The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #7551    
Old December 25th, 2008, 01:06 AM
BananasGoMoo's Avatar
BananasGoMoo
Pokemon Electrum
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Richmond, California
Age: 23
Gender:
Nature: Lax
Send a message via AIM to BananasGoMoo
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hiche View Post
fanfare 0x13E is the sound/jingle of the givepokemon, and giveitem.
fanfare 0x100 is the healing sound.

There are more, I think. I will check them later.
ok thanks, those are the important ones, but i'd still like to know the others. just in case i need them. =D
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Images in the spoiler tags still count; remove the images in the spoiler tags -- too tall.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
  #7552    
Old December 25th, 2008, 08:46 AM
Pokepal17's Avatar
Pokepal17
More cowbell~
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Steeltown
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Sorry if this question has been posted before, but I don't have time.

What's wrong with my APE?

I am currently in part of a hack and I'm doing the title screen. I edited the Charizard to a Swellow. I changed the Charizard palettes to Swellow's palettes but, when I load up the ROM in VBA, there is no change in the palettes. My only other alternative is hex editing but that will take too long, despite being easier. Please help me. Thanks in advance.
__________________
Pokémon Stardrop
  #7553    
Old December 25th, 2008, 05:54 PM
BananasGoMoo's Avatar
BananasGoMoo
Pokemon Electrum
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Richmond, California
Age: 23
Gender:
Nature: Lax
Send a message via AIM to BananasGoMoo
whats the offset for the script where birch releases the pokemon in the intro in ruby?
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Images in the spoiler tags still count; remove the images in the spoiler tags -- too tall.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
  #7554    
Old December 25th, 2008, 07:18 PM
Opalinesque
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Gender:
Repeating my previous question, and adding in a new one! New one: Is there any way to find the offset of a tile in unLZ by using VBA's Map View or Tile View? Barring that, does anyone know the offset of the Pokemon in the opening screen in the Japanese version of FR? It's nowhere near the 2011 listed for the US version (I went around a hundred less and more just to check).

Second question: you know how trainers and the like have walk animations in the overworld, and Pokemon don't (they just kind of... slide)? Is there any way to give Pokemon walk animations? Looking in Overworld Editor, there are 8 different possitions for each sprite (facing up, facing down, facing left, frame 1 of a walking down animation, frame 2 of a walking down animation, etc); however, all the walking animations are "linked" (for lack of a better word) to the "facing this direction" frame (if you change one, the other one changes too).

Anyway, if it is possible to change that, would that fall under scripting? Would I have to try to figure that out myself, or is there a program that can help me do that? I'm more of a spriter than anything else, so if it does require scripting, I'd appreciate it if you used small words XD Thank you!

Edit: Found Charizard! In my Japanese dump, it's at 152. Still would like to know if you can find offsets with VBA, though.

Last edited by Opalinesque; December 25th, 2008 at 07:54 PM.
  #7555    
Old December 25th, 2008, 08:48 PM
BananasGoMoo's Avatar
BananasGoMoo
Pokemon Electrum
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Richmond, California
Age: 23
Gender:
Nature: Lax
Send a message via AIM to BananasGoMoo
oh and i forgot to ask whats the flag for gender? not checkgender, but the actual flag. i wanna see if i can make a change gender script lol.
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Images in the spoiler tags still count; remove the images in the spoiler tags -- too tall.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
  #7556    
Old December 25th, 2008, 10:51 PM
Bigdog
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Gender:
I have been thinking of getting an EZ flash cart from this site:

http://www.realhotstuff.com/expansio...ize-p-212.html

How well do they perform? And are they worth the price?
  #7557    
Old December 25th, 2008, 11:00 PM
BananasGoMoo's Avatar
BananasGoMoo
Pokemon Electrum
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Richmond, California
Age: 23
Gender:
Nature: Lax
Send a message via AIM to BananasGoMoo
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigdog View Post
I have been thinking of getting an EZ flash cart from this site:

http://www.realhotstuff.com/expansio...ize-p-212.html

How well do they perform? And are they worth the price?

Well, if their product is anything like their grammar and spelling, I wouldn't buy it. xD

But it's Japanese, so i dunno....
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Images in the spoiler tags still count; remove the images in the spoiler tags -- too tall.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
  #7558    
Old December 26th, 2008, 02:08 AM
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
I wish to ask this question to save time in my hands...

Hi everyone... Can anyone redirect me to a tutorial or anything that shows me all Pokémon's cry offsets in a Ruby ROM...?
If there isn't, then in a Ruby ROM, what are the cry offsets of Kyogre, Sharpedo, Duskull, Dusclops, Tropius and Armaldo...?

