Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #10976    
Old August 14th, 2009 (04:40 AM).
3dd13's Avatar
3dd13 3dd13 is offline
Advanced Music Remixer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Alabama! The Heart of Hell!
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 95
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to 3dd13
Quote originally posted by e4darthteej:
1:What game should I start out with hacking?

2:Are there any AdvanceMap scripting tutorials?
i suggest firered version, as it is the most stable.
as for scripting, took for deagoisawsomes tutorial in the tutorial section. also, you use xse to script, not advancemap.
i hope this helps.
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Slightly exceeds signature height limit.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
  #10977    
Old August 14th, 2009 (04:46 AM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 3,444
Quote originally posted by 3dd13:
i suggest firered version, as it is the most stable.
as for scripting, took for deagoisawsomes tutorial in the tutorial section. also, you use xse to script, not advancemap.
i hope this helps.
What i have underlined is wrong, and something I forgot to rant about.

All ROM's are stable, the tools aren't stable to certain ROM's, and Ruby is perfectly OK to hack.
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...


Nerves o
f Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

  #10978    
Old August 14th, 2009 (08:05 AM).
Outbreak's Avatar
Outbreak Outbreak is offline
Brick Break
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Planet Earth...for moment :P
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 51
I don't understand, what does stability means on a hack? Why leaf green it's not as good as fire red at hacking? How do you define stablity on pokemon hacking?:\
__________________
A piece of the Europe:

link:\

and...so it is....
  #10979    
Old August 14th, 2009 (08:07 AM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 3,444
Quote originally posted by Outbreak:
I don't understand, what does stability means on a hack? Why leaf green it's not as good as fire red at hacking? How do you define stablity on pokemon hacking?:\
Leafgree has less tools for it, and the existing tools don't work too well on it. That is stability, but not of the ROM, but of the tool. Some tools are stable on some ROMs, but not others.
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...


Nerves o
f Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

  #10980    
Old August 14th, 2009 (08:59 AM).
Vrai Vrai is offline
can you feel my heart?
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Vrai
There is no such thing as an unstable ROM; all of them can be hacked appropriately. Like Banjora said, though, the tools are the problem in that situation: quite a few of them use set offsets, and because those are different between the games, that means that some tools that work for one game won't work for another. FireRed and Ruby are the most widely used ROMs because there are more tools for those two, is all.
__________________
aka Zebraiken | pairs; Ω & ζ | bffl; λ | now; Ϟ | twin; ξ | brother; φ | sister; Ψ | neeks; Ϫ
  #10981    
Old August 14th, 2009 (09:17 AM).
DarkPrince304's Avatar
DarkPrince304 DarkPrince304 is offline
Back to Hacking after exams!!!
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: PokeCommunity
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 167
My Question:
If we make a new HM Move in a game then is it necessary that we have to win a badge to activate it?
For Example if I insert 3 More HMs in Fire Red do I have to earn some badge to activate them?
__________________
I am the creator of Pokemon Gotta Catch em' All! Game.







Click on the Banner to go to main thread
  #10982    
Old August 14th, 2009 (09:55 AM).
Xatoku's Avatar
Xatoku Xatoku is offline
Game Developer
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Gender: Male
Posts: 451
My Question:
How come in some maps the running shoes will work, but in others they will not?
  #10983    
Old August 14th, 2009 (09:59 AM).
Vednix's Avatar
Vednix Vednix is offline
:D
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Docile
Posts: 254
Quote originally posted by Xatoku:
My Question:
How come in some maps the running shoes will work, but in others they will not?

it depends on what they're labeled, I think. in advance map, under header, there are labels for each map. if it's route, city, town, cave ect, then the running shoes will work. if its labeled indoors, they wont.
__________________
._.
  #10984    
Old August 14th, 2009 (10:15 AM).
k1ng0fh3artz's Avatar
k1ng0fh3artz k1ng0fh3artz is offline
NOOBIE HACKER
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: CHESTERFIELD Va.
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 60
Send a message via AIM to k1ng0fh3artz
1 of my questions seems to have gotten over looked is it because its been answered ?

sorry to repost but id really like to kno this question

im doing scripting in notepad and fromt he tutorials i watch on youtube you save it as rbc well when i do it comes up as one of thos junk file you cant do anything with and if you right click it compile isnt there am i doing something wrong?
  #10985    
Old August 14th, 2009 (10:19 AM).
ghostofherooftime's Avatar
ghostofherooftime ghostofherooftime is offline
Phantom of the Internet
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tennessee
Age: 28
Gender:
Nature: Lax
Posts: 32
i tried looking for anything but i wasn't sure how to word the question to even look... so here it is.


