Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #10001    
Old June 21st, 2009 (10:10 AM). Edited June 21st, 2009 by go777away.
go777away's Avatar
go777away go777away is offline
Team Kanto
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 11
How do I get the thing that takes you to a place on its own to change its course on fire red?

edit: i put the image of the maps in my sig
  #10002    
Old June 21st, 2009 (10:29 AM).
diegoisawesome's Avatar
diegoisawesome diegoisawesome is offline
Please understand
Team Unova
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Goldenrod City, Johto
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 972
Quote originally posted by megiddo:
I don't supposed anyone would know how to detach a map from another map. My problem, is that my map looks the way it should in Advance Map, but in game the tiles are different and I can not leave the house. I have checked the warps. They seem fine. I think the map is tied to another in some way.
In Advance Map: In Game:
In A-Map, go to the messed-up map. Go to Header, then press Ctrl+H. Scroll down to Map Data. In there, there's a box that says Map offset, replace that with a free offset, and click Save and reload map. Then test it in game!
__________________


My other resources:
My Website
diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
Diego's Miscellaneous Patches
GBA Intro Manager
  #10003    
Old June 21st, 2009 (10:32 AM).
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew HackMew is offline
Mewtwo Strikes Back
Team Unova
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,314
Quote originally posted by diegoisawesome:
In A-Map, go to the messed-up map. Go to Header, then press Ctrl+H. Scroll down to Map Data. In there, there's a box that says Map offset, replace that with a free offset, and click Save and reload map. Then test it in game!
It's not the map script at all, actually. Like Pokepal17 said, the problem is the map footer which holds the tileset info about the map.
__________________
  #10004    
Old June 21st, 2009 (10:44 AM).
diegoisawesome's Avatar
diegoisawesome diegoisawesome is offline
Please understand
Team Unova
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Goldenrod City, Johto
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 972
Quote originally posted by HackMew:
It's not the map script at all, actually. Like Pokepal17 said, the problem is the map footer which holds the tileset info about the map.
Ah, right. Sorry. This is how to fix it:
1. Open up Free Space Finder.
2. Get an offset.
3. Write down that offset.

4. Open up A-Map.
5. Go to the messed-up map.

6. Click on Header.
7. Press Ctrl+H.
8. Scroll down to the box that says Map footer.
9. Copy that data.
10. Close A-Map.
11. Go to the offset from FSF in a hex-editor.
12. Paste the stuff from the Map footer box into the offset.
13. Save and exit the hex editor.
14. Open up A-Map.
15. Go to the messed-up map.

16. Click on Header.
17. In the Map footer offset box, paste the new offset and click Save changes and reload map.
18. Test it out!
__________________


My other resources:
My Website
diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
Diego's Miscellaneous Patches
GBA Intro Manager
  #10005    
Old June 22nd, 2009 (07:13 AM).
Clasico Clasico is offline
Team Hoenn
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sabadell, Spain
Gender: Male
Posts: 18
Hi, I returned with more questions:
IN POKÉMON GOLD, how I do to change the REAL TRAINER DATA? For example, change one bird keeper and convert it on a bug catcher.
  #10006    
Old June 22nd, 2009 (08:19 AM).
Pokepal17's Avatar
Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
More cowbell~
Team Sinnoh
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Steeltown
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,517
Quote originally posted by diegoisawesome:
Ah, right. Sorry. This is how to fix it:
1. Open up Free Space Finder.
2. Get an offset.
3. Write down that offset.

4. Open up A-Map.
5. Go to the messed-up map.

6. Click on Header.
7. Press Ctrl+H.
8. Scroll down to the box that says Map footer.
9. Copy that data.
10. Close A-Map.
11. Go to the offset from FSF in a hex-editor.
12. Paste the stuff from the Map footer box into the offset.
13. Save and exit the hex editor.
14. Open up A-Map.
15. Go to the messed-up map.

16. Click on Header.
17. In the Map footer offset box, paste the new offset and click Save changes and reload map.
18. Test it out!
No need, I told him how to fix it on MSN

