Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #8901    
Old April 13th, 2009 (01:35 PM).
s270171's Avatar
s270171 s270171 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Gender:
Posts: 20
Quote originally posted by Ninja Caterpie:
I'm not jumping at your throat, gee. Just remember that noobs people with bad grammar say "inside" when they mean in.
im not a noob! sort of... ok maybe I am... i dont wanna talk about it. lol jk . ty for answering my question, now i kinda want to do it. so do u know where i can find something that tells me exactly how i go about doing that or could YOU tell me how do that. Much appreciated. Its going to be okay everyone......

P.S. and ty for understanding what i meant
__________________



  #8902    
Old April 13th, 2009 (01:54 PM).
Cholo's Avatar
Cholo Cholo is offline
Moveset Breeder
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 65
Quote originally posted by Cholo:
just using a hex editor how would i
- change weather
- change pokemon movesets
in ruby??
so did no one see this or is it no one can answer it??
__________________

Soul Silver
2794 3731 4736
Trade Thread
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=220031
^old might start it back up at somepoint..^

^Old as Hell; Back when i used to dream about making my own rom, but the compatablilty limitations of my mac prevented it..^
  #8903    
Old April 13th, 2009 (02:18 PM). Edited April 13th, 2009 by CollinP.
CollinP's Avatar
CollinP CollinP is offline
My Avi Evolved
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Age: 19
Posts: 104
I Have A Real Question This Time- Does Anyone Know A Good Text Editor? (IDK why, But Advance Text Won't Work For Me All Of A Sudden... Also, Why Is The Comctl32.oxc component an MP3 file, Cuz I downloaded Media Player, And It Won't Work....)
  #8904    
Old April 13th, 2009 (04:40 PM).
Quickster's Avatar
Quickster Quickster is offline
Dream or Drop?
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 350
I created new maps is a fire red rom, and i can't run in them,but i can run in routes i created. Can someone help me fix this, i would really appreciate this.
__________________
I laugh looking at this.

But sometimes I want to come back to it...

  #8905    
Old April 13th, 2009 (08:02 PM).
thethethethe thethethethe is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,104
Quote originally posted by Cholo:
so did no one see this or is it no one can answer it??
What do you mean by changing the weather?

Movesets aren't very hard to change, just a little time consuming. If you don't have a list of attacks and numbers, you'll need to go find one. You could look a scripting thread, a fair few should have them.

I don't have a pointer for the first moveset, but it can be found quite easily.
Well here's how it is set out.
01 02 Means a Pokemon will learn pound at level 1.
01 is the attack.
02 is the level multiplied by two.

So as another example:
3F 31
If we start with the level, 31 = 49. Which isn't a multiple of two. Therefore we need to look at it another way.
3F01 30
3F01 is the attack, and the level is now 48/2(=24)
So if the attack number is above FF, we need to add one to the level.

Maybe that's a little hard to understand, so here's a link as to how to do it with DPP but it's the same thing. http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=131283

To find Bulbasaurs moveset (The first one) search for Bulbasaur's Ruby moveset which can be found at a site like bulbapedia or serebii.
__________________
Gone.
  #8906    
Old April 13th, 2009 (11:03 PM). Edited April 13th, 2009 by mineowyn.
mineowyn's Avatar
mineowyn mineowyn is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Gender:
Posts: 145
Quote originally posted by ЩѻƦḽᶑʂḽдƴƹƦ™:
It will looke the same, you only have to make sure the colors are 8 numeric increments, so if you have a Red: of 63 a Blue of 45 and a Green of 62 it should be changed to a Red of 62, a Blue of 45 and Green of 62. The color shift is minuscule so nobody will really see the difference.

just edit the script by the stairs and remove any checkflags, or just remove the script entirely.

Does it mean for all sprites (OW, battle/profile sprites) as long as you increase the numerics by small miniscule increments you can have more than 16 colours? Are the 256 colour palettes for OW, battle and profile sprites the same within one game (e.g. Fire Red). I mean is there a guide on or link to the colour palette for fire red?
  #8907    
Old April 14th, 2009 (08:32 AM).
negative's Avatar
negative negative is offline
Life returns. Life prevails.
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Ptuj, Slovenia.
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 500
Hey, People!
I have a Warping question:
I made 2 perfectly maps(no tile errors, multiple warps etc...). Then I made 2 warps connecting the maps.If I click the "Goto" button, the warping works perfectly, but when I try it in my Hack(the player steps through the door)the game turns black and it freezes.
Any ideas to fix this?
__________________
Pokémon Twisted Mind
  #8908    
Old April 14th, 2009 (08:51 AM).
Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
The Faltine
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenia
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,578
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
Quote originally posted by ~FunHouse~:
Hey, People!
I have a Warping question:
I made 2 perfectly maps(no tile errors, multiple warps etc...). Then I made 2 warps connecting the maps.If I click the "Goto" button, the warping works perfectly, but when I try it in my Hack(the player steps through the door)the game turns black and it freezes.
Any ideas to fix this?
You enlarged the map. You have to leave the size of the room you warped into. Try fixing that, and if it doesn't work, come back here
__________________
  #8909    
Old April 14th, 2009 (10:58 AM).
negative's Avatar
negative negative is offline
Life returns. Life prevails.
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Ptuj, Slovenia.
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 500
Quote originally posted by ~Watermelon:
You enlarged the map. You have to leave the size of the room you warped into. Try fixing that, and if it doesn't work, come back here
I'm sorry, couse I don't understand HOW to fix this exactly...Could you tell me a little more clearly?
__________________
Pokémon Twisted Mind
  #8910    
Old April 14th, 2009 (11:48 AM).
s270171's Avatar
s270171 s270171 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Gender:
Posts: 20
Can anyone tell mehow or tell me where ican learn how to change the OW of the hero during the game?
__________________



