Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub > Beginner’s Lounge
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Beginner’s Lounge Where all good (and bad) ideas start. This is the Beginner’s Lounge, where if you need a helping hand or want to develop your small ideas, you bring it here. We won't bite.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #8151    
Old February 5th, 2009 (11:49 AM). Edited February 5th, 2009 by Andryandrew.
Andryandrew Andryandrew is offline
Italian Asm Hacker
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Age: 22
Gender:
Nature: Timid
Posts: 117
Quote originally posted by Gamer2020:
ah...
well is it possible to point to different attacks to the same animation?
probably yes, it's possible

Quote originally posted by Goldie:
How can I edit what a someone says in the game with a hex editor? Basically how can I edit text with Hexecute or Hex Workshop but I sort of prefer Hexecute.
you have to load a Text Table in your text editor... i don't know where you can find a pokemon text table
__________________

Sorry for my bad English... I'm Italian
Anybody that is a GBA ASM hacker is cool!
I'm a GBA ASM hacker --> I'm cool :D

Made Day-Night Routine! You can find the thread HERE
  #8152    
Old February 5th, 2009 (12:06 PM).
Lyzo's Avatar
Lyzo Lyzo is offline
On vacation
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 251
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Lyzo
I've got a major problem... I've been working on a game and everything worked fine. But now at some points in some maps the game restarts :(. There are no scripts or anything and I have no idea what's causing it. I just walk somewhere and all of a sudden the game restarts. Has anyone else had this before? Please help me! I'm uploading a video to show what's happening.
__________________


Thank you The Blueprint !!!
  #8153    
Old February 5th, 2009 (12:28 PM).
Andryandrew Andryandrew is offline
Italian Asm Hacker
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Age: 22
Gender:
Nature: Timid
Posts: 117
Quote originally posted by Lyzo:
I've got a major problem... I've been working on a game and everything worked fine. But now at some points in some maps the game restarts . There are no scripts or anything and I have no idea what's causing it. I just walk somewhere and all of a sudden the game restarts. Has anyone else had this before? Please help me! I'm uploading a video to show what's happening.
maybe some people in map have the behaviour "hidden"? This often cause game restart
__________________

Sorry for my bad English... I'm Italian
Anybody that is a GBA ASM hacker is cool!
I'm a GBA ASM hacker --> I'm cool :D

Made Day-Night Routine! You can find the thread HERE
  #8154    
Old February 5th, 2009 (02:00 PM).
Lyzo's Avatar
Lyzo Lyzo is offline
On vacation
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 251
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Lyzo
Quote originally posted by Andryandrew:
maybe some people in map have the behaviour "hidden"? This often cause game restart
Oh! That's the problem! Thanks :D
__________________


Thank you The Blueprint !!!
  #8155    
Old February 5th, 2009 (04:41 PM).
Cy-Chan's Avatar
Cy-Chan Cy-Chan is offline
GSC Hacker
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK, England.
Age: 24
Gender:
Nature: Timid
Posts: 152
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Cy-Chan
Hm, which areas of RAM are unused in Ruby?
__________________
Cy-Chan's Guide to Pointers for Newbies!
Cy-Chan's Guide to Move Hacking for Newbies!
Cy-Chan's Fire Red Sound-type Patch (for Newbies?)
Cy-Chan's God-Awful Pixel Art
  #8156    
Old February 5th, 2009 (05:09 PM).
Pellio's Avatar
Pellio Pellio is offline
Dragonair :D
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 25
Gender:
Nature: Impish
Posts: 47
Sorry if this has been answered already, but I couldn't see anything anywhere.
Was just wondering if anybody knew of any hacking tools for Mac OS X? I have downloaded CrossOver which allows me to use Windows programes but only AdvanceMap and unLZGBA actually load up with it. Nothing happens when I try to open AdvanceMart, AdvanceText, OverWorldEditor etc. eventhough they have the CrossOver symbol like the two that do work. Have tried downloading them from different places to see if that helps, just need to know if there's any way to get these programes to run, if I need to download anything else? Or if there are just tools for Macs, would be much easier!
  #8157    
Old February 5th, 2009 (05:39 PM). Edited February 5th, 2009 by Robert Conley.
Robert Conley's Avatar
Robert Conley Robert Conley is offline
GPXPlus.net/user/Robert+Conley
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The Anti Spiral Homeworld
Gender: Male
Nature: Docile
Posts: 330
Quote originally posted by Pellio:
Sorry if this has been answered already, but I couldn't see anything anywhere.
Was just wondering if anybody knew of any hacking tools for Mac OS X? I have downloaded CrossOver which allows me to use Windows programes but only AdvanceMap and unLZGBA actually load up with it. Nothing happens when I try to open AdvanceMart, AdvanceText, OverWorldEditor etc. eventhough they have the CrossOver symbol like the two that do work. Have tried downloading them from different places to see if that helps, just need to know if there's any way to get these programes to run, if I need to download anything else? Or if there are just tools for Macs, would be much easier!
Have you tried looking here:
www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=154671

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ok so I pulled some D/P sprites from a Ruby hack and am trying to put them in a Fire Red rom(using unlz.gba) the problem occurs when i hit write to rom.

