Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub > Beginner’s Lounge
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Beginner’s Lounge Where all good (and bad) ideas start. This is the Beginner’s Lounge, where if you need a helping hand or want to develop your small ideas, you bring it here. We won't bite.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #8451    
Old March 1st, 2009 (09:15 PM). Edited March 1st, 2009 by Zaptinex.
Zaptinex's Avatar
Zaptinex Zaptinex is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Gender:
Posts: 43
I want to insert a script that has a sprite stay disappeared until a flag is set. should the script be applied to a sprite, a tile, or should it be a level script? Also i want him invisible while looking from a distance, i don't want to have to click on the sprite to make it disappear.
  #8452    
Old March 2nd, 2009 (05:28 AM). Edited March 2nd, 2009 by Destrozone.
Destrozone's Avatar
Destrozone Destrozone is offline
Finally Flyin' Solo
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Narnia Hills, California.
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 290
Send a message via AIM to Destrozone Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Destrozone
Quote originally posted by guitarmasterv2:
how do i edit the items u can buy at marts?
im hacking leaf green
Use A-mart, it is somewhere in the tool section if you actually search for it.

Quote originally posted by Destrozone:
Extremely complicated question (I think):
How can I expand the amount of icon palettes in Pokemon Fire Red? I want to make it so that each pokemon has its own little palette so that I can truly change the icons. If I cannot do this, can someone please point me towards another way to take an actual rom (NOT Poccils essentials) and change the icon without the aid of Icon ed?

Heres a picture:

Instead of editing it, I'm now asking if there is a way to expand the amount of palettes from the 3 that come in game, to more like 150.

P.S. Please answer this I really need to know so that my hack may progress!

~Des
Bumpity please, I would really like to know this!!!!!!!
__________________
I have Returned!
  #8453    
Old March 2nd, 2009 (07:11 AM).
Sonikku17's Avatar
Sonikku17 Sonikku17 is offline
Wanderer
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Age: 23
Nature: Impish
Posts: 18
Quote originally posted by Sonikku17:
I hope someone can help me out here.

As far as I can tell, I haven't done anything out of the ordinary (I don't use advance text or anything like that), but out of nowhere, for some reason, when the game displays an apostrophe or a quotation mark in a message box, a weird little "phantom" comma appears under it. Anyone know how to fix or get rid of this?
Sorry for the repost, but I really need some help!
  #8454    
Old March 2nd, 2009 (01:38 PM).
guitarmasterv2's Avatar
guitarmasterv2 guitarmasterv2 is offline
pokemaster? im a GuitarMaster!
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakbank, South Australia, Australia
Gender:
Nature: Docile
Posts: 9
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to guitarmasterv2 Send a message via Yahoo to guitarmasterv2
thanx!
were can i downlowd it?
i have it but the program wont open for some reason
__________________
just promis to sing kiss my eyes and lay me to sleep
  #8455    
Old March 2nd, 2009 (02:51 PM).
ghostofherooftime's Avatar
ghostofherooftime ghostofherooftime is offline
Phantom of the Internet
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tennessee
Age: 29
Gender:
Nature: Lax
Posts: 32
I tried to look for this but was unsuccessful. I'm hacking Fire Red and i want to add lava pools like in Ruby and Sapphire, but none of the tilesets have lava in it that i've seen (unless i'm blind).

How do i go about adding lava to a tileset and being able to use it in Advanced Map?

Thanks
  #8456    
Old March 2nd, 2009 (04:55 PM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 7,247
Quote originally posted by ghostofherooftime:
I tried to look for this but was unsuccessful. I'm hacking Fire Red and i want to add lava pools like in Ruby and Sapphire, but none of the tilesets have lava in it that i've seen (unless i'm blind).

How do i go about adding lava to a tileset and being able to use it in Advanced Map?

