Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub > Beginner’s Lounge
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Beginner’s Lounge Where all good (and bad) ideas start. This is the Beginner’s Lounge, where if you need a helping hand or want to develop your small ideas, you bring it here. We won't bite.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #8126    
Old February 2nd, 2009 (02:54 AM).
GoldFlareon's Avatar
GoldFlareon GoldFlareon is offline
Flareon Lover
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The world of pokemon.
Age: 21
Gender: Female
Nature: Naive
Posts: 47
Send a message via AIM to GoldFlareon
Quote originally posted by Jerros:
I have a problem with giving a sprite to the 25 empty slots in emerald...

The sprite simply doesn't work for me...
I've done everything you've said EXACTLY, but I still encounter a "??" sprite called Togekiss (the one i'm trying to insert).

This is what I do:

First I have my Togekiss sprite.
It has 64x64 pixels and 16 colours.

Next, I go to unLZ, import the sprite, and click on "Write to Rom".
I only tick the "Image" box, since that's what i'm only caring for now.
I enter my empty offset in the "image offset" box in unZL (The offset is 00E5D080).
Now i click on "OK" in unLZ.

Next I open my rom in PEP, i go to the first questionmark (called Togekiss).
Now I enter E5D080 in the top box, called "Sprite offset".
I hit the save button, open the rom, and I still encounter a Togekiss with the ?? sprite.

What am I doing wrong!?


Also, something completely else, what is the number in unLZ for the badges in emerald?
There's a topic about that, but they give only the frontier symbol offsets.
Maybe you should click on "Export Palette" as well. And make sure you click: "Automatically Repoint" or whatever it says. That's all the help I can give you. :O
And, just like with Pokemon Types, I don't think UnLZ can change the badges. Unless I forgot. x3

Anyways, I'm having trouble inserting backsprites. I've inserted one before, but I don't remember how to do it again. The palette is messed up. The colours are really weird. D: And I tried to re-organise the order of the palette to match the front sprite, but it didn't work.
Help, please?

~Flareon.
__________________
"I need professional help."
"No arguments here!"
  #8127    
Old February 2nd, 2009 (04:48 AM).
Jerros's Avatar
Jerros Jerros is offline
TloS FTW!!!
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alkmaar, Netherlands
Age: 23
Gender:
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 72
Quote originally posted by GoldFlareon:
Maybe you should click on "Export Palette" as well. And make sure you click: "Automatically Repoint" or whatever it says. That's all the help I can give you. :O
And, just like with Pokemon Types, I don't think UnLZ can change the badges. Unless I forgot. x3

Anyways, I'm having trouble inserting backsprites. I've inserted one before, but I don't remember how to do it again. The palette is messed up. The colours are really weird. D: And I tried to re-organise the order of the palette to match the front sprite, but it didn't work.
Help, please?

~Flareon.
Use PEP to change the offset of your backsprite palette.
Try exporting the palette to an empty offset with unLZ, and then enter your offset in PEP.
Also, is the backsprite indexed?



Does anyone know what I'm doing wrong with inserting my pokemon frontsprites? (Read a couple posts up)
__________________
  #8128    
Old February 2nd, 2009 (06:06 AM).
Destrozone's Avatar
Destrozone Destrozone is offline
Finally Flyin' Solo
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Narnia Hills, California.
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 290
Send a message via AIM to Destrozone Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Destrozone
Quote originally posted by Destrozone:
Ok I will remember that! But, is there a way to expand it, so that there are more pallettes for all of the icons?

