The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.


Advertise here

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #8426    
Old February 28th, 2009, 06:27 AM
Destrozone's Avatar
Destrozone
Finally Flyin' Solo
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Narnia Hills, California.
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via AIM to Destrozone Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Destrozone

Advertise here
Quote:
Originally Posted by Destrozone View Post
Extremely complicated question (I think):
How can I expand the amount of icon palettes in Pokemon Fire Red? I want to make it so that each pokemon has its own little palette so that I can truly change the icons. If I cannot do this, can someone please point me towards another way to take an actual rom (NOT Poccils essentials) and change the icon without the aid of Icon ed?

Heres a picture:

Instead of editing it, I'm now asking if there is a way to expand the amount of palettes from the 3 that come in game, to more like 150.

P.S. Please answer this I really need to know so that my hack may progress!

~Des
Can someone please answer this? I really need to know!
__________________
I have Returned!
  #8427    
Old February 28th, 2009, 07:30 AM
Pokepal17's Avatar
Pokepal17
More cowbell~
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Steeltown
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pokepal17 View Post
Please help!! I resized Ho-oh's OW to 64x64. UIt looked fine it OW editor and a-map but in gmae ti looks like this.



Here is a picture of what the OW should look like.



Plz help. Thanks in advance.
Will someone please help me!
__________________
Pokémon Stardrop
  #8428    
Old February 28th, 2009, 08:16 AM
Destrozone's Avatar
Destrozone
Finally Flyin' Solo
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Narnia Hills, California.
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via AIM to Destrozone Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Destrozone
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pokepal17 View Post
Will someone please help me!
Your problem probably results from the fact that when you put it in, you forgot to expand the memory space. By not doing so, you have actually compacted the information, which results in your problem.
__________________
I have Returned!
  #8429    
Old February 28th, 2009, 09:21 AM
Charizard573's Avatar
Charizard573
Beginning Hacker
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Gender:
Nature: Calm
Ok...heh...i feel like such a noob...

I searched for an answer to my problem and couldn't find one, so i am sorry if i overlooked a post if it had the answer

i just started hacking my fire red, and i made a coulple new maps. i inserted them (I am using Advance map) and everything was okay....except for the names. All the names of my new maps appeared as pallet town, and when i tried to change the name of one of my maps, all of my maps that i had inserted (and the original pallet town as well) changed to the new name. Any idea on what im doing wrong?
  #8430    
Old February 28th, 2009, 09:23 AM
Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
Tropical Sunlight
The Faltine
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenia
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charizard573 View Post
Ok...heh...i feel like such a noob...

I searched for an answer to my problem and couldn't find one, so i am sorry if i overlooked a post if it had the answer

i just started hacking my fire red, and i made a coulple new maps. i inserted them (I am using Advance map) and everything was okay....except for the names. All the names of my new maps appeared as pallet town, and when i tried to change the name of one of my maps, all of my maps that i had inserted (and the original pallet town as well) changed to the new name. Any idea on what im doing wrong?
They all use the same Name Bank (?), you have to switch it. On the right sie you rename it, on the left side you switch the Name Bank. I think those are limited.
__________________
  #8431    
Old February 28th, 2009, 10:06 AM
Pokepal17's Avatar
Pokepal17
More cowbell~
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Steeltown
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote:
Originally Posted by Destrozone View Post
Your problem probably results from the fact that when you put it in, you forgot to expand the memory space. By not doing so, you have actually compacted the information, which results in your problem.
So what ur saying is that there wasn't enough sapce between the offsets I repointed them to?
__________________
Pokémon Stardrop
  #8432    
Old February 28th, 2009, 11:34 AM
Destrozone's Avatar
Destrozone
Finally Flyin' Solo
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Narnia Hills, California.
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via AIM to Destrozone Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Destrozone
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pokepal17 View Post
So what ur saying is that there wasn't enough sapce between the offsets I repointed them to?
Something to that effect.
__________________
I have Returned!
  #8433    
Old February 28th, 2009, 12:07 PM
psyduck6199's Avatar
psyduck6199
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by Destrozone View Post
Technically it shouldn't. Try downloading Irfanview, and changing the palettes there. Then import it via unlz.gba, change the offsets necessary via FSF, and voila, you have a successful Turtwig sprite
i finnaly figured it out i wasn't putting the background color in the first pallete. thanks anyways.
  #8434    
Old February 28th, 2009, 12:29 PM
~Teh Panda~'s Avatar
~Teh Panda~
Sea of Dreams - Redux
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
I meant what offset to see the script that sets the actual pokedex menu not just the setflag, i want to see how it gets done since I am interested in making a new menu option.
__________________




Mystic still in work to let you know...
  #8435    
Old February 28th, 2009, 02:49 PM
Zaptinex's Avatar
Zaptinex
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Gender:
Can anyone tell me why the highlited part of the script is not working. Everything else works, but for some reason it just skips this movement.

