Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub > Beginner’s Lounge
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Beginner’s Lounge Where all good (and bad) ideas start. This is the Beginner’s Lounge, where if you need a helping hand or want to develop your small ideas, you bring it here. We won't bite.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #10651    
Old July 25th, 2009 (02:13 PM).
Blaziquaza's Avatar
Blaziquaza Blaziquaza is offline
...
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Whyalla, Australia
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 781
I was wondering about something.

I was creating a new map for my hack,didn't have any border blocks,
BANG.When I went to VBA to test it there was a massive glitch.
Do you need to have border blocks on the map to stop the glitch?
__________________
Everything you say to me pushes one step closer to the edge



And I'm about to break
I need a little room to breathe...

Steam IGN: Hybrid Theory
  #10652    
Old July 25th, 2009 (06:16 PM).
Samike360's Avatar
Samike360 Samike360 is offline
Lover of May
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: ATL
Gender:
Nature: Bold
Posts: 397
Quote originally posted by HackMew:
2. Editing the text is easy as editing any other texts. You just need to find where is it. As for the healing places, the table starts at 0x3EEC98.
Hmm...well anyway I entered the offset and I got this:

Spoiler:
#org 0x3EEC98
call 0x5000000
nop
call 0x5000600
nop
if 0x0 call 0x80003
nop
nop
callstd 0x0
nop1
nop
gotostdif 0x0 0xC
nop
callstdif 0x0 0x5
nop
jumpram
nop
goto 0xD00


I don't see any text or anything

Also, would the script allow me to change the location of the healing place?
__________________





Please warm my eggs...I'll be sure to return the favor

From now one, if you haven't contacted me yet....I will not accept hacks unless they are at least in progressing hacks. So if you want my help, get some screenshots first.
  #10653    
Old July 25th, 2009 (08:36 PM).
TheWicked's Avatar
TheWicked TheWicked is offline
Pogi ako!
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: I prefer not to tell
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 60
hey can someone tell me the ape offset of the grass battle backgrounds in firered?
__________________
Hack/s I Support:



  #10654    
Old July 26th, 2009 (07:04 AM).
Xatoku's Avatar
Xatoku Xatoku is offline
Game Developer
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Gender: Male
Posts: 451
Is there any way to take out the option to chose between a Male or a Female so that the script switches that question? 'Cuz my hack is only really based on 1 character.
  #10655    
Old July 26th, 2009 (07:47 AM).
AaronB AaronB is offline
Noob Hacker
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 14
Hi, i made a new pokemon league with harder battles in it (for FR), i copied all the maps (including the route upto it) and i am going to hide the entrance to it somewhere. But i don't want anybody to be able to get into it until they have beaten the pokemon league and after they go into it and beat it or fail i don't want them to be able to go into it again until they do the Real Pokemon League again. I know this can be done with a warp script that will only warp into it if the flag used at the first battle is not there, but how can i get all of the flags to clear after i complete the pokemon league?

PS does a warp script (script tile not warp tile) work? and does it have to be at a door, because i tried to make a person when you talekd to them warp you for another thing but the screen went black and froze.
__________________
"When Hacking, always remember to make a backup"

Opps...

Spoiler:

cna yuo raed tihs? Olny 55% of plepoe can.

I cdnuolt blveiee taht I cluod aulaclty uesdnatnrd waht I was rdanieg. The phaonmneal pweor of the hmuan mnid, aoccdrnig to a rscheearch at Cmabrigde Uinervtisy, it dseno't mtaetr in waht oerdr the ltteres in a wrod are, the olny iproamtnt tihng is taht the frsit and lsat ltteer be in the rghit pclae. The rset can be a taotl mses and you can sitll raed it whotuit a pboerlm. Tihs is bcuseae the huamn mnid deos not raed ervey lteter by istlef, but the wrod as a wlohe. Azanmig huh? yaeh and I awlyas tghuhot slpeling was ipmorantt!
fi yuo cna raed tihs, palce it in yuor siantugre.


