Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #10851    
Old August 7th, 2009 (03:30 PM).
3dd13's Avatar
3dd13 3dd13 is offline
Advanced Music Remixer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Alabama! The Heart of Hell!
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 94
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to 3dd13
what is firereds pokedex offset for dexter. it keeps saying supported rom, but no base offset defined
__________________
"The power spoken of in mythology... I didn't just make it obey me, I made it my own!"
3DS Friend Code (Pokemon Y) 2294-5522-8562
  #10852    
Old August 7th, 2009 (04:25 PM).
Anzel's Avatar
Anzel Anzel is offline
Alliroe Trainer
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NY
Age: 23
Gender: Female
Nature: Calm
Posts: 23
I'm having some tile-adding issues. Every time I save the tileset thing and edit it, then go to load it into Advanced Map, it'll say I don't have a palette file...and sometimes I can't even save the tile block/whatever because it says I have 2 of the same color in my palette.

And then when I finally do have a saved file and a palette saved for it, and goes and says there can't be such a thing as FEDCBA9876543210...meh.

I can make the sprites and tiles and such, I can't even experiment much though without being able to add some tiles. UGH. It's getting on my nerves...I don't much care for Advanced Map at this point.
  #10853    
Old August 7th, 2009 (04:38 PM).
Aljam's Avatar
Aljam Aljam is offline
Pierce the heavens
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 583
Well, first of all, you have to save a tileset in advanced map to get the pallette. If you get an error on your pallette(like the 2 of the same colour), then go to the palette editor and change one of the colours that are the same... hope this helps...
__________________
Paired with Druyii.
  #10854    
Old August 7th, 2009 (04:55 PM).
Anzel's Avatar
Anzel Anzel is offline
Alliroe Trainer
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NY
Age: 23
Gender: Female
Nature: Calm
Posts: 23
Fwee...it worked. Thanks...I figured out what I did wrong --- Paint was being a pain and I had to fool around with that and changed files without really noticing/caring. :3 Thankies!!!
  #10855    
Old August 8th, 2009 (01:43 AM).
Palkia9 Palkia9 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks.
  #10856    
Old August 8th, 2009 (02:39 AM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 3,444
Can anyone please tell me how to change the Grass Animation in Ruby please? thethethethe's tut was a little unclear to me on how to edit the pallettes.
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...


Nerves o
f Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

  #10857    
Old August 8th, 2009 (06:32 AM). Edited August 8th, 2009 by techie775.
techie775 techie775 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 20
I've been editing Pokemon Fire Red and I've been trying to do a bunch of different things (add trainers, more pokemon you can catch, more legendaries) and I noticed when you get to Pallet Town there's Pink splotches all over the screen. Could this be from me using more than one script editor to make changes? Is there any way I can fix this? Has anyone even heard of this?

I think it had something to do with that thing on the right side of advancemap (where it says border block) shows you all the available picture sprites you can put in and some are garbled up like they are in the game. I'm wondering if you can use a sprite editor to fix this...
  #10858    
Old August 8th, 2009 (02:04 PM).
Blaziquaza's Avatar
Blaziquaza Blaziquaza is offline
...
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Whyalla, Australia
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 781
Quote originally posted by techie775:
I've been editing Pokemon Fire Red and I've been trying to do a bunch of different things (add trainers, more pokemon you can catch, more legendaries) and I noticed when you get to Pallet Town there's Pink splotches all over the screen. Could this be from me using more than one script editor to make changes? Is there any way I can fix this? Has anyone even heard of this?

I think it had something to do with that thing on the right side of advancemap (where it says border block) shows you all the available picture sprites you can put in and some are garbled up like they are in the game. I'm wondering if you can use a sprite editor to fix this...
I reckon your ROM's screwed up.
Now,can anybody answer this:
I'm trying to insert a sprite of Ash into my Emerald ROM.But when I do,compressed size is 0x448.I fix that,with free space.No probs.It gets written to the ROM.But,when I go back to the sprite,it's the sprite that was there originally!Is there a way I can fix this?
__________________
Everything you say to me pushes one step closer to the edge



And I'm about to break
I need a little room to breathe...