#dynamic 0x6B0B29
#org @coco
msgbox @see
boxset 6
applymovement 0x09 @die
applymovement 0x07 @born
waitmovement 0x0
applymovement 0x09 @l
waitmovement 0x0
applymovement 0x08 @low
applymovement 0x07 @love
waitmovement 0x0
applymovement 0x08 @luck
waitmovement 0x0
applymovement 0x07 @back
waitmovement 0x0
msgbox @come
boxset 6
release
end
#org @die
#raw 0x06
#raw 0xFE
#org @born
#raw 0x36
#raw 0x03
#raw 0x49
#raw 0xFE
#org @low
#raw 0x06
#raw 0xFE
#org @love
#raw 0x35
#raw 0x35
#raw 0x03
#raw 0x49
#raw 0xFE
#org @luck
#raw 0x07
#raw 0x02
#raw 0xFE
#org @back
#raw 0x36
#raw 0x02
#raw 0xFE
#org @see
= Helllp!!!
#org @come
= Hey you, get over here!

#org @l
#raw 0x07
#raw 0x02
#raw 0xFE
  #8436    
Old February 28th, 2009, 03:44 PM
psyduck6199's Avatar
psyduck6199
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
how do i insert backsprites in firered? i found the shiny backsprite but do i replace it with a shiny backsprite or normal backsprite?
  #8437    
Old February 28th, 2009, 05:37 PM
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by psyduck6199 View Post
how do i insert backsprites in firered? i found the shiny backsprite but do i replace it with a shiny backsprite or normal backsprite?
use the search button next time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by destinedjagold View Post


click the previous pal button and you will see the normal palletes of the backsprite.
__________________
  #8438    
Old February 28th, 2009, 05:49 PM
Haz's Avatar
Haz
Haz ya seen my hack?
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Australia- Aussie, Aussie, Aussie!, Oi, Oi, Oi!
Gender: Female
Nature: Docile
Send a message via Yahoo to Haz
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoldFlareon View Post
I think you have to use a Hex Editor. Try looking in the Tutorial section. :3

Can someone direct me to a Pokemon Cry Editor tutorial? I can't seem to find one, and I don't know how to edit cries. D:

~Flareon.
No its program, and I need it to insert PMD sprites. Unless someone has another way
__________________
DeviantART: Haz-Za

Fanfiction.net: Ha-Za-A


Credits to Galukxy for this awesome banner
  #8439    
Old February 28th, 2009, 05:49 PM
Maroy
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Gender:
How do you make pokemon battle you whether you are in grass or not like in caves pokemon can battle you wherever your standing because I'm making a factory so I can't use the other tilesets
__________________
Words of Wisdom:
Opinions are like butholes; everybody has them and some really stink
  #8440    
Old February 28th, 2009, 06:03 PM
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by hazzamon View Post
No its program, and I need it to insert PMD sprites. Unless someone has another way
WAH...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maroy View Post
How do you make pokemon battle you whether you are in grass or not like in caves pokemon can battle you wherever your standing because I'm making a factory so I can't use the other tilesets
change the behavior of the tile through A-Map.
__________________
  #8441    
Old February 28th, 2009, 06:08 PM
Maroy
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Gender:
And how would you do that? I looked at the other cave maps and didn't see anything different.

EDIT: nevermind it's in block editor XD
__________________
Words of Wisdom:
Opinions are like butholes; everybody has them and some really stink

Last edited by Maroy; February 28th, 2009 at 06:17 PM. Reason: nevermind
  #8442    
Old February 28th, 2009, 06:19 PM
Regigiygas's Avatar
Regigiygas
I'm no longer Dr. Regigiygason
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Well, is there a legendary golem-like cosmic destroyer in YOUR town?
Gender: Female
Nature: Quirky
I've been searching hither and yon for a text editor that wasn't made by Scizz. That would heavily simplify my scripting ambitions, since none of Scizz's stuff works on my computer for some reason (can't find an offset or something).

Hence, can anyone help me?
__________________
YOU CANNOT GRASP THE TRUE FORM OF REGIGIYGAS' ATTACK!
'Course you can. It's called Crush Grip, duh.
[img]http://i306.photobucket.com/albums/n...uccaaaasss.png[/img]
Join the MOTHER 1, 2, and 3 Fanclub!
~banner by Shaymew
  #8443    
Old March 1st, 2009, 04:16 AM
Pokemonpro's Avatar
Pokemonpro
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Gender:
i really can't understand destinedjagolds overworld tutorial
__________________
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?p=4427754#post4427754....
  #8444    
Old March 1st, 2009, 08:28 AM
Jerros's Avatar
Jerros
TloS FTW!!!
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alkmaar, Netherlands
Age: 22
Gender:
Nature: Quiet
I have a problem with giving a sprite to the 25 empty slots in >>EMERALD<<...
The sprite simply doesn't work for me...
I still encounter a "??" sprite called Togekiss (the one i'm trying to insert).
This is what I do:
First I have my Togekiss sprite.
It has 64x64 pixels and 16 colours.
Next, I go to unLZ, import the sprite, and click on "Write to Rom".
I only tick the "Image" box, since that's what i'm only caring for now.
I enter my empty offset in the "image offset" box in unZL (The offset is 00E5D080).
Now i click on "OK" in unLZ.
Next I open my rom in PEP, i go to the first questionmark (called Togekiss).
Now I enter E5D080 in the top box, called "Sprite offset".
I hit the save button, open the rom, but I still encounter a Togekiss with the ?? sprite.
What am I doing wrong!?Does Sprite inserting works differend in Emerald or something?
I know Emerald has bigger sprites, but I've tried inserting 128x64 and 64x128 sprites too.
It just doesn't seem to do anything.