What type of Pokemon am I?
Spoiler:
  #10656    
Old July 26th, 2009 (08:13 AM).
cooley's Avatar
cooley cooley is offline
///Keepin' it simple
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: United States
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Posts: 1,150
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to cooley Send a message via Skype™ to cooley
Quote originally posted by Samike360:
Hmm...well anyway I entered the offset and I got this:

Spoiler:
#org 0x3EEC98
call 0x5000000
nop
call 0x5000600
nop
if 0x0 call 0x80003
nop
nop
callstd 0x0
nop1
nop
gotostdif 0x0 0xC
nop
callstdif 0x0 0x5
nop
jumpram
nop
goto 0xD00


I don't see any text or anything

Also, would the script allow me to change the location of the healing place?
The table is not a script, it's a table... You have to view it through a hex editor and change the values accordingly.
__________________

  #10657    
Old July 26th, 2009 (08:36 AM).
Samike360's Avatar
Samike360 Samike360 is offline
Lover of May
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: ATL
Gender:
Nature: Bold
Posts: 397
Quote originally posted by cooley:
The table is not a script, it's a table... You have to view it through a hex editor and change the values accordingly.
Ugh hex Well thanks anyway, I may give it a shot and see what I can do with it.
__________________





Please warm my eggs...I'll be sure to return the favor

From now one, if you haven't contacted me yet....I will not accept hacks unless they are at least in progressing hacks. So if you want my help, get some screenshots first.
  #10658    
Old July 26th, 2009 (12:53 PM).
boytjuh boytjuh is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9
I started working on my own hack today. I never made any scripts for anything before but managed to make a give pokémon script, and made the character dissapear, but the only thing is that i needed a pokédex. Now i did a setflag 829 to obtain the pokédex but the pokémon giving character also tells my nationaldex data in a bugged way. Is there anyway to solve that?
Well here's the script, maybe some corrections possible? (should be :3)
Spoiler:
#dynamic 0x800000

#org @start
lock
faceplayer
checkflag 0x828
checkflag 0x829
msgbox @1 0x4
goto @take
release
end

#org @take
givepokemon 0x83 0x5 0x0 0x0 0x0 0x0
msgbox @2 0x4
waitfanfare
closeonkeypress
setflag 0x828
msgbox @3 0x6
compare LASTRESULT 0x1
setflag 0x829
call 0x1A743B
fadescreen 0x1
fadescreen 0x0
hidesprite 0x800F
setflag 0x200
release
end

#org @done
msgbox @4 0x6

#org @1
= Hi!\pYou should take this\nLAPRAS.\p It's dangerous out there\pwithout a Pokémon!

#org @2
= You obtained an LAPRAS!

#org @3
= You also need a Pokédex!\pYou received Pokédex!

#org @4
= I have to go now,\p See you around?
  #10659    
Old July 26th, 2009 (01:10 PM).
monkeyman2092's Avatar
monkeyman2092 monkeyman2092 is offline
Aipom Awesome!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 140
Quote originally posted by boytjuh:
I started working on my own hack today. I never made any scripts for anything before but managed to make a give pokémon script, and made the character dissapear, but the only thing is that i needed a pokédex. Now i did a setflag 829 to obtain the pokédex but the pokémon giving character also tells my nationaldex data in a bugged way. Is there anyway to solve that?
Well here's the script, maybe some corrections possible? (should be :3)
Spoiler:
#dynamic 0x800000

#org @start
lock
faceplayer
checkflag 0x828
checkflag 0x829
msgbox @1 0x4
goto @take
release
end

#org @take
givepokemon 0x83 0x5 0x0 0x0 0x0 0x0
msgbox @2 0x4
waitfanfare
closeonkeypress
setflag 0x828
msgbox @3 0x6
compare LASTRESULT 0x1
setflag 0x829
call 0x1A743B
fadescreen 0x1
fadescreen 0x0
hidesprite 0x800F
setflag 0x200
release
end

#org @done
msgbox @4 0x6

#org @1
= Hi!\pYou should take this\nLAPRAS.\p It's dangerous out there\pwithout a Pokémon!

#org @2
= You obtained an LAPRAS!

#org @3
= You also need a Pokédex!\pYou received Pokédex!

