Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #10676    
Old July 27th, 2009 (07:08 PM).
Aljam's Avatar
Aljam
Pierce the heavens
Community Supporter Tier 4
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
theres a flag you need to activate...forgot which one though
__________________
Paired with Druyii.
  #10677    
Old July 27th, 2009 (08:04 PM).
Razer Rage
Beginning Hacker
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Gender:
Meh, wasn't able to find a match. :/

Just asking, is it easier to make a Gold hack, or a FireRed hack? When I think about it, I suppose the obvious answer would be FireRed, but what if you needed to use Johto region in your hack, or if you wanted to bring back the classics?

I may be asking a rhetorical question here...

See, I was thinking of making a Gold/Silver hack, because I'm rather fond of the 2nd gen games, and I've noticed that these days most hacks are hacks of fire red.

But I'm not too familiar with hacking in Gold, at least, not as familiar as I am with hacking fire red. I need to know the difference so I can know what I'm getting myself into.
__________________
Click here if you are a fan of The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time.
  #10678    
Old July 28th, 2009 (01:48 AM).
boytjuh
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote originally posted by Archon:
theres a flag you need to activate...forgot which one though
It's flag 0x829, but the problem i have with that flag is that it automatically tells my my national dex data and then won't let the script go on for me.
  #10679    
Old July 28th, 2009 (02:11 AM). Edited July 28th, 2009 by 874521.
874521's Avatar
874521
School days again...
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philippines
Age: 17
Gender: Female
Nature: Naughty
1. How can change the graphics like the bars on your pokemon party on Fire Red?
2. How can I insert the HP bars, textbox, battle backgrounds and the DP font?
3. How can I change the badges and the pokedex color and graphics?
4. Is there a way to add a new tileset or can I add a new tileset?
5. When Professor Oak is still talking, the palette is correct.
Spoiler:


But if saying yes or no on the name of the character, the palettes are:
Spoiler:


Help?

Too many to ask. :D
__________________
Hacks I Support:
Pokemon Ametrino





--------------------------
My Thread: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=201787
Post your suggestions on my thread.
Contains DPP and HGSS Tiles and Overworlds!



874521 Pair up with Napalm
  #10680    
Old July 28th, 2009 (05:35 AM).
Doom Chaos's Avatar
Doom Chaos
I don't have a title
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canada
Age: 20
Nature: Calm
Quote originally posted by HackMew:
It's not Spanish, it's multilanguage. Download it from my Tools Factory, anyway. There's a tutorial in the Documents and Tutorials section, look for my thread.
Might be blind or something, but I can't find any tutorials. I looked at your tool factory (well made by the way =P) and found the download link, but there are no links to APE tutorials. Tried 2 ways to find tutorials, both failed.
  #10681    
Old July 28th, 2009 (05:35 AM).
Pokepal17's Avatar
Pokepal17
More cowbell~
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Steeltown
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote originally posted by 874521:
1. How can change the graphics like the bars on your pokemon party on Fire Red?
2. How can I insert the HP bars, textbox, battle backgrounds and the DP font?
3. How can I change the badges and the pokedex color and graphics?
4. Is there a way to add a new tileset or can I add a new tileset?
5. When Professor Oak is still talking, the palette is correct.
Spoiler:


But if saying yes or no on the name of the character, the palettes are:
Spoiler:


Help?

Too many to ask. :D
2) unLZ GBA
3) unLZ and APE
4) Lu-Ho made a tutorial for it in the documenta and tutorials thread.
5)I've seen this before and it's a bug of the photoshop method. I would advise you to look for Zel's home-made tutorials in the documents and tutorials thread, which shows the classic but more difficult way of inserting the intro sprites.
__________________
Pokémon Stardrop
  #10682    
Old July 28th, 2009 (05:46 AM). Edited January 2nd, 2013 by Bozster.
Bozster's Avatar
Bozster
Chief Lunatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Gender: Male
I need help...

When I try to insert DP tiles on Emerald, this happens:
Attachment 48248

When I try to insert the original tiles tp fix it, THIS happens:
Attachment 48249

What the hell am I doing wrong?!
  #10683    
Old July 28th, 2009 (05:49 AM).
SSJ4 Furanki's Avatar
SSJ4 Furanki
Got my Zoroark and everything!
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Age: 21
Nature: Hasty
Quote originally posted by Doom Chaos:
Might be blind or something, but I can't find any tutorials. I looked at your tool factory (well made by the way =P) and found the download link, but there are no links to APE tutorials. Tried 2 ways to find tutorials, both failed.
I always found this tutorial helpful, well at least for the offsets and stuff:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=106892&highlight=APE
__________________
Hacks I'm currently working on:
DarkCopper (Only at 1st Gym Area)

My X/Y Team:

  #10684    
Old July 28th, 2009 (09:22 AM).
Crysal
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
tool:advance map 1.92
problem:in petalburgwoods I change the position of the 2 warps at the end and when I would linke to enter the warp (to get out of the wood) nothing happen, but then when I go down back the warp works?? you know am sayn? no? ok, one more time: I step on the warp (so that I stay on it) but nothing happen, than if I would go down (i dont go, i would only) it warps me to the next roud, i dont undertand why cuz all in the map is correct....????
  #10685    
Old July 28th, 2009 (10:17 AM).
Bozster's Avatar
Bozster
Chief Lunatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by Crysal:
tool:advance map 1.92
problem:in petalburgwoods I change the position of the 2 warps at the end and when I would linke to enter the warp (to get out of the wood) nothing happen, but then when I go down back the warp works?? you know am sayn? no? ok, one more time: I step on the warp (so that I stay on it) but nothing happen, than if I would go down (i dont go, i would only) it warps me to the next roud, i dont undertand why cuz all in the map is correct....????
It varies with the tiles that you put the warps because if you check with block editor, you'll see that the tiles have "Behavior Bytes."

Now, I have a question. Every time I try to insert a new tileset, this happens:
Attachment 48249

Can anyone explain where the hell I'm going wrong?! I change the palettes and everything and it's really frustrating because no one else seems to have this godforsaken problem!
  #10686    
Old July 28th, 2009 (10:35 AM).
ziglef's Avatar
ziglef
Just here for fun ^^
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Portugal
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Ok so this is what happens, i'm working on my own rom, and i got the starting map to work and i got the 2 map to work also, but now i changed some warps and stuff and when i go to the warp that goes from the first map to the second the games just stays black...

Anyone got an ideia how to fix this ?
__________________
  #10687    
Old July 28th, 2009 (11:27 AM).
Bozster's Avatar
Bozster
Chief Lunatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by ziglef:
Ok so this is what happens, i'm working on my own rom, and i got the starting map to work and i got the 2 map to work also, but now i changed some warps and stuff and when i go to the warp that goes from the first map to the second the games just stays black...

Anyone got an ideia how to fix this ?
I think you have to double-check where each warp goes to. You know, Map Bank, map etc.

A quick question, where can I get the full DP tileset?
  #10688    
Old July 28th, 2009 (12:27 PM).
JerisEnigma1337's Avatar
JerisEnigma1337
Rocket Recruited Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Gender: Female
Quote originally posted by Micro SD:
Make sure that the teal color is the first color in the pallete. The first color of any pallete will always be the transparent color. I think you can swap the colors using irfanview.
Yeah, I did that by following the Insert Pokemon tut to fix the sprite originally.

Quote originally posted by 0m3GA ARS3NAL:
infranview is kinda awkward when it comes to pallet swapping... (Moving colors in the color index...)
GIMP will let you drag/drop the colors to there correct positions, so long as the image is already indexed... otherwise... don't do it, lol....
Uh huh, I totally know what you mean... And it was indexed and working fine until I added the other frames... I can't seem to figure out what the heck is going wrong though! Last night I opted to just scrap the whoe file so I could start from scratch with the virgin sprite. I'm going to try and force my sprite to work with the original game's palette, though I shudder to do so because I have a feeling it will look gawd aweful...
__________________

---
Supporter of:


  #10689    
Old July 28th, 2009 (01:44 PM).
ianmichael7's Avatar
ianmichael7
Pokemon Fayt Creator
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Buffalo, NY
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Is there a program that could help me change the world map that can be viewed on the fly map in emerald? I also wanted to know if you can change where people fly to using advance map, is there a way to make new fly scripts on maps or what?
  #10690    
Old July 28th, 2009 (03:02 PM).
AaronB
Noob Hacker
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
[Hi, i made a new pokemon league with harder battles in it (for FR), i copied all the maps (including the route upto it) and i am going to hide the entrance to it somewhere. But i don't want anybody to be able to get into it until they have beaten the pokemon league and after they go into it and beat it or fail i don't want them to be able to go into it again until they do the Real Pokemon League again. I know this can be done with a warp script that will only warp into it if the flag used at the first battle is not there, but how can i get all of the flags to clear after i complete the pokemon league?

PS does a warp script (script tile not warp tile) work? and does it have to be at a door, because i tried to make a person when you talekd to them warp you for another thing but the screen went black and froze.
__________________
"When Hacking, always remember to make a backup"

Opps...

Spoiler:

cna yuo raed tihs? Olny 55% of plepoe can.

