Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #12026    
Old October 19th, 2009 (05:10 AM). Edited October 19th, 2009 by Hash06.
Hash06 Hash06 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kent, England
Gender: Male
Posts: 4
Hi im new to pokemon hacking and i was just wondering how do you make a person say your name in the game. like when proffesor oak says your name id like to put that into scripting.
  #12027    
Old October 19th, 2009 (06:25 AM).
Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
The Faltine
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenia
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,578
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
Quote originally posted by Hash06:
Hi im new to pokemon hacking and i was just wondering how do you make a person say your name in the game. like when proffesor oak says your name id like to put that into scripting.
You put that as a [player] and the rival's name [rival]. There are some other options such as AQUA and MAGMA, but I don't know them.
__________________
  #12028    
Old October 19th, 2009 (06:45 AM).
giradialkia's Avatar
giradialkia giradialkia is offline
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ireland
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 1,550
Quote originally posted by Hash06:
Hi im new to pokemon hacking and i was just wondering how do you make a person say your name in the game. lie when proffesor oak says your name id like to put that into scripting. cheers
Oh, that's fairly easy. You just type in [PLAYER] anywhere you want someone say the player's name. Similarly, to say the Rival's name, just type [RIVAL]. There's another way, but rather than having to remember little codes (which can be confusing if you are new to hacking), I think this way is easier, no?
__________________

This one's called 'Blue', and it's very Pokémon themed, so have a listen! Check out the links below for more stuff, if you like this!



This is the Doctor
This is my Soundcloud
This is my bandcamp

My Pokémon Y character is the same as my username. If you see me as a Passerby let me know! I tend to get a lot of Passerby requests and I often wonder if it's people from this site.
  #12029    
Old October 19th, 2009 (07:06 AM).
Hash06 Hash06 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kent, England
Gender: Male
Posts: 4
the thing is, when i do that in the game it i put hello [player] it just sais hello Á
  #12030    
Old October 19th, 2009 (07:08 AM).
Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
The Faltine
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenia
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,578
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
Quote originally posted by giradialkia:
Oh, that's fairly easy. You just type in [PLAYER] anywhere you want someone say the player's name. Similarly, to say the Rival's name, just type [RIVAL]. There's another way, but rather than having to remember little codes (which can be confusing if you are new to hacking), I think this way is easier, no?
I think I just answered that. :\
That's spam.

Quote originally posted by Hash06:
the thing is, when i do that in the game it i put hello [player] it just sais hello Á
That's weird. Are you sure you've done everything correctly?
__________________
  #12031    
Old October 19th, 2009 (07:36 AM).
KillerSnipe21 KillerSnipe21 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Gender:
Posts: 14
Dose anybody know the palette offset for the status bar in Firered?
  #12032    
Old October 19th, 2009 (08:46 AM).
TheDon's Avatar
TheDon TheDon is offline
Pokemon (kinda) Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Age: 23
Gender:
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 41
Quote originally posted by Hash06:
Hi im new to pokemon hacking and i was just wondering how do you make a person say your name in the game. like when proffesor oak says your name id like to put that into scripting.
Put "\v\h01" in your talking script. That should work.
__________________


85% of all Wi-Fi teams include either a Salamence, Scizor or Blissey. If you're one of the 15% who think outside the box, copy and paste this into your sig.
-TheDon
  #12033    
Old October 19th, 2009 (08:50 AM).
PastaPen PastaPen is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 48
Can somebody help me with my (I think) messed up unlz-GBA?

So when I click 'Write to Rom', I sometimes find my image is too big, so when I repoint the Image Offset and press OK, I don't get any errors. But if I go to the next image, and go back to the "inserted image" It's back to the original. It didn't actually save, even though I get no errors. =/

