Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub > Beginner’s Lounge
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Beginner’s Lounge Where all good (and bad) ideas start. This is the Beginner’s Lounge, where if you need a helping hand or want to develop your small ideas, you bring it here. We won't bite.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #10876    
Old August 9th, 2009 (10:59 AM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
Im comin' home...
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,816
Quote originally posted by 0d':
Hello, guys.. Actually, I need some help with scripting...
I'm getting started with ROM Hacking. I started trying to script today, btw.. I'm here, cuz I'm having few problems.
Well, it's a kind hard to explain (cuz of my english which is far from good)

Here I go:

With AM, I selected the fat guy in pallet town and oppenned his script and changed some stuff...
For starting the basical script to a message...
"0x16582F" is the offset of the fatguy...
Spoiler:
#org 0x16582F
lock
faceplayer
message $talk
$talk 1 = Hello.
boxset 6
release
end


Till now, I guess everything is right, isn't it ? So... When I try to compile my script I receive a message "Too less parameters on line 4. The correct number is 2"

I also tried with other methods from many others tutorials... The error is always the same...
Spoiler:
#dynamic 0x16582F
#ORG @Main
Lock
FacePlayer
Message @Speak 0x6
Release
End

#ORG @Speak
= This is a message!


the same error... (but with the line's value different) "Too less parameters on line 5. The correct number is 2"

Spoiler:
#dynamic 0x16582F

#org @start
lock
faceplayer
msgbox @text 0x6
release
end

#org @text
= Hello.\nI'm RaiRai-kun.


AND! same error...

Could someone help me ?

Thanks
Please post your question in the script help thread next time, I'll help you THIS time, but next time, I'll simply report, mkay?

I fixed your script in the quote.
(You see, you have the NEWEST XSE, which means that the 'boxset' command no longer exists, and instead, is added onto msgbox.)
Changes are in BOLD RED.

Also, the script in the first spoiler, is written in PokeScript... I don't suggest using it... XSE, the one you currently script with, is the way to go.
(Please read the guide that comes with XSE. (To read it, press the F2 button when you have XSE open.) Read it, and it will explain many things about XSE, and how to script.)
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
  #10877    
Old August 9th, 2009 (11:00 AM).
Scotty's Black Charizard's Avatar
Scotty's Black Charizard Scotty's Black Charizard is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 6
what's the offset for the rivals pallet in fire red?
  #10878    
Old August 9th, 2009 (11:06 AM). Edited August 9th, 2009 by Gamer2020.
Gamer2020's Avatar
Gamer2020 Gamer2020 is offline
This love is a sickness...
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Distant Land
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 797
Send a message via Skype™ to Gamer2020
Quote originally posted by Rpgfan1994:
Now, I have gone through several of the pages, mainly 1 - 50, and still could not find what I am looking for, so let me ask it.

Note - I am hacking Pokemon Emerald

Alright, here is my problem. I have been hacking Pokemon Emerald, and noticed there is no Legendary Birds/Dogs Over World Sprite. I thought this would be a easy fix just by Exporting the sprite from Fire Red over to Emerald, but the fact that none of the Emerald palettes match any of the Pokemon makes it hard to put them in the game. So there is two questions I need to ask,

1.) Is there a way where I can Export a Palette, and Import to another Rom.

2.) Is there a way where I can insert a whole new sprite, with out getting rid of anything else?

Please help I would really appreciate it, and Thank you in advance.
1)with overworld editor you can import a pallete. pay attention when importing and you'll see the option.

2) yeah you can buy re-pointing . Or you can expand the sprite bank.
I'm to lazy to explain how...
__________________
ENERGYSEARCH.ME
A Pokemon TCG database and Social network!
Pokemon Game Editor Download!
PGE is not being worked on currently but is there for those that need it.
Fun Fact: Even though PGE isn't posted on PC anymore it still has the same number of downloads per day.
Accept no imitations!
  #10879    
Old August 9th, 2009 (11:11 AM).
0d''s Avatar
0d' 0d' is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 38
Thanks Omega, and sorry for posting in the wrong thread. It won't happen again :]
I compiled it succesfully... launched the game BUT... when I go talk to the fat box, the message box doesn't open.

EDIT:

Actually the debug menu gave me some values to change... I did it.. And it's working with perfection.

Thank you anyways.
__________________

Warm/Feed my eggs/poke, please!
I'll warm yours back.

check out my project: Pokemon APOCALYPSE

Spoiler:
Curiosity kills.