I can find those through trial and error, but it takes a lot of my time, so if anyone knows and is willing to share it, a big thanks.

Thank you in advance.
__________________
  #7559    
Old December 26th, 2008, 02:33 AM
Hiche..
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by BananasGoMoo View Post
whats the offset for the script where birch releases the pokemon in the intro in ruby?
Offset? Well, I presume you want to change what birch releases, right? There a tool called IntroEd. You can find it here: Click

Hope that helps.
  #7560    
Old December 26th, 2008, 05:31 AM
Amachi's Avatar
Amachi
(。・ω・)ノ゙ Hello, I am Amachi-chan~♪
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Australia
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
So I've attempted to insert a new pokémon sprite into FR at least 3 times now, and each time I go to do battle with my newly created monster, all I get is a black screen with the battle music continuing to play in the background.

As far as I'm aware it's indexed correctly, and I think I'm inserting it correctly as far as using ulNZ goes. I've followed a couple of tutorials (which aren't the best sad2say), and they pretty much tell me to do the same thing.

But it still doesn't work.
__________________
CHILL OUT DUDES, I GOT THIS
Paired with Juicy.
  #7561    
Old December 26th, 2008, 06:12 AM
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amachi View Post
So I've attempted to insert a new pokémon sprite into FR at least 3 times now, and each time I go to do battle with my newly created monster, all I get is a black screen with the battle music continuing to play in the background.

As far as I'm aware it's indexed correctly, and I think I'm inserting it correctly as far as using ulNZ goes. I've followed a couple of tutorials (which aren't the best sad2say), and they pretty much tell me to do the same thing.

But it still doesn't work.
It may not be your problem, but did you uncheck the Auto Abort chechbox, perhaps?
__________________
  #7562    
Old December 26th, 2008, 06:14 AM
Amachi's Avatar
Amachi
(。・ω・)ノ゙ Hello, I am Amachi-chan~♪
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Australia
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
No, it was checked, though there is a tutorial out there that instructs people to uncheck it o_o;
__________________
CHILL OUT DUDES, I GOT THIS
Paired with Juicy.
  #7563    
Old December 26th, 2008, 06:18 AM
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amachi View Post
No, it was checked, though there is a tutorial out there that instructs people to uncheck it o_o;
Yeah, I know. But you should never uncheck it, indeed. Was the image you instert too big? Did you repoint it? What did you edit exactly, except the Pokémon image? Also, did you try inserting only the picture on a clean ROM to see if you get the same problem.
__________________
  #7564    
Old December 26th, 2008, 06:22 AM
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amachi View Post
So I've attempted to insert a new pokémon sprite into FR at least 3 times now, and each time I go to do battle with my newly created monster, all I get is a black screen with the battle music continuing to play in the background.

As far as I'm aware it's indexed correctly, and I think I'm inserting it correctly as far as using ulNZ goes. I've followed a couple of tutorials (which aren't the best sad2say), and they pretty much tell me to do the same thing.

But it still doesn't work.
I have a tutorial on how to insert new pokemon...
but oh well... before I go to sleep...

check these...
1. make sure the image is in 64x64 in size...
2. the image is saved in PNG format...
3. the palletes/colours should be 16 only...

if you insert it into your ROM and Unlz-GBA says that it's too big, search for free offsets and...
Spoiler:


use FSF or a hex editor to search for free offsets...
__________________
  #7565    
Old December 26th, 2008, 06:26 AM
Amachi's Avatar
Amachi
(。・ω・)ノ゙ Hello, I am Amachi-chan~♪
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Australia
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote:
Originally Posted by HackMew View Post
Yeah, I know. But you should never uncheck it, indeed. Was the image you instert too big? Did you repoint it? What did you edit exactly, except the Pokémon image? Also, did you try inserting only the picture on a clean ROM to see if you get the same problem.
It's 64x64 pixels. Yeah, repointed to blank space.

You know, it could be how I did it. I don't want to overwrite any other sprites so when I load my ROM in unLZ, I just click "import", choose my image, then press "write to ROM", input my offsets, check "export image", "export palette" and "auto abort" and press OK.

Afterwards I use Pokemon Editor Pro and edit the data on one of the empty slots accordingly.

Well it's 1.30 AM. I'll try on a clean ROM later, roffle.

Yeah destinedjagold, I followed your tutorial the first time and it didn't work. Am I supposed to check all the boxes? I was told not to check "Automatically fix pointers".
__________________
CHILL OUT DUDES, I GOT THIS
Paired with Juicy.

Last edited by Amachi; December 26th, 2008 at 06:31 AM.
  #7566    
Old December 26th, 2008, 06:50 AM
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amachi View Post
It's 64x64 pixels. Yeah, repointed to blank space.

