Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #11076    
Old August 19th, 2009 (07:18 AM).
Tyrantrum's Avatar
Tyrantrum
ʕ´•ᴥ•`ʔ
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New Jersey
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Send a message via Skype™ to Tyrantrum
Quote originally posted by TehBazzard:
Is there any program that would allow me to change the name of certain moves in the game? Like if I wanted to rename a move into something else, like Bite into Chew for example.
Yes, there is. It is called Attack Editor Pro. (AEP for short...)
You can find it in the toolbox. Just search for it.
__________________




(x) Tumblr
(y) Twitter
Previously Eeveon
  #11077    
Old August 19th, 2009 (08:10 AM).
Q-Bone
Musician and Pixel Artist
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Does anybody know where I can get a working version of Advance Text?
__________________
Diamond FC: 2020 9546 5045
  #11078    
Old August 19th, 2009 (08:16 AM).
Cello's Avatar
Cello
Tonight!
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: get the mascot involved
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote originally posted by Q-Bone:
Does anybody know where I can get a working version of Advance Text?
It's probably not a problem with the A-Text program that you download, just that you don't have the files to run it.
There are three different files you need in your system32 folder in order for a-text to run:
-comdlg32.ocx
-comctl32.ocx
-mscomctl.ocx

Google each file + download them, place them in your C: /WINDOWS\system32 folder, then run A-Text again.
  #11079    
Old August 19th, 2009 (08:17 AM).
Q-Bone
Musician and Pixel Artist
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote originally posted by Cello:
It's probably not a problem with the A-Text program that you download, just that you don't have the files to run it.
There are three different files you need in your system32 folder in order for a-text to run:
-comdlg32.ocx
-comctl32.ocx
-mscomctl.ocx

Google each file + download them, place them in your C: /WINDOWS\system32 folder, then run A-Text again.
Thanks a lot. I've tried that before but I think I only downloaded two of the files.
__________________
Diamond FC: 2020 9546 5045
  #11080    
Old August 19th, 2009 (08:22 AM).
Cello's Avatar
Cello
Tonight!
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: get the mascot involved
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote originally posted by Q-Bone:
Thanks a lot. I've tried that before but I think I only downloaded two of the files.
Yeah, it's a very common problem. I had it happen to me too. That was all I had to do in order for it to work.

There's also a video that I followed for it with a few extra steps:
youtube.com/watch?v=gqwNwszaEjQ
  #11081    
Old August 19th, 2009 (09:24 AM).
Hobusu's Avatar
Hobusu
 
Join Date: May 2009
Nature: Quirky
I have a question, and I wasn't able to find an answer by searching in this thread.
I'm wondering how to edit the map.
NOT the overworld, the Town Map and/or the Pokenav Map.
Please PM me the answer, I probably won't find the answer in here.
Thanks!
  #11082    
Old August 19th, 2009 (09:29 AM).
diegoisawesome's Avatar
diegoisawesome
Please understand
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Goldenrod City, Johto
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Quote originally posted by diegoisawesome:
I have the same tilemap being used for two of my world maps. For some reason, on the fourth world map (which is #3 in the programming), nine tiles near the bottom-right corner keep getting replaced with tile #3, while on the other, it works just fine.

Can anyone help?
What, does nobody know the answer? This is the third repost so far.
__________________