I put in the image on the left but after hitting write to rom the image on the left appears in the game. This happens with pretty much every sprite I try to insert. So how do I fix this?

  #8158    
Old February 5th, 2009 (11:21 PM).
Cy-Chan's Avatar
Cy-Chan Cy-Chan is offline
GSC Hacker
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK, England.
Age: 24
Gender:
Nature: Timid
Posts: 152
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Cy-Chan
Quote originally posted by hildetorr:
Ok so I pulled some D/P sprites from a Ruby hack and am trying to put them in a Fire Red rom(using unlz.gba) the problem occurs when i hit write to rom.

I put in the image on the left but after hitting write to rom the image on the left appears in the game. This happens with pretty much every sprite I try to insert. So how do I fix this?

Image isn't indexed (hasn't been reduced to the GBA's 16-color standard). When you pulled it from the other rom, it's been saved as a full color image, rather than a 16-color one. Download IrfanView, and reduce the pallete with that... Oh! And you have recieved permission to use the sprite, yes?

To everyone else! Anyone know empty RAM areas in Ruby? La-de-da...
__________________
Cy-Chan's Guide to Pointers for Newbies!
Cy-Chan's Guide to Move Hacking for Newbies!
Cy-Chan's Fire Red Sound-type Patch (for Newbies?)
Cy-Chan's God-Awful Pixel Art
  #8159    
Old February 5th, 2009 (11:43 PM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 3,447
Quote originally posted by hildetorr:

Ok so I pulled some D/P sprites from a Ruby hack and am trying to put them in a Fire Red rom(using unlz.gba) the problem occurs when i hit write to rom.

I put in the image on the left but after hitting write to rom the image on the left appears in the game. This happens with pretty much every sprite I try to insert. So how do I fix this?

The reson could be that they are too big. They are already indexed as they were already in a hack. Re-insert them using torferno-x's new pokemon inserting. Insert it into blank space, and see what happens.
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...

Nerves of Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

  #8160    
Old February 6th, 2009 (04:41 AM).
Andryandrew Andryandrew is offline
Italian Asm Hacker
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Age: 22
Gender:
Nature: Timid
Posts: 117
Quote originally posted by Cy-Chan:
Hm, which areas of RAM are unused in Ruby?
uhm... In every game, area from 02040000 to 02FFFFFF is unusued... But pheraps it doesn't work if you use it...
__________________

Sorry for my bad English... I'm Italian
Anybody that is a GBA ASM hacker is cool!
I'm a GBA ASM hacker --> I'm cool :D

Made Day-Night Routine! You can find the thread HERE
  #8161    
Old February 6th, 2009 (06:04 AM).
Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
The Faltine
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenia
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,578
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
I change a pallete in APE, then I check in UnLZ.GBA. The pallete is corrupted. How do I fix those kind of things?

I imported a 16-color pal.

This is how it looks in UnLZ.GBA:


This is how it looks in APE:
__________________
  #8162    
Old February 6th, 2009 (06:18 AM).
Andryandrew Andryandrew is offline
Italian Asm Hacker
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Age: 22
Gender:
Nature: Timid
Posts: 117
Quote originally posted by Tropical Sunlight:
I change a pallete in APE, then I check in UnLZ.GBA. The pallete is corrupted. How do I fix those kind of things?

I imported a 16-color pal.

This is how it looks in UnLZ.GBA:


This is how it looks in APE:
Uhm... maybe they aren't Lz77 compressed palette's: so you have to deselect the option "compressed palettes (LZ77)
__________________

Sorry for my bad English... I'm Italian
Anybody that is a GBA ASM hacker is cool!
I'm a GBA ASM hacker --> I'm cool :D

Made Day-Night Routine! You can find the thread HERE
  #8163    
Old February 6th, 2009 (06:24 AM).
Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
The Faltine
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenia
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,578
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
Quote originally posted by Andryandrew:
Uhm... maybe they aren't Lz77 compressed palette's: so you have to deselect the option "compressed palettes (LZ77)
But if I un-check it, the colors of the Actual pallete are weird just like Next Pro :p
They are LZ77 compressed. The colors match Pineco's sprite.
__________________
  #8164    
Old February 6th, 2009 (07:13 AM).
12345's Avatar
12345 12345 is offline
Sky
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 408
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to 12345
i have a big problem.
I can compile a new script in Emerald.
i use XSE.
Do you know why?
  #8165    
Old February 6th, 2009 (07:20 AM).
Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
The Faltine
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenia
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,578
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
Quote originally posted by 12345:
i have a big problem.
I can compile a new script in Emerald.
i use XSE.
Do you know why?
Why is it a problem if you can compile a script O.o
__________________
  #8166    
Old February 6th, 2009 (07:41 AM). Edited February 6th, 2009 by 12345.
12345's Avatar
12345 12345 is offline
Sky
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 408
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to 12345
Quote:
Why is it a problem if you can compile a script O.o
I'm sorry.
I can't compile a script.
Help me, please.
  #8167    
Old February 6th, 2009 (07:58 AM).
Lyzo's Avatar
Lyzo Lyzo is offline
On vacation
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 251
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Lyzo
Quote originally posted by Andryandrew:
maybe some people in map have the behaviour "hidden"? This often cause game restart
Is there a way to use the behaviour hidden without making the game restart?
__________________