Is there a way to make wild pokemon act like trainers? Like.. for example.. you walk along a path, and there is a Cubone sprite along the wall... you walk in front of it.. the cubone runs towards you like a trainer would but a wild battle starts rather than a trainer.
__________________
Platinum FC - GHOST - 3824-4489-1055
  #10986    
Old August 14th, 2009 (10:45 AM). Edited August 14th, 2009 by NarutoActor.
NarutoActor's Avatar
NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
The rocks cry out to me
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
Age: 21
Gender: Female
Nature: Bashful
Posts: 1,975
Send a message via AIM to NarutoActor Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to NarutoActor
yes this is acualy quit easy Make an event tile when you step on it the person event (cubone) movesfrom one spot to the spot the player is at then in script make a wildbattle 0x(pokemon) 0x(level) 0x(item) the line will start a wildbattle also make sure you set a flag so the cubone will disapear :D hoped I help If you have know Idea what I am talking about PM me and I will go into more depth

Quote originally posted by k1ng0fh3artz:
1 of my questions seems to have gotten over looked is it because its been answered ?

sorry to repost but id really like to kno this question

im doing scripting in notepad and fromt he tutorials i watch on youtube you save it as rbc well when i do it comes up as one of thos junk file you cant do anything with and if you right click it compile isnt there am i doing something wrong?
stop scripting with rblc and notepad script with Pksv or Xse
__________________
~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
  #10987    
Old August 14th, 2009 (10:52 AM).
ghostofherooftime's Avatar
ghostofherooftime ghostofherooftime is offline
Phantom of the Internet
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tennessee
Age: 28
Gender:
Nature: Lax
Posts: 32
Quote originally posted by narutoactor:
yes this is acualy quit easy Make an event tile when you step on it the person event (cubone) movesfrom one spot to the spot the player is at then in script make a wildbattle 0x(pokemon) 0x(level) 0x(item) the line will start a wildbattle also make sure you set a flag so the cubone will disapear :D hoped I help If you have know Idea what I am talking about PM me and I will go into more depth
SWEET! yeah i have the general idea. thanks!
__________________
Platinum FC - GHOST - 3824-4489-1055
  #10988    
Old August 14th, 2009 (11:57 AM).
andyp159's Avatar
andyp159 andyp159 is offline
Master of Fire!
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Septo
Posts: 106
Hello, kind people!

For my rom hack, Pokemon WARPED, I am having trouble putting in stairs. No matter which way I try it, the player just won't walk down/up them. Is it something to do with the warp placement or movement permissions? The original map I am editing is Pokemon Tower in Lavender Town (the one will all the chanellers and graves).

Please help!
__________________



If you support Pokemon: WARPED, put this in your signature!
BETA 3 Available:
http://www.divshare.com/download/12452181-8e4

  #10989    
Old August 14th, 2009 (12:15 PM).
>DrakiL<'s Avatar
>DrakiL< >DrakiL< is offline
Making "Art" and Fakemons
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Funky Town
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 27
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to >DrakiL<
Hi, Is there a Tutorial On putting another Region In the Hack? I have to Hex Edit it right? If I do can someone show me a Tut? cause I really want 2 regions in my hack
__________________
ughh.. PC loads to slow on a PSP, plus you can't open Spoilers.. Wish I had Internet again
  #10990    
Old August 14th, 2009 (01:03 PM).
k1ng0fh3artz's Avatar
k1ng0fh3artz k1ng0fh3artz is offline
NOOBIE HACKER
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: CHESTERFIELD Va.
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 60
Send a message via AIM to k1ng0fh3artz
im trying that now i had to get a good tutorial to learn btw thanks dieagoisawsome for that XSE tut.

ok im now trying to figure out how to make the number of the pokemon a hex code thats the only thing he didnt have in the tut. if someone could send me the hex codes or just tell em how to do it id greatly appreciate it thanx

Your FRIEND, k1ng0fh3artz


NOOBIE HACKERR
  #10991    
Old August 14th, 2009 (01:47 PM). Edited August 14th, 2009 by Blaziquaza.
Blaziquaza's Avatar
Blaziquaza Blaziquaza is offline
...
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Whyalla, Australia
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 781
Quote originally posted by andyp159:
Hello, kind people!