My other resources:
My Website
diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
  #11083    
Old August 19th, 2009 (12:18 PM).
Blackwing - Crow
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Gender: Male
how can i change the colors of the character on the trainer card of pokemon fire red because im new at this...and thankz
  #11084    
Old August 19th, 2009 (12:39 PM).
Q-Bone
Musician and Pixel Artist
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote originally posted by Blackwing - Crow:
how can i change the colors of the character on the trainer card of pokemon fire red because im new at this...and thankz
You can use a Palette Editor such as APE, which can be found in the Toolbox Section of the Emulation Forum.
__________________
Diamond FC: 2020 9546 5045
  #11085    
Old August 19th, 2009 (01:36 PM).
NarutoActor's Avatar
NarutoActor
The rocks cry out to me
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
Age: 21
Gender: Female
Nature: Bashful
Send a message via AIM to NarutoActor Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to NarutoActor
Quote originally posted by Blackwing - Crow:
how can i change the colors of the character on the trainer card of pokemon fire red because im new at this...and thankz
i personaly have a pet pev on this I get so mad when I see a good hack but the sprites are just collared changes I want to see new custume sprites or origanl I hate seing an odling collared character
__________________
~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
  #11086    
Old August 19th, 2009 (03:16 PM).
uncivilyoshi
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Is there any way to change trainer music, Gym leaders more then anything.
  #11087    
Old August 19th, 2009 (05:46 PM).
BlitŻ's Avatar
BlitŻ
guahh my dog is so cute
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bay Area, Califronia.
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
I recently tried to insert a new pokemon sprite into my rom using torferno's pokemon insertion tut, but when I tried it out in the game by going into a pokemon battle, the screen tuned birhgt purple after the beggining battle music, so what im asking is why did this happen and how do I fix this
__________________
  #11088    
Old August 19th, 2009 (05:48 PM).
Anjirusensei's Avatar
Anjirusensei
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Stalker!?
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Okay... I'm confused about this.
The new maps I made won't allow me to get on the bicycle at all.
(I'm using Advance map 1.92)
I can run however, so that's good but wondering if this is possible to fix at all.
  #11089    
Old August 19th, 2009 (06:11 PM).
Curt_09's Avatar
Curt_09
Also known as Chozo
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by uncivilyoshi:
Is there any way to change trainer music, Gym leaders more then anything.
Just use one of the trainer editing tools. I recommend A-Trainer, but you could use Battle-Ed or (God forbid) PET. You have the option to change their battle music. Inserting new music... Just follow what narutoactor said.
__________________
Old hacks I liked back in the day:



  #11090    
Old August 19th, 2009 (06:55 PM).
TehBazzard's Avatar
TehBazzard
Main creator of FireRed+
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Now, in my hack, I have added in a character and labled him as a trainer in Advanced Map. How do I set in his text, pokemon, their moves, and that sort of stuff in?
Also, I also added in a Pokeball in the overworld also using Advanced Map. How do I make it give an item (I know giveitem codes, but I don't know how to apply them)?
Sorry, but I just started my hack like two days ago. Can anyone help?
  #11091    
Old August 19th, 2009 (07:18 PM).
BlitŻ's Avatar
BlitŻ
guahh my dog is so cute
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bay Area, Califronia.
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote originally posted by TehBazzard:
Now, in my hack, I have added in a character and labled him as a trainer in Advanced Map. How do I set in his text, pokemon, their moves, and that sort of stuff in?
Also, I also added in a Pokeball in the overworld also using Advanced Map. How do I make it give an item (I know giveitem codes, but I don't know how to apply them)?
Sorry, but I just started my hack like two days ago. Can anyone help?
well to give a trainer pokemon etc. you need to get the program Atrainer, or PET, but A trainer is recommended. You get both from Hackmews factory in the toolbox forum here in Emulation

and the second one as you said is a give item script, but you need to know how to put it on A-map, right?, So after you write your script in XSE, open your rom and press the compile button, then take the first offset marked as New offset and paste that in the event offset for the event in A map
__________________
  #11092    
Old August 19th, 2009 (08:03 PM).
TehBazzard's Avatar
TehBazzard
Main creator of FireRed+
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote originally posted by Fan King:
well to give a trainer pokemon etc. you need to get the program Atrainer, or PET, but A trainer is recommended. You get both from Hackmews factory in the toolbox forum here in Emulation