Secondly,
Is there a way to edit the Trainer Battle intro's?
I want to change the big "Team Aqua Logo" that you see when a battle starts, to a "Team Rocket Logo".
The pictures aren't in unLZ, right? (I've searched through, but I'm not sure if it's L77T compressed (or something)).
__________________
  #8445    
Old March 1st, 2009, 12:13 PM
Perri Lightfoot's Avatar
Perri Lightfoot
Proud to hack Ruby Version!
Community Supporter Tier 5
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nevada
Age: 28
Gender: Female
Nature: Modest
Quick question: Has anyone figured out how to change the order of the Pokédex/what Pokémon appear in it in Ruby? I really want to change the Dex in my hack so that the new Starters (Pichu, Smoochum, and Magby) are at the front, but I have no idea where to even begin with that task ; Any help is appreciated!

Also, is there a tutorial on how to insert new cries for a Pokemon into a ROM? I know the basic steps of how to do it in terms of hex; but the cries come out staticky and grainy, and they glitch the cries of the pokemon that come before and after them in the Pokedex. The cries are 11.025Khz at 8bit, as they should be, but they still glitch up everything...can someone who's successfully inserted cries help me out? Thanks!
__________________
Signature under construction. Watch this space~

Last edited by Perri Lightfoot; March 1st, 2009 at 12:26 PM.
  #8446    
Old March 1st, 2009, 12:19 PM
Raziel
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Gender:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raziel View Post
I'm using AdvanceMap 1.92 and I've given the player a basement bedroom instead of an upstairs one, just for kicks.

The upstairs (living room) warp works perfectly. Standing on the warp spot and walking left (down the stairs) sends you to the next map (4.1, which is downstairs)

The warp downstairs warps you back (to 4.0) but for some reason, it only works if you again walk left? I need it to work when I walk right, but I can't see any way to change what it does. I deleted it and made a new warp, same problem.

I really have no idea what I did. I didn't change the warp at all (except moving its location) so I don't see why it messed up.
Sorry to be re-posting this but I haven't figured out a solution yet D:
  #8447    
Old March 1st, 2009, 01:00 PM
Griin.'s Avatar
Griin.
Trainer
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerros View Post
I have a problem with giving a sprite to the 25 empty slots in >>EMERALD<<...
The sprite simply doesn't work for me...
I still encounter a "??" sprite called Togekiss (the one i'm trying to insert).
This is what I do:
First I have my Togekiss sprite.
It has 64x64 pixels and 16 colours.
Next, I go to unLZ, import the sprite, and click on "Write to Rom".
I only tick the "Image" box, since that's what i'm only caring for now.
I enter my empty offset in the "image offset" box in unZL (The offset is 00E5D080).
Now i click on "OK" in unLZ.
Next I open my rom in PEP, i go to the first questionmark (called Togekiss).
Now I enter E5D080 in the top box, called "Sprite offset".
I hit the save button, open the rom, but I still encounter a Togekiss with the ?? sprite.
What am I doing wrong!?Does Sprite inserting works differend in Emerald or something?
I know Emerald has bigger sprites, but I've tried inserting 128x64 and 64x128 sprites too.
It just doesn't seem to do anything.


Secondly,
Is there a way to edit the Trainer Battle intro's?
I want to change the big "Team Aqua Logo" that you see when a battle starts, to a "Team Rocket Logo".
The pictures aren't in unLZ, right? (I've searched through, but I'm not sure if it's L77T compressed (or something)).
First: Yes. Sprite inserting in Emerald works different from other roms . That's because Animations. You'll have to find animations and replace them.

Secondly: I belive i've seen them in Unlz. if nor. try searching them with Tileed2002/TLP/Tilemolester.
__________________
It's comming...
  #8448    
Old March 1st, 2009, 02:52 PM
guitarmasterv2's Avatar
guitarmasterv2
pokemaster? im a GuitarMaster!
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakbank, South Australia, Australia
Gender:
Nature: Docile
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to guitarmasterv2 Send a message via Yahoo to guitarmasterv2
how do i edit the items u can buy at marts?
im hacking leaf green
  #8449    
Old March 1st, 2009, 02:54 PM
isael-21's Avatar
isael-21
Perfect IV Seeker
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
I have a problem when I am inserting new frames in the older version of OWE, it says "Error 63 (Bad Record number) in procedure LoadSpriteStructer of frmOverworldEditor" how can I fix it? can someone help me please?
  #8450    
Old March 1st, 2009, 05:27 PM
Robert Conley's Avatar
Robert Conley
GPXPlus.net/user/Robert+Conley
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The Anti Spiral Homeworld
Gender: Male
Nature: Docile
Is there a way to increase the level cap in firered? If so how?
__________________
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links


Advertise here
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 11:06 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.