Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #7376    
Old December 16th, 2008 (05:20 PM).
SLK's Avatar
SLK SLK is offline
Kirby ate Super Luigi!
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: idk, where do YOU live?
Gender:
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 7
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to SLK
1) How do I add new map names to the list of choose-able map names?


2) What do I do to get a script to activate across an area? And have the person locate the player from where the person is?


3) How do I check if the player has at least 1 pokemon in a script?
__________________
The Earth rotates about its axis.
The Earth and Moon revolve around each other.
The Earth/Moon system revolves around the sun
The Sun is in the Orion Belt which circles around the Milky Way Core and is approximately 7000 parsecs away. (Wikipedia data may be inaccurate though)

All this spinning makes my head hurt! lmao.
(We can't really feel it though.)
(At least I can't)
--------------------------------
Void Maw will chew you up, dissolve you, spit you out and use it to digest its next meal.
*Psychologist appears as if from nowhere*
"How does this make you feel?"
  #7377    
Old December 17th, 2008 (03:41 AM).
Crystal_scythe Crystal_scythe is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Gender:
Posts: 5
I have an easy question now...What must I do if I want to create a house,a person,a Gym,....?Can AM do this?Or Scripting?
  #7378    
Old December 17th, 2008 (06:47 AM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold destinedjagold is online now
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 6,979
Quote originally posted by andrian:
OK, I've used the overworld editor (Didn't realize that's what it was) and it does not show the surfing sprites. Help please?
Cyclone, I suppose...
you can't edit the 'thing' the player rides on through OW Editor... :\

Quote originally posted by NeoNemesis:
Is there a very quick way to edit the blocks in Amap? Like I want to move.. say the last 15 tiles down all the way to the end of the tileset blocks. Is there a way I can just drag them? It would save me a TON of time. I know I can edit one block/tile at a time, but that takes ages if you want to move a lot of tiles.
the 'Read Me' is made by LU-HO for that very purpose...

Quote originally posted by SLK:
1) How do I add new map names to the list of choose-able map names?


2) What do I do to get a script to activate across an area? And have the person locate the player from where the person is?


3) How do I check if the player has at least 1 pokemon in a script?
Quote originally posted by Crystal_scythe:
I have an easy question now...What must I do if I want to create a house,a person,a Gym,....?Can AM do this?Or Scripting?
1. No way to do this as of now, I guess...
2. I don't understand...
3. thethethethe's scripting tutorial is very useful. View it in the Documents and Tutorials...
__________________

3DS FC: 0061-1111-6462
TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)


  #7379    
Old December 17th, 2008 (07:11 AM).
Binary's Avatar
Binary Binary is offline
え?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Age: 20
Posts: 3,994
Quote originally posted by Crystal_scythe:
I have an easy question now...What must I do if I want to create a house,a person,a Gym,....?Can AM do this?Or Scripting?
To create a house, Advance Map. To create a person, OW editor, unLZ if you want to edit the sprite and PET if you want to make a trainer. To create a gym on a map Advance map. To create the events in a gym you need to script it all out.
__________________
  #7380    
Old December 17th, 2008 (07:39 AM).
KillerSnipe21 KillerSnipe21 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Gender:
Posts: 14
How would I make it so one script dose different things at different times like the poke balls at Oaks lab if you go to them before you met oak it says something then after you talk to Oak you can take one then after you take one you cant take the last one and its all under one script so how would I do that?
  #7381    
Old December 17th, 2008 (07:47 AM).
Binary's Avatar
Binary Binary is offline
え?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Age: 20
Posts: 3,994
Quote originally posted by KillerSnipe21:
How would I make it so one script dose different things at different times like the poke balls at Oaks lab if you go to them before you met oak it says something then after you talk to Oak you can take one then after you take one you cant take the last one and its all under one script so how would I do that?
I recommend you visiting the Tutorials/Documents section to see some of the tutorials. I would recommend thethethethe's tutorial or any of the XSE tutorials. I don't necessarily understand your question.
__________________
  #7382    
Old December 17th, 2008 (09:36 AM).
KillerSnipe21 KillerSnipe21 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Gender:
Posts: 14
Well ive checked them all and I dont see anything about it unless I missed it but what im trying to do is make it so a script dose diffenrent things after something else has happened like when you first go to get your pokemon at Oaks you cant take it untill you talk to Oak.
  #7383    
Old December 17th, 2008 (12:11 PM).
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew HackMew is offline
Mewtwo Strikes Back
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,314
Quote originally posted by KillerSnipe21:
Well ive checked them all and I dont see anything about it unless I missed it but what im trying to do is make it so a script dose diffenrent things after something else has happened like when you first go to get your pokemon at Oaks you cant take it untill you talk to Oak.
Obviously you missed something. What are you talking about are "flags".
See the tutorials for further info or just decompile some scripts.
__________________
  #7384    
Old December 17th, 2008 (12:39 PM).
shane2243's Avatar
shane2243 shane2243 is offline
Dragonite Lover
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Croydon
Gender:
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 94
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to shane2243
ive uploaded an image into pokemon sapphire, but when i go to test it, it comes out all messed up.

