Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #9826    
Old June 13th, 2009 (04:39 AM).
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew HackMew is offline
Mewtwo Strikes Back
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,314
Quote originally posted by Vednix:
hey, I wanna have a shiny at the start of the game. How do i do this?
Searching "shiny" in the forum is just too hard is it? Look here. You might want to look for level scripts too.
__________________
  #9827    
Old June 13th, 2009 (04:42 AM).
Vednix's Avatar
Vednix Vednix is offline
:D
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Docile
Posts: 254
Um...that's looks a little hard Hackmew

Is there a simpler way? such as a tool or something.
__________________
._.
  #9828    
Old June 13th, 2009 (05:06 AM).
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew HackMew is offline
Mewtwo Strikes Back
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,314
Quote originally posted by Vednix:
Um...that's looks a little hard Hackmew :(

Is there a simpler way? such as a tool or something.
ZodiacDaGreat made one. Eventually you can wait for mine.
__________________
  #9829    
Old June 13th, 2009 (05:10 AM).
874521's Avatar
874521 874521 is offline
School days again...
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philippines
Age: 17
Gender: Female
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 507
Quote originally posted by onyx79:
that UNLZ really hates me,I've tried to replace the 1st empty slot with a magmortar here's the magmortar it's indexed:
when I find the empty slot(it's look this ?? with green back color)and then I insert the magmortar I just see nothing,no picture I replaced the offset with 800010 that I found on unlz and did anything and this is my final result: ignore my missingno
Did you replace both offsets? Or try this tutorial:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=154220
__________________
Hacks I Support:
Pokemon Ametrino





--------------------------
My Thread: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=201787
Post your suggestions on my thread.
Contains DPP and HGSS Tiles and Overworlds!



874521 Pair up with Napalm
  #9830    
Old June 13th, 2009 (05:18 AM).
Vednix's Avatar
Vednix Vednix is offline
:D
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Docile
Posts: 254
Quote originally posted by HackMew:
ZodiacDaGreat made one. Eventually you can wait for mine.
Ok. I'll wait for yours, seen as you make some awesome tools around here. Anyway, I have a problem.

I read through some indexing and inserting sprite tuts, and decided to give it a go. The front sprite comes out just fine, but for some reason the pallette on the back comes out messed up .

What I did was went to the sprite I wanted to change, inported my sprite (16 bit colour depth), click Write to ROM, put in a blank offset, ticked Export image, auto fix point, and abort if big, then clicked ok. then click Write to rom again, the unticked export image and ticked export pallette.

I then did the exact same thing for the bakc spirte, but obviously I went to the bakc sprite of the one I wanted to change. put in a new offset etc, and generally did the same thing. But ti comes out wrong? Halp.
__________________
._.
  #9831    
Old June 13th, 2009 (05:41 AM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
Moderator
CS
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 3,507
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
Quote originally posted by Vednix:
Ok. I'll wait for yours, seen as you make some awesome tools around here. Anyway, I have a problem.

I read through some indexing and inserting sprite tuts, and decided to give it a go. The front sprite comes out just fine, but for some reason the pallette on the back comes out messed up .

What I did was went to the sprite I wanted to change, inported my sprite (16 bit colour depth), click Write to ROM, put in a blank offset, ticked Export image, auto fix point, and abort if big, then clicked ok. then click Write to rom again, the unticked export image and ticked export pallette.

I then did the exact same thing for the bakc spirte, but obviously I went to the bakc sprite of the one I wanted to change. put in a new offset etc, and generally did the same thing. But ti comes out wrong? Halp.
Did you make the backsprite's pallete the shiny pallete used for the Pokémon? Did you put a blank offset for the pallete as well?
__________________
  #9832    
Old June 13th, 2009 (05:44 AM).
Vednix's Avatar
Vednix Vednix is offline
:D
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Docile
Posts: 254
Quote originally posted by Spherical Ice:
Did you make the backsprite's pallete the shiny pallete used for the Pokémon? Did you put a blank offset for the pallete as well?
No. It is the normal pallette and i did not put a blank offset for the pallette as the tutorial said not to.
__________________
._.
  #9833    
Old June 13th, 2009 (06:22 AM).
Vrai Vrai is offline
can you feel my heart?
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Vrai
Quote originally posted by muzzyguy:
I have a few questions these are all on fire red.