Thank you The Blueprint !!!
  #8168    
Old February 6th, 2009 (08:37 AM).
Andryandrew Andryandrew is offline
Italian Asm Hacker
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Age: 22
Gender:
Nature: Timid
Posts: 117
Quote originally posted by Lyzo:
Is there a way to use the behaviour hidden without making the game restart?
mmm... i don't know... but i think no
__________________

Sorry for my bad English... I'm Italian
Anybody that is a GBA ASM hacker is cool!
I'm a GBA ASM hacker --> I'm cool :D

Made Day-Night Routine! You can find the thread HERE
  #8169    
Old February 6th, 2009 (08:47 AM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 7,289
Quote originally posted by Lyzo:
Is there a way to use the behaviour hidden without making the game restart?
er... try adding a level script in the map where it hides the person with the command 'hidesprite'...
__________________


FC: 0061-1111-6462
TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

  #8170    
Old February 6th, 2009 (08:54 AM).
Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
The Faltine
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenia
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,578
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
Quote originally posted by Tropical Sunlight:
I change a pallete in APE, then I check in UnLZ.GBA. The pallete is corrupted. How do I fix those kind of things?

I imported a 16-color pal.

This is how it looks in UnLZ.GBA:


This is how it looks in APE:
Plz... I need to know...
I'd like to insert Fakemon into my hack...
__________________
  #8171    
Old February 6th, 2009 (03:01 PM).
Pokepal17's Avatar
Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
More cowbell~
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Steeltown
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,517
I got some qusetions.

1) At which offset in the Ram in Fire Red, is the player's palette byte stored?
2) What is the offset for the irls backsprites for Fire Red in Tile Molester?
3) How do I change the trainer cards in Fire Red?
__________________
Pokémon Stardrop
  #8172    
Old February 6th, 2009 (03:05 PM).
Lyzo's Avatar
Lyzo Lyzo is offline
On vacation
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 251
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Lyzo
I've got a glitch in my game, I'm not sure what caused it, but here goes:

It's a script that involves a battle between two team Rocket grunts, after the battle everything looks glitched.

Spoiler:


The things with circles around them shouldn't be there. Can anyone tell me what the problem is? The script goes on though... but the glitched stuff stays there.
__________________


Thank you The Blueprint !!!
  #8173    
Old February 6th, 2009 (03:45 PM).
ckret2's Avatar
ckret2 ckret2 is offline
usually pronounced "secret 2"
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: You Are Here
Age: 24
Gender:
Nature: Rash
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to ckret2
I've got some glitchy images in my pause menu:



I've used AdvanceMap, Overworld Editor RE, Starter Map Chooser Advance, Title-Screen Cry Changer, and XSE on the hack so far. It looks this glitchy from the moment the game starts, so I doubt it's any of the scripts that are making things look funny. (Plus, there's only one script in this version of the hack, and it's a simple talking script.) Of the above tools, I'm most inclined to suspect the Title-Screen Cry Changer for causing this, because I haven't heard of any similar problems with any of the other tools, but I haven't heard any testimonial about the Title-Screen Cry Changer at all.

If this is the biggest problem my hack has, I'll be perfectly happy, since this is relatively minor, and I think that any players who are searching for ROM hacks have a pretty good knowledge of what the items in the Start menu do. Still, if it's indicative of a bigger glitch just waiting to kick in, I'd rather know now.
__________________

This one is my hack.


This one is the hack I part-time map for.

I got an Illumise?
Pretty awesome.
Glad I grabbed an egg I didn't recognize.
  #8174    
Old February 6th, 2009 (04:39 PM). Edited February 6th, 2009 by Destrozone.
Destrozone's Avatar
Destrozone Destrozone is offline
Finally Flyin' Solo
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Narnia Hills, California.
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 290
Send a message via AIM to Destrozone Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Destrozone
Can someone tell me what the offset in Unlz (fire red) the I can find the question mark sprite?? Or where I can find it on the internet. You know, the one that is for a pokemon that doesn't exist? It is a question mark inside of a circle, and it is black and white. I'm sure you have seen it once or twice. Here is the backsprite, but I cannot find the front sprite.
__________________
I have Returned!
  #8175    
Old February 6th, 2009 (06:35 PM).
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron Darthatron is offline
巨大なトロール。
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,152
Quote originally posted by Destrozone:
Can someone tell me what the offset in Unlz (fire red) the I can find the question mark sprite?? Or where I can find it on the internet. You know, the one that is for a pokemon that doesn't exist? It is a question mark inside of a circle, and it is black and white. I'm sure you have seen it once or twice. Here is the backsprite, but I cannot find the front sprite.
If I'm not mistaken they are the same image for front and back sprites.
__________________
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 09:15 AM.