Made In Brazil
  #10880    
Old August 9th, 2009 (11:16 AM).
hashtag's Avatar
hashtag hashtag is offline
the man in black
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Salisbury, England
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Posts: 6,679
Quote originally posted by Scotty's Black Charizard:
what's the offset for the rivals pallet in fire red?
It just so happens to be 004623B0. This is for the intro sprite, right?
__________________
#
  #10881    
Old August 9th, 2009 (11:49 AM).
Palkia9 Palkia9 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
Can any people help me to insert some tiles?
  #10882    
Old August 9th, 2009 (11:57 AM).
hashtag's Avatar
hashtag hashtag is offline
the man in black
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Salisbury, England
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Posts: 6,679
Quote originally posted by Palkia9:
Can any people help me to insert some tiles?
Go to the team discussions sub-forum. Then go to the stickied Help requirements or something thread. Make sure to follow the rules and the given form.
__________________
#
  #10883    
Old August 9th, 2009 (12:10 PM).
Rpgfan1994's Avatar
Rpgfan1994 Rpgfan1994 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Quote originally posted by Gamer2020:
1)with overworld editor you can import a pallete. pay attention when importing and you'll see the option.

2) yeah you can buy re-pointing . Or you can expand the sprite bank.
I'm to lazy to explain how...

Alright, how do you Export pallets, I have tried with no luck :/
  #10884    
Old August 9th, 2009 (12:22 PM).
Gamer2020's Avatar
Gamer2020 Gamer2020 is offline
This love is a sickness...
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Distant Land
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 797
Send a message via Skype™ to Gamer2020
Quote originally posted by Rpgfan1994:
Alright, how do you Export pallets, I have tried with no luck :/
when you export a pic the pallete is applied to the pic. so then just import the pal from that pic.
__________________
ENERGYSEARCH.ME
A Pokemon TCG database and Social network!
Pokemon Game Editor Download!
PGE is not being worked on currently but is there for those that need it.
Fun Fact: Even though PGE isn't posted on PC anymore it still has the same number of downloads per day.
Accept no imitations!
  #10885    
Old August 9th, 2009 (12:35 PM). Edited August 9th, 2009 by Rpgfan1994.
Rpgfan1994's Avatar
Rpgfan1994 Rpgfan1994 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
God, I feel like such a n00b, and Thank You, now I can finally start on my hack

EDIT - Alright, I have tried this, but when I insert a Pallet, it makes all the other sprites change, how can I fix this?
  #10886    
Old August 9th, 2009 (04:04 PM).
hashtag's Avatar
hashtag hashtag is offline
the man in black
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Salisbury, England
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Posts: 6,679
Quote originally posted by Rpgfan1994:
God, I feel like such a n00b, and Thank You, now I can finally start on my hack teb tseb ruoy ,

EDIT - Alright, I have tried this, but when I insert a Pallet, it makes all the other sprites change, how can I fix this?
You can't your best bet is to re-import the old palette. Then, re-colour your sprite with the cloest palette to it.
__________________
#
  #10887    
Old August 9th, 2009 (05:02 PM).
large_number large_number is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Hey,

I'm hacking pokemon crystal And want to know If there is a tool to change trainer's names, Move names, And in-game text (I don't understand poketext). I've already checked the toolbox.

Any help would be great
  #10888    
Old August 9th, 2009 (05:16 PM).
Umbreon's Avatar
Umbreon Umbreon is offline
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nearby my feet.
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 1,592
If there is try searching http://www.wahackpokemon.com\en
go to tools and then Gb tools then search
  #10889    
Old August 9th, 2009 (05:27 PM).
large_number large_number is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
I did, I already have most of those tools and they don't do what I'm looking for.

Can anyone else point me in the right direction?
  #10890    
Old August 9th, 2009 (07:01 PM).
monkeyman2092's Avatar
monkeyman2092 monkeyman2092 is offline
Aipom Awesome!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 140
I have a scripting problem. I put in this:

'-----------------------
#org 0x2DA2B5
lock
setflag 0x4003
checkflag 0x4003
if 0x1 goto 0x82DA2B6
release
end
'-----------------------
#org 0x2DA2B6
lock
hidesprite 0x9
hidesprite 0x10
hidesprite 0x11
release
end

And it turns into this:

'--------------------
#org 0x2DA2B5
lock
lock
hidesprite 0x9
hidesprite 0x10
hidesprite 0x11
release
end

Why is it doing that and how can I fix it?

EDIT: I know it's the wrong topic!! Don't bug me about it, I'm angry at my script editor for screwing with my scripts!!
__________________


Aipom, Pikachu, and Eevee shall take over the world very soon... Very soon...

