Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub > Beginner’s Lounge
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Beginner’s Lounge Where all good (and bad) ideas start. This is the Beginner’s Lounge, where if you need a helping hand or want to develop your small ideas, you bring it here. We won't bite.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #776    
Old May 22nd, 2007 (08:27 PM).
Zyph's Avatar
Zyph Zyph is offline
Game developer. Hax0rz!
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Age: 25
Gender:
Nature: Jolly
103 post
I'm REALLY hoping someone can help me. It'll be the difference between life and death. (Well...)

My question: In Elite Map (or Advance Map) how do I open scripts to be able to read/edit them? In Elite Map, it tells me to Ctrl+Click, but when I do that, it just acts like it's loading, then nothing happens. I haven't tried opening scripts in advance map yet. Help?
__________________

I actually understand IVs and EVs.
If you think that people who could care less about IVs and EVs think that way because they don't understand them, copy & paste this into your signature.
  #777    
Old May 22nd, 2007 (08:54 PM).
Blazichu's Avatar
Blazichu Blazichu is offline
Bahhhh?
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: The ground?
Age: 24
Gender: Male
1,390 posts
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Blazichu
Quote originally posted by Zyph:
I'm REALLY hoping someone can help me. It'll be the difference between life and death. (Well...)

My question: In Elite Map (or Advance Map) how do I open scripts to be able to read/edit them? In Elite Map, it tells me to Ctrl+Click, but when I do that, it just acts like it's loading, then nothing happens. I haven't tried opening scripts in advance map yet. Help?
You could read the script in a hex-editor(as it shows the offsets), also make sure ScriptED is in the same folder as EliteMap(to read them in EliteMap) and in Advance Map you can't read the scripts, only there offsets are shown.
__________________

←(left) the online world for life(MSN, PC etc.)~
  #778    
Old May 22nd, 2007 (09:19 PM).
Zyph's Avatar
Zyph Zyph is offline
Game developer. Hax0rz!
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Age: 25
Gender:
Nature: Jolly
103 post
Well, ScriptED is in the same folder (as it has been) and still nothing happens. Should I re-download EliteMap?
__________________

I actually understand IVs and EVs.
If you think that people who could care less about IVs and EVs think that way because they don't understand them, copy & paste this into your signature.
  #779    
Old May 22nd, 2007 (10:10 PM).
Blazichu's Avatar
Blazichu Blazichu is offline
Bahhhh?
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: The ground?
Age: 24
Gender: Male
1,390 posts
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Blazichu
Quote originally posted by Zyph:
Well, ScriptED is in the same folder (as it has been) and still nothing happens. Should I re-download EliteMap?
Try reinstalling it, also you could download it again if you wanted to. Also I think your rom has to be in the same folder.
__________________

←(left) the online world for life(MSN, PC etc.)~
  #780    
Old May 23rd, 2007 (12:10 AM).
kamikaze watermelon's Avatar
kamikaze watermelon kamikaze watermelon is offline
< He will OWN you!!!!!!!!1%one
 
Join Date: May 2007
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
13 post
i downloaded the new amart and still it doesn't work
  #781    
Old May 23rd, 2007 (03:27 AM).
Blazichu's Avatar
Blazichu Blazichu is offline
Bahhhh?
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: The ground?
Age: 24
Gender: Male
1,390 posts
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Blazichu
Quote originally posted by kamikaze watermelon:
i downloaded the new amart and still it doesn't work
Make sure your files don't remain zipped.
__________________

←(left) the online world for life(MSN, PC etc.)~
  #782    
Old May 23rd, 2007 (05:21 PM). Edited May 23rd, 2007 by Zyph.
Zyph's Avatar
Zyph Zyph is offline
Game developer. Hax0rz!
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Age: 25
Gender:
Nature: Jolly
103 post
Okay, so I downloaded it again, and it still doesn't work. Do I have to have ScriptED open?

Never mind. I figured out I had to click "View Level Script" at the top of the window. HUUUUUURR!!

Thanks.
__________________

I actually understand IVs and EVs.
If you think that people who could care less about IVs and EVs think that way because they don't understand them, copy & paste this into your signature.
  #783    
Old May 23rd, 2007 (05:55 PM).
superluigi52's Avatar
superluigi52 superluigi52 is offline
Electricity fan
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Canada
Age: 21
Gender:
Nature: Calm
34 post
I get an error when I try to open A-text or any other programs made by Scizz.