1. On other peoples roms when you beat a gym leader it will say there name and give you badge but i can't change that on advance text it still says [player] got boulderbadge from brock how do i cnage it.

2.on the intro bit before you choose your name and stuff where it tells you the buttons people have changed that how do i?

3.How do i make an IPS file and put it up for download?
1. Don't use AdvanceText for things like that. Create your own scripts using a tool like XSE. :/

2. That's the kind of thing you use AdvanceText for. Search for some of the text in the intro, and then edit it.

3. You can use a tool called Lunar IPS (LIPS). It both patches and creates patches. To put it up for download, you can use a sharing site like MediaFire or SendSpace, or you can attach it to one of your posts.
__________________
aka Zebraiken | pairs; Ω & ζ | bffl; λ | now; Ϟ | twin; ξ | brother; φ | sister; Ψ | neeks; Ϫ
  #9834    
Old June 13th, 2009 (03:00 PM).
BlitŻ's Avatar
BlitŻ BlitŻ is offline
guahh my dog is so cute
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bay Area, Califronia.
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 472
Are their any tuts out there that can help you understand ASM and teach you how to incorporate it in the game?
__________________
  #9835    
Old June 13th, 2009 (04:08 PM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
Im comin' home...
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,816
Quote originally posted by jebees:
Are their any tuts out there that can help you understand ASM and teach you how to incorporate it in the game?
Not to the best of my knowledge.
I know there are some ARM/THUMB based instruction manuals and reference sheets around the net, but none of them are as easy to understand as HackMew's or The^4's tuts...
We'll have to wait...
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
  #9836    
Old June 13th, 2009 (04:56 PM).
BlitŻ's Avatar
BlitŻ BlitŻ is offline
guahh my dog is so cute
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bay Area, Califronia.
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 472
Quote originally posted by 0m3GA ARS3NAL:
Not to the best of my knowledge.
I know there are some ARM/THUMB based instruction manuals and reference sheets around the net, but none of them are as easy to understand as HackMew's or The^4's tuts...
We'll have to wait...
okay thanks but I have a problem

I made trainer's on Pet and put them into the scripts. The wierd thing sis when I click on some numbers on PEt the numbers change to the next one. So when I finished making my trainer, I would jus save, then reload the ROM, and put the numbers that were there into the script. But when I tried it ingame, I would get a different trainer. This is probably from getting the wrong number

my question is what is a accurate way to get the write number to put in the script?
__________________
  #9837    
Old June 13th, 2009 (06:19 PM).
Quickster's Avatar
Quickster Quickster is offline
Dream or Drop?
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 350
Quote originally posted by jebees:
okay thanks but I have a problem

I made trainer's on Pet and put them into the scripts. The wierd thing sis when I click on some numbers on PEt the numbers change to the next one. So when I finished making my trainer, I would jus save, then reload the ROM, and put the numbers that were there into the script. But when I tried it ingame, I would get a different trainer. This is probably from getting the wrong number

my question is what is a accurate way to get the write number to put in the script?
Hmm,im not sure of your problem,but switch to A-Trainer.Its a lot easier to nuderstand and better in my opinino.Its in hack-mews tool factory.
__________________
I laugh looking at this.

But sometimes I want to come back to it...

  #9838    
Old June 13th, 2009 (11:11 PM).
u0850913's Avatar
u0850913 u0850913 is offline
What, nine thousand?!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: In ur base, eating ur guys
Age: 19
Nature: Calm
Posts: 36
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to u0850913
So liek, hai everyone.
I'm working on a Pokemon hack, and I need one simple question answered, that I haven't found asked anywhere else before.
So, when I edit the cry of a Pokemon in PokeCry GUI, I have no idea how to do it, so I click the "..." button at the top-right, to load the Ruby ROMfile, then I load the WAV file, and this is the bit I need help with. What am I supposed to click? What I've been doing is pressing "Check Rom," then "Repoint," and all the way through until I get to "Dump". I load my ROM up in VBA, and the screen's just all white. I've got a backup ROM, but can someone help me here?
__________________
  #9839    
Old June 13th, 2009 (11:28 PM).
XandZero XandZero is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 4
Hi, I'm looking to remove the starting copyright and title screen in Pokemon platinum; or at least tell the game to skip it and instead immediately start up with the blue continue/new game/option screen.