You know, it could be how I did it. I don't want to overwrite any other sprites so when I load my ROM in unLZ, I just click "import", choose my image, then press "write to ROM", input my offsets, check "export image", "export palette" and "auto abort" and press OK.

Afterwards I use Pokemon Editor Pro and edit the data on one of the empty slots accordingly.

Well it's 1.30 AM. I'll try on a clean ROM later, roffle.

Yeah destinedjagold, I followed your tutorial the first time and it didn't work. Am I supposed to check all the boxes? I was told not to check "Automatically fix pointers".
Yes, you should check "Automatically fix pointers" unless you change the pointer yourself. Also, where was the new image imported exactly? The offset, I mean.
__________________
  #7567    
Old December 26th, 2008, 11:48 AM
FLOOTENKERP's Avatar
FLOOTENKERP
The Glitch From Johto
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida
Nature: Bold
I've really been killing myself about my hack. I'm getting nowhere with it because i dont know how to make events. Can someone tell me how to make events like your rival coming up and talking to you or a story?
__________________



All of them are in level 100 and Ev'd to the max. Beware my non-lengendary team!
  #7568    
Old December 26th, 2008, 01:16 PM
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by FLOOTENKERP View Post
I've really been killing myself about my hack. I'm getting nowhere with it because i dont know how to make events. Can someone tell me how to make events like your rival coming up and talking to you or a story?
That's called "scripting". Hence you need a script editor. I would suggest XSE, which has a built-in guide as well.
__________________
  #7569    
Old December 26th, 2008, 01:41 PM
FLOOTENKERP's Avatar
FLOOTENKERP
The Glitch From Johto
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida
Nature: Bold
thank you! do you know how i am supposed to make a script to make the events happen?
__________________



All of them are in level 100 and Ev'd to the max. Beware my non-lengendary team!
  #7570    
Old December 26th, 2008, 01:48 PM
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by FLOOTENKERP View Post
thank you! do you know how i am supposed to make a script to make the events happen?
I strongly suggest you to read the guide that comes with XSE. It contains all the info you need to start/make a hack, basically. Of course decompiling existings script - or "events", if you wish to call them so - will help. But trying yourself is just the best advice I can give you. In case you're totally lost and you tried really anything, then you may want to ask in the Script Help thread.
__________________
  #7571    
Old December 26th, 2008, 01:50 PM
FLOOTENKERP's Avatar
FLOOTENKERP
The Glitch From Johto
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida
Nature: Bold
thank you. XSE is really confusing for me. Though its a very good program. Well thanks and ill try and see what i can do
__________________



All of them are in level 100 and Ev'd to the max. Beware my non-lengendary team!
  #7572    
Old December 26th, 2008, 01:51 PM
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by FLOOTENKERP View Post
thank you. XSE is really confusing for me. Though its a very good program. Well thanks and ill try and see what i can do
You're welcome. You just need to get used to it. I'm sure it won't take much ;)
__________________
  #7573    
Old December 26th, 2008, 02:38 PM
FLOOTENKERP's Avatar
FLOOTENKERP
The Glitch From Johto
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida
Nature: Bold
im sorry but this is way to confusing. what do i type for events and than where do i put it? I read the entire guide and didnt understand. I hope im not bothering you. Your the only one that knows about this. I mean you did create the program. So do you think you can help me?
__________________



All of them are in level 100 and Ev'd to the max. Beware my non-lengendary team!
  #7574    
Old December 26th, 2008, 03:01 PM
BananasGoMoo's Avatar
BananasGoMoo
Pokemon Electrum
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Richmond, California
Age: 23
Gender:
Nature: Lax
Send a message via AIM to BananasGoMoo
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hiche View Post
Offset? Well, I presume you want to change what birch releases, right? There a tool called IntroEd. You can find it here: Click

Hope that helps.
yea but it won't change the sound, so i thought there would be a script of the full intro so i can change the sound for it.
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Images in the spoiler tags still count; remove the images in the spoiler tags -- too tall.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
  #7575    
Old December 26th, 2008, 07:29 PM
zazazazazazaza
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
This question has been asked before but no one answered, so:

On advance map, whoever I click--whether it's an NPC or a character that I've made and have successfully complied the script with--when I click on the "Open Script" button, it gives me this message:

Quote:
Invalid Command : pokemon
(This is in PokeScript)

This is when I chose ":" for the prompt that asked me how offsets are separated. Since that didn't work I chose " " instead, and it gave me this message:

Quote:
Invalid Command : d:\vba\pokemon
(I have everything related to emulators and their supported games in that vba folder)

I have done this before successfully on another computer, so I'm at a loss at why it isn't working on this computer. Anyone know how to solve the problem?
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 11:49 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.