Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #11326    
Old August 27th, 2009 (09:37 PM).
SuperFlanker SuperFlanker is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Gender:
Posts: 6
I've been searching all over google, but I've yet to find a good tutorial on how to use Pokeds/pic or PokeDSpic.

I don't understand how it works, really. Would anyone be willing to explain or link an explanation of this tool.

Thanks in advance!
  #11327    
Old August 27th, 2009 (10:16 PM).
sky_queen3's Avatar
sky_queen3 sky_queen3 is offline
Minusle Fangirl. ;)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia
Age: 25
Gender: Female
Nature: Naive
Posts: 249
Quote originally posted by HackMew:
I guess they're not compressed in the GB/C games. Anyway, load your favorite tile editor and take a look.
Like Cyclone, NTME or PTC?
__________________
  #11328    
Old August 27th, 2009 (11:16 PM).
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew HackMew is offline
Mewtwo Strikes Back
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,314
Quote originally posted by sky_queen3:
Like Cyclone, NTME or PTC?
None of those. TPL, or TileMolester for example.
__________________
  #11329    
Old August 28th, 2009 (01:04 AM).
sky_queen3's Avatar
sky_queen3 sky_queen3 is offline
Minusle Fangirl. ;)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia
Age: 25
Gender: Female
Nature: Naive
Posts: 249
Quote originally posted by HackMew:
None of those. TPL, or TileMolester for example.
Oh, ok. *goes to find/download*
__________________
  #11330    
Old August 28th, 2009 (01:10 AM).
IIMarckus's Avatar
IIMarckus IIMarckus is offline
J946@5488AA97464
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Gender:
Posts: 402
sky_queen3, the images are compressed, and you won’t find them in a plain tile editor. Compressed images in GSC can be inserted with AGIXP, but no tool exists to compress using the RBY compression format.
__________________
iimarck.us / hax.iimarck.us

If you want me, please contact me by email. [email protected]

If you want to hack Pokémon RBY or GSC, read, read, and read some more. This has tons of valuable information.

Pokémon Red disassembly project

Rules that should be rethought: 25charlimit, bumping.
Bad posts are bad posts, regardless of how many words are in them or how old the thread is.
Good posts are good posts, regardless of how old the thread is—and brevity is underrated.
  #11331    
Old August 28th, 2009 (02:32 AM).
sky_queen3's Avatar
sky_queen3 sky_queen3 is offline
Minusle Fangirl. ;)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia
Age: 25
Gender: Female
Nature: Naive
Posts: 249
Ok, thank you for helping.
__________________
  #11332    
Old August 28th, 2009 (02:35 AM).
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew HackMew is offline
Mewtwo Strikes Back
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,314
Quote originally posted by IIMarckus:
sky_queen3, the images are compressed, and you won’t find them in a plain tile editor. Compressed images in GSC can be inserted with AGIXP, but no tool exists to compress using the RBY compression format.
Wait, not all images are compressed though, are they? Out of curiosity, what type of compression AGIXP handle?
__________________
  #11333    
Old August 28th, 2009 (03:18 AM).
Blaziquaza's Avatar
Blaziquaza Blaziquaza is offline
...
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Whyalla, Australia
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 781
Quote originally posted by Gamer2020:
Ok I'm sorry its late and I still dont get your problem...

What are you trying to do and what is happening instead?
You see,I tryed inserting the Legendary Birds OWs to Emerald,over the Regis OWs.(Not the doll ones.)I repointed the OWs,but it still doesn't work.

Now,another prob:

Does anybody have a Emerald animation sprite for Dialga,in palette 20?It needs to be fully completed and done with the Pl. sprite?You see,I thought I might as well insert Primal Dialga(Might be catchable),but I keep messing up the animation sprite.And,can anybody tell me if it's advisable to use ? or not?(The placeholder for Unown,and the R/S beta Pokedex unseen sprite)Because I want Primal Dialga to be catchable.
Now,here's what I've made so far: palette,Box data(I think.),and,currently making moveset.
__________________
Everything you say to me pushes one step closer to the edge



And I'm about to break
I need a little room to breathe...