I put in some screenshots to show my problem if you don't understand what I mean

__________________
  #12034    
Old October 19th, 2009 (12:38 PM).
Vee217DG's Avatar
Vee217DG Vee217DG is offline
Pokemon Madness
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Posts: 12
this may sound like somewhat of a noobish question but in my hack the player needs to be able to surf from the beginning is there any way to negate the badge rule in order to use surf from the start?
  #12035    
Old October 19th, 2009 (01:21 PM).
NarutoActor's Avatar
NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
The rocks cry out to me
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
Age: 21
Gender: Female
Nature: Bashful
Posts: 1,975
Send a message via AIM to NarutoActor Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to NarutoActor
right at the brgining of the game set the flag (fith bage)
__________________
~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
  #12036    
Old October 19th, 2009 (01:56 PM).
Lyzo's Avatar
Lyzo Lyzo is offline
On vacation
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 251
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Lyzo
Hey guys,
Does anyone know how I can change the starting map without using HackMew's SMCA (Start Map Chooser Advance). Because for some reason, whenever I load my ROM in SMCA it has a runtime error '380' invalid property value. Which I have found no solutions to.
I was wondering if anyone else knows how to do it differently? Hex editing? Or a different tool. Or, if someone knows a fix to the problem :D
__________________


Thank you The Blueprint !!!
  #12037    
Old October 19th, 2009 (01:56 PM).
midnight ride midnight ride is offline
none
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 7
Quote originally posted by narutoactor:
1) if I understand you right you want the 64x64 sprie to be an overworld sprite if so , yes It is posiable
2)yes, yes it is
3)if te pd pokemon deminsions are under 64x64 then yse if no you must re sise it to fit 64x64
Yea you understood what I was trying to say. Is there any tutorials or tools I can use to do those things?

Spoiler:

I'm relatively new to Rom hacking and I have a few questions.

I am hacking a Sapphire Rom.

1. I want to add an in game sprite of the g/s/c legendaires, is this possible, if so how?

2. I would like to add a new map (I think the real term is overworld map) but keep the old map as well. so is there a way I can have the two overworld maps in game? (I'm kinda adding a region of my own in and would like a map for it.)

3. And is there a way for when I make a new area to save it under a new name instead of renaming an already named map?

And while I'm asking I might as well ask, Is there a way to add D/P/P Pokemon into sapphire?
  #12038    
Old October 19th, 2009 (02:32 PM).
NarutoActor's Avatar
NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
The rocks cry out to me
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
Age: 21
Gender: Female
Nature: Bashful
Posts: 1,975
Send a message via AIM to NarutoActor Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to NarutoActor
check the documents and tutorial section its filled with load of goodies
__________________
~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
  #12039    
Old October 19th, 2009 (07:20 PM).
romancandle romancandle is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 72
Code:
'---------------
#org 0x16A5C5
setvar 0x8004 0x2
setvar 0x8005 0x1
special 0x173
setflag 0x4B0
setflag 0x820
setvar 0x406C 0x1
setflag 0x2E
clearflag 0x92
setvar 0x8008 0x1
call 0x81A6B18
goto 0x816A5F3
That's a part of Misty's person event code. I know the 0x820 flag sets the first badge (I moved the water gym to first, so I used her gym/script to start with). I think the 0x8008 0x1 sets the badge part of the card to see the first badge. Correct me if either of those are wrong. My question is:

What else should I change to make the script right for the first gym leader? I do want her badge to activate Cut. I do not want her to make pokemon up to level 30 obey you.
  #12040    
Old October 19th, 2009 (11:51 PM).
Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
The Faltine
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenia
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,578
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
Quote originally posted by romancandle:
Code:
'---------------
#org 0x16A5C5
setvar 0x8004 0x2
setvar 0x8005 0x1
special 0x173
setflag 0x4B0
setflag 0x820
setvar 0x406C 0x1
setflag 0x2E
clearflag 0x92
setvar 0x8008 0x1
call 0x81A6B18
goto 0x816A5F3
That's a part of Misty's person event code. I know the 0x820 flag sets the first badge (I moved the water gym to first, so I used her gym/script to start with). I think the 0x8008 0x1 sets the badge part of the card to see the first badge. Correct me if either of those are wrong. My question is:

What else should I change to make the script right for the first gym leader? I do want her badge to activate Cut. I do not want her to make pokemon up to level 30 obey you.
Wrong. setflag shows it in the trainer card and makes your pokemon obey.

also, answer to your question: just change the cut script and switch the checkflag with another one. easy!
__________________
  #12041    
Old October 20th, 2009 (12:04 AM).
Josephine's Avatar
Josephine Josephine is offline
—
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,168
Quote originally posted by Firaaz:
Can somebody help me with my (I think) messed up unlz-GBA?