I'm trying to speed up the time it takes to start the game. The topics on this forum only go as far as editing the title screen.
  #9840    
Old June 13th, 2009 (11:59 PM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
Moderator
CS
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 3,507
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
I'm annoyed with unLZ.GBA right now. You know when it aborts your changes because the size is too big. Well, the little three digit code that pops up is the amount of bytes needed in hex, right? So, in FSF, I converted it to the DEC equivalent and searched for an offset with enough free space. I replace the image offset with my new offset and click Write to ROM. I think that the image has changed, but when I go off of the page with the image on, and then return to it again, it is still in it's original form, as if I had done nothing. The offset is also the original offset. It's happened to me with at least seven different images, but it only happens if the size is greater than before.

I've tried multiple times to solve this problem, but failed everytime. It happens on every ROM I try, clean or not. Help is much appreciated. Thanks in advance.
__________________
  #9841    
Old June 14th, 2009 (12:06 AM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 7,080
Quote originally posted by u0850913:
So liek, hai everyone.
I'm working on a Pokemon hack, and I need one simple question answered, that I haven't found asked anywhere else before.
So, when I edit the cry of a Pokemon in PokeCry GUI, I have no idea how to do it, so I click the "..." button at the top-right, to load the Ruby ROMfile, then I load the WAV file, and this is the bit I need help with. What am I supposed to click? What I've been doing is pressing "Check Rom," then "Repoint," and all the way through until I get to "Dump". I load my ROM up in VBA, and the screen's just all white. I've got a backup ROM, but can someone help me here?
That tool is really difficult to master, and it's not a safe tool for hacking, for it may cause glitches in your game.

Quote originally posted by Spherical Ice:
I'm annoyed with unLZ.GBA right now. You know when it aborts your changes because the size is too big. Well, the little three digit code that pops up is the amount of bytes needed in hex, right? So, in FSF, I converted it to the DEC equivalent and searched for an offset with enough free space. I replace the image offset with my new offset and click Write to ROM. I think that the image has changed, but when I go off of the page with the image on, and then return to it again, it is still in it's original form, as if I had done nothing. The offset is also the original offset. It's happened to me with at least seven different images, but it only happens if the size is greater than before.

I've tried multiple times to solve this problem, but failed everytime. It happens on every ROM I try, clean or not. Help is much appreciated. Thanks in advance.
delete the file with the .spr extension file in the same folder where your ROM is located. that way, you can see your new sprites in Unlz-GBA... Though they are no longer together with the other old sprites...

Also, I think if you search for free offsets manually with hex, you'll get a higher success rate.

But if you wish to use FSF, then you can ask HackMew on how to search for free space properly.

Also, you should receive a pop-up that the new sprite has been repointed successfully if you gave unlz a new offset for it to repoint the new image.
__________________

3DS FC: 0061-1111-6462
TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)


  #9842    
Old June 14th, 2009 (01:01 AM).
u0850913's Avatar
u0850913 u0850913 is offline
What, nine thousand?!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: In ur base, eating ur guys
Age: 19
Nature: Calm
Posts: 36
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to u0850913
So, um, what do I do then? I have a custom Pokemon that is ESSENTIAL for this game. If I can't edit the cry, is there some way I can swap it with another Pokemon's? I don't want to write this one over an existing Pokemon in unLZ, so I've got it on a blank space. How can I give it a certain cry?

Also, do I have to use hex codes for the "ID" area in PokeCry? Or just the Pokemon's Pokedex number? Because I've tried both of them, and neither worked.
__________________
  #9843    
Old June 14th, 2009 (01:04 AM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 3,444
Quote originally posted by u0850913:
So, um, what do I do then? I have a custom Pokemon that is ESSENTIAL for this game. If I can't edit the cry, is there some way I can swap it with another Pokemon's? I don't want to write this one over an existing Pokemon in unLZ, so I've got it on a blank space. How can I give it a certain cry?