#org @4
= I have to go now,\p See you around?
On the first part, the @start part, you need a "setflag 0x828" and "setflag 0x829"

Correction:

Spoiler:
#dynamic 0x800000

#org @start
lock
faceplayer
setflag 0x828
checkflag 0x828
setflag 0x829
checkflag 0x829
msgbox @1 0x4
goto @take
release
end

#org @take
givepokemon 0x83 0x5 0x0 0x0 0x0 0x0
msgbox @2 0x4
waitfanfare
closeonkeypress
setflag 0x828
msgbox @3 0x6
compare LASTRESULT 0x1
setflag 0x829
call 0x1A743B
fadescreen 0x1
fadescreen 0x0
hidesprite 0x800F
setflag 0x200
release
end

#org @done
msgbox @4 0x6

#org @1
= Hi!\pYou should take this\nLAPRAS.\p It's dangerous out there\pwithout a Pokémon!

#org @2
= You obtained an LAPRAS!

#org @3
= You also need a Pokédex!\pYou received Pokédex!

#org @4
= I have to go now,\p See you around?
[/
__________________


Aipom, Pikachu, and Eevee shall take over the world very soon... Very soon...

Map Requests Accepted JUST NOT FOR THE MAP RATING THREAD
  #10660    
Old July 26th, 2009 (01:58 PM). Edited July 26th, 2009 by boytjuh.
boytjuh boytjuh is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9
Quote originally posted by monkeyman2092:
On the first part, the @start part, you need a "setflag 0x828" and "setflag 0x829"

Correction:

Spoiler:
#dynamic 0x800000

#org @start
lock
faceplayer
setflag 0x828
checkflag 0x828
setflag 0x829
checkflag 0x829
msgbox @1 0x4
goto @take
release
end

#org @take
givepokemon 0x83 0x5 0x0 0x0 0x0 0x0
msgbox @2 0x4
waitfanfare
closeonkeypress
setflag 0x828
msgbox @3 0x6
compare LASTRESULT 0x1
setflag 0x829
call 0x1A743B
fadescreen 0x1
fadescreen 0x0
hidesprite 0x800F
setflag 0x200
release
end

#org @done
msgbox @4 0x6

#org @1
= Hi!\pYou should take this\nLAPRAS.\p It's dangerous out there\pwithout a Pokémon!

#org @2
= You obtained an LAPRAS!

#org @3
= You also need a Pokédex!\pYou received Pokédex!

#org @4
= I have to go now,\p See you around?
[/
EDIT: Didn't work, still the national dex message in a bug-like way, it appears like this: by the way
dex e... <- Something like that, i can't find it in the script but it has to do with the 829 flag xD
Is there maybe another way to give a pokédex in my own script or something?
  #10661    
Old July 26th, 2009 (03:28 PM).
ianmichael7's Avatar
ianmichael7 ianmichael7 is offline
Pokemon Fayt Creator
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Buffalo, NY
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 21
Is there a dexter version out there for pokemon emerald version????
  #10662    
Old July 26th, 2009 (05:58 PM).
Aljam's Avatar
Aljam Aljam is offline
Pierce the heavens
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 583
Quote originally posted by ianmichael7:
Is there a dexter version out there for pokemon emerald version????
I suggest you use yape (yet another pokemon editor) It is waaaayyy better than Dexter. Look for it in the toolbox.
__________________
Paired with Druyii.
  #10663    
Old July 26th, 2009 (07:23 PM).
yourpaljesus's Avatar
yourpaljesus yourpaljesus is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Gender:
Posts: 22
Hey can someone help me out i want to know how to place a tree that i can use cut on for advanced map

cheers
  #10664    
Old July 26th, 2009 (07:32 PM).
Tyrantrum's Avatar
Tyrantrum Tyrantrum is offline
ʕ´•ᴥ•`ʔ
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New Jersey
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 5,810
Send a message via Skype™ to Tyrantrum
Quote originally posted by yourpaljesus:
Hey can someone help me out i want to know how to place a tree that i can use cut on for advanced map

cheers
Go to the events tab in Advance Map, and go to the "Person's" event.
Change the picture of the "person" until you find the cut tree.