Also, can someone tell me what the offset in Unlz (fire red) the I can find the question mark sprite?? You know, the one that is for a pokemon that doesn't exist?
Umm........yeah,......Im pretty sure you know something about the question mark guys, or how to expand the pallette capacity for icons.
__________________
I have Returned!
  #8129    
Old February 2nd, 2009 (04:15 PM).
manoloxd19 manoloxd19 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Gender:
Posts: 1
hi this is a simple question how i know how many bites i need to search in free space finder im trying to do a wild fight but idk how much bites i need o doesnt matter? because de fsf ever put 64 bytes pls help
  #8130    
Old February 2nd, 2009 (04:43 PM).
Bigdog Bigdog is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Gender:
Posts: 212
How can you change the trainer class names in a fire red rom? And how do you change what HM you can use like Surf so you can be able to use it after you get the first badge ?
  #8131    
Old February 2nd, 2009 (04:50 PM).
TB Pro's Avatar
TB Pro TB Pro is offline
Old-timer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Midwestern USA
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,739
Quote originally posted by Bigdog:
How can you change the trainer class names in a fire red rom? And how do you change what HM you can use like Surf so you can be able to use it after you get the first badge ?
1. PET 2. Well, that's a tough one. You would have to search all instances of the flag in a Hex editor, then open those addresses in XSE, and see if it's the right script. If it is, then you'll have to change it to what you want.
__________________
--I'm a creepin'..
  #8132    
Old February 2nd, 2009 (05:59 PM).
Robert Conley's Avatar
Robert Conley Robert Conley is offline
GPXPlus.net/user/Robert+Conley
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The Anti Spiral Homeworld
Gender: Male
Nature: Docile
Posts: 330
Where do i find the numbers for pokemon when scripting? I know pikachu is 0x19 from a tutorial, but where can I find the rest? Also how come in a script when I put 0x10 as the level value the pokemon comes out level 16 instead of level 10?
  #8133    
Old February 2nd, 2009 (06:05 PM). Edited February 2nd, 2009 by destinedjagold.
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 7,285
Quote originally posted by hildetorr:
Where do i find the numbers for pokemon when scripting? I know pikachu is 0x19 from a tutorial, but where can I find the rest? Also how come in a script when I put 0x10 as the level value the pokemon comes out level 16 instead of level 10?
look up in thethethethe's scripting tutorial and search thoroughly there, for it has the list of all PKMN in hex.

also, it's lvl 16 'cause you put in the script 0x10, which is in hex value. the script converts that hex into binary, so 0x10 is 16.

you can just put 10 instead of 0x10.

also next time, if you have a script question, ask in the Script Help Thread.

---oOo---

elow everyone.
I got a question here...

I have a map which when I enter, my RUNNING SHOES vanish. :\
does anyone know why this is happening?

I tried changing the music, don't show name, weather, cave type, fight type, level script removed, but nothing seems to work.


edit...

never mind. I figured it out but another question...
how many warps, scripts and persons and signs can one map handle? :\
__________________


FC: 0061-1111-6462
TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

  #8134    
Old February 3rd, 2009 (02:18 AM).
Larsie13 Larsie13 is offline
Gone
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 24
Nature: Modest
Posts: 159
Quote originally posted by destinedjagold:


look up in thethethethe's scripting tutorial and search thoroughly there, for it has the list of all PKMN in hex.

also, it's lvl 16 'cause you put in the script 0x10, which is in hex value. the script converts that hex into binary, so 0x10 is 16.

you can just put 10 instead of 0x10.

also next time, if you have a script question, ask in the Script Help Thread.

---oOo---

elow everyone.
I got a question here...

I have a map which when I enter, my RUNNING SHOES vanish. :\
does anyone know why this is happening?

I tried changing the music, don't show name, weather, cave type, fight type, level script removed, but nothing seems to work.


edit...

never mind. I figured it out but another question...
how many warps, scripts and persons and signs can one map handle? :\
Well, it should be able to handle 255 of each type. I just tried it out, and there seemed to be no problem. So yeah, you should be able to put 255 of each type on a map without the game crashing.
  #8135    
Old February 3rd, 2009 (06:57 PM).
Liquid Shadow's Avatar
Liquid Shadow Liquid Shadow is offline
xD
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Gender:
Posts: 224
Simple Question: Can you run two or three scripts at the same time? Like one level script that is constantly checking a variable while at the same time other scripts in the map running.
__________________

4 truths of life
1. You cannot touch all your teeth with your tongue.
2. All idiots, after reading the first truth, will try it.
3. And discover that the first truth is a lie.
4. You're smiling now because you're an idiot.
  #8136    
Old February 3rd, 2009 (07:21 PM).
Gamer2020's Avatar
Gamer2020 Gamer2020 is offline
This love is a sickness...
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Distant Land
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 802
Send a message via Skype™ to Gamer2020
hello ladies, gentlemen and undecided!

