Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #7726    
Old January 6th, 2009 (05:44 AM).
Larsie13 Larsie13 is offline
Gone
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 24
Nature: Modest
Posts: 159
Quote originally posted by NeoNemesis:
Can you expand on how I would make this pointer? Do you mean by in hex like if you want to point to 801000 you would put 00108008 in the place where you said the script would be?

OR do you mean by just plainly in XSE making a script that says "goto [Offset]"?



Oh, and I think you guys misunderstood what I said. I didn't say anything about the world map. What I meant is, is it possible to fit three full regions into the game (not world map)? Like you know how in Shiny Gold there's Jhoto and Kanto? Well would it be possible to include maybe Jhoto, Kanto, and a third region like 2 cities smaller than Jhoto? (WITHOUT expanding) Like is there enough space? I know Ruby has the most free space, and Emerald is bloated with not too much space. However I do know that there's TONS of space. (I'm guessing ruby has about 7mb free space since almost half of it in hex is FF. Whereas I've heard Emerald has like 2mb of free space.)

Oh and does UNLZ work with expanded games? Also you can create a map in your expanded game correct?

One last thing.. You know how pointers in hex are reversed and setup as such: 5B37CD would be CD375B08. How would I go about making a pointer to a 7 digit offset?

Thanks in advance people.
Change the 08 to 09. SO 0x1000000 becomes 00 00 00 01 09.
  #7727    
Old January 6th, 2009 (07:19 AM).
Jerros's Avatar
Jerros Jerros is offline
TloS FTW!!!
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alkmaar, Netherlands
Age: 23
Gender:
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 72
Question: Where in unLz-GBA can I edit the big "Team Aqua Sign" that appears when you battle an Aqua grunt? (EMERALD please)
Whats the number, and can I just normally edit it in unLZ-GBA?

Also, same question, but then for the "Team rocket Sign" that appears in FIRERED, What's the number?

(By "signs" I mean the lgo you'll see right before a battle with team aqua/team rocket starts. You know, the screen get's all blurry, the battle music starts, and then ya see the logo.)
__________________
  #7728    
Old January 6th, 2009 (08:01 AM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 3,444
Quote originally posted by Medo0:
I Inserted the Sprites But they are Missed (Bad Colors)
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=154220

This tutorial is torferno lvl x's. It will be able to help.
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...


Nerves o
f Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

  #7729    
Old January 6th, 2009 (09:09 AM).
espa_roba11's Avatar
espa_roba11 espa_roba11 is offline
I'm gay, yay!
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rainbow City
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 162
Here is my question agian.

In pokemon FR/E how do you change the music of the trainers you fight in battle? I can only change the music of when I encounter trainers, not the actual battle theme.
__________________
I'm a furry.

I love my mate Ryuu. ^.^


  #7730    
Old January 6th, 2009 (12:50 PM).
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew HackMew is offline
Mewtwo Strikes Back
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,314
Quote originally posted by espa_roba11:
Here is my question agian.

In pokemon FR/E how do you change the music of the trainers you fight in battle? I can only change the music of when I encounter trainers, not the actual battle theme.
As far as I know, the battle theme is strictly related to the trainer class.
__________________
  #7731    
Old January 6th, 2009 (02:17 PM).
zazazazazazaza zazazazazazaza is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12
Two problems for FR:

1. When I try to look at the character stats (money, game data, etc), the screen fades to black as normal...but stays black. It's not frozen--it just doesn't load.

2. This one has been asked before, or so I remember, but upon searching and searching I fail to find it: Text that isn't what I wrote is showing up. For example, I wanted someone to say "Hi hello yay" and it changes automatically into someone elses' line, or something irrelevant like "îîîìììììì[ME]". I know it has something to do with the offsets (or so I think), but the weird thing is that only the beginning or end parts will be overridden; in "Hi hello yay/nuh yeah/pWhoooo", it would become "is back to full health/nuh yeah/pWhoooo".

Thanks for any future help?
  #7732    
Old January 6th, 2009 (02:38 PM).
Liquid Shadow's Avatar
Liquid Shadow Liquid Shadow is offline
xD
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Gender:
Posts: 224
Quote originally posted by Medo0:
I Inserted the Sprites But they are Missed (Bad Colors)
Ok, then if you're replacing a pokemon/trainer sprite check the "export palette" option.