Quote originally posted by Clasico:
Hi, I returned with more questions:
IN POKÉMON GOLD, how I do to change the REAL TRAINER DATA? For example, change one bird keeper and convert it on a bug catcher.
Look for a tool in the toolbox or get a hex editor and hex edit the trainer.
__________________
Pokémon Stardrop
  #10007    
Old June 22nd, 2009 (08:47 AM).
Clasico Clasico is offline
Team Hoenn
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sabadell, Spain
Gender: Male
Posts: 18
[QUOTE=Look for a tool in the toolbox or get a hex editor and hex edit the trainer.[/QUOTE]
This is the problem, i didn't troube any tool and I can't hex edit the trainer (the pokémons that have yes, but not the trainer type)
  #10008    
Old June 22nd, 2009 (08:57 AM).
Pokepal17's Avatar
Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
More cowbell~
Team Sinnoh
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Steeltown
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,517
Quote originally posted by Clasico:
This is the problem, i didn't troube any tool and I can't hex edit the trainer (the pokémons that have yes, but not the trainer type)
There is a way to change the trainer type with hex or else how could a tool do it. You'll figure it out eventually with a bit of trial and error
__________________
Pokémon Stardrop
  #10009    
Old June 22nd, 2009 (09:15 AM).
Clasico Clasico is offline
Team Hoenn
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sabadell, Spain
Gender: Male
Posts: 18
And... ¿what's this way? I searched the web and I didn't saw it. Can you explain it me?
  #10010    
Old June 22nd, 2009 (10:57 AM).
pizzaM4N pizzaM4N is offline
Team Unova
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Hi,
I'm playing pokemon emerald on a GBA flsh card called supercard miniSD. I serch for a Real TIme Clock fix (RTC fix) for it which can let the clock run. There is already a RTC fix which you can apply by a program called GBATA but this is onely for pokemon ruby and saphire. Does anybody has a RTC ips fix or something else for pokemon emerald?
I would be very happy if someone can give/create me a fix :D

regards pizzaM4N
  #10011    
Old June 22nd, 2009 (12:49 PM).
theswordbuggy's Avatar
theswordbuggy theswordbuggy is offline
Rom Hacker
Team Kalos
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Australia, Queensland
Gender: Male
Posts: 21
i need a code that gives me a item and talks before and after. i have tried tones of them and they just dnt seem to work. another thing please dont give me one that has boxset in it they dnt work. this is fof pokemon emerald and xse.

Thanks
Buggy
  #10012    
Old June 22nd, 2009 (12:56 PM).
Pokepal17's Avatar
Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
More cowbell~
Team Sinnoh
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Steeltown
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,517
Quote originally posted by Clasico:
And... ¿what's this way? I searched the web and I didn't saw it. Can you explain it me?
Sorry I don't know, I hack the gba. Ask Jeremy or Coolboyman.
__________________
Pokémon Stardrop
  #10013    
Old June 22nd, 2009 (01:06 PM).
Quickster's Avatar
Quickster Quickster is offline
Dream or Drop?
Team Kanto
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 350
Quote originally posted by theswordbuggy:
i need a code that gives me a item and talks before and after. i have tried tones of them and they just dnt seem to work. another thing please dont give me one that has boxset in it they dnt work. this is fof pokemon emerald and xse.

Thanks
Buggy
First of all,i belive your looking for a script,not a code.
Second,it would be better to ask around in the script help thread.
But keep in mind its a script help thread and not a request thread.
__________________
I laugh looking at this.

But sometimes I want to come back to it...

  #10014    
Old June 22nd, 2009 (04:24 PM).
Kurayamiblack's Avatar
Kurayamiblack Kurayamiblack is offline
Team Hoenn
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Gender:
Posts: 26
I'm doing an Emerald hack. Lugia and Ho-Oh havee their own wildbattle music but I want a different song to play instead of the one they have. How do I change the music for their battle? I checked both their scripts (also checked Deoxys, Mew etc to look for similarities) but I can't find anything in the script that would control the music. I tried Sappy but when I turned the Lugia/Ho-Oh music into a duplicate of the song I wanted, it sounded strange during playback and the game freezes when the battle initiates.

I have back-up files, so I just need help changing the music. Can anyone help me?

Off Topic, but related to topic:
I know the topic title says SEARCH BEFORE ASKING but this topic is 403 pages long. I checked other topics and forums for answers, but I don't think it would be fair to ask someone to read 403 pages of 1 topic just to ask a simple question. I suggest a FAQ at the beginning of this topic to cover most of the most popularly asked questions and their answers or maybe links to some tutorials from the "Documents and Tutorials" forum. This way, people can find their already asked question without having to tear through 400 pages of unrelated questions to look for a question that might not be there. Just a suggestion.
  #10015    
Old June 22nd, 2009 (06:56 PM).
?foʀeveʀFTW¿'s Avatar
?foʀeveʀFTW¿ ?foʀeveʀFTW¿ is offline
The Cloaked Schemer
Team Kanto
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sin City :3
Nature: Impish
Posts: 50
Hello everybody.

I have a question about my Fire Red ROM.

Is it possible to add more Pokémon to your ROM even after all the spaces in unLZ.gba / PokéPic are filled? Im trying to add all 4 generations of Pokémon.
__________________
  #10016    
Old June 22nd, 2009 (07:03 PM).
Tyrantrum's Avatar
Tyrantrum Tyrantrum is offline
ʕ´•ᴥ•`ʔ
Team Kalos
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New Jersey
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 5,810
Send a message via Skype™ to Tyrantrum
Quote originally posted by ?foʀeveʀFTW¿:
Hello everybody.

I have a question about my Fire Red ROM.

