Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub > Beginner’s Lounge
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Beginner’s Lounge Where all good (and bad) ideas start. This is the Beginner’s Lounge, where if you need a helping hand or want to develop your small ideas, you bring it here. We won't bite.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #9376    
Old May 18th, 2009 (03:10 AM).
~Trebuh~'s Avatar
~Trebuh~ ~Trebuh~ is offline
Jiggles, The legendary fairy
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 175
Hey,can anone tell me whats the ape offset of the battle backgrounds in ruby?please!! i need to know
cause i wanna edit it on my ruby hack.
__________________
  #9377    
Old May 18th, 2009 (05:30 AM).
Sonikku17's Avatar
Sonikku17 Sonikku17 is offline
Wanderer
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Age: 23
Nature: Impish
Posts: 18
Well, this is probably the wrong place to put this, but my question is: how would I go about making an in-game trade event? If someone could point me in the direction of a tutorial, that would be very much appreciated!
  #9378    
Old May 18th, 2009 (06:35 AM).
ensoriki ensoriki is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Is it possible to STOP the player from releasing a certain pokemon?
As in say, you cannot release your starter, ever.
I would hope so as the alternative would be to make it that you never get to use a pokemon box >.>
  #9379    
Old May 18th, 2009 (11:22 PM).
final_agent final_agent is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Gender:
Posts: 4
So I'd like to start making a translation patch for Touhoumon's japanese version.

At first I used Advance-Text to get things done but I've had enough of it's limitations and would like to try something with a bit more freedom.

So first things first...what do you guys recommend for changing pokemon names and attacks on the Japanese Fire Red? So far I've played around with Name Editor Advance (although I'm still having trouble locating all the names of all the attacks...and the pokemon name list doesn't even show up) and got some okay results...it's annoying that the attacks have a 8 character limit in the japanese version in all honesty. Whenever you hit 8, sometimes the name overlaps with the attack name right beneath it and suddenly something like MAGNITUD becomes MAGNITUDPSY...It also annoys me to no end in the pokemon names since that limit is 5 characters only.

It would also help if someone knew the offset for the Pokemon names and attacks in the japanese Fire Red version, whenever I look around in a hacking tool's ini files I can never find that BPRJ.ini file...either that or it's empty! Or maybe some tools that are known to work with the japanese version? A lot of them don't seem to like the japanese versions as you can imagine.

I'd like to start with just changing the names and attacks for now. I'll deal with learning how to change the messages later on...
  #9380    
Old May 18th, 2009 (11:41 PM).
Surf's Avatar
Surf Surf is offline
...
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rust
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 1,198
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Surf
Quote originally posted by final_agent:
So I'd like to start making a translation patch for Touhoumon's japanese version.

At first I used Advance-Text to get things done but I've had enough of it's limitations and would like to try something with a bit more freedom.

So first things first...what do you guys recommend for changing pokemon names and attacks on the Japanese Fire Red? So far I've played around with Name Editor Advance (although I'm still having trouble locating all the names of all the attacks...and the pokemon name list doesn't even show up) and got some okay results...it's annoying that the attacks have a 8 character limit in the japanese version in all honesty. Whenever you hit 8, sometimes the name overlaps with the attack name right beneath it and suddenly something like MAGNITUD becomes MAGNITUDPSY...It also annoys me to no end in the pokemon names since that limit is 5 characters only.

It would also help if someone knew the offset for the Pokemon names and attacks in the japanese Fire Red version, whenever I look around in a hacking tool's ini files I can never find that BPRJ.ini file...either that or it's empty! Or maybe some tools that are known to work with the japanese version? A lot of them don't seem to like the japanese versions as you can imagine.

I'd like to start with just changing the names and attacks for now. I'll deal with learning how to change the messages later on...
You could remove that limitation by transferring all the data to an English rom.
__________________
I'm looking for some good (When I say good,
I mean you can hold your own by yourself)
N**i Zombies players, to form a team or even a
clan, to play with casually.
Send me a PM with your Highest Level and your PSN,
and I'll get back to you.
  #9381    
Old May 18th, 2009 (11:48 PM).
874521's Avatar
874521 874521 is offline
School days again...
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philippines
Age: 17
Gender: Female
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 507
1. How to change the order of the pokedex in pokemon fire red?
2. Is Sebbe's Pokedex Order Editor works well on editing the pokedex's order?
  #9382    
Old May 19th, 2009 (12:31 AM).
Ninja Caterpie's Avatar
Ninja Caterpie Ninja Caterpie is offline
Sitting by the back window
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Best City OCE
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 5,988
I would think putting Touhoumon into an English ROM would be easier than translating a jap one?
__________________
Brony represent.
  #9383    
Old May 19th, 2009 (02:14 AM).
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew HackMew is offline
Mewtwo Strikes Back
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,314
Quote originally posted by King Mario:
I have some problems that I need to solve...