Steam IGN: Hybrid Theory
  #10859    
Old August 8th, 2009 (02:06 PM).
hashtag's Avatar
hashtag hashtag is offline
the man in black
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Salisbury, England
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Posts: 6,683
Quote originally posted by RayquazaLv.X:
I'm trying to insert a sprite of Ash into my Emerald ROM.But when I do,compressed size is 0x448.I fix that,with free space.No probs.It gets written to the ROM.But,when I go back to the sprite,it's the sprite that was there originally!Is there a way I can fix this?
That means the image has been re-pointed. It should've worked. Go test it out in-game.
__________________
#
  #10860    
Old August 8th, 2009 (02:27 PM).
Vrai Vrai is offline
can you feel my heart?
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Vrai
Quote originally posted by monkeyman2092:
As for the map screw-up, it goes away if a certain script on the map is executed. Look into the script to see if something causes it to happen.
I don't believe so. The error is caused by using Tileset 2 tiles in side-by-side maps that do not share the same Tileset 2. Basically, the map you're on is trying to read new tiles when the new tiles have not yet been loaded; either remove those tiles (on the map, not in the tileset) or move them away from the border of the map.
__________________
aka Zebraiken | pairs; Ω & ζ | bffl; λ | now; Ϟ | twin; ξ | brother; φ | sister; Ψ | neeks; Ϫ
  #10861    
Old August 8th, 2009 (02:31 PM).
Blaziquaza's Avatar
Blaziquaza Blaziquaza is offline
...
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Whyalla, Australia
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 781
Quote originally posted by Alice.:
That means the image has been re-pointed. It should've worked. Go test it out in-game.
It's a garbled mess.Looks like a cross between Missingno. and Glitch City.
__________________
Everything you say to me pushes one step closer to the edge



And I'm about to break
I need a little room to breathe...

Steam IGN: Hybrid Theory
  #10862    
Old August 8th, 2009 (02:44 PM).
hashtag's Avatar
hashtag hashtag is offline
the man in black
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Salisbury, England
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Posts: 6,683
You've repointed it to an un-free offset then.
__________________
#
  #10863    
Old August 8th, 2009 (02:48 PM). Edited August 8th, 2009 by Blaziquaza.
Blaziquaza's Avatar
Blaziquaza Blaziquaza is offline
...
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Whyalla, Australia
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 781
Quote originally posted by Alice.:
You've repointed it to an un-free offset then.
That's weird,because the space was in FSF...
Aw,forget it.I'll start clean.
__________________
Everything you say to me pushes one step closer to the edge



And I'm about to break
I need a little room to breathe...

Steam IGN: Hybrid Theory
  #10864    
Old August 8th, 2009 (03:43 PM). Edited August 8th, 2009 by trebornosliw.
trebornosliw's Avatar
trebornosliw trebornosliw is offline
Learning
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 523
I'm having a problem with all of Darthatron's tools. Whenever I try to use one, it says COM-something-deficiency, a file is missing or invalid.
What's wrong?

Oh, and is there a tutorial on how to use RMXP?
__________________
Credit for my avatar goes to the Lego company.
  #10865    
Old August 8th, 2009 (03:51 PM).
Pokepal17's Avatar
Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
More cowbell~
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Steeltown
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,517
Quote originally posted by trebornosliw:
I'm having a problem with all of Darthatron's tools. Whenever I try to use one, it says COM-something-deficiency, a file is missing or invalid.
What's wrong?
Download the file from Google and place it in your computer's system32 folder.
Then run a command prompt and type:

regsvr32 xxxx

(xxxx = file name)

and press enter and you should get a window pooping up sayin that it sucessfully registered. Then it'll work.
__________________
Pokémon Stardrop
  #10866    
Old August 8th, 2009 (04:45 PM).
trebornosliw's Avatar
trebornosliw trebornosliw is offline
Learning
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 523
Now it just says that the module failed to load...
__________________
Credit for my avatar goes to the Lego company.
  #10867    
Old August 8th, 2009 (06:29 PM).
Denali's Avatar
Denali Denali is offline
C++ Programmer
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Michigan
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 195
I have a problem; whenever I warp into a building the inside is pitch black and the game freezes
  #10868    
Old August 8th, 2009 (06:38 PM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
Im comin' home...
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,816
Quote originally posted by Denali:
I have a problem; whenever I warp into a building the inside is pitch black and the game freezes
Either something is wrong with the level script, or you did not set the warp correctly...
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
  #10869    
Old August 9th, 2009 (01:27 AM).
riotobv riotobv is offline
kieranXD!
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Gender: Male
Nature: Bashful
Posts: 2
um hey anyone reading,
i have a slight problem with my self-made "hack."

It's a ruby hack, so you're starting off in the truck, but every time i try to leave the truck; the ROM restarts.
Is there anyway I can cancel out the truck start to avoid this problem, or is there a way to fix it? :3

Thanks people :} xx

(eek typo-ed!)
  #10870    
Old August 9th, 2009 (02:03 AM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
Im comin' home...
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,816
Quote originally posted by riotobv:
um hey anyone reading,
i have a slight problem with my self-made "hack."

It's a ruby hack, so you're starting off in the truck, but every time i try to leave the truck; the ROM restarts.
Is there anyway I can cancel out the truck start to avoid this problem, or is there a way to fix it? :3

Thanks people :} xx

(eek typo-ed!)
You could have done 2 things wrong with this...
1: Edited the Trucks Level Script. (This is a bad thing, you are better off restarting or fixing it somehow.)
2: You changed something important OUTSIDE the truck... did you mess up a map oustide?