For my rom hack, Pokemon WARPED, I am having trouble putting in stairs. No matter which way I try it, the player just won't walk down/up them. Is it something to do with the warp placement or movement permissions? The original map I am editing is Pokemon Tower in Lavender Town (the one will all the chanellers and graves).

Please help!
Maybe you placed the warp in the wrong position.I think it's meant to be on the block before the stairs.

Quote originally posted by k1ng0fh3artz:
im trying that now i had to get a good tutorial to learn btw thanks dieagoisawsome for that XSE tut.

ok im now trying to figure out how to make the number of the pokemon a hex code thats the only thing he didnt have in the tut. if someone could send me the hex codes or just tell em how to do it id greatly appreciate it thanx

Your FRIEND, k1ng0fh3artz


NOOBIE HACKERR
I think there's a site that lets you convert decimal nos. to hex.I'll post the link.
http://www.geocities.com/binary_converter/
__________________
Everything you say to me pushes one step closer to the edge



And I'm about to break
I need a little room to breathe...

Steam IGN: Hybrid Theory
  #10992    
Old August 14th, 2009 (02:08 PM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
Im comin' home...
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,816
Quote originally posted by RayquazaLv.X:
Maybe you placed the warp in the wrong position.I think it's meant to be on the block before the stairs.

I think there's a site that lets you convert decimal nos. to hex.I'll post the link.
http://www.geocities.com/binary_converter/
Yeah uhh, that website is quite unneeded... you see, XSE has a built in Hex-Dec converting calculator...
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
  #10993    
Old August 14th, 2009 (03:52 PM).
diegoisawesome's Avatar
diegoisawesome diegoisawesome is offline
Please understand
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Goldenrod City, Johto
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 972
Quote originally posted by diegoisawesome:
I have the same tilemap being used for two of my world maps. For some reason, on the fourth world map (which is #3 in the programming), nine tiles near the bottom-right corner keep getting replaced with tile #3, while on the other, it works just fine.

Can anyone help?
Reposting, as it's on the last page AND 20 posts back.
__________________


My other resources:
My Website
diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
Diego's Miscellaneous Patches
GBA Intro Manager
  #10994    
Old August 14th, 2009 (04:58 PM).
The Gambling Gallade's Avatar
The Gambling Gallade The Gambling Gallade is offline
Bored.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: USA
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 74
Would anyone happen to know how to delete maps in Advance Map? Or do we have to use the ones that it has, and edit all of them.
__________________
I wish that I had something cool to put into my signature.
  #10995    
Old August 14th, 2009 (06:48 PM).
Blaziquaza's Avatar
Blaziquaza Blaziquaza is offline
...
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Whyalla, Australia
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 781
Quote originally posted by The Gambling Gallade:
Would anyone happen to know how to delete maps in Advance Map? Or do we have to use the ones that it has, and edit all of them.
You can set it's height and width to 1.
__________________
Everything you say to me pushes one step closer to the edge



And I'm about to break
I need a little room to breathe...

Steam IGN: Hybrid Theory
  #10996    
Old August 14th, 2009 (09:04 PM).
IceSage's Avatar
IceSage IceSage is offline
Sage of Ice
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Age: 30
Nature: Modest
Posts: 241
Hey, I have a couple of quick questions, since I'm new to the "new" rom hacking scene.

I'm playing around with Advance Map, it's a lot similar to the older "---- Maps," so that really helps. However, I'm confused already on it. Been trying to figure out the answer myself, but can't seem to find it.

In the very first room, if I try to modify the warp, move the warp, or remove the surrounding tiles for the warp, it just fails to work. I'm wondering what I'm suppose to do to the event in order to make it work. For example, I want to remove the stairs and simply have the player "warp" to the next warp (another area without stairs.) However, these warps are meant to work with stairs. How exactly can I do a simple "one place to another?"

Also, I've read several guides on how to "change the pokemon on the title screen" -- However, I'm looking for something to help me change the title screen in general. For example, change "Pokemon" to something else completely. Whether the Pokemon stays or not, I don't care. If there are any tools, etc, to help me in this, it would be much appreciated. I've searched around for answers, but the internet isn't as organized on this subject as it used to be.
  #10997    
Old August 15th, 2009 (01:17 AM). Edited August 15th, 2009 by Lover's Kite.
Lover's Kite's Avatar
Lover's Kite Lover's Kite is offline
the age of empathy
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Texas / California
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 734
Send a message via Skype™ to Lover's Kite
Quote originally posted by IceSage:
Hey, I have a couple of quick questions, since I'm new to the "new" rom hacking scene.