1. Undenpending on their data, new overworld characters are for some reason items instead of characters, that even reappears evey item I go one step away. (Example: Instead of saying "CHARACTER X: Hello World!" it says "PLAYER found ITEM X!" and gives me that item.) This is strange as it even happens to character with the exact same data in FR, and pointed to the exact same location in the data.

2. Game freezes. I know that this often happens when entering a new area, but for me, it also happens completly randomly for no reason. And yes, music and other sprites continously plays.
Looks like your ROM got screwed up badly. Did you got any backups?


Quote originally posted by PaulH:
In Fire-Red, is it possible to:

a) Have different sprites depending upon Gender?
b) Have different evolutions depending upon Gender?

Reason I want to know this is to know whether it would be possible to combine Nidoran Girl and Nidoran Boy into one pokemon (thus freeing up a pokédex spot), whilst maintaining its evolutions.
Yes, using ASM.


Quote originally posted by PaulH:
Righto, well, thats alright. Leads onto my next question though.

Is it possible to have more than one Pokémon linking to the same Pokédex entry? I'll use an example to demonstrate what I mean.

Say I have an Onix as well as a Crystalix, pretty much an Onix made of Crystal. I replace one of the 25 extra ?? slots (I know its nigh on impossible to add these as new ones to the pokedex) with the Crystalix data and sprites. I would, however, like the game to show Crystalix under the Onix Pokédex entry. So if I catch a Crystalix, the Onix entry appears, same as if I had caught an Onix. Is that possible? If so, it would be a neat way of getting around the ?? limitations, at least for me.
Yes, it's possible however I don't recommend using the extra 25 slots at all. I guess you might want to try repointing the Pokédex data table.


Quote originally posted by onyx79:
no my hack....I've edited scripts on pallet town,they work fine but when I put the game on my vba it shows a white screen,and I can only play it by using quick load,what to do?
Are you sure you're VBA is set up proprerly? Try some backups and see if the problem still happen.


Quote originally posted by Miror B.:
Ok.
I made new tiles for the outside appearace of the pokemon center/pokemon mart.
But when I enter or exit the pokemon center/pokemon mart, the tile of the door and the tile above it (the lower left part of the pokeball) go back to the old tiles.
When I have entered or exited the pokemon center/pokemon mart, they go back to the tiles I made.

How do I fix this?
That's normal. Door tiles are animated. And you didn't edit the animation, that's it.
The tiles used for the animation are uncompressed so you can use any tile editor and search them.


Quote originally posted by ~Trebuh~:
Hey,can anone tell me whats the ape offset of the battle backgrounds in ruby?please!! i need to know
cause i wanna edit it on my ruby hack.
Why don't you search it yourself? I made a tutorial for something.


Quote originally posted by Sonikku17:
Well, this is probably the wrong place to put this, but my question is: how would I go about making an in-game trade event? If someone could point me in the direction of a tutorial, that would be very much appreciated!
Easy. Just read the guide that comes with XSE.


Quote originally posted by ensoriki:
Is it possible to STOP the player from releasing a certain pokemon?
As in say, you cannot release your starter, ever.
I would hope so as the alternative would be to make it that you never get to use a pokemon box >.>
Eventually yes, using ASM. Besides... only releasing would be prevented, right? That is, you would still be able to trade it on another game.


Quote originally posted by final_agent:
So I'd like to start making a translation patch for Touhoumon's japanese version.

At first I used Advance-Text to get things done but I've had enough of it's limitations and would like to try something with a bit more freedom.

So first things first...what do you guys recommend for changing pokemon names and attacks on the Japanese Fire Red? So far I've played around with Name Editor Advance (although I'm still having trouble locating all the names of all the attacks...and the pokemon name list doesn't even show up) and got some okay results...it's annoying that the attacks have a 8 character limit in the japanese version in all honesty. Whenever you hit 8, sometimes the name overlaps with the attack name right beneath it and suddenly something like MAGNITUD becomes MAGNITUDPSY...It also annoys me to no end in the pokemon names since that limit is 5 characters only.

[...]