Is it possible to add more Pokémon to your ROM even after all the spaces in unLZ.gba / PokéPic are filled? Im trying to add all 4 generations of Pokémon.
The only other way is to place them over the other Pokémon.
As far as I know...
__________________




(x) Tumblr
(y) Twitter
Previously Eeveon
  #10017    
Old June 22nd, 2009 (07:06 PM).
Megiddo-san's Avatar
Megiddo-san Megiddo-san is offline
Barium - Summer '12 Return?
Team Unova
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Where you least expect it
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 1,331
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Megiddo-san
?foʀeveʀFTW¿ - You could expand by repointing all the tables. Front sprites, back sprites, icons, stats, etc. It's difficult to get all of them repointed because there are so many and some are hard to think of.
__________________

Hashire! Asu e tsudzuku shinka no micha wa
  #10018    
Old June 22nd, 2009 (07:08 PM).
?foʀeveʀFTW¿'s Avatar
?foʀeveʀFTW¿ ?foʀeveʀFTW¿ is offline
The Cloaked Schemer
Team Kanto
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sin City :3
Nature: Impish
Posts: 50
Quote originally posted by megiddo:
?foʀeveʀFTW¿ - You could expand by repointing all the tables. Front sprites, back sprites, icons, stats, etc. It's difficult to get all of them repointed because there are so many and some are hard to think of.
Lets see, well I know how to repoint, Its just what programs would I use to repoint them. Like where would I put the images?
__________________
  #10019    
Old June 22nd, 2009 (09:03 PM).
Finkelburgpool Finkelburgpool is offline
Team Sinnoh
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 2
umm, yeah, the roms are .ips and .ups... how do i open/play them?
  #10020    
Old June 22nd, 2009 (09:41 PM).
NTA's Avatar
NTA NTA is offline
Where?
Team Sinnoh
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 265
what is the realtime clock function in vba for?
__________________

  #10021    
Old June 22nd, 2009 (10:53 PM). Edited June 23rd, 2009 by onyx79.
onyx79's Avatar
onyx79 onyx79 is offline
Red Dead Revolver
Team Kanto
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orange Islands (=
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 503
what's the story with that UNLZ?I want to hack fr title screen so I click save as to the charzard sprite and it doesn't save the sprite for me!~
EDIT:this is madness!!!!!!!! I can't even replace balbusaur with an indexed magmortar because when I put the magmortar sprite I see nothing!!!!!! look here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FbzWngGe54I&feature=channel_page
__________________
my room base: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpost.php?p=5397075&postcount=64
  #10022    
Old June 23rd, 2009 (04:07 AM).
kaijerem's Avatar
kaijerem kaijerem is offline
Team Sinnoh
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: France
Posts: 29
hi, I can not get the Roms changed. Can you tell me how to do to play please?
  #10023    
Old June 23rd, 2009 (06:28 AM).
go777away's Avatar
go777away go777away is offline
Team Kanto
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 11
I resolved all of my previous questions, but have more...
1. Is there a way that when I'm in the Safari Zone I can make the game end after I've captured 1 pokemon for one time only?

2. How do I make people leave after talking?

3. I'm using overworld editor and cannot for the life of me understand how to import and export sprites, I've searched for different programs, but I can't seem to find one. Can someone direct me to a program that lets me import and export the sprites, please.

I'm using Fire Red.
__________________

The most badass weasle like thing ever!
  #10024    
Old June 23rd, 2009 (08:25 AM).
Yummeh.Strawberriez's Avatar
Yummeh.Strawberriez Yummeh.Strawberriez is offline
Mapper/OW Spriter (:
Team Kanto
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Littleroot Town Ftw
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 10
@Finkelburgpool:
The .ips and.ups files aren't roms, They are patches that you apply to a ROM file.
You have to download the ROM yourself, try gogling for it is agaisnt the rules to post them on the site, then use a program like LIPS ( Lunar IPS) to patch the file onto the ROM.

@NTA
The Realtime clock feature can be used to stop the annoying 'Battery has run dry' message in R/S/E.
__________________
Pokémon Rhenic/Poptart Creator (:

Happy to help anyone in need of a mapper/OW Spriter.
  #10025    
Old June 23rd, 2009 (08:53 AM).
Vrai Vrai is offline
can you feel my heart?
Team Unova
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Vrai
Quote originally posted by onyx79:
what's the story with that UNLZ?I want to hack fr title screen so I click save as to the charzard sprite and it doesn't save the sprite for me!~
EDIT:this is madness!!!!!!!! I can't even replace balbusaur with an indexed magmortar because when I put the magmortar sprite I see nothing!!!!!! look here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FbzWngGe54I&feature=channel_page
..wow. unLZ, even if it doesn't show it on the program, does it in-game. Check your ROM, and write a script giving a Bulbasaur or something. It will be a Magmortar. :/
__________________
aka Zebraiken | pairs; Ω & ζ | bffl; λ | now; Ϟ | twin; ξ | brother; φ | sister; Ψ | neeks; Ϫ
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 07:00 PM.