The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.


Advertise here

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #8276    
Old February 16th, 2009, 07:31 PM
Gamer2020's Avatar
Gamer2020
This love is a sickness...
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Violet city!
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to Gamer2020 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Gamer2020 Send a message via Yahoo to Gamer2020 Send a message via Skype™ to Gamer2020

Advertise here
Ok now this is going to sound really stupid but I keep messing up my rom when i try.
How do I enable running shoes in ruby. Like is it a flag or an item? I'm confused. How would a script for it go?And/or what flag is it. Everytime I try to write a script for it something always goes wrong when I talk to the npc so im stumped.
__________________
Pokemon Game Editor Download!
  #8277    
Old February 16th, 2009, 08:26 PM
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Im comin' home...
Community Supporter Tier 1
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamer2020 View Post
Ok now this is going to sound really stupid but I keep messing up my rom when i try.
How do I enable running shoes in ruby. Like is it a flag or an item? I'm confused. How would a script for it go?And/or what flag is it. Everytime I try to write a script for it something always goes wrong when I talk to the npc so im stumped.
The running shoes is in fact a flag. You would know this if you read the std.rbh file that comes with XSE.

Nintendo only makes it seem like a flag in order to make you feel like you got an item.
They do this by adding a msgbox 0x4 and then playing the item recieving fanfare, then a waitfanfare, then a closeonkeypress.

Anyways, to enable the running shoes, set this flag. (For ruby of course)
setflag 0x860

if you want the music too, try using this portion of a script.
Code:
...
msgbox @text 0x4
fanfare 0x13E
waitfanfare
setflag 0x860
closeonkeypress
...
Next time, ask in the script help thread, okay?
(Also, if you are using an event tile in A-Map, set your settings to 0300 and 4050!
(Unless you are using a person, then one of the unknown things needs to be set to 03... I think))
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
  #8278    
Old February 16th, 2009, 08:43 PM
Gamer2020's Avatar
Gamer2020
This love is a sickness...
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Violet city!
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to Gamer2020 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Gamer2020 Send a message via Yahoo to Gamer2020 Send a message via Skype™ to Gamer2020
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0m3GA ARS3NAL View Post
The running shoes is in fact a flag. You would know this if you read the std.rbh file that comes with XSE.

Nintendo only makes it seem like a flag in order to make you feel like you got an item.
They do this by adding a msgbox 0x4 and then playing the item recieving fanfare, then a waitfanfare, then a closeonkeypress.

Anyways, to enable the running shoes, set this flag. (For ruby of course)
setflag 0x860

if you want the music too, try using this portion of a script.
Code:
...
msgbox @text 0x4
fanfare 0x13E
waitfanfare
setflag 0x860
closeonkeypress
...
Next time, ask in the script help thread, okay?
(Also, if you are using an event tile in A-Map, set your settings to 0300 and 4050!
(Unless you are using a person, then one of the unknown things needs to be set to 03... I think))
ah well I asked here since I thought it would be more of a prob with amap rather then the script.

So there is no running shoes item then? Like one that would appear in the key items?

Also in amap. Lets say I expand the overworld bank or w/e and add more overworlds. What would be the ini that i would have to edit for amap to be able to "see" the new ows?
__________________
Pokemon Game Editor Download!
  #8279    
Old February 17th, 2009, 12:08 AM
Jerros's Avatar
Jerros
TloS FTW!!!
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alkmaar, Netherlands
Age: 22
Gender:
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larsie13 View Post
Hmm, look at some cave maps in the game, and try to mimic the header in your map. That should probably do it. It might also have to do something with the "Show name on entering" setting. All caves have them set to 0F. Well, almost all. NAVEL ROCK doesn't, for example. And, if I recall correctly, you can't use ESCAPE ROPE in NAVEL ROCK.
Ok, I'll try that. Thank you!
__________________
  #8280    
Old February 17th, 2009, 01:49 AM
~Poke~'s Avatar
~Poke~
Hasn't played 5th gen yet.
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: On the moon
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote:
Originally Posted by hot_kage View Post
i have a simple question LOL
okay so in unLZ.GBA does anyone know the number for the battle backround?
Yeah, does anyone know?

I just need it for my hack... It's in a city!
__________________
I refuse to enter a battle of the wits with you,
it's against my morals to attack an unarmed person.