I cdnuolt blveiee taht I cluod aulaclty uesdnatnrd waht I was rdanieg. The phaonmneal pweor of the hmuan mnid, aoccdrnig to a rscheearch at Cmabrigde Uinervtisy, it dseno't mtaetr in waht oerdr the ltteres in a wrod are, the olny iproamtnt tihng is taht the frsit and lsat ltteer be in the rghit pclae. The rset can be a taotl mses and you can sitll raed it whotuit a pboerlm. Tihs is bcuseae the huamn mnid deos not raed ervey lteter by istlef, but the wrod as a wlohe. Azanmig huh? yaeh and I awlyas tghuhot slpeling was ipmorantt!
fi yuo cna raed tihs, palce it in yuor siantugre.


What type of Pokemon am I?
Spoiler:
  #10691    
Old July 28th, 2009 (06:11 PM).
Counterfeit's Avatar
Counterfeit
 
Community Supporter Tier 5
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Age: 22
Send a message via Skype™ to Counterfeit
I'm attempting to insert a custom title screen into my Emerald hack, but have come across a problem which I don't understand.

I've used NTME to create the tilemap, imported both the title screen tileset and tilemap into unLZ.GBA which all goes smoothly but then when I run the rom it comes up like this:



When it is meant to look like this:



Anyone know what's gone wrong?
__________________
eram quod es, eris quod sum
  #10692    
Old July 28th, 2009 (06:17 PM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Im comin' home...
Community Supporter Tier 1
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Quote originally posted by Counterfeit:
I'm attempting to insert a custom title screen into my Emerald hack, but have come across a problem which I don't understand.

I've used NTME to create the tilemap, imported both the title screen tileset and tilemap into unLZ.GBA which all goes smoothly but then when I run the rom it comes up like this:



When it is meant to look like this:



Anyone know what's gone wrong?
You have to remove the smoke on the title screen that is usually there, and try using Cyclone, NTME works, but sometimes bugs out...
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
  #10693    
Old July 28th, 2009 (06:21 PM).
Counterfeit's Avatar
Counterfeit
 
Community Supporter Tier 5
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Age: 22
Send a message via Skype™ to Counterfeit
I replaced the smoke with a blank PNG and it just came out with this. :/



Could you give me a link to cyclone so I can give that a shot?
__________________
eram quod es, eris quod sum
  #10694    
Old July 28th, 2009 (06:24 PM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Im comin' home...
Community Supporter Tier 1
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Quote originally posted by Counterfeit:
I replaced the smoke with a blank PNG and it just came out with this. :/



Could you give me a link to cyclone so I can give that a shot?
Try changing the Gamefreak logo to have the right background, and make sure you removed Rayquaza COMPLETELY. (Including his glowing Yellow lines...)
Also, I don't have a link to it... you'll have to do some searching.
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
  #10695    
Old July 28th, 2009 (10:45 PM).
ben23492's Avatar
ben23492
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
How can you change the overworld sprites in Diamond?
__________________

  #10696    
Old July 29th, 2009 (03:59 AM).
Bozster's Avatar
Bozster
Chief Lunatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by ben23492:
How can you change the overworld sprites in Diamond?
Search through the Toolbox or Google it.

I have a question which has been skipped 3 times:
Does anyone know where I can get the full DP tileset?
  #10697    
Old July 29th, 2009 (04:13 AM).
Lady Berlitz's Avatar
Lady Berlitz
Cinnamon ♪
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: An igloo in Canada
Nature: Adamant
Quote originally posted by Bozster:
Search through the Toolbox or Google it.

I have a question which has been skipped 3 times:
Does anyone know where I can get the full DP tileset?
No. It hasn't been properly ripped, due to the 3-dimensional rendering features of the game.
Just look through the internet, Google is your friend
__________________
_█████████_
_█▄█████▄█_
_█▼▼▼▼▼▼▼█_
██_______██
_█▲▲▲▲▲▲▲█_
_█████████_
_██_____██_
  #10698    
Old July 29th, 2009 (04:38 AM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Im comin' home...
Community Supporter Tier 1
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Quote originally posted by Vesper:
No. It hasn't been properly ripped, due to the 3-dimensional rendering features of the game.
Just look through the internet, Google is your friend
There is a cheat code that automatically disables the DS's 3D rendering, and makes a flat image out of anything you are seeing... perfect for ripping tiles...
You gotta google for yourself though...
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
  #10699    
Old July 29th, 2009 (05:26 AM).
Bozster's Avatar
Bozster
Chief Lunatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by Bozster:
I have a question. Every time I try to insert a new tileset, this happens:
Attachment 48249

Can anyone explain where the hell I'm going wrong?! I change the palettes and everything and it's really frustrating because no one else seems to have this godforsaken problem!
OK, fair enough, but does anyone know what the hell is happening here?
  #10700    
Old July 29th, 2009 (05:27 AM).
SonicBlazePlatinum's Avatar
SonicBlazePlatinum
/)^3^(\
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ponyville, Equestria
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
How do you post pictures of your Rom Hack?
__________________
Also known as SentryBronyPlatinum or Copyright Infringement.
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 08:45 AM.