Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #10826    
Old August 6th, 2009 (02:06 AM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
Im comin' home...
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,816
Quote originally posted by Haz:
Well that sucks in a way :/ I think a lot of cool hacks could be made if someone made tools. I would but I don't know how
If you would be willing to get into all that, you COULD learn.
I suggest by starting to learn a programing language, it might be tough at first, but once you get a grasp of it, you can seriously make some cool stuff.
(Just look at A-Map)
I suggest starting with Visual Basic 6, VB.Net, or Visual C++.
(From what I remember, Vb6, and VB.Net both cost money, but I think C++ is free now... I may be mistaken.)
There are plenty of tutorials online, I suggest Youtube.
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
  #10827    
Old August 6th, 2009 (02:35 AM).
Haz's Avatar
Haz Haz is offline
Haz ya seen my hack?
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Australia- Aussie, Aussie, Aussie!, Oi, Oi, Oi!
Gender: Female
Nature: Docile
Posts: 698
Send a message via Yahoo to Haz
Ok good. Thanks for that. The only problem would be time.
__________________
DeviantART: Haz-Za

Fanfiction.net: Ha-Za-A


Credits to Galukxy for this awesome banner
  #10828    
Old August 6th, 2009 (05:00 AM).
3dd13's Avatar
3dd13 3dd13 is offline
Advanced Music Remixer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Alabama! The Heart of Hell!
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 94
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to 3dd13
ok, seriously, im making a downgrade, and need to change the crys in firered starting with treekos. please tell me a simple way, starting with using pokecry.
__________________
"The power spoken of in mythology... I didn't just make it obey me, I made it my own!"
3DS Friend Code (Pokemon Y) 2294-5522-8562
  #10829    
Old August 6th, 2009 (07:52 AM).
TSK's Avatar
TSK TSK is offline
Swimming in shinies
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Nature: Timid
Posts: 160
Whenever I try to insert a replacement sprite for Charizard on the titlescreen (in Fire Red)the new sprite shares it's palette entries with the "Pokémon" Logo... Any advice?
__________________
SilverCurrent is on indefinite hiatus.
  #10830    
Old August 6th, 2009 (08:21 AM).
Khaz Khaz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 8
it would be really nice for someone to give me the link they got a-text from.....

oh and here are the exact words: Program to edit texts in a Pokémon Advance ROM. has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience.

the link i searched for is Broken and its now a :What you need. When u need it - search page..
  #10831    
Old August 6th, 2009 (11:08 AM).
jakerman999's Avatar
jakerman999 jakerman999 is offline
looking for spriters
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ingersoll
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 52
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to jakerman999
Quote originally posted by TSK:
Whenever I try to insert a replacement sprite for Charizard on the titlescreen (in Fire Red)the new sprite shares it's palette entries with the "Pokémon" Logo... Any advice?
hey TSK, I'm having a similar problem but with gamefreak text instead of the sprite. you could try googling a program called TSSC which changes the sprite on the intro screen for you, or you could manually edit the ROM by searching for the new image and changing the pallet pointer to the correct pallet.
__________________
you must build -inal pylons.

jakerman999's PokePet

sharpshell the level 45 Kabutops!


I have a life, I bought it on e-bay.

support shiny gold!
  #10832    
Old August 6th, 2009 (02:42 PM).
monkeyman2092's Avatar
monkeyman2092 monkeyman2092 is offline
Aipom Awesome!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 140
Quote originally posted by Samike360:
Ok, I have a problem. In A-map, whenever I add a new map and change the name, it changes all the names of the maps that I have already added. Plus, when moving between maps, I encounter this:
Spoiler:



Please help me fix this issue, I think that it is with footers/headers and I have tried playing around with stuff in hex, but nothing is working. (This is for Johto Adventures)
For the map name, the reason it does that is because if you use a map name, say PALLET TOWN, and you change it to say... Karlli Town, then all the maps with PALLET TOWN names will be changed to Karlli Town or whatever you put.