The problem says: The instruction at "0x773f65e1" referenced at "0x773f65e1". The memory could not be "read".

How do I fix this?
  #784    
Old May 23rd, 2007 (08:55 PM).
Django0 Django0 is offline
!Aemin~
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Netherlands
129 post
how can i hex edit trainer like changing a trainer name to Django and change trainer sprite the intro's he is saying etc and pet and compiling scripts isn't working
__________________
  #785    
Old May 23rd, 2007 (10:56 PM).
kamikaze watermelon's Avatar
kamikaze watermelon kamikaze watermelon is offline
< He will OWN you!!!!!!!!1%one
 
Join Date: May 2007
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
13 post
is amart_654.fr.zip the new one?
  #786    
Old May 23rd, 2007 (11:56 PM).
larry
Guest
 
n/a post
Idk if this has been asked or not but im hacking pokemon ruby and i am using pokemon from the kanto and johto region and i want to know if there is a way to activate national dex... also anybody got generataion 4 sprites 64 x 64 that u can use in Poke pic
  #787    
Old May 24th, 2007 (02:34 AM).
Blazichu's Avatar
Blazichu Blazichu is offline
Bahhhh?
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: The ground?
Age: 24
Gender: Male
1,390 posts
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Blazichu
Quote originally posted by superluigi52:
I get an error when I try to open A-text or any other programs made by Scizz.

The problem says: The instruction at "0x773f65e1" referenced at "0x773f65e1". The memory could not be "read".

How do I fix this?
Make sure you have the files unzipped and have COMCLG32.OCX in the same folder.

Quote originally posted by Django0:
how can i hex edit trainer like changing a trainer name to Django and change trainer sprite the intro's he is saying etc and pet and compiling scripts isn't working
Search for the trainer name, tends to be all caps
Also search for his text. The sprite can be changed using Pokepic or Unlz.gba by inserting the new one over the one you want to replace.

Normal Trainers in hex: [00][00] [Level] [00] [POKéMON 1] [The carried Item ([00][00] for no Item)] | [00][00] [Level] [00] [POKéMON 2] [the carried Item] | etc. Instead of using PET use hex.

Also to compile scripts you have to have the rom in the same folder as your script editor and you need an offset for it to go to.

Here are the text(letter) codes for R/S/FR/LG:

00=
15=ß
1B=E
A1=0
A2=1
A3=2
A4=3
A5=4
A6=5
A7=6
A8=7
A9=8
AA=9
AB=!
AC=?
AD=.
AE=-
AF=...
B0=••
B1=«
B2=»
B3=<
B4='
B5=|m|
B6=|w|
B7=$
B8=,
B9=*
BA=/
BB=A
BC=B
BD=C
BE=D
BF=E
C0=F
C1=G
C2=H
C3=I
C4=J
C5=K
C6=L
C7=M
C8=N
C9=O
CA=P
CB=Q
CC=R
CD=S
CE=T
CF=U
D0=V
D1=W
D2=X
D3=Y
D4=Z
D5=a
D6=b
D7=c
D8=d
D9=e
DA=f
DB=g
DC=h
DD=i
DE=j
DF=k
E0=l
E1=m
E2=n
E3=o
E4=p
E5=q
E6=r
E7=s
E8=t
E9=u
EA=v
EB=w
EC=x
ED=y
EE=z
EF=|>|
F0=:
F1=Ä
F2=Ö
F3=Ü
F4=E
F5=E
F6=E
F7=|A|
F8=|V|
F9=|<|
FA=|nb|
FB=|nb2|
FC=|FC|
FC=" "
FD=|FD|
FE=|br|
FF=|end|

It is long but it should help.

Quote originally posted by kamikaze watermelon:
is amart_654.fr.zip the new one?
Yes, that is the new one.