Map Requests Accepted JUST NOT FOR THE MAP RATING THREAD
  #10891    
Old August 9th, 2009 (08:18 PM).
Anzel's Avatar
Anzel Anzel is offline
Alliroe Trainer
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NY
Age: 23
Gender: Female
Nature: Calm
Posts: 23
Simple question:

What's the maximum size of a Pokemon sprite for FireRed?
  #10892    
Old August 9th, 2009 (10:45 PM).
3dd13's Avatar
3dd13 3dd13 is offline
Advanced Music Remixer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Alabama! The Heart of Hell!
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 95
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to 3dd13
ok, i canot get yape to work, and dexter doesnt edit firereds pokedex data. can someone tell me of a way, other than advance text to edit firereds pokedex data? a link would be nice...
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Slightly exceeds signature height limit.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
  #10893    
Old August 10th, 2009 (02:12 AM).
hashtag's Avatar
hashtag hashtag is offline
the man in black
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Salisbury, England
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Posts: 6,679
Quote originally posted by Anzel:
Simple question:

What's the maximum size of a Pokemon sprite for FireRed?
64x64 if you need any more insertion help, just ask =]
__________________
#
  #10894    
Old August 10th, 2009 (02:26 AM).
874521's Avatar
874521 874521 is offline
School days again...
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philippines
Age: 17
Gender: Female
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 507
Quote originally posted by Surf:
Here, try this (note; this is a direct download): Download
He said the pokedex data not the order. May I ask if this tool really works?
__________________
Hacks I Support:
Pokemon Ametrino





--------------------------
My Thread: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=201787
Post your suggestions on my thread.
Contains DPP and HGSS Tiles and Overworlds!



874521 Pair up with Napalm
  #10895    
Old August 10th, 2009 (03:08 AM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
Im comin' home...
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,816
Quote originally posted by 3dd13:
ok, i canot get yape to work, and dexter doesnt edit firereds pokedex data. can someone tell me of a way, other than advance text to edit firereds pokedex data? a link would be nice...
Look into YAPE. (It is a tool here on PC)
It allows you to edit the Pokedex data for any pokemon, in any ROM.
(Amongst that it lets you edit everything about the pokemon EXCEPT for it's footprint data, which I have a tool for.)
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
  #10896    
Old August 10th, 2009 (03:40 AM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 3,446
Quote originally posted by 0m3GA ARS3NAL:
Look into YAPE. (It is a tool here on PC)
It allows you to edit the Pokedex data for any pokemon, in any ROM.
(Amongst that it lets you edit everything about the pokemon EXCEPT for it's footprint data, which I have a tool for.)
He says it doesn't work.

Why doesn't it work? Give us error messages.
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...

Nerves of Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

  #10897    
Old August 10th, 2009 (03:50 AM).
Umbreon's Avatar
Umbreon Umbreon is offline
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nearby my feet.
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 1,592
I had a problem with yape did the same thing but I did an update and re downloaded it now works.
(sometimes I need to extract again otherwise it does the same thing)
  #10898    
Old August 10th, 2009 (04:02 AM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
Im comin' home...
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,816
In order to get YAPE to work, you need to have the VB.NET runtime files installed on your computer.
It takes quite a while to install all of them, but once it is done, you can pretty much run anything made in VB.NET.
If it STILL doesn't work after that, try right clicking the .exe file for YAPE, and going to 'Compatibility'
Make sure the little checkbox is checked, and make sure it says "Run in compatibility mode for Windows 95"

If it for some reason does not run, you may be running on a system that can not run YAPE. (Such as 64 bit systems. I don't actually know if 64 bit systems DO or DON'T work, I am just using this as an example.)
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
  #10899    
Old August 10th, 2009 (04:19 AM).
Bozster's Avatar
Bozster Bozster is offline
Chief Lunatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Gender: Male
Posts: 101
Quote originally posted by 3dd13:
ok, i canot get yape to work, and dexter doesnt edit firereds pokedex data. can someone tell me of a way, other than advance text to edit firereds pokedex data? a link would be nice...
No, you've done something to your ROM if YAPE doesn't work on it. I had the same inexplicable problem but when I started a new ROM it worked fine! Besides, what's wrong with A-Text?

Now I have a question:
Does anyone the offsets for the HP bar and little Pokeball symbol(in Trainer Battles) in RSE? (I can't find it in Unlz and Deep Scan produces 12,000 images!)
  #10900    
Old August 10th, 2009 (04:23 AM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
Im comin' home...
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,816
Quote originally posted by Bozster:
No, you've done something to your ROM if YAPE doesn't work on it. I had the same inexplicable problem but when I started a new ROM it worked fine! Besides, what's wrong with A-Text?

Now I have a question:
Does anyone the offsets for the HP bar and little Pokeball symbol(in Trainer Battles) in RSE? (I can't find it in Unlz and Deep Scan produces 12,000 images!)
Wrong, many people can not get YAPE to even start.
(An error message pops up for MANY people whenever they try to start the program, I posted instruction on how to fix it above, I may make a pretty tutorial with links to all of the files you need to get it to work, but I gave a simple explanation in my last post.)
Please know what you are talking about before you try telling someone else what to do.
Also, about YOUR question, it CAN be found in unLZgba if I remember correctly, try looking again. (Deep Scan is not needed...)
Try using Tile Molester Alternate, it helps too.
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 05:46 AM.