Thanks
Insert new tiles with lava...
__________________


3DS FC: 0061-1111-6462
TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

~Serge,
Chrono Cross


  #8457    
Old March 2nd, 2009 (05:03 PM).
ghostofherooftime's Avatar
ghostofherooftime ghostofherooftime is offline
Phantom of the Internet
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tennessee
Age: 29
Gender:
Nature: Lax
Posts: 32
Quote originally posted by destinedjagold:


Insert new tiles with lava...
*facepalm*

How do i do that exactly? (sorry there's alot i still don't understand... i've only been hacking for 3 weeks)
  #8458    
Old March 2nd, 2009 (05:13 PM).
Robert Conley's Avatar
Robert Conley Robert Conley is offline
GPXPlus.net/user/Robert+Conley
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The Anti Spiral Homeworld
Gender: Male
Nature: Docile
Posts: 330
Trying to use shiny hack maker to of course put in a shiny battle but whenever i make the script and insert it the game freezez how do i fix this?
__________________
  #8459    
Old March 2nd, 2009 (05:18 PM).
Tharghana's Avatar
Tharghana Tharghana is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 8
Quick Question! How do I change what music it plays for a battle?
__________________

  #8460    
Old March 2nd, 2009 (05:42 PM).
psyduck6199's Avatar
psyduck6199 psyduck6199 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 57
i dunno wats wrong but i just can't open my firered rom with overworld editor. this is wat happens:http://i166.photobucket.com/albums/u104/Gaurav61/overworldproblem.jpg
__________________
  #8461    
Old March 2nd, 2009 (05:55 PM).
Megiddo-san's Avatar
Megiddo-san Megiddo-san is offline
Barium - Summer '12 Return?
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Where you least expect it
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 1,331
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Megiddo-san
Quote originally posted by Oystercrackers:
I've been searching hither and yon for a text editor that wasn't made by Scizz. That would heavily simplify my scripting ambitions, since none of Scizz's stuff works on my computer for some reason (can't find an offset or something).

Hence, can anyone help me?
For scripting use XSE. For text editing, if you goto the ini folder with Advance Map, there's a file called Table. Open that and there are all the character values used. You can search them in a hex editor.
__________________

Hashire! Asu e tsudzuku shinka no micha wa
  #8462    
Old March 2nd, 2009 (06:12 PM).
Destrozone's Avatar
Destrozone Destrozone is offline
Finally Flyin' Solo
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Narnia Hills, California.
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 290
Send a message via AIM to Destrozone Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Destrozone
Quote originally posted by ghostofherooftime:
*facepalm*

How do i do that exactly? (sorry there's alot i still don't understand... i've only been hacking for 3 weeks)
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?p=4105989&highlight=tree+tutorial#post4105989
Scroll down to the tile inserting tutorial section.
__________________
I have Returned!
  #8463    
Old March 2nd, 2009 (10:11 PM).
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron Darthatron is offline
巨大なトロール。
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,152
Quote originally posted by psyduck6199:
i dunno wats wrong but i just can't open my firered rom with overworld editor. this is wat happens:http://i166.photobucket.com/albums/u104/Gaurav61/overworldproblem.jpg
Go here: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=85025
And look for the "Overworld Editor: Rebirth Edition".
Quote originally posted by Destrozone:
Bumpity please, I would really like to know this!!!!!!!
Search for the palette in APE, then edit them. Use the color picker to get the values of the colors.
__________________
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です
  #8464    
Old March 2nd, 2009 (11:34 PM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
Im comin' home...
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,816
Quote originally posted by ghostofherooftime:
*facepalm*