Ok so, the max I can probably fit in one 16mb game is two regions and maybe a little bit more?
__________________

4 truths of life
1. You cannot touch all your teeth with your tongue.
2. All idiots, after reading the first truth, will try it.
3. And discover that the first truth is a lie.
4. You're smiling now because you're an idiot.
  #7733    
Old January 6th, 2009 (02:39 PM).
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew HackMew is offline
Mewtwo Strikes Back
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,314
Quote originally posted by zazazazazazaza:
Two problems for FR:

1. When I try to look at the character stats (money, game data, etc), the screen fades to black as normal...but stays black. It's not frozen--it just doesn't load.

2. This one has been asked before, or so I remember, but upon searching and searching I fail to find it: Text that isn't what I wrote is showing up. For example, I wanted someone to say "Hi hello yay" and it changes automatically into someone elses' line, or something irrelevant like "îîîìììììì[ME]". I know it has something to do with the offsets (or so I think), but the weird thing is that only the beginning or end parts will be overridden; in "Hi hello yay/nuh yeah/pWhoooo", it would become "is back to full health/nuh yeah/pWhoooo".

Thanks for any future help?
1. Did you insert a new player sprite lately, perhaps? That could be the reason.

2. Try using a hex editor + tables instead of A-Text.
__________________
  #7734    
Old January 6th, 2009 (02:49 PM).
zazazazazazaza zazazazazazaza is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12
Quote originally posted by HackMew:
1. Did you insert a new player sprite lately, perhaps? That could be the reason.

2. Try using a hex editor + tables instead of A-Text.
1. I did indeed insert a new sprite--that is who the script is for, actually. Would that menu be forever disabled with even only one new sprite?

2. I didn't use a-text...but I am noob and don't understand what hex editor + tables mean ;_; I used Free Space Finder to get the main offset and the computer did the rest, so I don't get why that's happened...

(Thanks anyway : D)
  #7735    
Old January 6th, 2009 (02:51 PM).
insectduel's Avatar
insectduel insectduel is offline
Pokémon Brown Manga Maker
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bronx, New York
Age: 30
Gender: Male
Nature: Rash
Posts: 222
Quote originally posted by espa_roba11:
Here is my question agian.

In pokemon FR/E how do you change the music of the trainers you fight in battle? I can only change the music of when I encounter trainers, not the actual battle theme.
I only change them by Pokemon Synthesis or PET. It should have the music number.
__________________
  #7736    
Old January 6th, 2009 (03:41 PM).
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew HackMew is offline
Mewtwo Strikes Back
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,314
Quote originally posted by zazazazazazaza:
1. I did indeed insert a new sprite--that is who the script is for, actually. Would that menu be forever disabled with even only one new sprite?

2. I didn't use a-text...but I am noob and don't understand what hex editor + tables mean ;_; I used Free Space Finder to get the main offset and the computer did the rest, so I don't get why that's happened...

(Thanks anyway : D)
1. No, but... you have a backup right? Anyway, what's the offset where you inserted the sprite?

2. The computer did the rest?? That's amazing... Now, please tell us what did you do exactly.


Quote originally posted by insectduel:
I only change them by Pokemon Synthesis or PET. It should have the music number.
Or A-Trainer >:D
__________________
  #7737    
Old January 6th, 2009 (05:06 PM).
NTA's Avatar
NTA NTA is offline
Where?
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 265
is there anyway to turn off the battle/town music while still hearing the other game sounds?
  #7738    
Old January 6th, 2009 (06:44 PM).
Liquid Shadow's Avatar
Liquid Shadow Liquid Shadow is offline
xD
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Gender:
Posts: 224
Ok.. I have a question. Is there a way to add more flags to the game?

Is there a way to add fly spots to a map?