Quote originally posted by larry:
Idk if this has been asked or not but im hacking pokemon ruby and i am using pokemon from the kanto and johto region and i want to know if there is a way to activate national dex... also anybody got generataion 4 sprites 64 x 64 that u can use in Poke pic
The script code for FR/LG/E(By Scizz):
#org 0x800000
lock
faceplayer
checkflag 0x10A
if 1 jump 0x800050
special 0x16F
setflag 0x10A
fanfare 0x13E
msgbox 0x800100
callstd 0x6
waitfanfare
release
end

#org 0x800050
msgbox 0x800070
callstd 0x6
release
end

#org 0x800070
= Like your new POKéDEX?

#org 0x800100
= Your POKéDEX was upgraded!

Still R/S has not been able to access it yet...I think.

Also I believe StudioPokemon has a few indexed sprites of the 4th generation.
__________________

←(left) the online world for life(MSN, PC etc.)~
  #788    
Old May 24th, 2007 (06:55 AM).
Django0 Django0 is offline
!Aemin~
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Netherlands
129 post
Quote originally posted by Blazichu:
Normal Trainers in hex: [00][00] [Level] [00] [POKéMON 1] [The carried Item ([00][00] for no Item)] | [00][00] [Level] [00] [POKéMON 2] [the carried Item] | etc. Instead of using PET use hex.

Also to compile scripts you have to have the rom in the same folder as your script editor and you need an offset for it to go to.

Here are the text(letter) codes for R/S/FR/LG:

00=
15=ß
1B=E
A1=0
A2=1
A3=2
A4=3
A5=4
A6=5
A7=6
A8=7
A9=8
AA=9
AB=!
AC=?
AD=.
AE=-
AF=...
B0=••
B1=«
B2=»
B3=<
B4='
B5=|m|
B6=|w|
B7=$
B8=,
B9=*
BA=/
BB=A
BC=B
BD=C
BE=D
BF=E
C0=F
C1=G
C2=H
C3=I
C4=J
C5=K
C6=L
C7=M
C8=N
C9=O
CA=P
CB=Q
CC=R
CD=S
CE=T
CF=U
D0=V
D1=W
D2=X
D3=Y
D4=Z
D5=a
D6=b
D7=c
D8=d
D9=e
DA=f
DB=g
DC=h
DD=i
DE=j
DF=k
E0=l
E1=m
E2=n
E3=o
E4=p
E5=q
E6=r
E7=s
E8=t
E9=u
EA=v
EB=w
EC=x
ED=y
EE=z
EF=|>|
F0=:
F1=Ä
F2=Ö
F3=Ü
F4=E
F5=E
F6=E
F7=|A|
F8=|V|
F9=|<|
FA=|nb|
FB=|nb2|
FC=|FC|
FC=" "
FD=|FD|
FE=|br|
FF=|end|

It is long but it should help.
ever text and name editing tool isnt working either and i do have everyting in the right folder and i also got al the dll ocx etc i got every sinlge progtram i can load roms only but the problem is they arn't working
__________________
  #789    
Old May 24th, 2007 (10:31 PM).
Blazichu's Avatar
Blazichu Blazichu is offline
Bahhhh?
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: The ground?
Age: 24
Gender: Male
1,390 posts
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Blazichu
Quote originally posted by Django0:
ever text and name editing tool isnt working either and i do have everyting in the right folder and i also got al the dll ocx etc i got every sinlge progtram i can load roms only but the problem is they arn't working
Make sure you have the ini files with them. If not that I don't know what is happening with your comp, maybe put the DLL and OCX files in the system32 folder.
__________________

←(left) the online world for life(MSN, PC etc.)~
  #790    
Old May 25th, 2007 (02:36 AM).
hacker_beginner hacker_beginner is offline
Beginner Trainer
 
Join Date: May 2007
Age: 24
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
3 post
Hi im an new Hacker and i am currently hacking Pokemon Fire Red.
Here is the stuff i need to know:
1. When you get to choose from the three poke balls in the start how do i only make it so there is one poke ball there not three?
2.once ive added a new person onto the map above cerulean city after the bridge what is the script i would use to make him give me a Charmander?
3.Same question as before but for a squirtle?
4.Same Question as two but bulbasaur?

Thanks if u can answer these

P.S. i need the whole script for the people not just how to do it if that would be ok.
  #791    
Old May 25th, 2007 (02:59 AM).
Krypton-knight EX Krypton-knight EX is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Jubilife city,sinnoh
Age: 21
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
99 post
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Krypton-knight EX Send a message via Yahoo to Krypton-knight EX
cool....so this is reopened.Then I can ask my question which I wanted to ask since the last 2 months.



