pokemon Amplifier and A-Text will be your best friends.

Amp will change names of stuff, but hex editig would work too, and A-Text will change the start text.

I don't know about editing the type images, look for them in Unlz..
Credit to Dukey for this awesome signature!
  #6959    
Old November 11th, 2008 (11:05 PM).
GoldFlareon's Avatar
GoldFlareon GoldFlareon is offline
Flareon Lover
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The world of pokemon.
Age: 22
Gender: Female
Nature: Naive
Posts: 47
Send a message via AIM to GoldFlareon
So, A-Text changes it? Is it easy to use? *Opens* Looks easy enough. Thanks!

Amplifier? I don't like it. I use YAPE and Pokemon Editor Pro. I already know how to change names, I wanted to change the Ability name.
"I need professional help."
"No arguments here!"
  #6960    
Old November 11th, 2008 (11:53 PM).
Ninja Caterpie's Avatar
Ninja Caterpie Ninja Caterpie is offline
Sitting by the back window
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Best City OCE
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 5,988
Anyone know the Gym Leader music number in Sappy?
Brony represent.
  #6961    
Old November 12th, 2008 (3:10 AM).
GoldFlareon's Avatar
GoldFlareon GoldFlareon is offline
Flareon Lover
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The world of pokemon.
Age: 22
Gender: Female
Nature: Naive
Posts: 47
Send a message via AIM to GoldFlareon
I have a problem! :O
I am trying to insert a Pokemon's back sprite, but seeing it doesn't have a shiny form (good reason), I just used the same palette as the normal coloured one. But the colours went weird, and I can't change them.
Can someone tell me what's wrong?
"I need professional help."
"No arguments here!"
  #6962    
Old November 12th, 2008 (3:20 AM).
Kaizer-X's Avatar
Kaizer-X Kaizer-X is offline
RoM HaCkeR
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Look outside your window and you will see me there
Age: 25
Gender:
Nature: Bold
Posts: 391
To change the ability name use a-tack i think that is the name.... And did you save the pallets of the new backsprite?








LINKS:
MY HACK:
Pokemon Twilight: Road to Dreams
MY TEAM:
Rom Tempest Crew
NEWLETTER:
Rom Hacking Newsletter
Credit to Rényui for theme
  #6963    
Old November 12th, 2008 (3:25 AM). Edited November 12th, 2008 by GoldFlareon.
GoldFlareon's Avatar
GoldFlareon GoldFlareon is offline
Flareon Lover
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The world of pokemon.
Age: 22
Gender: Female
Nature: Naive
Posts: 47
Send a message via AIM to GoldFlareon
What do you mean by "save the palettes"? You mean, overwrite the Caterpie's palette with mine? I did do that. And I know what the palette's offset is, too.

And I'll try the A-tack thing. Thanks.
EDIT: A-tack is to change the attacks! Not the abilities. I forgot the name was A-tack. I use it all the time.
"I need professional help."
"No arguments here!"
  #6964    
Old November 12th, 2008 (4:47 AM).
Kaizer-X's Avatar
Kaizer-X Kaizer-X is offline
RoM HaCkeR
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Look outside your window and you will see me there
Age: 25
Gender:
Nature: Bold
Posts: 391
Owh, ablities not sure, i think you need to hex edit that. And bout the back sprite the pallets of the front and back should be somehow the same i think.








LINKS:
MY HACK:
Pokemon Twilight: Road to Dreams
MY TEAM:
Rom Tempest Crew
NEWLETTER:
Rom Hacking Newsletter
Credit to Rényui for theme
  #6965    
Old November 12th, 2008 (11:06 AM).
Dark_Master's Avatar
Dark_Master Dark_Master is offline
Dark/Ghost Pokemon Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada
Age: 21
Gender:
Posts: 76
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Dark_Master
If i need help making a bunch of sprites (Pixil art) i go to pixil projects right?
I am teh Landshark. Feer meh.
learned to EV train in 3 days and am proud of it
FC: 2965 2643 2486
Wins: 0 Losses: 1
  #6966    
Old November 12th, 2008 (2:11 PM).
insectduel's Avatar
insectduel insectduel is offline
Pokémon Brown Manga Maker
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bronx, New York
Age: 31
Gender: Male
Nature: Rash
Posts: 222
The question is kinda frustrating for me and I need urgent help. What's the proper way to record the .AVI using Visualboyadvance when you play the .VMV/.VM0 replay file. And every time I upload the .AVI file on YouTube, it says Failed (Unable to convert video file.) The .AVI works mostly for NES, and SNES videos but never GBA Videos. I want to host some GBA videos very badly.

