The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #8626    
Old March 16th, 2009, 09:20 AM
Robert Conley's Avatar
Robert Conley
GPXPlus.net/user/Robert+Conley
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The Anti Spiral Homeworld
Gender: Male
Nature: Docile
How do I remove the tiles from one hack and insert them into another?

I ask this because I got a rom base from PHO and was going to use it for my hack but they changed a few of the towns and I was really hoping to start from where nintendo left the maps and events.

Note: before getting on me about getting permission anyone is allowed to use those tiles so long as they give credit to PHO and the original creators.
__________________
  #8627    
Old March 16th, 2009, 10:00 AM
Xatoku's Avatar
Xatoku
Game Developer
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Gender: Male
How do you change the text AKA what the professor is saying in the begining intro ?
  #8628    
Old March 16th, 2009, 10:54 AM
psyduck6199's Avatar
psyduck6199
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xatoku View Post
How do you change the text AKA what the professor is saying in the begining intro ?
look for a-text in the toolbox
__________________
  #8629    
Old March 16th, 2009, 11:33 AM
Xatoku's Avatar
Xatoku
Game Developer
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Gender: Male
Cool thanks, now how do you remove events in the introductions?
  #8630    
Old March 17th, 2009, 05:47 AM
monobi's Avatar
monobi
Pokémon Pixel Trainer
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cambridge, England
Gender:
Nature: Jolly
Quote:
Originally Posted by psyduck6199 View Post
look for a-text in the toolbox

Could not find. Nor on google.
Require a link somewhere as i need this also..
__________________
  #8631    
Old March 17th, 2009, 08:46 AM
ghostofherooftime's Avatar
ghostofherooftime
Phantom of the Internet
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tennessee
Age: 28
Gender:
Nature: Lax
Hey all,
I realize there are 25 empty pokemon slots in Fire Red. How do i go about either giving them a Pokedex entry OR disabling the pokedex for wild pokemon so that i can capture these new pokemon?

Thanks
  #8632    
Old March 17th, 2009, 03:35 PM
ckret2's Avatar
ckret2
usually pronounced "secret 2"
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: You Are Here
Age: 23
Gender:
Nature: Rash
Send a message via AIM to ckret2
If you change some maps in A-Map, like the Pokémon Center map, it changes ALL of the Pokémon Center maps. Is there any way to... disassociate the maps from each other, so to speak? So that it's possible to change one of them without changing all of them?
__________________

This one is my hack.


This one is the hack I part-time map for.

I got an Illumise?
Pretty awesome.
Glad I grabbed an egg I didn't recognize.
  #8633    
Old March 17th, 2009, 04:48 PM
Sonikku17's Avatar
Sonikku17
Wanderer
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Age: 22
Nature: Impish
Alright, lemme try this with a picture...

Okay, so I'm not really sure how this happened, but for some reason, whenever an apostrophe or quotation marks appear in my hack, they come out looking weird, like this (in my signature).

There's this weird mark under them. Anyone know how I'd go about fixing this? Any help would be greatly appreciated!
  #8634    
Old March 17th, 2009, 07:56 PM
ckret2's Avatar
ckret2
usually pronounced "secret 2"
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: You Are Here
Age: 23
Gender:
Nature: Rash
Send a message via AIM to ckret2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonikku17 View Post
Alright, lemme try this with a picture...

Okay, so I'm not really sure how this happened, but for some reason, whenever an apostrophe or quotation marks appear in my hack, they come out looking weird, like this (in my signature).

There's this weird mark under them. Anyone know how I'd go about fixing this? Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Sorry, don't know what's causing it. :/ You could try different things to solve it, though. I don't know how this works on Windows, but on Macs, it's possible to switch between different character palettes for your keyboard; so that, for example, using one character palette you can type "åa", but if you use the exact same keystrokes in a different character palette, it produces "ā". So maybe it's something to do with the character palette (or whatever the Windows equivalent is) that you're typing in?

It might also be the program you're working in. Are you working in something other than XSE? If you use a less common scripting program, something in the program might be causing it. And if you are using XSE (or some other program that has never done anything like this before), have you tried using AdvanceText to edit the messed-up dialogue? It's a pain, but it might solve the problem. So, for the script you've got in the image you showed us, you could do a search in AdvanceText for "so sorry! I really" or some other bit of dialogue from the script, save that script to AdvanceText, and then manually go in and delete and re-type all the apostrophes and quotation marks. If you go that way, you probably want to make sure you don't include an apostrophe or quotation mark in the search string (so, don't search for "I'm so sorry!") because if the game thinks that it says "I,'m" instead of "I'm" then it might not recognize the search.

Sorry I can't be more helpful, but it looks like you've been searching for an answer for a while and it doesn't look like anybody else has an answer. I hope that something I said was useful.
__________________

This one is my hack.


This one is the hack I part-time map for.