  #8911    
Old April 14th, 2009 (12:27 PM).
Cholo's Avatar
Cholo Cholo is offline
Moveset Breeder
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 65
Quote originally posted by thethethethe:
What do you mean by changing the weather?

Movesets aren't very hard to change, just a little time consuming. If you don't have a list of attacks and numbers, you'll need to go find one. You could look a scripting thread, a fair few should have them.

I don't have a pointer for the first moveset, but it can be found quite easily.
Well here's how it is set out.
01 02 Means a Pokemon will learn pound at level 1.
01 is the attack.
02 is the level multiplied by two.

So as another example:
3F 31
If we start with the level, 31 = 49. Which isn't a multiple of two. Therefore we need to look at it another way.
3F01 30
3F01 is the attack, and the level is now 48/2(=24)
So if the attack number is above FF, we need to add one to the level.

Maybe that's a little hard to understand, so here's a link as to how to do it with DPP but it's the same thing.

To find Bulbasaurs moveset (The first one) search for Bulbasaur's Ruby moveset which can be found at a site like bulbapedia or serebii.
o coolio that helps alot thanks
and when i said changing the weather i meant is there a way to make one town or route snow or rain or stuff like that??
o and if its not too much trouble i havnt been able to find the bytes for the fire red starters..
i assumed if i searched 010004000700 i would find the info but i found a line like this changed the codes and nuthin changed..
i also searched different combinations of the codes (040001000700, 070001000400, etc.) and changed them all and nuthin changed..
and if ur wonderin why im using hexedit for all this its cuz i have a mac and this is all i can do right now...
once i fix this pc i have ima make a hack and this is just sumpthin to do in the meantime hehe
__________________

Soul Silver
2794 3731 4736
Trade Thread
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=220031
^old might start it back up at somepoint..^

^Old as Hell; Back when i used to dream about making my own rom, but the compatablilty limitations of my mac prevented it..^
  #8912    
Old April 14th, 2009 (01:17 PM).
Crocky's Avatar
Crocky Crocky is offline
SuperScarlet!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 90
Does anyone know the special function for pokemon ruby?
__________________
How to Breed Perfect Pokemon in Omega Ruby and Alpha Sapphire!
How to EV Train in Omega Ruby and Alpha Sapphire!
  #8913    
Old April 14th, 2009 (01:57 PM).
ElusionM ElusionM is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 41
QUESTION for EMERALD:

HOW can I make it so that UNLESS I set the clock in the beginning, I am NOT allowed to leave my room?

Meaning, if I try to exit my room without setting the clock, a message says "I have to set the clock first".

Help.
  #8914    
Old April 14th, 2009 (03:54 PM).
diegoisawesome's Avatar
diegoisawesome diegoisawesome is offline
Please understand
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Goldenrod City, Johto
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 972
Quote originally posted by blastimpulseee:
Omg, can someone help me?
I wanted to create SOUTHERN ISLAND from Emerald onto FireRed, right?
I'm lazy, so I saved Emerald's map data and inserted it into FireRed.
Obviously the tiles were off so I fixed them, set up my tileset, deleted all events and wild pokemon and made sure that all header info was "okay". But whenever I try to edit the map (after inserting it), a popup says "Canvas does not allow drawing".

What's going on? Do I HAVE to make the whole thing from scratch? I know it's not that hard, but I'm just lazy.
I had that exact same problem.
How to remedy:
1. Open your map.
2. Go to "header" view.
3. Change the Border block L and W to 2x2.
4. Make a new border.
5. Save.

Done!
__________________


My other resources:
My Website
diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
Diego's Miscellaneous Patches
GBA Intro Manager
  #8915    
Old April 14th, 2009 (04:19 PM).
thethethethe thethethethe is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,104
Quote originally posted by Cholo:
o coolio that helps alot thanks
and when i said changing the weather i meant is there a way to make one town or route snow or rain or stuff like that??
o and if its not too much trouble i havnt been able to find the bytes for the fire red starters..
i assumed if i searched 010004000700 i would find the info but i found a line like this changed the codes and nuthin changed..
i also searched different combinations of the codes (040001000700, 070001000400, etc.) and changed them all and nuthin changed..
and if ur wonderin why im using hexedit for all this its cuz i have a mac and this is all i can do right now...
once i fix this pc i have ima make a hack and this is just sumpthin to do in the meantime hehe
I don't know anything about mac's but isn't there some sort of program that set's up an environment where you can use windows programs...
Memory's being stretched a bit now.
Changing the weather's a pain to find. I can't remember if it's in the map header or footer. Probably the header. Too bad I can't remember a good way to find it.