I got a question slash request. I want to add more attacks to ruby version. I think I remember a tutorial for fire red but I can't find it. If maybe someone has a link to that then please can you post it?

if not then How to i add more attacks to ruby without replacing attacks?
__________________
ENERGYSEARCH.ME
A Pokemon TCG database and Social network!
Pokemon Game Editor Download!
PGE is not being worked on currently but is there for those that need it.
Fun Fact: Even though PGE isn't posted on PC anymore it still has the same number of downloads per day.
Accept no imitations!
  #8137    
Old February 4th, 2009 (04:38 AM).
Andryandrew Andryandrew is offline
Italian Asm Hacker
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Age: 22
Gender:
Nature: Timid
Posts: 117
Quote originally posted by NeoNemesis:
Simple Question: Can you run two or three scripts at the same time? Like one level script that is constantly checking a variable while at the same time other scripts in the map running.
simply not :D... You cannot run similar scripts... to do something like that, you have to know ASM
__________________

Sorry for my bad English... I'm Italian
Anybody that is a GBA ASM hacker is cool!
I'm a GBA ASM hacker --> I'm cool :D

Made Day-Night Routine! You can find the thread HERE
  #8138    
Old February 4th, 2009 (08:10 AM).
Pokepal17's Avatar
Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
More cowbell~
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Steeltown
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,517
Well I just tried out Darthatron's OW resizing tutorial.
I re-sized a Ho-oh and put a different sprite in it's place. This is what it looks like.


It looked right in OW Editor RE and A-map.
But ingame it looked like this.


I followed the tutorial word for word.
So what's wrong with it?
Or is it the ROM?
__________________
Pokémon Stardrop
  #8139    
Old February 4th, 2009 (09:59 AM).
iTeruri's Avatar
iTeruri iTeruri is offline
iAm
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: The Nederlands
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 276
In the FR/LG Trainer Tower, the trainers pokémon are the same level as the player's highest leveled pokémon.
I searched for those trainers with a-trainer, and I couldn't finde them. I tried to look at their script, but a-map gives an error and their script offset is $000000.

So I had no luck fining out how to do this (opponents level = highest player level). However, I 'need' this for a Battle Frontier in Fire Red. If it can't be done, I will sticky with some random levels above 50.
  #8140    
Old February 4th, 2009 (10:19 AM).
Goldie's Avatar
Goldie Goldie is offline
Trainer from the Boonies
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Northern Alberta
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 80
I'm hacking Pokemon Ruby, I'm wondering if there's any way to do this stuff:

1. Change the introduction text, the introduction you get when you start a new game.
2. Create another May rival event.

I really want the May event to go like this, the player walks on a certain spot in the map, and May comes walking in from behind you and starts talking, but no battle, then she leaves.
I'm just getting the hand of scripting, and have no idea how to use my Hex Workshop. I'm using Advance Map and the XSE scripting thing too.

Thanks so much in advance.
__________________

3DS FC: 5472-7039-8692
  #8141    
Old February 4th, 2009 (10:49 AM).
Gamer2020's Avatar
Gamer2020 Gamer2020 is offline
This love is a sickness...
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Distant Land
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 802
Send a message via Skype™ to Gamer2020
Quote originally posted by Gamer2020:
hello ladies, gentlemen and undecided!

I got a question slash request. I want to add more attacks to ruby version. I think I remember a tutorial for fire red but I can't find it. If maybe someone has a link to that then please can you post it?

if not then How to i add more attacks to ruby without replacing attacks?
Someone please if you know answer...
__________________
ENERGYSEARCH.ME
A Pokemon TCG database and Social network!
Pokemon Game Editor Download!
PGE is not being worked on currently but is there for those that need it.
Fun Fact: Even though PGE isn't posted on PC anymore it still has the same number of downloads per day.
Accept no imitations!
  #8142    
Old February 4th, 2009 (11:48 AM).
Andryandrew Andryandrew is offline
Italian Asm Hacker
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Age: 22
Gender:
Nature: Timid
Posts: 117
I think it's impossible with standard method, and it's very difficult to do using High-level hacking methods... You probably have to find Attack bank, understand the way attacks are stored in, and then repoint the bank...
__________________

Sorry for my bad English... I'm Italian
Anybody that is a GBA ASM hacker is cool!
I'm a GBA ASM hacker --> I'm cool :D

Made Day-Night Routine! You can find the thread HERE
  #8143    
Old February 4th, 2009 (12:37 PM).
mastermudkip's Avatar
mastermudkip mastermudkip is offline
Pokevalley Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Holland,Rotterdam
Age: 21
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 23
How insert New Items in Games
__________________

My Topic`s

CHECK IT NOW
http://www.fakevalley.webs.com/
http://www.youfreeweb.com/Freedownloads/
http://www.youfreeweb.com/pokevalley2/
  #8144    
Old February 4th, 2009 (01:46 PM).
Andryandrew Andryandrew is offline
Italian Asm Hacker
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Age: 22
Gender:
Nature: Timid
Posts: 117
Quote originally posted by mastermudkip:
How insert New Items in Games
same answer... It's very difficult and maybe impossible
__________________