Also, do I have to use hex codes for the "ID" area in PokeCry? Or just the Pokemon's Pokedex number? Because I've tried both of them, and neither worked.
It isn't recommended to change the cry. Ask HackMew for help, as he gave me advice about Pokecry (even though he wasn't the creator), but trust me, it is better to wait for a better tool.
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...


Nerves o
f Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

  #9844    
Old June 14th, 2009 (01:13 AM).
Destiny's Avatar
Destiny Destiny is offline
I review anime and stuff!
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: UK
Age: 14
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 598
Don't Mean To Nag, But Can Someone Answer My Question?
__________________

3DS FC: 4854-6421-4741
Be sure to add me and let me know so I can add you back!
  #9845    
Old June 14th, 2009 (01:14 AM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 3,444
Quote originally posted by ConwaySlowking126:
Don't Mean To Nag, But Can Someone Answer My Question?
Helped if you could tell us it, by quoting it.
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...


Nerves o
f Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

  #9846    
Old June 14th, 2009 (01:14 AM).
Alex31's Avatar
Alex31 Alex31 is offline
Pro D<
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Above the Gameboard
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 99
This sounds very noobish, but in a hack of Pokemon Fire-Red, if its not a First Generation Pokemon, it wont evolve, so is there any way to edit the game to make it so you have the National Dex earlier on than after defeating the Elite Four.
I've seen it done in some games, but finding out how to do it would be very helpful, thanks.
__________________
  #9847    
Old June 14th, 2009 (01:17 AM).
Destiny's Avatar
Destiny Destiny is offline
I review anime and stuff!
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: UK
Age: 14
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 598
Quote:
Can Anyone Tell Me How To Edit D/P/Pt Music?
Like Battle Music?
Ok, Please, I'm Gonna Make Hack Of Diamond
__________________

3DS FC: 4854-6421-4741
Be sure to add me and let me know so I can add you back!
  #9848    
Old June 14th, 2009 (01:43 AM).
Kalsard's Avatar
Kalsard Kalsard is offline
Looking for time travellers.
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New Zealand
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 95
Quote:
This sounds very noobish, but in a hack of Pokemon Fire-Red, if its not a First Generation Pokemon, it wont evolve, so is there any way to edit the game to make it so you have the National Dex earlier on than after defeating the Elite Four.
I've seen it done in some games, but finding out how to do it would be very helpful, thanks.
Special 0x81F or something. Triggers your national dex, just look it up in Oak's script.

How would you release a Pokemon from your party?
Thanks
__________________

"What I have shown you is reality. What you remember, that is the illusion."

  #9849    
Old June 14th, 2009 (02:07 AM). Edited June 14th, 2009 by muzzyguy.
muzzyguy's Avatar
muzzyguy muzzyguy is offline
When disaster strikes!
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 58
XSE is not working for me i put in the script completely right and it doesnt work!

and has any one got a complete script for give pokedex and get your first badge. And dont tell me to read the tutorial that comes with it cos ive read it twice all the way through.
Quote originally posted by Atlus:
1. Don't use AdvanceText for things like that. Create your own scripts using a tool like XSE. :/

2. That's the kind of thing you use AdvanceText for. Search for some of the text in the intro, and then edit it.

3. You can use a tool called Lunar IPS (LIPS). It both patches and creates patches. To put it up for download, you can use a sharing site like MediaFire or SendSpace, or you can attach it to one of your posts.
EDIT: And is there a tool to edit the title screen in fire red?


And on number 2 i meant before you see oak the bit where theres a pikachu in tp corner




he told me to make my own script for the 1st badge how do i do that
  #9850    
Old June 14th, 2009 (02:32 AM).
Reb's Avatar
Reb Reb is offline
Bad Mood :X
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 18
iam edieting the titlescreen.But when i import the raw and test it,hers what happen.
http:*//i397.photobucket.com/albums/pp52/trebuh12345/hyu.jpg

(remove the *)

it screwed up,i already pallet edited it.
Maybe the tilemap is too big?
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 05:10 AM.