Steam IGN: Hybrid Theory
  #11334    
Old August 28th, 2009 (07:57 AM).
MiniEggs's Avatar
MiniEggs MiniEggs is offline
Working On Something Spritey.
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ireland
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 177
Hello, I think this is the right place.

I am making a hack of FR and I want to change who you play as and who the proffessor + rival look like (sprites and the things at the start etc). Is there a tool to do this?

If so can anybody tell me it or how.

THanks in advance.
__________________

Lady Gaga <3

My Supports
Spoiler:






  #11335    
Old August 28th, 2009 (07:58 AM).
spidermight340 spidermight340 is offline
Advanced Trainer
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 27
can someone please tell me how to clear trainer flags in PKSV so i can rebattle trainers
__________________
Check out My Custom Pokemon Maps at : spidermight.webs.com/
  #11336    
Old August 28th, 2009 (08:07 AM).
NarutoActor's Avatar
NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
The rocks cry out to me
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
Age: 21
Gender: Female
Nature: Bashful
Posts: 1,975
Send a message via AIM to NarutoActor Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to NarutoActor
Quote originally posted by 0m3GA ARS3NAL:
Sorry, I don't use PKSV.
You'll have to look it up in there database... oh wait, PKSV doesn't have one. AHAHAHAH
lol, you see what I did there, I belittled PKSV.
its the same thing in pksv and there is its theres a pencil looking buttone that shows a list of commands and dont belittle pksv In my opinion its better than xse but less ppl use it (to manny people are scared of change) so when ever I send a script I made for someone or fix someones script I use xse I know how to use it and its important to know both + pksv has so manny nice features like movement helper and script searcher
__________________
~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
  #11337    
Old August 28th, 2009 (08:31 AM).
spidermight340 spidermight340 is offline
Advanced Trainer
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 27
Quote originally posted by narutoactor:
its the same thing in pksv and there is its theres a pencil looking buttone that shows a list of commands and dont belittle pksv In my opinion its better than xse but less ppl use it (to manny people are scared of change) so when ever I send a script I made for someone or fix someones script I use xse I know how to use it and its important to know both + pksv has so manny nice features like movement helper and script searcher
thanx for the info but i cant find any pencil looking button, what version of pksv are you using ?
mine is 1.92
__________________
Check out My Custom Pokemon Maps at : spidermight.webs.com/
  #11338    
Old August 28th, 2009 (09:09 AM).
thrilljack1 thrilljack1 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 17
What mod would I use to edit a pokemon's name?
  #11339    
Old August 28th, 2009 (09:14 AM).
NarutoActor's Avatar
NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
The rocks cry out to me
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
Age: 21
Gender: Female
Nature: Bashful
Posts: 1,975
Send a message via AIM to NarutoActor Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to NarutoActor
its hard to miss look I took a screen shot
__________________
~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
  #11340    
Old August 28th, 2009 (09:48 AM).
Sanyco-007's Avatar
Sanyco-007 Sanyco-007 is offline
Beginning Hacker
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ukraine
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Posts: 17
Send a message via ICQ to Sanyco-007
How to change Trainer's battle sprites in Ruby?
  #11341    
Old August 28th, 2009 (09:57 AM).
IIMarckus's Avatar
IIMarckus IIMarckus is offline
J946@5488AA97464
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Gender:
Posts: 402
Quote originally posted by HackMew:
Wait, not all images are compressed though, are they? Out of curiosity, what type of compression AGIXP handle?
Compressed images in GSC include Pokémon battle images, trainer battle images, tilesets, and (I believe) the images used in attack animations. The compression is a variant of LZ.
__________________
iimarck.us / hax.iimarck.us

If you want me, please contact me by email. [email protected]

If you want to hack Pokémon RBY or GSC, read, read, and read some more. This has tons of valuable information.