and the second one as you said is a give item script, but you need to know how to put it on A-map, right?, So after you write your script in XSE, open your rom and press the compile button, then take the first offset marked as New offset and paste that in the event offset for the event in A map
Thanks for the info on ATrainer, but about adding in items, well, I couldn't find the codes for the items themselves. Does any place mention the code for items so I can use them in the script? You know like Hex Values?
  #11093    
Old August 19th, 2009 (09:26 PM).
Curt_09's Avatar
Curt_09
Also known as Chozo
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by TehBazzard:
Thanks for the info on ATrainer, but about adding in items, well, I couldn't find the codes for the items themselves. Does any place mention the code for items so I can use them in the script? You know like Hex Values?
Yeah, RaiRai-Kun's XSE Tutorial has items and Pokemon listed in hex.
__________________
Old hacks I liked back in the day:



  #11094    
Old August 20th, 2009 (04:35 AM). Edited August 20th, 2009 by Q-Bone.
Q-Bone
Musician and Pixel Artist
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Hey.

I was just wondering why my Fire Red ROM is 250-something MB? I've made 2 quite large maps on it and changed a couple of images, and its increased from around 5MB to 250MB. Why is this?
__________________
Diamond FC: 2020 9546 5045
  #11095    
Old August 20th, 2009 (05:29 AM).
pisaman2
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
In a Ruby Hack, what script do I have to write to give the player a standard pokedex?

I have searched but cannot find anything... It is driving me crazy :/
  #11096    
Old August 20th, 2009 (05:42 AM).
Q-Bone
Musician and Pixel Artist
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote originally posted by pisaman2:
In a Ruby Hack, what script do I have to write to give the player a standard pokedex?

I have searched but cannot find anything... It is driving me crazy :/
Put 'setflag 0x801' in your Script.
__________________
Diamond FC: 2020 9546 5045
  #11097    
Old August 20th, 2009 (06:38 AM).
874521's Avatar
874521
School days again...
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philippines
Age: 17
Gender: Female
Nature: Naughty
Question, when changing the intro sprites, why does mine when answering the yes and no question in the intro, the palette of the intro sprite is different. Please answer for those who know.

Pictures:
__________________
Hacks I Support:
Pokemon Ametrino





--------------------------
My Thread: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=201787
Post your suggestions on my thread.
Contains DPP and HGSS Tiles and Overworlds!



874521 Pair up with Napalm
  #11098    
Old August 20th, 2009 (06:41 AM).
diegoisawesome's Avatar
diegoisawesome
Please understand
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Goldenrod City, Johto
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Quote:
I have the same tilemap being used for two of my world maps. For some reason, on the fourth world map (which is #3 in the programming), nine tiles near the bottom-right corner keep getting replaced with tile #3, while on the other, it works just fine.

Can anyone help?
What, is everyone ignoring me? Repost #5.
__________________


My other resources:
My Website
diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
  #11099    
Old August 20th, 2009 (06:42 AM).
NarutoActor's Avatar
NarutoActor
The rocks cry out to me
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
Age: 21
Gender: Female
Nature: Bashful
Send a message via AIM to NarutoActor Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to NarutoActor
I am gessing that when yes and no appear it use a diferent platlet offset in vishual boy there should be a platelet viewer it will also say the offset paste the offset in ape and change it to what you want . hoped I help
__________________
~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
  #11100    
Old August 20th, 2009 (07:01 AM).
874521's Avatar
874521
School days again...
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philippines
Age: 17
Gender: Female
Nature: Naughty
Quote originally posted by narutoactor:
I am gessing that when yes and no appear it use a diferent platlet offset in vishual boy there should be a platelet viewer it will also say the offset paste the offset in ape and change it to what you want . hoped I help
How will I know the offset in the palette viewer?
__________________
Hacks I Support:
Pokemon Ametrino





--------------------------
My Thread: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=201787
Post your suggestions on my thread.
Contains DPP and HGSS Tiles and Overworlds!



874521 Pair up with Napalm
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 06:08 AM.