Sorry for my bad English... I'm Italian
Anybody that is a GBA ASM hacker is cool!
I'm a GBA ASM hacker --> I'm cool :D

Made Day-Night Routine! You can find the thread HERE
  #8145    
Old February 4th, 2009 (03:08 PM).
Thrace's Avatar
Thrace Thrace is offline
@tion
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,048
Quote originally posted by mastermudkip:
How insert New Items in Games
Theres a lot of unused ??????? items you can just edit.
__________________
  #8146    
Old February 4th, 2009 (05:50 PM).
Gamer2020's Avatar
Gamer2020 Gamer2020 is offline
This love is a sickness...
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Distant Land
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 802
Send a message via Skype™ to Gamer2020
Quote originally posted by Andryandrew:
I think it's impossible with standard method, and it's very difficult to do using High-level hacking methods... You probably have to find Attack bank, understand the way attacks are stored in, and then repoint the bank...
Could it maybe be done the way more overworld sprites are done?
Repointing the attack bank and then adding more attacks. Then you edit the attacks with an attack editor.
Idk im probably thinking wrong. Im not new at rom hacking but I'm not an expert either...
__________________
ENERGYSEARCH.ME
A Pokemon TCG database and Social network!
Pokemon Game Editor Download!
PGE is not being worked on currently but is there for those that need it.
Fun Fact: Even though PGE isn't posted on PC anymore it still has the same number of downloads per day.
Accept no imitations!
  #8147    
Old February 4th, 2009 (10:26 PM).
Cy-Chan's Avatar
Cy-Chan Cy-Chan is offline
GSC Hacker
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK, England.
Age: 24
Gender:
Nature: Timid
Posts: 152
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Cy-Chan
Quote originally posted by Gamer2020:
Could it maybe be done the way more overworld sprites are done?
Repointing the attack bank and then adding more attacks. Then you edit the attacks with an attack editor.
Idk im probably thinking wrong. Im not new at rom hacking but I'm not an expert either...
Can be done, easily. It is just repointing the attack bank. Animations are tricky though; I personally have no idea how to work them (and not having an animation will make the game crash when a new attack is used).
__________________
Cy-Chan's Guide to Pointers for Newbies!
Cy-Chan's Guide to Move Hacking for Newbies!
Cy-Chan's Fire Red Sound-type Patch (for Newbies?)
Cy-Chan's God-Awful Pixel Art
  #8148    
Old February 4th, 2009 (10:28 PM).
Gamer2020's Avatar
Gamer2020 Gamer2020 is offline
This love is a sickness...
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Distant Land
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 802
Send a message via Skype™ to Gamer2020
Quote originally posted by Cy-Chan:
Can be done, easily. It is just repointing the attack bank. Animations are tricky though; I personally have no idea how to work them (and not having an animation will make the game crash when a new attack is used).
ah...
well is it possible to point to different attacks to the same animation?
__________________
ENERGYSEARCH.ME
A Pokemon TCG database and Social network!
Pokemon Game Editor Download!
PGE is not being worked on currently but is there for those that need it.
Fun Fact: Even though PGE isn't posted on PC anymore it still has the same number of downloads per day.
Accept no imitations!
  #8149    
Old February 5th, 2009 (07:23 AM).
Larsie13 Larsie13 is offline
Gone
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 24
Nature: Modest
Posts: 159
Quote originally posted by Teruri:
In the FR/LG Trainer Tower, the trainers pokémon are the same level as the player's highest leveled pokémon.
I searched for those trainers with a-trainer, and I couldn't finde them. I tried to look at their script, but a-map gives an error and their script offset is $000000.

So I had no luck fining out how to do this (opponents level = highest player level). However, I 'need' this for a Battle Frontier in Fire Red. If it can't be done, I will sticky with some random levels above 50.
That's done with ASM I think. So, unless you know ASM, you'll have a hard time editing them.
  #8150    
Old February 5th, 2009 (11:16 AM).
Goldie's Avatar
Goldie Goldie is offline
Trainer from the Boonies
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Northern Alberta
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 80
How can I edit what a someone says in the game with a hex editor? Basically how can I edit text with Hexecute or Hex Workshop but I sort of prefer Hexecute.
__________________

3DS FC: 5472-7039-8692
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 10:30 PM.