How would I go about editing palettes of tilesets and stuff when it rains? Or is it already preset?
__________________

4 truths of life
1. You cannot touch all your teeth with your tongue.
2. All idiots, after reading the first truth, will try it.
3. And discover that the first truth is a lie.
4. You're smiling now because you're an idiot.
  #7739    
Old January 6th, 2009 (07:03 PM).
Ninja Caterpie's Avatar
Ninja Caterpie Ninja Caterpie is offline
Sitting by the back window
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Best City OCE
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 5,989
Quote originally posted by NeoNemesis:
Ok.. I have a question. Is there a way to add more flags to the game?

Is there a way to add fly spots to a map?

How would I go about editing palettes of tilesets and stuff when it rains? Or is it already preset?
1. There are literally thousands (in FR, 300-3FF and 900 up are free) of free flags.
2. Don't think so.
3. Preset, but you can edit them by using APE.
__________________
Brony represent.
  #7740    
Old January 6th, 2009 (08:22 PM).
IIMarckus's Avatar
IIMarckus IIMarckus is offline
J946@5488AA97464
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Gender:
Posts: 402
Quote originally posted by Tohaido:
Well I have one question whose answer I could not find anywhere. I'm hacking Pokémon Gold a little bit, just changing the wild Pokémon data with Goldmap and sometimes Megamap. But for some maps, there is no wild Pokémon data attached to them, even if they have wild Pokémon data in the real game (e.g. Victory Road). How can I change/add this? I'm no pro at scripting or hex editors, but I'm willing to learn it if that's gonna help.
Thnx for any replys.
Yes, using a hex editor is one of the better ways to edit Pokémon Gold.

Wild Pokémon encounters are located beginning at offset 0x02AB35 in Gold. Each entry is forty‐seven bytes long, patterned as follows:
  • Two bytes for the map number (here is a list of map numbers for Crystal; they differ for Gold, but only slightly)
  • Three bytes for the encounter rates for morning, day, and night (a higher number means Pokémon will appear in fewer steps)
  • Fourteen bytes of Pokémon data for each time of day, two bytes per Pokémon (first is level, second is species)

For instance, the first entry in the list:
03 02 // Sprout Tower 2F
05 05 05 // low encounter rates
03 13 04 13 05 13 03 13 06 13 05 13 05 13 // morning: level 3–5 Rattatas
03 13 04 13 05 13 03 13 06 13 05 13 05 13 // daytime: same Pokémon appear as in the morning
03 5C 04 5C 05 5C 03 13 06 5C 05 13 05 13 // at night you can see Gastlys

I don’t know the map number for Victory Road in Gold, but you can get the map number for any map in Gold/Silver by going to memory location D044–D045 in VBA’s memory viewer.
__________________
iimarck.us / hax.iimarck.us

If you want me, please contact me by email. [email protected]

If you want to hack Pokémon RBY or GSC, read, read, and read some more. This has tons of valuable information.

Pokémon Red disassembly project

Rules that should be rethought: 25charlimit, bumping.
Bad posts are bad posts, regardless of how many words are in them or how old the thread is.
Good posts are good posts, regardless of how old the thread is—and brevity is underrated.
  #7741    
Old January 6th, 2009 (08:54 PM).
Liquid Shadow's Avatar
Liquid Shadow Liquid Shadow is offline
xD
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Gender:
Posts: 224
Oh I forgot to ask!

How do I create an IPS or UPS patch from my game?
__________________

4 truths of life
1. You cannot touch all your teeth with your tongue.
2. All idiots, after reading the first truth, will try it.
3. And discover that the first truth is a lie.
4. You're smiling now because you're an idiot.
  #7742    
Old January 6th, 2009 (08:57 PM).
Ninja Caterpie's Avatar
Ninja Caterpie Ninja Caterpie is offline
Sitting by the back window
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Best City OCE
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 5,989
Use a patching tool.