Even though I have loaded a rom file why cant I use some its functions.i.e they are grey.I tried to go to mewthree inc. but it gives me a dns error.I would be glad if some one could answer my question or give me the link to download a working poketronic.

Take care,
~krypton-knight
  #792    
Old May 25th, 2007 (10:05 PM).
Charliezard's Avatar
Charliezard Charliezard is offline
A wild shroomish appeared!
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Age: 23
Gender: Male
1,278 posts
How do I set what X and Y co-ord you warp to in advance map.
I can set what X and Y position the warp is on.
I can set the map you warp to.
I just need to know how to set the X and Y position you warp to.
  #793    
Old May 25th, 2007 (10:55 PM).
Blazichu's Avatar
Blazichu Blazichu is offline
Bahhhh?
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: The ground?
Age: 24
Gender: Male
1,390 posts
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Blazichu
Quote originally posted by hacker_beginner:
Hi im an new Hacker and i am currently hacking Pokemon Fire Red.
Here is the stuff i need to know:
1. When you get to choose from the three poke balls in the start how do i only make it so there is one poke ball there not three?
2.once ive added a new person onto the map above cerulean city after the bridge what is the script i would use to make him give me a Charmander?
3.Same question as before but for a squirtle?
4.Same Question as two but bulbasaur?

Thanks if u can answer these

P.S. i need the whole script for the people not just how to do it if that would be ok.
1. Just remove the Pokeballs, by getting rid of two using AdvanceMap or EliteMap

2. Try:
#org 0x800000
checkflag 0x800
if 0 0x1 goto 0x800000
setflag 0x800
givepokemon 0x04 0x05

For charmander, set the offset of that person to 800000.

3+4. Use the same code but different offset and change the 0x04 to 0x01 for Bulbasaur and the 0x04 to 0x07 for Squirtle, make sure there offsets are differnet

Quote originally posted by Krypton-knight:
cool....so this is reopened.Then I can ask my question which I wanted to ask since the last 2 months.



Even though I have loaded a rom file why cant I use some its functions.i.e they are grey.I tried to go to mewthree inc. but it gives me a dns error.I would be glad if some one could answer my question or give me the link to download a working poketronic.

Take care,
~krypton-knight
I think Mewthree had not finished those functions so therefore they can't be access. You could just script the scripts you want though

Quote originally posted by Onvoloper:
How do I set what X and Y co-ord you warp to in advance map.
I can set what X and Y position the warp is on.
I can set the map you warp to.
I just need to know how to set the X and Y position you warp to.
Just move the warp to where you want it to warp, it isn't really hard, just click and drag.
__________________

←(left) the online world for life(MSN, PC etc.)~
  #794    
Old May 25th, 2007 (11:24 PM). Edited May 25th, 2007 by cory70.
cory70's Avatar
cory70 cory70 is offline
PokeRom Hacker
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
26 post
Quote originally posted by Blazichu:
Quote originally posted by Onvoloper:
How do I set what X and Y co-ord you warp to in advance map.
I can set what X and Y position the warp is on.
I can set the map you warp to.
I just need to know how to set the X and Y position you warp to.
Just move the warp to where you want it to warp, it isn't really hard, just click and drag.
I think he means when you go through the warp how can you choose the position you land in, because i made a warp but i landed in the middle of the city not in the position i wanted

Quote originally posted by hacker_beginner:
Hi im an new Hacker and i am currently hacking Pokemon Fire Red.
Here is the stuff i need to know:
1. When you get to choose from the three poke balls in the start how do i only make it so there is one poke ball there not three?
2.once ive added a new person onto the map above cerulean city after the bridge what is the script i would use to make him give me a Charmander?
3.Same question as before but for a squirtle?
4.Same Question as two but bulbasaur?