  #8281    
Old February 17th, 2009, 01:52 AM
DarkDoom3000's Avatar
DarkDoom3000
Super Pokemon Eevee Edition
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New Zealand
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Hey, is it possible to any of the 3:

-Change the legendary dog encounter rate
-Make it possible for all 3 dogs to run around kanto
-Give the player the pokedex "Sighting" for the dog/s so you'll be able to see where they are roaming before you actually meet them (EG: after oak gives you national dex, hell give you the pages for the 3 dogs, so you can see where they are running around.

Pls and thank you.

EDIT: For pokemon Fire Red.
__________________
Beta 0.73 is out
Thread | Website | Blog

Last edited by DarkDoom3000; February 17th, 2009 at 01:52 AM. Reason: name of th game
  #8282    
Old February 17th, 2009, 03:27 AM
iTeruri's Avatar
iTeruri
iAm
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: The Nederlands
Nature: Relaxed
I changed the rival's overworld to Togepi with a new pallete. In the game everything works fine, except in the intro where you have to enter a name for the rival. The OW is bugged in two ways:
1. The normal standing pose has a weird pallete
2. The walking pose is the same as the old

How can I fix this problem?
  #8283    
Old February 17th, 2009, 03:51 AM
Vrai
can you feel my heart?
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Vrai
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teruri View Post
I changed the rival's overworld to Togepi with a new pallete. In the game everything works fine, except in the intro where you have to enter a name for the rival. The OW is bugged in two ways:
1. The normal standing pose has a weird pallete
2. The walking pose is the same as the old

How can I fix this problem?
Did you, perchance, replace ALL of the rival's sprites? The ones on the intro are walking sprites, and I'm assuming that you only changed the forward-facing sprite. If you're going to change sprites, you have to change all of them. :/
__________________
aka Zebraiken | pairs; Ω & ζ | bffl; λ | now; Ϟ | twin; ξ | brother; φ | sister; Ψ | neeks; Ϫ
  #8284    
Old February 17th, 2009, 03:52 AM
Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
Tropical Sunlight
The Faltine
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenia
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teruri View Post
I changed the rival's overworld to Togepi with a new pallete. In the game everything works fine, except in the intro where you have to enter a name for the rival. The OW is bugged in two ways:
1. The normal standing pose has a weird pallete
2. The walking pose is the same as the old

How can I fix this problem?
1. I don't know; maybe you have to use the pallete that it shows and change that one instead of the one you're using
2. You have to change the walking poses, too. They're not gonna change by themselves
__________________
  #8285    
Old February 17th, 2009, 03:57 AM
iTeruri's Avatar
iTeruri
iAm
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: The Nederlands
Nature: Relaxed
I changed them all, atleast the ones found on index 89 (Fire Red). It are standing sprites and walking sprites. In the game itself everything works perfect, that what makes it weird. I also changed the player owver worlds, but those worked perfect within the game and the name enter screen. :/
  #8286    
Old February 17th, 2009, 04:30 AM
Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
Tropical Sunlight
The Faltine
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenia
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
Maybe you shouldn't change the palette
__________________
  #8287    
Old February 17th, 2009, 04:36 AM
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Im comin' home...
Community Supporter Tier 1
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teruri View Post
I changed them all, atleast the ones found on index 89 (Fire Red). It are standing sprites and walking sprites. In the game itself everything works perfect, that what makes it weird. I also changed the player owver worlds, but those worked perfect within the game and the name enter screen. :/
Try using the VBA as your pallet finder.
While in the VBA, and you see the sprite you want to edit the pallet of in the game, goto...
Tools-->Pallet Viewer

Then, look for the colors of your sprite. When you think you found it, click on the first color, and you will get a hex number, click on the next one, and you will get another color. THen just search them up in APE and you will be set! (That is how I changed the border of the text in the Pikachu intro to a light Purple / Pink color.)
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
  #8288    
Old February 17th, 2009, 05:59 AM
Destrozone's Avatar
Destrozone
Finally Flyin' Solo
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Narnia Hills, California.
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via AIM to Destrozone Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Destrozone
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poke-random View Post
Yeah, does anyone know?