Pokémon Red disassembly project

Rules that should be rethought: 25charlimit, bumping.
Bad posts are bad posts, regardless of how many words are in them or how old the thread is.
Good posts are good posts, regardless of how old the thread is—and brevity is underrated.
  #11342    
Old August 28th, 2009 (10:01 AM).
TehBazzard's Avatar
TehBazzard TehBazzard is offline
Main creator of FireRed+
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 66
I am using XSE and Advanced Map. I have a script for a trainer battle in the offset of 800875. How would I remove that script to free the offset?
__________________

The thread for my hack is here http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=192355

Team Silvery Sparks:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?p=5043741
  #11343    
Old August 28th, 2009 (01:53 PM).
Pokeyomom's Avatar
Pokeyomom Pokeyomom is offline
Hoenn no you didn't...
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oregon
Nature: Brave
Posts: 747
Okay I got another bunk advance map editor program. Anybody know where to find a good reliable one? Muchos gracias mujeres y hombres!
  #11344    
Old August 28th, 2009 (03:40 PM).
AerialMan AerialMan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
I got a few problems with Advance Map that just won't go away:

1) In Viridian Forest, whenever I get into a battle, after it's over another "me" appears somewhere on the screen, and the first me is stuck in the middle of the screen. I can control the second "me", but I can only walk on 5-6 tiles.

The walkable tiles with tree tops on them causes a grass line to cover the player.

2) The save file always says it's corrupt, but it's not actually corrupt.
  #11345    
Old August 28th, 2009 (05:17 PM).
e4darthteej's Avatar
e4darthteej e4darthteej is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: A city somehwere IN AMERICA
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 153
How can I attach maps to a post? I've been mapping for someone, and even though they're finished, I can't send them.
__________________
90% of non trainers compulsively avoid using high OUs because they're "unorginal", if you're one of the 10% who are willing to use Pokemon because they're good, put this in your sig.





  #11346    
Old August 28th, 2009 (05:28 PM). Edited August 28th, 2009 by Shawk.
Shawk's Avatar
Shawk Shawk is offline
Smexy
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: im in ur ds haxin ur pokemans
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 7
Sorry for the stupid question guys, but I just got VBA and an emerald rom from romhustler. So I tried to start it up with the VBA and it won't start. Is it just the rom or do I have to do something to start it up?

EDIT: Okay, I got it to work, but now it says the internal battery has run dry. Clock based events will not work or something like that. Help?
__________________
FC: 4168 1872 2246
  #11347    
Old August 28th, 2009 (05:41 PM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
Im comin' home...
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,816
Quote originally posted by Shawk:
Sorry for the stupid question guys, but I just got VBA and an emerald rom from romhustler. So I tried to start it up with the VBA and it won't start. Is it just the rom or do I have to do something to start it up?

EDIT: Okay, I got it to work, but now it says the internal battery has run dry. Clock based events will not work or something like that. Help?
You need to 1st go to:
Options > Emulator > Save Type > and click "Flash 128K"

THEN, go to:
Options > Emulator, and make sure that "Real time clock" has a check mark next to it, then restart VBA. (Just close it and re-open it....)
After that, your emerald version should work perfect.
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
  #11348    
Old August 28th, 2009 (06:04 PM).
TehBazzard's Avatar
TehBazzard TehBazzard is offline
Main creator of FireRed+
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 66
You know, now that I wonder...
Does the message at the beginning of FireRed and LeafGreen, you know, "The M1 Sub Board is not installed", what impact does that have on the game and does it affect how one hacks at all?
__________________

The thread for my hack is here http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=192355

Team Silvery Sparks:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?p=5043741
  #11349    
Old August 28th, 2009 (06:06 PM).
Pokepal17's Avatar
Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
More cowbell~
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Steeltown
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,517
Quote originally posted by TehBazzard:
You know, now that I wonder...
Does the message at the beginning of FireRed and LeafGreen, you know, "The M1 Sub Board is not installed", what impact does that have on the game and does it affect how one hacks at all?
It means you can't save normally and you have to use savestates. Also after the Elite 4, it means you can't progress and have to start again.
__________________
Pokémon Stardrop
  #11350    
Old August 28th, 2009 (06:20 PM).
TehBazzard's Avatar
TehBazzard TehBazzard is offline
Main creator of FireRed+
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 66
Quote originally posted by Pokepal17:
It means you can't save normally and you have to use savestates. Also after the Elite 4, it means you can't progress and have to start again.
So you wouldn't be able to visit the remaining Sevii Islands? Or do any after-end game stuff?
Yeah, then I guess I would like to know how to fix it.
__________________

The thread for my hack is here http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=192355

Team Silvery Sparks:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?p=5043741
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 03:47 AM.