The codec I use is x264/H264 and I don't have Windows XP to run the movie maker.
  #6967    
Old November 12th, 2008 (2:16 PM).
Nytkoi's Avatar
Nytkoi Nytkoi is offline
Pokemon Copper!
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: In your charasmatic fantasy.
Posts: 1,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nytkoi View Post
1. the charizard pallete offset (without the colors that you can't change)
Thanks a lot, whoever helps!
reposting question, for no one seems to answer
=[
Pokemon Copper Version - Now on PC!
New pokemon, new region, new adventure!

i am a graphic designer :: want to help me w/ pokemon copper?
  #6968    
Old November 12th, 2008 (4:50 PM).
nemesish's Avatar
nemesish nemesish is offline
Azure Trainer
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lima, Perú
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 284
Anyone knows where to get a complete list of the offsets of pokemon Crystal?
  #6969    
Old November 12th, 2008 (7:51 PM).
Pokemon Hackerz Pokemon Hackerz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
How do I change the mapping of pokemon yellow? I've tried pokemap but the maps are glitched up. I heard there was a way to change the mapping with hex editor but Im not sure.
  #6970    
Old November 12th, 2008 (9:49 PM).
IIMarckus's Avatar
IIMarckus IIMarckus is offline
[email protected]
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Gender:
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by nemesish View Post
Anyone knows where to get a complete list of the offsets of pokemon Crystal?
There’s not a “complete list of offsets” for any Pokémon game, although a few other games (Metroid and Super Mario Brothers, for instance) have been completely disassembled. The closest you’ll get is the Pokémon Gold ROM map—it is not complete, nor is it for Crystal, but general data structures are the same even if offsets are different. In addition, feel free to ask if you have trouble locating a specific piece of data.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pokemon Hackerz View Post
How do I change the mapping of pokemon yellow? I've tried pokemap but the maps are glitched up. I heard there was a way to change the mapping with hex editor but Im not sure.
If you’re some kind of masochist, sure. Changing maps in hex is possible but hugely impractical. Other map editors may exist, though.
iimarck.us / hax.iimarck.us

If you want me, please contact me by email. [email protected]

If you want to hack Pokémon RBY or GSC, read, read, and read some more. This has tons of valuable information.

Pokémon Red disassembly project

Rules that should be rethought: 25charlimit, bumping.
Bad posts are bad posts, regardless of how many words are in them or how old the thread is.
Good posts are good posts, regardless of how old the thread is—and brevity is underrated.
  #6971    
Old November 13th, 2008 (1:41 AM).
Rob-120's Avatar
Rob-120 Rob-120 is offline
~Revived~
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: My House?
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 119
GAH! I NEED HEKLP! I've got a freakin headache from being on google for so long looking to see if anyones has what I'm looking for or has answered my quiestions already...

1) I've been useing Poketext and Goldmap to hack gold version yet for some reason, I can't edit certain map areas like the Gym leader buildings and other small things...and for some reason I can't edit the text for my gyms either and a couple other buildings I can't change the text for...any suggestions on what I should do?

2)I've found some hacking tools for gold but I can't find any working tools that can edit the wild encounters for the pokemon, a tool that can change the sprites in the game, something to edit the trainers info, and a tool that can change the pokemons info...

I'm almosat gonna give up but I'm gonna keep searching for those tools and advice, PLEASE! SOME ONE HELP ME!!!
~Back after who knows when


  #6972    
Old November 13th, 2008 (6:28 AM).
Cy-Chan's Avatar
Cy-Chan Cy-Chan is offline
GSC Hacker
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK, England.
Age: 24
Gender:
Nature: Timid
Posts: 152
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Cy-Chan
Is it actually possible to add new overworlds to Fire Red? Whenever I exceed 151, the overworld automatically becomes a small boy overworld.
Cy-Chan's Guide to Pointers for Newbies!
Cy-Chan's Guide to Move Hacking for Newbies!
Cy-Chan's Fire Red Sound-type Patch (for Newbies?)
Cy-Chan's God-Awful Pixel Art
  #6973    
Old November 13th, 2008 (7:31 AM).
Hiche.. Hiche.. is offline
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 979
Yes, it's possible.
Go here: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=152021
  #6974    
Old November 13th, 2008 (11:03 AM).
Cy-Chan's Avatar
Cy-Chan Cy-Chan is offline
GSC Hacker
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK, England.
Age: 24
Gender:
Nature: Timid
Posts: 152
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Cy-Chan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hiche View Post
Sorry, doesn't help, I was using that guide in the first place.
Cy-Chan's Guide to Pointers for Newbies!
Cy-Chan's Guide to Move Hacking for Newbies!
Cy-Chan's Fire Red Sound-type Patch (for Newbies?)
Cy-Chan's God-Awful Pixel Art
  #6975    
Old November 13th, 2008 (1:23 PM).
Christos's Avatar
Christos Christos is offline
ModeratorBSCSPokéCommunity Daily Staff
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
Posts: 5,088
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nytkoi View Post
1. the charizard pallete offset (without the colors that you can't change)
Thanks a lot, whoever helps!
If you're looking for the titlescreen's Charizard palette, it's EAD5E8.
Closed Thread Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


  All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:09 PM.


Contact Us Archive Privacy Statement Terms of Service Top