As for the map screw-up, it goes away if a certain script on the map is executed. Look into the script to see if something causes it to happen.
__________________


Aipom, Pikachu, and Eevee shall take over the world very soon... Very soon...

Map Requests Accepted JUST NOT FOR THE MAP RATING THREAD
  #10833    
Old August 6th, 2009 (02:47 PM).
Samike360's Avatar
Samike360 Samike360 is offline
Lover of May
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: ATL
Gender:
Nature: Bold
Posts: 397
Quote originally posted by monkeyman2092:
For the map name, the reason it does that is because if you use a map name, say PALLET TOWN, and you change it to say... Karlli Town, then all the maps with PALLET TOWN names will be changed to Karlli Town or whatever you put.

As for the map screw-up, it goes away if a certain script on the map is executed. Look into the script to see if something causes it to happen.
Ok thanks. But how would I change it so that the maps can have all different names?
__________________





Please warm my eggs...I'll be sure to return the favor

From now one, if you haven't contacted me yet....I will not accept hacks unless they are at least in progressing hacks. So if you want my help, get some screenshots first.
  #10834    
Old August 6th, 2009 (02:58 PM).
monkeyman2092's Avatar
monkeyman2092 monkeyman2092 is offline
Aipom Awesome!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 140
Quote originally posted by Samike360:
Ok thanks. But how would I change it so that the maps can have all different names?
Find a name under the name drop down list that you never see in the game, and use that.
__________________


Aipom, Pikachu, and Eevee shall take over the world very soon... Very soon...

Map Requests Accepted JUST NOT FOR THE MAP RATING THREAD
  #10835    
Old August 6th, 2009 (04:42 PM).
exzibit15 exzibit15 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
hello. is there a software that can edit the wild pokemon to becomde shiny pokemon?? or to making the finding rate of shiny pokemon higher?
  #10836    
Old August 6th, 2009 (06:44 PM). Edited August 6th, 2009 by Perri Lightfoot.
Perri Lightfoot's Avatar
Perri Lightfoot Perri Lightfoot is offline
Proud to hack Ruby Version!
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nevada
Age: 29
Gender: Female
Nature: Modest
Posts: 176
A question I need some help with: Is there any way, any way at all, to remove a Pokémon from your party? I know that trading with an NPC will remove a Pokemon from your party and replace it with another, but is there any way to bypass the entire trade and simply remove the Pokémon (without getting anything in return?)
__________________
Signature under construction. Watch this space~
  #10837    
Old August 6th, 2009 (07:39 PM).
metapod23's Avatar
metapod23 metapod23 is offline
Hardened Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 673
Quote originally posted by Pink Parka Girl:
A question I need some help with: Is there any way, any way at all, to remove a Pokémon from your party? I know that trading with an NPC will remove a Pokemon from your party and replace it with another, but is there any way to bypass the entire trade and simply remove the Pokémon (without getting anything in return?)
The only way I know is to use the Daycare script that allows you to give a Pokemon to the daycare person.
__________________
  #10838    
Old August 6th, 2009 (07:57 PM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
Im comin' home...
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,816
Quote originally posted by metapod23:
The only way I know is to use the Daycare script that allows you to give a Pokemon to the daycare person.
Someone made an ASM routine to do this, but another way this could work is to simply erase the data from the RAM.
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
  #10839    
Old August 7th, 2009 (01:11 AM).
Late's Avatar
Late Late is offline
Pokémon Artist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: "We all live in a Pokémon World!"
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 549
I don't know if this is possible but I want Pokémon Emerald's bikes to Fire Red. I like the idea of two different bikes. I could make some secret places with those bikes. Does anybody know how I can do that? (I know that it's easy to hack Emerald as well but I have already started Fire Red hacking and it's much better game to hack.) If anybody doesn't know it doesn't matter (yes, it matters...) I can do a hack without these bikes.
__________________