I got an Illumise?
Pretty awesome.
Glad I grabbed an egg I didn't recognize.
  #8635    
Old March 18th, 2009, 03:27 PM
psyduck6199's Avatar
psyduck6199
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
can anyone give me a link to the resources page with rome bases, tiles,sprites ad stuff??

a link to a-text..http://www.romhacking.net/utils/427/
__________________
  #8636    
Old March 18th, 2009, 03:37 PM
Xatoku's Avatar
Xatoku
Game Developer
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Gender: Male
Here you are sir

http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=88876

Question:

I have a warp that works in Adv. Map but whenever I try it in the actual game it fades out then the screen stays black. Tips?

Last edited by Xatoku; March 18th, 2009 at 04:50 PM.
  #8637    
Old March 18th, 2009, 06:06 PM
evilottojr
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: sure... why not?
Gender:
In Tile Layer Pro, what is the offset in Pokemon Silver for the opening animation (Lugia swimming)?
  #8638    
Old March 19th, 2009, 06:41 AM
Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
Tropical Sunlight
The Faltine
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenia
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xatoku View Post
Here you are sir

http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=88876

Question:

I have a warp that works in Adv. Map but whenever I try it in the actual game it fades out then the screen stays black. Tips?
Maybe the map you are warping into was enlarged. Try to make the map smaller, then check if the problem is still here.
__________________
  #8639    
Old March 19th, 2009, 09:02 AM
Xatoku's Avatar
Xatoku
Game Developer
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Gender: Male
Worked haha, I had it the same size as the bottom floor so that was the problem, made it 1 pixel smaller all round and now it works like a charm Big thanks man.
  #8640    
Old March 19th, 2009, 12:58 PM
psyduck6199's Avatar
psyduck6199
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xatoku View Post
Here you are sir

http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=88876

Question:

I have a warp that works in Adv. Map but whenever I try it in the actual game it fades out then the screen stays black. Tips?
thanks for the link. :classic:
__________________
  #8641    
Old March 19th, 2009, 01:53 PM
Sonikku17's Avatar
Sonikku17
Wanderer
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Age: 22
Nature: Impish
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckret2 View Post
Sorry, don't know what's causing it. :/ You could try different things to solve it, though. I don't know how this works on Windows, but on Macs, it's possible to switch between different character palettes for your keyboard; so that, for example, using one character palette you can type "åa", but if you use the exact same keystrokes in a different character palette, it produces "ā". So maybe it's something to do with the character palette (or whatever the Windows equivalent is) that you're typing in?

It might also be the program you're working in. Are you working in something other than XSE? If you use a less common scripting program, something in the program might be causing it. And if you are using XSE (or some other program that has never done anything like this before), have you tried using AdvanceText to edit the messed-up dialogue? It's a pain, but it might solve the problem. So, for the script you've got in the image you showed us, you could do a search in AdvanceText for "so sorry! I really" or some other bit of dialogue from the script, save that script to AdvanceText, and then manually go in and delete and re-type all the apostrophes and quotation marks. If you go that way, you probably want to make sure you don't include an apostrophe or quotation mark in the search string (so, don't search for "I'm so sorry!") because if the game thinks that it says "I,'m" instead of "I'm" then it might not recognize the search.

Sorry I can't be more helpful, but it looks like you've been searching for an answer for a while and it doesn't look like anybody else has an answer. I hope that something I said was useful.
Thanks for taking the time to answer, I really appreciate it! Unfortunately, I kinda neglected to mention that it's not just in my scripts that this problem occurs...The data for the letters themselves, I think, must be changed, because even in places like naming your character (in my signature now), the apostrophe and quotations are still messed up. (And as I side note, I do only use XSE for scripting)
  #8642    
Old March 19th, 2009, 04:46 PM
Equeraide
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Gender:
1. How do you make an NPC move on a Script Tile/Event? I tested the script on a regular person, and they moved, but they didn't move at all (but executed the other scripts) when I set the script on a Script Tile/Event

2. The cave warps won't work... I set the unknown to 03 and all that stuff, it doesn't work. When I replace the sprite with a ladder, it works, but with the cave sprite, it doesn't work. I tried putting the warp tile 1 cell away from the cave sprite, not working. Warp tile on the sprite, not working as well. Tried making the Cave Sprite walkable, nothing. Made it unwalkable, still not walking... This is extremely frustrating me...

3. How do you make an NPC (person) appear invisible at first and become visible when you walk on a Script Event?

All I need =D
  #8643    
Old March 19th, 2009, 04:59 PM
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by Equeraide View Post
1. How do you make an NPC move on a Script Tile/Event? I tested the script on a regular person, and they moved, but they didn't move at all (but executed the other scripts) when I set the script on a Script Tile/Event

2. The cave warps won't work... I set the unknown to 03 and all that stuff, it doesn't work. When I replace the sprite with a ladder, it works, but with the cave sprite, it doesn't work. I tried putting the warp tile 1 cell away from the cave sprite, not working. Warp tile on the sprite, not working as well. Tried making the Cave Sprite walkable, nothing. Made it unwalkable, still not walking... This is extremely frustrating me...

3. How do you make an NPC (person) appear invisible at first and become visible when you walk on a Script Event?

All I need =D
1. Even if the NPC can step on the tile where the script is, the script won't be activated. Only the player can activate scripts.