I just need it for my hack... It's in a city!
There is a tutorial on that here.
__________________
I have Returned!
  #8289    
Old February 17th, 2009, 07:49 AM
DaVici's Avatar
DaVici
DeEmpo
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Home
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to DaVici
I have a weird bug, in a ruby version, using tileset 0-6, with a-map

This is what is supposed to look:


And in-game, the grass glitches:
__________________
----------------------------- I support...
Spoiler:





Pokemon Warped

Pokemon Xenotime

Pokemon Malachite

Pokemon Super Rising Thunder

Super Pokemon Eevee Edition

Pokemon Sienna

Pokemon Identity

Pokemon Chronicles: Sands of time
  #8290    
Old February 17th, 2009, 08:13 AM
hi sir tomato my password is syvniti's Avatar
hi sir tomato my password is syvniti
gggggggggggggggggg
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: My user name _ asciii_ +&h1!" lulz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Empoleon-111 View Post
I have a weird bug, in a ruby version, using tileset 0-6, with a-map

This is what is supposed to look:


And in-game, the grass glitches:
I haven't checked yor problem nor played Ruby for ages, But I remember something happen in the area in the unhacked game, so I would propperly guess that tiles are setted by a level script.
Go to advancemap > Header View > Go down to you find "Map Script" press remove.
Make a backup before doing this, if it don't work then come back..
__________________
THE CAKE IS A LIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  #8291    
Old February 17th, 2009, 08:34 AM
DaVici's Avatar
DaVici
DeEmpo
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Home
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to DaVici
no, it didn't work..........
__________________
----------------------------- I support...
Spoiler:





Pokemon Warped

Pokemon Xenotime

Pokemon Malachite

Pokemon Super Rising Thunder

Super Pokemon Eevee Edition

Pokemon Sienna

Pokemon Identity

Pokemon Chronicles: Sands of time
  #8292    
Old February 17th, 2009, 01:39 PM
bardock10's Avatar
bardock10
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Gender:
Umm where do you get pokemon advanced for pokescript so i can compile a rbc file?
  #8293    
Old February 17th, 2009, 01:45 PM
Gamer2020's Avatar
Gamer2020
This love is a sickness...
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Violet city!
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to Gamer2020 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Gamer2020 Send a message via Yahoo to Gamer2020 Send a message via Skype™ to Gamer2020
Quote:
Originally Posted by bardock10 View Post
Umm where do you get pokemon advanced for pokescript so i can compile a rbc file?
No clue what you mean but I know you can compile an .rbc with XSE. Just look in the toolbox and you'll find it.
__________________
Pokemon Game Editor Download!
  #8294    
Old February 18th, 2009, 12:29 AM
~Poke~'s Avatar
~Poke~
Hasn't played 5th gen yet.
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: On the moon
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote:
Originally Posted by Destrozone View Post
There is a tutorial on that here.
That tutorial says how to do it, but I need to know where the image is. The tut doesn't say and I can't find it.
__________________
I refuse to enter a battle of the wits with you,
it's against my morals to attack an unarmed person.

  #8295    
Old February 18th, 2009, 12:31 AM
Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
Tropical Sunlight
The Faltine
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenia
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poke-random View Post
That tutorial says how to do it, but I need to know where the image is. The tut doesn't say and I can't find it.
You're in FR, right?
It should be somewhere in the start.
__________________
  #8296    
Old February 18th, 2009, 12:50 AM
~Poke~'s Avatar
~Poke~
Hasn't played 5th gen yet.
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: On the moon
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote:
Originally Posted by ~Watermelon View Post
You're in FR, right?
It should be somewhere in the start.
No, Ruby.
It doesn't look like it's anywhere between 1 and 150

...It does work in ruby, doesn't it?
__________________
I refuse to enter a battle of the wits with you,
it's against my morals to attack an unarmed person.

  #8297    
Old February 18th, 2009, 12:54 AM
Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
Tropical Sunlight
The Faltine
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenia
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poke-random View Post
No, Ruby.
It doesn't look like it's anywhere between 1 and 150

...It does work in ruby, doesn't it?
It must work!
Try asking Wesley FG or SkOria (x/xRichie), they did it!
__________________
  #8298    
Old February 18th, 2009, 02:31 AM
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poke-random View Post
No, Ruby.
It doesn't look like it's anywhere between 1 and 150

...It does work in ruby, doesn't it?
Battle backgrounds, right?
well, they're around 1350+...
Beyond the Gym Leaders and Elite Four sprites.
__________________
  #8299    
Old February 18th, 2009, 05:27 AM
BigSteve's Avatar
BigSteve
Pokemon Bright Gold
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: North Lincolnshire, UK
Age: 22
Gender:
Nature: Jolly
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to BigSteve
How do i change the player's backsprite in gold?
  #8300    
Old February 18th, 2009, 11:33 AM
theboss
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
I got a rom related question
once our rom is done we would like to put it on a gba cartridge for easy access
does anyone know where to buy empty single use cartridges?
so not flashcards or anything like that
__________________
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links


Advertise here
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 04:41 AM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.