Please feed my Pokémon and warm my eggs.
Thanks for everyone who have clicked these, you've helped me a lot

Anyone has Club Nintendo codes that you don't need? I want those.
If you have one code for me I can trade you my Explorers of Sky code as I can't put it because I have registered already one. (Registered my brother's game and now I can't register mine...) Someone have same thing? PM me.
I know there's nobody who wishes to do this xD
I'm talking about Club Nintendo of Europe.
  #10840    
Old August 7th, 2009 (01:45 AM).
Co500's Avatar
Co500 Co500 is offline
You think you're strong? You're not.
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Far Awayyyyyyy
Gender: Male
Posts: 550
I have a problem its for johto Adventures aswell as soon as you go onto another map you cant return or itl freeze, I think its the offset where Ive placed it because im a rookie mapper so if anyone is experienced please help
__________________
It can't end now. Not like this.


I hope you’ll remember, there is something good in goodbye.



  #10841    
Old August 7th, 2009 (02:33 AM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
Im comin' home...
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,816
Quote originally posted by Late:
I don't know if this is possible but I want Pokémon Emerald's bikes to Fire Red. I like the idea of two different bikes. I could make some secret places with those bikes. Does anybody know how I can do that? (I know that it's easy to hack Emerald as well but I have already started Fire Red hacking and it's much better game to hack.) If anybody doesn't know it doesn't matter (yes, it matters...) I can do a hack without these bikes.
You would have to adapt the ASM routines from Emerald to work on FireRed version, which could take quite some time.
(Hmm sounds like another project I heard of... muahahah (It has nothing to do with the bikes...))
If you want a cheaper way to do it, I suppose you could make a script that works only if you have one bike or another... (Like for the bunny hops that the Acro Bike can do, you could make a script that makes it LOOK like you are bunny hopping over that area...)
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
  #10842    
Old August 7th, 2009 (03:05 AM).
Bozster's Avatar
Bozster Bozster is offline
Chief Lunatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Gender: Male
Posts: 101
Quote originally posted by con-11:
I have a problem its for johto Adventures aswell as soon as you go onto another map you cant return or itl freeze, I think its the offset where Ive placed it because im a rookie mapper so if anyone is experienced please help
I think I know where you're going wrong. You're talking about going to another map through connections, yes? In that case you need to make sure that both maps connect with each other. Just one of the maps connected to the other won't do. On A-Map, press Ctrl+A on your maps to open up Connection Manager.

Now I have a question:
Is there a tutorial which tells me all the offsets I need in HEX editing?
  #10843    
Old August 7th, 2009 (03:30 AM).
Palkia9 Palkia9 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
Hello can you help me for download the rom base in the rom hacking ressource #26.
Thanks for the person who help me.
  #10844    
Old August 7th, 2009 (05:07 AM).
Pikablµ Pikablµ is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: omg look lol
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Posts: 21
NOOOO!
NO NO NO!!!!

I have a completely unmodified clean FireRed BPRE US ROM. So I begun hacking it, started with the titlescreen, followed the steps of this tutorial. so when i had to load a raw to edit the titlescreen in unlz gba, it said too big. No problem, let's look for free space in FSF, i said. But NO FREE SPACE FOUND!?!?! What?????


How do i solve this? How do i edit the titlescreen? HOW?!?!!?!?! Does a ROM have that less free space? i can't even edit the titlescreen?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. GREATLY.
  #10845    
Old August 7th, 2009 (05:21 AM).
Hoshiko Aki's Avatar
Hoshiko Aki Hoshiko Aki is offline
Avatar rules
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 109
Hello,

I have a question about the d/p/pt boot screen in some of the other hacks.
Is there a patch or something? Yes: can you give my a link to it. If not: How can i add it to my hack then and where can I get the pic for it?
  #10846    
Old August 7th, 2009 (05:46 AM).
Pokepal17's Avatar
Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
More cowbell~
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Steeltown
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,517
Quote originally posted by raibaru:
Hello,