I'd like to start with just changing the names and attacks for now. I'll deal with learning how to change the messages later on...
All the tools you mentioned aren't designed to work with Japanese versions. So you better use BPRE instead.
Also, that way you don't need to translate anything.
__________________
  #9384    
Old May 19th, 2009 (02:56 AM).
onyx79's Avatar
onyx79 onyx79 is offline
Red Dead Revolver
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orange Islands (=
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 503
I have 1.8.0 vba 128k flash type and I don't have backups,so you're trying to say that my hack is screwed up,and I need to start everything all over again? )=
  #9385    
Old May 19th, 2009 (03:07 AM).
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew HackMew is offline
Mewtwo Strikes Back
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,314
Quote originally posted by onyx79:
I have 1.8.0 vba 128k flash type and I don't have backups,so you're trying to say that my hack is screwed up,and I need to start everything all over again? )=
Maybe you don't really need to start all over. Try using a clean ROM and repeat the changes you made, one by one checking if the new ROM works. Also, check the ROM header because that could be the white screen problem. Open a hex editor and compare both your hack and a clean ROM byte byte byte and see if there are differences. And do make backups next time.
__________________
  #9386    
Old May 19th, 2009 (03:13 AM).
~Trebuh~'s Avatar
~Trebuh~ ~Trebuh~ is offline
Jiggles, The legendary fairy
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 175
@Hackmew well i already read yout tut.thanks i finally found out,but everytime i load the .RAW file on N-TME,theres an errormessage that keeps appearing,so i do it on a new .Raw file,after i finished it,i import them on unlz and edit the pallets then heres what happened:
__________________
  #9387    
Old May 19th, 2009 (03:14 AM).
onyx79's Avatar
onyx79 onyx79 is offline
Red Dead Revolver
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orange Islands (=
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 503
Quote originally posted by HackMew:
Maybe you don't really need to start all over. Try using a clean ROM and repeat the changes you made, one by one checking if the new ROM works. Also, check the ROM header because that could be the white screen problem. Open a hex editor and compare both your hack and a clean ROM byte byte byte and see if there are differences. And do make backups next time.
use a clean rom and then load the back up on it?
  #9388    
Old May 19th, 2009 (03:32 AM).
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew HackMew is offline
Mewtwo Strikes Back
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,314
Quote originally posted by ~Trebuh~:
@Hackmew well i already read yout tut.thanks i finally found out,but everytime i load the .RAW file on N-TME,theres an errormessage that keeps appearing,so i do it on a new .Raw file,after i finished it,i import them on unlz and edit the pallets then heres what happened: [...]
Try using Cyclone instead.


Quote originally posted by onyx79:
use a clean rom and then load the back up on it?
No... (besides, what backup? You don't have any...) first check if the header is the same as the one you can see in a clean ROM. If not, change it so they're both the same, using the clean ROM as source. If the ROM still doesn't work, try repeating all the changes you made on the clean ROM.
__________________
  #9389    
Old May 19th, 2009 (03:41 AM).
~Trebuh~'s Avatar
~Trebuh~ ~Trebuh~ is offline
Jiggles, The legendary fairy
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 175
@Hackmew:

well it doesnt let me use a tileset that its in .PNG form,i once deicide to make it a bitmap format,but the colors become ugly..
__________________
  #9390    
Old May 19th, 2009 (03:44 AM).
onyx79's Avatar
onyx79 onyx79 is offline
Red Dead Revolver
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orange Islands (=
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 503
No... (besides, what backup? You don't have any...) first check if the header is the same as the one you can see in a clean ROM. If not, change it so they're both the same, using the clean ROM as source. If the ROM still doesn't work, try repeating all the changes you made on the clean ROM.[/QUOTE]

where to find the header on hex editor?
  #9391    
Old May 19th, 2009 (04:13 AM).
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew HackMew is offline
Mewtwo Strikes Back
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,314
Quote originally posted by ~Trebuh~:
@Hackmew:

well it doesnt let me use a tileset that its in .PNG form,i once deicide to make it a bitmap format,but the colors become ugly..
That happens because you used Paint to convert it to bitmap. Since you have it, use Photoshop instead. Also, Cyclone support .gif files too.


Quote originally posted by onyx79:
where to find the header on hex editor?
It's the first thing you see at offset 0x000000.
__________________
  #9392    
Old May 19th, 2009 (06:20 AM).
Aquilae's Avatar
Aquilae Aquilae is offline
=))))))))88888888OOOOOOOO<
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: South East Asia (Singapore)
Posts: 386
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Aquilae
Would it be possible to set a trainers' pokemon's level to

Highest level in party (the six pokemon you're holding) + X?

It would make the game harder and more balanced imo. You won't just go back and level up once you meet this leader, or rush through the game using only your starter. You'd actually have to use the correct pokemon for the task, like using Water against the gym leaders' Onix or something like that.

You can't really cheat the system by having all your pokemon at the lowest level possible, because then their stats will be subpar compared to the evolved pokemon of the other trainers, and you don't really have a wide variety of moves to choose from, due to TMs being limited and those which aren't, including HMs aren't very good most of the time.