Now as for starters, if memory serves me it's apart of a script unlike ruby. I think it's a setvar the value to a variable. This makes it a little harder to find.
Try searching for 16 00 40 07 00 or 16 01 40 07 00. Search for squirtle or charmander as they will be less common in the ROM than the 0x1 of bulbasaur. If neither of those two work, keep increasing that second byte in your search.
I'd go check for you but I don't have any ROM hacking programs on this computer.
__________________
Gone.
  #8916    
Old April 14th, 2009 (05:26 PM). Edited April 14th, 2009 by CollinP.
CollinP's Avatar
CollinP CollinP is offline
My Avi Evolved
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Age: 19
Posts: 104
Hi! Me.... Ughain........ Ok, I'm Pretty Sure This Is A Hacking Related Question And I've Searched All Over Google, No One Can Tell Me *inhales DEEPLY*----- What Is A Rom Base And How Do I Use Them(or It/one)?
  #8917    
Old April 14th, 2009 (05:50 PM).
Cholo's Avatar
Cholo Cholo is offline
Moveset Breeder
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 65
Quote originally posted by thethethethe:
Now as for starters, if memory serves me it's apart of a script unlike ruby. I think it's a setvar the value to a variable. This makes it a little harder to find.
Try searching for 16 00 40 07 00 or 16 01 40 07 00. Search for squirtle or charmander as they will be less common in the ROM than the 0x1 of bulbasaur. If neither of those two work, keep increasing that second byte in your search.
I'd go check for you but I don't have any ROM hacking programs on this computer.
ok cool i'll try that
thanks uve been very helpful :D
__________________

Soul Silver
2794 3731 4736
Trade Thread
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=220031
^old might start it back up at somepoint..^

^Old as Hell; Back when i used to dream about making my own rom, but the compatablilty limitations of my mac prevented it..^
  #8918    
Old April 14th, 2009 (06:07 PM).
ElusionM ElusionM is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 41
OMG how the **** do we do this!?

If I want to use FR/LG houses in Emerald, can someone explain me how to do it? I am so annoyed. I've tried pasting the new house onto the older ones in paint and loading into A-MAP, but it's so messed up.

Please, this is the last thing I need to learn(everything else, is mostly done), before I finalize my hack.
  #8919    
Old April 14th, 2009 (08:36 PM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
Im comin' home...
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,816
Quote originally posted by ColliP:
Hi! Me.... Ughain........ Ok, I'm Pretty Sure This Is A Hacking Related Question And I've Searched All Over Google, No One Can Tell Me *inhales DEEPLY*----- What Is A Rom Base And How Do I Use Them(or It/one)?
Well, a ROM base is just like an IPS patch to a ROM hack... except it changes pallets/graphics/sprites, or other useful things for the game.
You need to have a copy of the ROM you are going to use, and the ROM base patch.
You will also need to get Lunar IPS, the program used to combine the Patch, and the ROM.
Once that is done, your ROM should be quite different, as it will look like the creator of the ROM base intended it to look like. "Keep in mind, some bases are made for certain ROMs, and should only be used with the ROM's they were intended for.)
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
  #8920    
Old April 15th, 2009 (01:53 AM).
mineowyn's Avatar
mineowyn mineowyn is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Gender:
Posts: 145
Erm..anyone can teach me how to insert the intro sprite?

This is what I got when I inserted
Spoiler:
256 color


grayscaled


I'm working on a Fire Red btw.
  #8921    
Old April 15th, 2009 (04:02 AM).
Malkner Malkner is offline
...
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: That is a very good question.
Gender: Other
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 98
Where can I find a TileMolester that isn't glitchy?
  #8922    
Old April 15th, 2009 (04:05 AM).
hashtag's Avatar
hashtag hashtag is offline
the man in black
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Salisbury, England
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Posts: 6,683
Search Tile Molester Alternate in Google.
I use it and it is very good xD
__________________
#
  #8923    
Old April 15th, 2009 (05:08 AM).
Griin.'s Avatar
Griin. Griin. is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 277
can anyone tell me what is the palette offset for gras battle background in Pokemon Fire Red
__________________
It's comming...
  #8924    
Old April 15th, 2009 (05:10 AM).
Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
The Faltine
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenia
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,578
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
Quote originally posted by Jasumin:
can anyone tell me what is the palette offset for gras battle background in Pokemon Fire Red
It is at &h248405.
The pallete editing is icky, though.
Good luck with it!
__________________
  #8925    
Old April 15th, 2009 (05:17 AM).
Griin.'s Avatar
Griin. Griin. is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 277
Quote originally posted by ~Watermelon:
It is at &h248405.
The pallete editing is icky, though.
Good luck with it!
and wth is &h supposed to be ?
__________________
It's comming...
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 06:00 PM.