Thee you go~

PS: If you want to put the cut tree script in it, try looking at the other cut trees and read their scripts, that way, you know what you have to do.
__________________




(x) Tumblr
(y) Twitter
Previously Eeveon
  #10665    
Old July 27th, 2009 (02:53 AM).
Crysal Crysal is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 20
I need the "pet" tool(download link), its like a-trainer, but there are empty places, I need that.
  #10666    
Old July 27th, 2009 (03:15 AM).
boytjuh boytjuh is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9
I still haven't got a proper way to put a pokédex in, cause mine on the other page didn't work. I've written it in edit, but... I don't know i felt like it didn't get readed cause it was an edit, lol. That's why I asked it again :O Also someone editted it a little for me, on the other page, but that didn't work either...
  #10667    
Old July 27th, 2009 (04:31 AM).
onyx79's Avatar
onyx79 onyx79 is offline
Red Dead Revolver
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orange Islands (=
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 503
Quote originally posted by Crysal:
I need the "pet" tool(download link), its like a-trainer, but there are empty places, I need that.
you can expand the trainer number in a-trainer too it's not that hard....
__________________
my room base: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpost.php?p=5397075&postcount=64
  #10668    
Old July 27th, 2009 (08:56 AM).
quickfire quickfire is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 7
I'm trying to place an item that contains a pokeball, but everytime i lick on it and gain them the ball goes away, but then reappears. How do I stop that from happening? Also is there any player sprite editor?
  #10669    
Old July 27th, 2009 (10:12 AM).
onyx79's Avatar
onyx79 onyx79 is offline
Red Dead Revolver
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orange Islands (=
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 503
Quote originally posted by quickfire:
I'm trying to place an item that contains a pokeball, but everytime i lick on it and gain them the ball goes away, but then reappears. How do I stop that from happening? Also is there any player sprite editor?
put the flag number in person ID on a-map,for OW sprites-overworld editor rebirth.
for battle sprite-UNLZ
__________________
my room base: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpost.php?p=5397075&postcount=64
  #10670    
Old July 27th, 2009 (12:14 PM).
JerisEnigma1337's Avatar
JerisEnigma1337 JerisEnigma1337 is offline
Rocket Recruited Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Gender: Female
Posts: 21
OKAY. Deep breath.
I'm using Overworld Editor RE to make new hero sprites. They finally look great, with one problem: the background color won't go away! Its the same green/teal color the original sprites used and its in 16 bit, but its not going transparent... Instead, his outline is! How do I fix this? I'm hacking an Emerald ROM btw.
__________________

---
Supporter of:


  #10671    
Old July 27th, 2009 (12:44 PM).
boytjuh boytjuh is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9
Well, i know that that color, is just because it shows that color while you made it transparant, but i don't know for this, well hope this helped you out a bit
  #10672    
Old July 27th, 2009 (01:25 PM).
Micro SD's Avatar
Micro SD Micro SD is offline
HubbaBubba
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 156
Quote originally posted by JerisEnigma1337:
OKAY. Deep breath.
I'm using Overworld Editor RE to make new hero sprites. They finally look great, with one problem: the background color won't go away! Its the same green/teal color the original sprites used and its in 16 bit, but its not going transparent... Instead, his outline is! How do I fix this? I'm hacking an Emerald ROM btw.
Make sure that the teal color is the first color in the pallete. The first color of any pallete will always be the transparent color. I think you can swap the colors using irfanview.
  #10673    
Old July 27th, 2009 (02:16 PM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
Im comin' home...
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,816
Quote originally posted by Micro SD:
Make sure that the teal color is the first color in the pallete. The first color of any pallete will always be the transparent color. I think you can swap the colors using irfanview.
infranview is kinda awkward when it comes to pallet swapping... (Moving colors in the color index...)
GIMP will let you drag/drop the colors to there correct positions, so long as the image is already indexed... otherwise... don't do it, lol....
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
  #10674    
Old July 27th, 2009 (04:04 PM).
Pokepal17's Avatar
Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
More cowbell~
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Steeltown
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,517
Does anyone know where I can find Enrico Marini's Revamped Gold/Silver sprites?
I've already used google btw, and there has been no luck at all.
__________________
Pokémon Stardrop
  #10675    
Old July 27th, 2009 (04:39 PM).
Zephiel Zephiel is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 42
Is there a quick way to have Proffessor Oak give you the National dex right from the start of the journey without heavy scripting (which I'm terrible at)? Like a program that does it or something? Thanks...
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 10:17 AM.