i've uploaded both images, one of my sprite, and one of what happens to it in game.


any help would be greatly appreciated.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg imagefkd.jpg‎ (7.4 KB, 10 views) (Save to Dropbox)
File Type: gif ashtobe1.gif‎ (1.4 KB, 62 views) (Save to Dropbox)
  #7385    
Old December 17th, 2008 (01:47 PM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold destinedjagold is online now
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 6,979
Quote originally posted by shane2243:
ive uploaded an image into pokemon sapphire, but when i go to test it, it comes out all messed up.

i've uploaded both images, one of my sprite, and one of what happens to it in game.


any help would be greatly appreciated.
the sprite's size should be 64x64 in both height and width...
palletes, should be 16 colours only...
if the image is too big, repoint it correctly...
__________________

3DS FC: 0061-1111-6462
TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)


  #7386    
Old December 17th, 2008 (02:09 PM).
shane2243's Avatar
shane2243 shane2243 is offline
Dragonite Lover
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Croydon
Gender:
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 94
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to shane2243
Quote originally posted by destinedjagold:

the sprite's size should be 64x64 in both height and width...
palletes, should be 16 colours only...
if the image is too big, repoint it correctly...

im gunna sound really stupid now but, how do i repoint it?
  #7387    
Old December 17th, 2008 (02:32 PM).
Liquid Shadow's Avatar
Liquid Shadow Liquid Shadow is offline
xD
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Gender:
Posts: 224
Quote originally posted by shane2243:
im gunna sound really stupid now but, how do i repoint it?
Repoint to to free space. In UNLZ uncheck the "abort if too big" and then in the image offset plug in an offset with free space (An example would be 0x845000). Finally, check the box "automatically fix pointers".

Also what number in UNLZ did you find for replacing the sprite in the intro? I can't seem to find it... .
  #7388    
Old December 17th, 2008 (02:42 PM).
Lady Berlitz's Avatar
Lady Berlitz Lady Berlitz is offline
Cinnamon ♪
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: An igloo in Canada
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 1,774
May I please ask what the APE palette number is for Ruby's grass animation? Thanks.
__________________
_█████████_
_█▄█████▄█_
_█▼▼▼▼▼▼▼█_
██_______██
_█▲▲▲▲▲▲▲█_
_█████████_
_██_____██_
  #7389    
Old December 17th, 2008 (02:49 PM).
shane2243's Avatar
shane2243 shane2243 is offline
Dragonite Lover
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Croydon
Gender:
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 94
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to shane2243
Quote originally posted by NeoNemesis:
Repoint to to free space. In UNLZ uncheck the "abort if too big" and then in the image offset plug in an offset with free space (An example would be 0x845000). Finally, check the box "automatically fix pointers".