Thanks if u can answer these

P.S. i need the whole script for the people not just how to do it if that would be ok.
Are you making a remake of pokemon yellow?
  #795    
Old May 26th, 2007 (01:17 AM).
Blazichu's Avatar
Blazichu Blazichu is offline
Bahhhh?
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: The ground?
Age: 24
Gender: Male
1,390 posts
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Blazichu
Quote originally posted by cory70:
I think he means when you go through the warp how can you choose the position you land in, because i made a warp but i landed in the middle of the city not in the position i wanted



Are you making a remake of pokemon yellow?
Well if he means that just make sure you have the warp no., the map bank and the map as the one you want it, then when you enter you should exit somewhere else, but that can be fixed, make sure you make it warp to the map bank and map you want it to when you exit. eg. I want to enter Pallet Town(lab) from Cinnabar Gym, so I use the warp no., the map bank and map that is on the door of the lab and then I copy the information and put it onto the door of the gym, next I should enter the the lab now(to see if it works), ok now I look at the exit of the Cinnabar gym and copy the information on the warp and then I put it as the exit of the Pallet Town Lab. Now it should enter and exit correctly. Hopefully you understand that
__________________

←(left) the online world for life(MSN, PC etc.)~
  #796    
Old May 26th, 2007 (06:54 AM).
AquaLeaderMatt's Avatar
AquaLeaderMatt AquaLeaderMatt is offline
Ood.
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Age: 23
229 post
Hi. I was wondering, is Pokémon Amplifier still being worked on? Is the latest version 1.2.0.0? And does Amplifier have its own site? Thanks.
__________________
"There was me, that is Alex, and my three droogs, that is Pete, Georgie Boy and Dim. And we sat in the Korova Milk Bar trying to make up our rassoodocks what to do with the evening. The Korova Milk Bar sold milk plus, milk plus vellocet or synthemesc or drencrom which is what we were drinking. This would sharpen you up and make you ready for a bit of the old Ultra-Violence."
  #797    
Old May 26th, 2007 (06:59 AM).
Supergamecube14's Avatar
Supergamecube14 Supergamecube14 is offline
The Worst Hacker Ever Born
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Where Winds Of A New Beginning Blow!
Gender:
Nature: Rash
34 post
Hi, I have a quick question. In Advanced Text Editor, how do you make the UP, Down Left and Right Arrows for sign posts (in particular the up arrow)

Thanks!
__________________
Some people call me the Space Pokemon, Yeah,
Some call me the Disc of Luv,
Some ppeople call me Imakuni?!
*WAAOW-WaaoooW*


  #798    
Old May 26th, 2007 (06:17 PM).
Blazichu's Avatar
Blazichu Blazichu is offline
Bahhhh?
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: The ground?
Age: 24
Gender: Male
1,390 posts
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Blazichu
Quote originally posted by hitme2k5:
Hi. I was wondering, is Pokémon Amplifier still being worked on? Is the latest version 1.2.0.0? And does Amplifier have its own site? Thanks.
I haven't heard any new news about it, maybe it is being worked on in private.

Quote originally posted by Supergamecube14:
Hi, I have a quick question. In Advanced Text Editor, how do you make the UP, Down Left and Right Arrows for sign posts (in particular the up arrow)

Thanks!
You would have to use hex.
Up = [F7]
Down = [F8]
Left = [F9]
Right = [EF]
__________________

←(left) the online world for life(MSN, PC etc.)~
  #799    
Old May 27th, 2007 (01:07 AM).
hacker_beginner hacker_beginner is offline
Beginner Trainer
 
Join Date: May 2007
Age: 24
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
3 post
hey people yes cory70 im making a yellow remake. here r some more questions: 1. for the people giving me the pokemon i also want to add a message to it how do i do this, 2. how do i add jessie and james to the game and also add new movement for battle from them. Thanks
  #800    
Old May 27th, 2007 (01:22 AM).
Christos's Avatar
Christos Christos is online now
chase is my favourite
ModeratorBSCS
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
4,342 post
Quote originally posted by hacker_beginner:
hey people yes cory70 im making a yellow remake. here r some more questions: 1. for the people giving me the pokemon i also want to add a message to it how do i do this, 2. how do i add jessie and james to the game and also add new movement for battle from them. Thanks
To add a message to your script use the "message 0x[offset]" command in your script and to add Jessie and James you can make new events with trainer battles and change their pokémon's movesets in these battles with PET.
__________________
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 11:56 PM.