I have a question about the d/p/pt boot screen in some of the other hacks.
Is there a patch or something? Yes: can you give my a link to it. If not: How can i add it to my hack then and where can I get the pic for it?
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=155219
There's the tutorial, it's pretty easy to follow.
__________________
Pokémon Stardrop
  #10847    
Old August 7th, 2009 (10:14 AM).
Samike360's Avatar
Samike360 Samike360 is offline
Lover of May
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: ATL
Gender:
Nature: Bold
Posts: 397
For some reason, when I enter a certain map (route 2 in Johto Adventures) a person event doesn't appear at all the 2 scripts completely fail to activate. Can anyone tell me what could be the problem?
__________________





Please warm my eggs...I'll be sure to return the favor

From now one, if you haven't contacted me yet....I will not accept hacks unless they are at least in progressing hacks. So if you want my help, get some screenshots first.
  #10848    
Old August 7th, 2009 (12:18 PM).
monkeyman2092's Avatar
monkeyman2092 monkeyman2092 is offline
Aipom Awesome!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 140
Quote originally posted by Late:
I don't know if this is possible but I want Pokémon Emerald's bikes to Fire Red. I like the idea of two different bikes. I could make some secret places with those bikes. Does anybody know how I can do that? (I know that it's easy to hack Emerald as well but I have already started Fire Red hacking and it's much better game to hack.) If anybody doesn't know it doesn't matter (yes, it matters...) I can do a hack without these bikes.
It is possible, but it requires a crazy amount of scripting experience.

First off, goto the Firered Bike shop and find the person who gives you a bike. I'm not much of a scripter, but it would take a script kinda like the one in Emerald/Ruby/Sapphire. It requires all kinds of intense scripting, but it should be as simple as copy and paste. However, you need to find the Hidden ID of the two Hoenn Region bikes on the Firered ROM, and edit that from the original script. But, there are some other things that may set you back, such as things like the variables, flags, etc... If you know it well enough, it should be possible. It requires no ASM hacking what-so-ever if you can figure it out.
__________________


Aipom, Pikachu, and Eevee shall take over the world very soon... Very soon...

Map Requests Accepted JUST NOT FOR THE MAP RATING THREAD
  #10849    
Old August 7th, 2009 (12:49 PM).
Matteron (96)'s Avatar
Matteron (96) Matteron (96) is offline
Difference is everything...
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 18
Posts: 270
Ok this has become a real problem for me, whenever I insert new tiles they don't work correctly, by that I mean tiles that are supposed to cover the hero, they don't, example, trees, lamp posts, etc.
P.S. I put 00 in their behavior bites and background bites.
__________________
Matteron(96)
Currently Playing--->
Progress: Post-Game
Current Team:


In Terms of Hacking...
Favorite ROM
Skills
Working On
In Terms of Game Dev...
Working On
News
I'm currently up for hire, for almost anything in ROM hacking, so just send me a PM.
  #10850    
Old August 7th, 2009 (12:55 PM).
monkeyman2092's Avatar
monkeyman2092 monkeyman2092 is offline
Aipom Awesome!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 140
Quote originally posted by Matteron (96):
Ok this has become a real problem for me, whenever I insert new tiles they don't work correctly, by that I mean tiles that are supposed to cover the hero, they don't, example, trees, lamp posts, etc.
P.S. I put 00 in their behavior bites and background bites.
The problem may be this:

If there are tiles in the second box of the Block Editor, then whether it covers the hero or not is determined by the Background Byte. Ex:

If the lampost is a combined tile consisting of the lampost top and the ground beneath it, then you're out of luck.

If the lampost is a seperate tile and you put the ground beneath it, then 00 should let it cover the hero.
__________________


Aipom, Pikachu, and Eevee shall take over the world very soon... Very soon...

Map Requests Accepted JUST NOT FOR THE MAP RATING THREAD
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 10:59 AM.