It would also be nice if the AI could be changed, instead of just using the strongest move, or using other moves when they cannot OHKO (what I think happens in the games), the AI could follow a set sequence (like buff up until their stats are high and sweep), or maybe cheat a little, know the players' team beforehand and use the moves that would do good damage to most of the team, so the player cannot just switch out.
__________________

Check out my youtube channel!
http://www.youtube.com/user/AquiIae

Quote originally posted by Dark_Azelf, on Anti's social life:
Ive seen dead tree stumps who get more action
  #9393    
Old May 19th, 2009 (06:36 AM).
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew HackMew is offline
Mewtwo Strikes Back
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,314
Quote originally posted by Aquilae:
Would it be possible to set a trainers' pokemon's level to

Highest level in party (the six pokemon you're holding) + X?

It would make the game harder and more balanced imo. You won't just go back and level up once you meet this leader, or rush through the game using only your starter. You'd actually have to use the correct pokemon for the task, like using Water against the gym leaders' Onix or something like that.

You can't really cheat the system by having all your pokemon at the lowest level possible, because then their stats will be subpar compared to the evolved pokemon of the other trainers, and you don't really have a wide variety of moves to choose from, due to TMs being limited and those which aren't, including HMs aren't very good most of the time.

It would also be nice if the AI could be changed, instead of just using the strongest move, or using other moves when they cannot OHKO (what I think happens in the games), the AI could follow a set sequence (like buff up until their stats are high and sweep), or maybe cheat a little, know the players' team beforehand and use the moves that would do good damage to most of the team, so the player cannot just switch out.
All that may be nice but requires ASM knowledge.
__________________
  #9394    
Old May 19th, 2009 (07:34 AM).
negative's Avatar
negative negative is offline
Life returns. Life prevails.
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Ptuj, Slovenia.
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 503
Does anyone know the APE offsets of OW sprites except for the Hero/ine?
__________________
Pokémon Twisted Mind
  #9395    
Old May 19th, 2009 (08:01 AM).
onyx79's Avatar
onyx79 onyx79 is offline
Red Dead Revolver
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orange Islands (=
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 503
this is what I found,I haven't touch anything here:

what to do now?
  #9396    
Old May 19th, 2009 (08:19 AM).
final_agent final_agent is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Gender:
Posts: 4
Transfering the data...?

Well I do know that getting access to the music(although I think I only saw a tutorial for emerald of this, there's a tool somewhere in my folders that was supposed to handle it for this version too), sprites + movesets is quite possible and you could simply apply them to the english version.

But what about tile changes and all that? A few of Touhoumon's patches change a few areas and make a few new scripts for characters, wouldn't I need to script those too if I transfered the data over? Not to mention all the trainer data, attack property changes (I think they did something to the move typings in terms of physical and special properties) and animations.

Here's a video example of one of the patches...although since I can't post links yet, you'll have to fill in the blanks...
www-youtube-com/watch?v=wpfc7klSdLo
And here's an example of the newer animations
www-sankakucomplex-com/charts/niconico/player.php?vid=sm6808630

I'm no expert so it kind of looks like it'd be tougher to transfer everything over instead of translating the lines to make the game playable to the common non japanese reading north american.
  #9397    
Old May 19th, 2009 (08:58 AM). Edited May 19th, 2009 by ZidaneTribal.
ZidaneTribal ZidaneTribal is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Gender:
Posts: 7
I have 3 questions:

1. Give it good Pokemon hacks in german?

2. What is with Pokemon Dragons, the harder version of Pokemon Emerald? I saw it in the "Complete hacks" Thread, but I Found no link.

3. I want to make harder trainers and other wild Pokemon in Emerald. must I make a complete new hack or is that easier?

I hope you can help me.
  #9398    
Old May 19th, 2009 (10:14 AM).
PaulH PaulH is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Gender:
Posts: 73
ASM eh? Oh dear, I've had trouble enough scripting, let alone something that advanced! Maybe something to consider later then..

On the other hand, I have yet another question (yay..). How would you go about adding a new Type into Pokémon Fire-Red? Any tools or tutorials around for this? (I have searched, but it came up empty).
  #9399    
Old May 19th, 2009 (12:24 PM).
Vednix's Avatar
Vednix Vednix is offline
:D
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Docile
Posts: 254
how do i implement a script file into a rom?
  #9400    
Old May 19th, 2009 (02:53 PM).
derrick 313 derrick 313 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 9
how do put new tiles into a emerald rom? i have the magna train tiles from rom resource and want to replace the boat with it
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 09:06 PM.