2. There are two kinds of floor tiles with the same picture. Use the block editor to see which one's for warping.

3. Set a flag. Then clear the flag.
__________________
  #8644    
Old March 19th, 2009, 05:19 PM
Equeraide
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Gender:
Quote:
Originally Posted by destinedjagold View Post


1. Even if the NPC can step on the tile where the script is, the script won't be activated. Only the player can activate scripts.

2. There are two kinds of floor tiles with the same picture. Use the block editor to see which one's for warping.

3. Set a flag. Then clear the flag.
Thanks, you helped me with number 2, but barely on 1 and 3.
For number one, that is exactly my point. When you're on a SCRIPT TILE/EVENT, how do you make another NPC move, for example, make NPC EVENT NUMBER 3 move to the left. Usually all I'd do is applymovement @w/e 0x3 #org @w/e #raw w/e w.e #FE
I got it to work, of course, when talking to the npc, but when I step on a SCRIPT/EVENT TILE, it doesn't work. I don't get it.

As for number 3, It needs more detail. How do I get it to be visible/invisible with just flags?
For example, all I do is set flag 0x1010 and it'l be invisible? WTF that doesn't make any sense, get into depth.
  #8645    
Old March 19th, 2009, 05:22 PM
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by Equeraide View Post
Thanks, you helped me with number 2, but barely on 1 and 3.
For number one, that is exactly my point. When you're on a SCRIPT TILE/EVENT, how do you make another NPC move, for example, make NPC EVENT NUMBER 3 move to the left. Usually all I'd do is applymovement @w/e 0x3 #org @w/e #raw w/e w.e #FE
I got it to work, of course, when talking to the npc, but when I step on a SCRIPT/EVENT TILE, it doesn't work. I don't get it.

As for number 3, It needs more detail. How do I get it to be visible/invisible with just flags?
For example, all I do is set flag 0x1010 and it'l be invisible? WTF that doesn't make any sense, get into depth.
simple.
read scripting tutorials in the Documents and Tutorials.
to move NPC's, use applymovement commands.
set the NPC's flag ina script to make them invisible. clear their flags in another script to make them visible.
the rest is in the tutorials.

search and learn there.
thank you~
__________________
  #8646    
Old March 19th, 2009, 05:23 PM
karlbutler19's Avatar
karlbutler19
Novice Pokemon Hacker
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bournemouth (UK)
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Hey Guys
ive recently learned how to edit a FR title screen and i can get the image to show fine but my problem is the pallette editing, i know how to do it however for some reason my new image always uses pallette 2 and if i change it so the pokemons colours are correct the big pokemon logo's colours also change slightly, its frustrating. ive looked at tutorials and they all edit the charizard pallette, i have followed guids step by step and the only difference i get is my images dont use the charizrd pallette instead it uses the second line for some reason.
can anyone help?
  #8647    
Old March 19th, 2009, 06:15 PM
T-tar's Avatar
T-tar
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: America (Too Vague?)
Gender:
Nature: Mild
OK me and a group of people on another forum are trying to make a Pokemon hack but we don't know if its possible to insert DP moves and animations in a GBA ROM. Can anyone shed a little light on this?
__________________

Diamond FC: 1332 9864 7093
  #8648    
Old March 19th, 2009, 08:59 PM
Equeraide
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Gender:
Quote:
Originally Posted by destinedjagold View Post


simple.
read scripting tutorials in the Documents and Tutorials.
to move NPC's, use applymovement commands.
set the NPC's flag ina script to make them invisible. clear their flags in another script to make them visible.
the rest is in the tutorials.

search and learn there.
thank you~
Got it, EXCEPT FOR THE FIRST ONE, which is frustrating the hell out of me..

I already know how to move an NPC, applymovement, simple.
It works and all, but IT DOESN'T WORK AT ALL when I insert it into an SCRIPT/EVENT TILE.

The msgbox appears and stuff, but the NPC doesn't work, it only works when I set the script on the NPC.
  #8649    
Old March 20th, 2009, 12:46 AM
warior_hero
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Gender:
Okay first of all..Admins,could anyone of you help me to put this in the correct section?I couldn't find it...so i put it here.


Okay my problem is this...i downloaded am1.92 but when i loaded any of my Pokemon Fire Red,Leaf Green,Ruby,Sapphire or even my Emerald version it says "File access denied"

And i didn't post anything anywhere so i cant post the link so i hope tht anyone of you can tell me how to fix it...
Please reply fast...Admins please move this and write in the link here...or write where is it placed...thanks in advance....

Edit: Oh I've even downloaded am1.92 again and again from different sites...including the roms...

Last edited by warior_hero; March 20th, 2009 at 01:17 AM.
  #8650    
Old March 20th, 2009, 03:59 AM
Xatoku's Avatar
Xatoku
Game Developer
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Gender: Male
What are these numbers and letters in the showpokepic script stand for?

showpokepic 0x4002 0xA 0x3
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 11:16 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.