So when I click 'Write to Rom', I sometimes find my image is too big, so when I repoint the Image Offset and press OK, I don't get any errors. But if I go to the next image, and go back to the "inserted image" It's back to the original. It didn't actually save, even though I get no errors. =/

I put in some screenshots to show my problem if you don't understand what I mean

Are you setting the new offsets yourself or just using the one's already entered?
__________________
  #12042    
Old October 20th, 2009 (04:44 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
Memento Mori
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 12,871
Quote originally posted by Vee217DG:
this may sound like somewhat of a noobish question but in my hack the player needs to be able to surf from the beginning is there any way to negate the badge rule in order to use surf from the start?
Ya can also (if it's FR/LG hack) use special 0x161.
Player right after using it starts surfing.
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
  #12043    
Old October 20th, 2009 (07:41 AM).
PastaPen PastaPen is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 48
@Counterfeit, I'm using FSF to find offsets with free space, and then putting them in. So in short term, I'm using my own offsets.
__________________
  #12044    
Old October 20th, 2009 (08:10 AM). Edited October 20th, 2009 by Hash06.
Hash06 Hash06 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kent, England
Gender: Male
Posts: 4
Hi im just wondering in my hack of fire red i want to create all the regions and all the pokemon that have ever been made but i dont know how to do it ive looked in the tutorial section but i cant find anything on it.
  #12045    
Old October 20th, 2009 (08:12 AM).
Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
The Faltine
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenia
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,578
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
Quote originally posted by Hash06:
Hi im just wondering in my hack of fire red i want to create all the regions and all the pokemon that have ever been made but i don tknow how to do i ive looked in the tutorial section but i can tfind anything.
First of all, start with a simple hack.
None of us can do that .
__________________
  #12046    
Old October 20th, 2009 (11:58 AM).
TAKUORO's Avatar
TAKUORO TAKUORO is offline
Pyro from WAH ;D
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Costa Rica
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 61
I don't know if this is already answered but, here is the thing

I import my midi file .s with sappy, but when I try to listen the song on sappy, it frezees and the sappy10.exe has stopped working message appears! ( I'm using vista, but Im using the sappy 2005 )

when I try to listen it to the rom, it crashes and the screen turns black!

The file have the s. extension and i followed magnius tutorial step by step
A friend told me that the only solution is to format the entire pc
Is that true or it's only the ocx files are not correctly installed?

2- how much is the limit of midis I can insert in a rom( firered ) without it crashes, it's true that I can only insert 2 or 3 midis as maximun?
If that's not truw, how many will be a good amount?

  #12047    
Old October 20th, 2009 (02:10 PM).
PechaPoffin's Avatar
PechaPoffin PechaPoffin is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Practically live on my computer...
Gender: Female
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 7
I am trying to start up Poke Edit Pro, however it says it can't find comdlg32.ocx or something like that. What do I do?
  #12048    
Old October 20th, 2009 (08:18 PM).
iPooP-On-[Arceus]'s Avatar
iPooP-On-[Arceus] iPooP-On-[Arceus] is offline
AZN's AZN
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 13
ARRRGH! I TRIED ALL MEANS MY POKETSCRIPT STILL CANT COMPILE!
__________________

  #12049    
Old October 20th, 2009 (08:20 PM).
Gamer2020's Avatar
Gamer2020 Gamer2020 is offline
This love is a sickness...
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Distant Land
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 796
Send a message via Skype™ to Gamer2020
Quote originally posted by PechaPoffin:
I am trying to start up Poke Edit Pro, however it says it can't find comdlg32.ocx or something like that. What do I do?
http://windowsxp.mvps.org/comdlg32.htm

Quote originally posted by iPooP-On-[Arceus]:
ARRRGH! I TRIED ALL MEANS MY POKETSCRIPT STILL CANT COMPILE!
Just use XSE
__________________
Pokemon Game Editor Download!
Pokemon TCG Assistant!
Fun Fact: Even though PGE isn't posted on PC anymore it still has the same number of downloads per day.
Accept no imitations!
  #12050    
Old October 20th, 2009 (09:10 PM).
Ninja Caterpie's Avatar
Ninja Caterpie Ninja Caterpie is offline
Sitting by the back window
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Best City OCE
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 5,989
Quote originally posted by iPooP-On-[Arceus]:
ARRRGH! I TRIED ALL MEANS MY POKETSCRIPT STILL CANT COMPILE!
Your reason is right there.
__________________
Brony represent.
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 05:33 AM.