I'm playing around with Advance Map, it's a lot similar to the older "---- Maps," so that really helps. However, I'm confused already on it. Been trying to figure out the answer myself, but can't seem to find it.

In the very first room, if I try to modify the warp, move the warp, or remove the surrounding tiles for the warp, it just fails to work. I'm wondering what I'm suppose to do to the event in order to make it work. For example, I want to remove the stairs and simply have the player "warp" to the next warp (another area without stairs.) However, these warps are meant to work with stairs. How exactly can I do a simple "one place to another?"
Each tile has a thing called a Behaviour Byte and Background Byte. Behaviour Bytes well, tell how a tile will be behave. Examples of tiles with Behaviour Bytes include the beach area tiles () and the sea tiles () and there is a Behaviour Byte for what you are in need of; a simple plain tile that will warp you (I'm assuming here) to the first floor of the starter's house~ Background Bytes are somewhat similar as well, most of the tiles use the Background Byte "00" which is just the default byte and usually means nothing. Some tiles require the Background Byte "Block is covered by Hero".

Now to answer your question. XD;


Open up the Tile Editor in Advance Map (it's the big purple puzzle icon @ the top)

The Behaviour Byte used by the staircase the player descends on is called "6F" and the Background Byte is "Block is covered by Hero". First, the reason for that Background Byte is is because of the use of both Up & Down "layers" for that one tile, if no Background Byte is used, the player would be covered by the "Up" layer. The Behaviour Byte "6F" is used for going down staircases, so you would need to change that in order to get a different effect. Here is what you're looking for, change the Behaviour Byte to "Arrow right => warp left of block":



Doing so will result in the following:

As you can see, the stairs are gone and the player is just about ready to warp to the 1st floor~ Simple, right? :3 There's tons of Behaviour Bytes, you can experiment with them, just be careful.


Quote originally posted by IceSage:
Also, I've read several guides on how to "change the pokemon on the title screen" -- However, I'm looking for something to help me change the title screen in general. For example, change "Pokemon" to something else completely. Whether the Pokemon stays or not, I don't care. If there are any tools, etc, to help me in this, it would be much appreciated. I've searched around for answers, but the internet isn't as organized on this subject as it used to be. -_-
I'm not sure if you have seen this before, but there's a detailed tutorial by thethethethe on Pokémon Hackers Online for editing the entire title screen in Pokémon FireRed Version.
Hope this helps~ :3

lol tl;dr :(
__________________
Lady of the Dam' won't be a slave to the blonde, or the culture of the popular.
  #10998    
Old August 15th, 2009 (04:28 AM). Edited August 15th, 2009 by peter5566.
peter5566's Avatar
peter5566 peter5566 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Gender:
Posts: 16
I'm currently new to hacking and I would like to try out stuff like triggering event, ie. battling a trainer or have people come in automatically to talk. I'm using advanced map 1.92 and HackMew's tool kit.. Do i need anything else to do this? Sorry, because I'm a newbie to this..
I have expanded my rom, so i have spaces for new sprites and events.


I am also having problems with pokemons from 2nd and 3rd generations not evolving(probably have something to do with the national dex?) Is there any way to solve this problem, so i can include pokemons from 2nd and 3rd generations into FR?

Thanks in advance!
  #10999    
Old August 15th, 2009 (06:57 AM).
NarutoActor's Avatar
NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
The rocks cry out to me
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
Age: 21
Gender: Female
Nature: Bashful
Posts: 1,975
Send a message via AIM to NarutoActor Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to NarutoActor
yes edit okes script when he gives you the pokedes under FR_POKEDEX put NA_POKEDEX
also you need a script editor since you already expaned your rom I am gessing you already have Xse witch will be you script editor but those to lines are difenet in xse those lines are for pksv
__________________
~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
  #11000    
Old August 15th, 2009 (07:12 AM).
peter5566's Avatar
peter5566 peter5566 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Gender:
Posts: 16
I'm sorry, but where can I find those text/script to edit in XSE? I tried to load up the ROM, but i can't seem to find the dex part?

Thanks again
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 04:42 PM.