How do i do that exactly? (sorry there's alot i still don't understand... i've only been hacking for 3 weeks)
You are going to need a few tools.
1: Advance Map
2: If you want the lava to be animated, you are going to have to replace another animation... like a type of water you wont use, or a flower... For this, you need Tile Molester, look for thethethethe's grass animation editing tutorial, it has the info needed to edit animations...
3:APE (Advanced Pallet Editor) Needed to change the pallets of things if you ARE going to use an animation.
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
  #8465    
Old March 3rd, 2009 (05:04 AM).
Malkner Malkner is offline
...
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: That is a very good question.
Gender: Other
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 98
Quote originally posted by megiddo:
For scripting use XSE. For text editing, if you goto the ini folder with Advance Map, there's a file called Table. Open that and there are all the character values used. You can search them in a hex editor.
I've been doing that from the start, and the Problem is, editing the text of each person causes glitches elsewhere in the game? How do I rectify this?
  #8466    
Old March 3rd, 2009 (06:06 AM).
Destrozone's Avatar
Destrozone Destrozone is offline
Finally Flyin' Solo
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Narnia Hills, California.
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 290
Send a message via AIM to Destrozone Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Destrozone
Quote originally posted by Darthatron:
Search for the palette in APE, then edit them. Use the color picker to get the values of the colors.
Well, I am actually looking for a way to expand it so that the icons all have their own palettes. Is that possible?
__________________
I have Returned!
  #8467    
Old March 3rd, 2009 (02:37 PM).
Bunsbuns11 Bunsbuns11 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Gender:
Posts: 5
Can Someone tell me how to convert poketronics values to somthing that I can use in advance map?
__________________
(--- Warm ME!
  #8468    
Old March 3rd, 2009 (03:04 PM).
psyduck6199's Avatar
psyduck6199 psyduck6199 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 57
Quote originally posted by Darthatron:
Go here: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=85025
And look for the "Overworld Editor: Rebirth Edition".
already tried it...same thing happens. i'm starting to think its my rom.
__________________
  #8469    
Old March 3rd, 2009 (03:11 PM).
Megiddo-san's Avatar
Megiddo-san Megiddo-san is offline
Barium - Summer '12 Return?
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Where you least expect it
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 1,331
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Megiddo-san
You need to repoint the text.
__________________

Hashire! Asu e tsudzuku shinka no micha wa
  #8470    
Old March 3rd, 2009 (04:21 PM).
Robert Conley's Avatar
Robert Conley Robert Conley is offline
GPXPlus.net/user/Robert+Conley
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The Anti Spiral Homeworld
Gender: Male
Nature: Docile
Posts: 330
Quote:
Is there a way to increase the level cap in firered? If so how?
Quote:
Is there a way to increase the amount of TM's in firered?
Quote:
Trying to use shiny hack maker to of course put in a shiny battle but whenever i make the script and insert it the game freezez as soon as I talk to the sprite to start the event, how do i fix this?
seriously really need answers to these. Well mainly just the third one.
__________________
  #8471    
Old March 3rd, 2009 (04:31 PM).
Malkner Malkner is offline
...
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: That is a very good question.
Gender: Other
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 98
Quote originally posted by megiddo:
You need to repoint the text.
I may seem like a moron for asking, but what does that mean?
  #8472    
Old March 3rd, 2009 (06:24 PM).
jazzyman592's Avatar
jazzyman592 jazzyman592 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Gender:
Posts: 11
how do save a advance map map as a .png
__________________
Wll be a beta tester
profile pic made by Broken.Promise


  #8473    
Old March 3rd, 2009 (06:37 PM).
Megiddo-san's Avatar
Megiddo-san Megiddo-san is offline
Barium - Summer '12 Return?
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Where you least expect it
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 1,331
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Megiddo-san
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=167212
__________________

Hashire! Asu e tsudzuku shinka no micha wa
  #8474    
Old March 3rd, 2009 (06:39 PM).
Hyperion's Avatar
Hyperion Hyperion is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Midwest
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 2
Is there anywhere I can get a version of Advance Text before 3.11?
I had the other one installed, but deleted it when 3.11 came out, so i deleted it cuz it was obsolete now.
Failing that, how do i get 3.11 to work? When I click on it. the report error stuff comes up.
  #8475    
Old March 3rd, 2009 (11:13 PM). Edited March 3rd, 2009 by Zaptinex.
Zaptinex's Avatar
Zaptinex Zaptinex is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Gender:
Posts: 43
For some reason i cant get any level scripts to work on any of my maps no neither firered or ruby. Ive followed cooley's leveling tutorial but it isnt working out. This is one of the things that pops up:
http://img4.imageshack.us/img4/5213/wentwrong.png
and
http://img3.imageshack.us/img3/885/gfg.png

Ive got one to work on firered but for some reason i cant get any more to work on a fire red rom or a ruby rom. What might be the problem?
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 12:30 PM.