For example, with IPS, you click "create patch" and work from there. With UPS, you get a UPS patching device. It works the same way.
__________________
Brony represent.
  #7743    
Old January 6th, 2009 (10:55 PM).
BananasGoMoo's Avatar
BananasGoMoo BananasGoMoo is offline
Pokemon Electrum
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Richmond, California
Age: 23
Gender:
Nature: Lax
Posts: 149
Send a message via AIM to BananasGoMoo
ok i have a question. In my hack, I am going to have Hoenn, Johto, and Kanto. since they won't all fit in the same rom, could I make it in 3 Different roms, and have a certain map that lets you "warp" and has the same number in each rom? would that work? like say the room is Bank 0 Map 25 and its that in each rom. Would that load the saves? or not? and if it would, is there a way to make the game NOT load if the player isn't in that map?
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Images in the spoiler tags still count; remove the images in the spoiler tags -- too tall.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
  #7744    
Old January 6th, 2009 (11:00 PM).
Ninja Caterpie's Avatar
Ninja Caterpie Ninja Caterpie is offline
Sitting by the back window
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Best City OCE
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 5,989
Quote originally posted by BananasGoMoo:
ok i have a question. In my hack, I am going to have Hoenn, Johto, and Kanto. since they won't all fit in the same rom, could I make it in 3 Different roms, and have a certain map that lets you "warp" and has the same number in each rom? would that work? like say the room is Bank 0 Map 25 and its that in each rom. Would that load the saves? or not? and if it would, is there a way to make the game NOT load if the player isn't in that map?
What's this mean? You want to change ROM when in a certain room? No, that wouldn't work, even with ASM. What would happen if someone put it onto a flash cart and played it on their GBA/DS?
__________________
Brony represent.
  #7745    
Old January 7th, 2009 (08:48 AM).
Medo0 Medo0 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 53
Today After i finally figured out how to add custom sprites i did somethings:-
I've Added Some sprites"Combee,dawn sprite instead of may,shieldon and Sinnoh Starters"
and BROCK back sprites by "the the the the"
Renamed Some pokemons
And Renamed all Mays to Dawn with A-trainer
and when I Tested the Game When Battle may First time
the Game Automatically Resets
here is the game to test it please help
------------------------------
Download
http://medo00972.googlepages.com/help.zip
Also here is a RAW File For a Boot Screen For Ruby (didn't work)
http://medo00972.googlepages.com/Pokemon.zip
Guys Please help I'm new here so sorry if i'm a noob

-MeDo0
  #7746    
Old January 7th, 2009 (09:53 AM).
negative's Avatar
negative negative is offline
Life returns. Life prevails.
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Ptuj, Slovenia.
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 500
Hi! Is there any way to edit the text for waterfall:
a wall of water is crashing...blah...blah...?
__________________
Pokémon Twisted Mind
  #7747    
Old January 7th, 2009 (10:05 AM).
Binary's Avatar
Binary Binary is offline
え?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Age: 20
Posts: 3,994
Quote originally posted by ~FunHouse~:
Hi! Is there any way to edit the text for waterfall:
a wall of water is crashing...blah...blah...?
Umm..use A-text? Just search the text, add it to the INI and edit it.
__________________
  #7748    
Old January 7th, 2009 (04:14 PM).
BananasGoMoo's Avatar
BananasGoMoo BananasGoMoo is offline
Pokemon Electrum
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Richmond, California
Age: 23
Gender:
Nature: Lax
Posts: 149
Send a message via AIM to BananasGoMoo
Quote originally posted by Ninja Caterpie:
What's this mean? You want to change ROM when in a certain room? No, that wouldn't work, even with ASM. What would happen if someone put it onto a flash cart and played it on their GBA/DS?

wel i would have it so theres a main menu and make them be able to pick the rom they wanna play.
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Images in the spoiler tags still count; remove the images in the spoiler tags -- too tall.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
  #7749    
Old January 7th, 2009 (05:14 PM).
Hyunbin's Avatar
Hyunbin Hyunbin is offline
w00t!~
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: new york
Age: 25
Gender:
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 166
Send a message via AIM to Hyunbin Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Hyunbin
is there a way to edit an independent pokémon's egg moves, or is there a predefined list of moves in the game that directs which moves can be egg moves?
hacking firered, by the way
__________________


  #7750    
Old January 7th, 2009 (05:23 PM).
Ninja Caterpie's Avatar
Ninja Caterpie Ninja Caterpie is offline
Sitting by the back window
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Best City OCE
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 5,989
Quote originally posted by Hyunbin:
is there a way to edit an independent pokémon's egg moves, or is there a predefined list of moves in the game that directs which moves can be egg moves?
hacking firered, by the way
I think a hex editor would work best?
__________________
Brony represent.
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 12:33 AM.