Also what number in UNLZ did you find for replacing the sprite in the intro? I can't seem to find it... .

in pokemon sapphire the male is 1292, and the female is 1293.

however inruby i think it is 1293 for the make and 1294 for the female.

edit: thanks for the help =]], my character in now fully in, it did however delete the female character, but ive fixed that =].
  #7390    
Old December 17th, 2008 (02:51 PM).
amassenburg's Avatar
amassenburg amassenburg is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Gender:
Posts: 34
how do i open RAR. files every time i try it opens up no$Gba what do I do
  #7391    
Old December 17th, 2008 (03:04 PM).
shane2243's Avatar
shane2243 shane2243 is offline
Dragonite Lover
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Croydon
Gender:
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 94
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to shane2243
Quote originally posted by amassenburg:
how do i open RAR. files every time i try it opens up no$Gba what do I do

to open a .rar file, you need winrar


rar is basically same as zip, just its more compressed i believe.


you can download a trial version of win rar from download.com i think
  #7392    
Old December 17th, 2008 (03:05 PM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold destinedjagold is online now
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 6,979
Quote originally posted by amassenburg:
how do i open RAR. files every time i try it opens up no$Gba what do I do
download and install WinRAR on your computer...
where? Google it...
__________________

3DS FC: 0061-1111-6462
TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)


  #7393    
Old December 17th, 2008 (04:52 PM).
andrian andrian is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
Cyclone? what on earth is that?
  #7394    
Old December 17th, 2008 (06:45 PM).
Bigdog Bigdog is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Gender:
Posts: 212
What's the flag number for the trainers in Ruby and Sapphire?
  #7395    
Old December 17th, 2008 (07:10 PM).
BananasGoMoo's Avatar
BananasGoMoo BananasGoMoo is offline
Pokemon Electrum
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Richmond, California
Age: 23
Gender:
Nature: Lax
Posts: 149
Send a message via AIM to BananasGoMoo
what is an empty flag number in ruby that i can use for giving the player a pokemon?
  #7396    
Old December 18th, 2008 (02:18 AM).
Pokedra's Avatar
Pokedra Pokedra is offline
Retired
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 1,657
How can I change the pictures of the trainer in the Intro of Ruby, the trainer pic on the trainer card and the battling pic?

Thanks
__________________
Competitive Battle Records
Spoiler:
BW2 UU Smogon Leaderboard #1
DPPt OU Smogon Leaderboard #6
  #7397    
Old December 18th, 2008 (12:27 PM).
0m3ga_S1nn3r's Avatar
0m3ga_S1nn3r 0m3ga_S1nn3r is offline
Beginner Hacker :)
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: In my house
Age: 18
Gender:
Posts: 80
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to 0m3ga_S1nn3r
Quote originally posted by Pokedra:
How can I change the pictures of the trainer in the Intro of Ruby, the trainer pic on the trainer card and the battling pic?

Thanks
First you need to get unZL-GBA. Then look in the documents and tutorials sections!
__________________
Things I like:
Music Genre: R&B
Song: We Run This [Stick it Edit]
Ice-Cream: Chocolate
Tv Show: Simpsons
Pokemon: Chimchar
Pokemon Game: Pokemon Red

¨°-_,,_-°¨
::~- Elite -~::
..-v'' ''v-...




  #7398    
Old December 18th, 2008 (01:46 PM).
Thrace's Avatar
Thrace Thrace is offline
@tion
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,048
Quote originally posted by andrian:
Cyclone? what on earth is that?
A Tilemap Editor

Quote originally posted by Bigdog:
What's the flag number for the trainers in Ruby and Sapphire?
For which trainer? They go from 0 to 1AA off the top of my head.

Quote originally posted by BananasGoMoo:
what is an empty flag number in ruby that i can use for giving the player a pokemon?
Any flags over 1000 should be fine.
__________________
  #7399    
Old December 18th, 2008 (01:55 PM).
BananasGoMoo's Avatar
BananasGoMoo BananasGoMoo is offline
Pokemon Electrum
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Richmond, California
Age: 23
Gender:
Nature: Lax
Posts: 149
Send a message via AIM to BananasGoMoo
so in the script, do i just have to type 1001 for the flag or do it like 0x(number)
  #7400    
Old December 18th, 2008 (03:53 PM).
shane2243's Avatar
shane2243 shane2243 is offline
Dragonite Lover
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Croydon
Gender:
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 94
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to shane2243
can you use unlz-gba to edit birch in pokemon sapphire/ruby? because i cant find him in there?
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 07:15 PM.