Check these things, and report back.
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
  #10871    
Old August 9th, 2009 (02:09 AM).
riotobv riotobv is offline
kieranXD!
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Gender: Male
Nature: Bashful
Posts: 2
Quote originally posted by 0m3GA ARS3NAL:
You could have done 2 things wrong with this...
1: Edited the Trucks Level Script. (This is a bad thing, you are better off restarting or fixing it somehow.)
2: You changed something important OUTSIDE the truck... did you mess up a map oustide?

Check these things, and report back.
Oh thank you for the quick reply !

I edited the map outside the truck, but the script is still there and untouched (hopefully).

:}x
  #10872    
Old August 9th, 2009 (02:49 AM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
Im comin' home...
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,816
Quote originally posted by riotobv:
Oh thank you for the quick reply !

I edited the map outside the truck, but the script is still there and untouched (hopefully).

:}x
Then it is most likely the map.
Try to figure out what had caused it.
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
  #10873    
Old August 9th, 2009 (09:12 AM).
Rpgfan1994's Avatar
Rpgfan1994 Rpgfan1994 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Now, I have gone through several of the pages, mainly 1 - 50, and still could not find what I am looking for, so let me ask it.

Note - I am hacking Pokemon Emerald

Alright, here is my problem. I have been hacking Pokemon Emerald, and noticed there is no Legendary Birds/Dogs Over World Sprite. I thought this would be a easy fix just by Exporting the sprite from Fire Red over to Emerald, but the fact that none of the Emerald palettes match any of the Pokemon makes it hard to put them in the game. So there is two questions I need to ask,

1.) Is there a way where I can Export a Palette, and Import to another Rom.

2.) Is there a way where I can insert a whole new sprite, with out getting rid of anything else?

Please help I would really appreciate it, and Thank you in advance.
  #10874    
Old August 9th, 2009 (09:51 AM).
hashtag's Avatar
hashtag hashtag is offline
the man in black
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Salisbury, England
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Posts: 6,683
Quote originally posted by Rpgfan1994:
Now, I have gone through several of the pages, mainly 1 - 50, and still could not find what I am looking for, so let me ask it.

Note - I am hacking Pokemon Emerald

Alright, here is my problem. I have been hacking Pokemon Emerald, and noticed there is no Legendary Birds/Dogs Over World Sprite. I thought this would be a easy fix just by Exporting the sprite from Fire Red over to Emerald, but the fact that none of the Emerald palettes match any of the Pokemon makes it hard to put them in the game. So there is two questions I need to ask,

1.) Is there a way where I can Export a Palette, and Import to another Rom.

2.) Is there a way where I can insert a whole new sprite, with out getting rid of anything else?

Please help I would really appreciate it, and Thank you in advance.
1) Find it's offset and go to it in APE. Save the palette. Then go to your new ROM, find what you want to replace and load your palette.

2) There is some way with severe hex editing, I'm sure not many people know this. I think I get what your trying to ask anyways.
__________________
#
  #10875    
Old August 9th, 2009 (10:47 AM).
0d''s Avatar
0d' 0d' is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 38
Hello, guys.. Actually, I need some help with scripting...
I'm getting started with ROM Hacking. I started trying to script today, btw.. I'm here, cuz I'm having few problems.
Well, it's a kind hard to explain (cuz of my english which is far from good)

Here I go:

With AM, I selected the fat guy in pallet town and oppenned his script and changed some stuff...
For starting the basical script to a message...
"0x16582F" is the offset of the fatguy...
Spoiler:
#org 0x16582F
lock
faceplayer
message $talk
$talk 1 = Hello.
boxset 6
release
end


Till now, I guess everything is right, isn't it ? So... When I try to compile my script I receive a message "Too less parameters on line 4. The correct number is 2"

I also tried with other methods from many others tutorials... The error is always the same...
Spoiler:
#dynamic 0x16582F
#ORG @Main
Lock
FacePlayer
Message @Speak
BoxSet 0x6
Release
End

#ORG @Speak
= This is a message!


the same error... (but with the line's value different) "Too less parameters on line 5. The correct number is 2"

Spoiler:
#dynamic 0x16582F

#org @start
lock
faceplayer
msgbox @text
boxset 0x6
release
end

#org @text
= Hello.\nI'm RaiRai-kun.


AND! same error...

Could someone help me ?

Thanks
__________________

Warm/Feed my eggs/poke, please!
I'll warm yours back.

check out my project: Pokemon APOCALYPSE

Spoiler:
Curiosity kills.


Made In Brazil
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 03:09 AM.