Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #12076    
Old October 24th, 2009 (10:44 AM).
diegoisawesome's Avatar
diegoisawesome
Please understand
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Goldenrod City, Johto
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Quote originally posted by romancandle:
Totally ignored before. This is a big problem in my hack, as while playing the hack, I cannot remove the tree (it's blocking the path to the next city).
Change the tree's Movement type from Face down to No movement.
__________________


My other resources:
My Website
diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
  #12077    
Old October 24th, 2009 (10:48 AM).
romancandle
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Quote originally posted by diegoisawesome:
Change the tree's Movement type from Face down to No movement.
This worked, thank you. I don't know why it says "look down" in the original copies. Maybe it's a glitch when converting it to Amap. Anyway, now I have a new problem: game isn't registering that I have the badge for cut >.< Is the "allow cut" a flag or variable, or is it tied into each specific flag?
  #12078    
Old October 24th, 2009 (11:17 AM).
diegoisawesome's Avatar
diegoisawesome
Please understand
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Goldenrod City, Johto
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Quote originally posted by romancandle:
This worked, thank you. I don't know why it says "look down" in the original copies. Maybe it's a glitch when converting it to Amap. Anyway, now I have a new problem: game isn't registering that I have the badge for cut >.< Is the "allow cut" a flag or variable, or is it tied into each specific flag?
Set the second badge flag for Cut to work.
__________________


My other resources:
My Website
diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
  #12079    
Old October 24th, 2009 (11:45 AM). Edited October 24th, 2009 by romancandle.
romancandle
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Fixed the problem I had. Connections were overlapping, causing it to freeze.
  #12080    
Old October 24th, 2009 (11:47 AM).
Westie7's Avatar
Westie7
Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Gender: Male
Is there a way to make all three starters come with different items? I want to make a hack with three Eevee starters with Thunder, Fire, and Water Stones respectively. If there's a tool that could let me do that, I'd rather that than a hex or script editor, but either way works. I just fail at scripting.
  #12081    
Old October 24th, 2009 (11:49 AM).
romancandle
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Quote originally posted by Westie7:
Is there a way to make all three starters come with different items? I want to make a hack with three Eevee starters with Thunder, Fire, and Water Stones respectively. If there's a tool that could let me do that, I'd rather that than a hex or script editor, but either way works. I just fail at scripting.
Code:
givepokemon 0x4002 0x5 0x0 0x0 0x0 0x0
Thats the charmander pokeball script. The 3rd 0x is the item hex code. Put the hex code in that spot in the script.
  #12082    
Old October 24th, 2009 (12:03 PM).
Westie7's Avatar
Westie7
Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by romancandle:
Code:
givepokemon 0x4002 0x5 0x0 0x0 0x0 0x0
Thats the charmander pokeball script. The 3rd 0x is the item hex code. Put the hex code in that spot in the script.
Now how do I use that? I don't know how to script and that sort of thing
  #12083    
Old October 24th, 2009 (12:11 PM).
romancandle
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Look up a pokemon scripting tutorial in the tutorial section. I recommend diegoisawesome's scripting tutorial. It's very useful. I still use it constantly.
  #12084    
Old October 24th, 2009 (06:58 PM).
Mister Flogers's Avatar
Mister Flogers
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Okay i have quite a few question i am almost sure i cant find in this thread so far.

1.Is it possible to remove pokemon from you, like if you talk to some one and he wants a pokemon so you give it to him.
2.How do I make it so you can nickname a pokemon you receive.
3.exactly how many flags can you make
4.lastly, I am trying to make it so you can go to all 4 areas of the pokemon world(I know, gonna take me forever) so how do I make it so you can move the map, ingame, so that it shows each part on a 'page'(I am using FR)

thanks in advanced ^-^
  #12085    
Old October 24th, 2009 (09:22 PM).
Ninja Caterpie's Avatar
Ninja Caterpie
Sitting by the back window
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Best City OCE
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Quote originally posted by Mister Flogers:
Okay i have quite a few question i am almost sure i cant find in this thread so far.

1.Is it possible to remove pokemon from you, like if you talk to some one and he wants a pokemon so you give it to him.
2.How do I make it so you can nickname a pokemon you receive.
3.exactly how many flags can you make
4.lastly, I am trying to make it so you can go to all 4 areas of the pokemon world(I know, gonna take me forever) so how do I make it so you can move the map, ingame, so that it shows each part on a 'page'(I am using FR)

thanks in advanced ^-^
1. :\
2. call somethingorrather...it's in thethethethe's scripting tutorial.
3. You can go from 0x01 to 0xFFFF. Most of the ones before 0x1000 are used, though.
4. Not nearly enough fly spots or space, even on an expanded ROM; don't even try.
__________________
Brony represent.
  #12086    
Old October 24th, 2009 (09:47 PM).
Blaziquaza's Avatar
Blaziquaza
...
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Whyalla, Australia
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
So,what was I going to say?Oh,right.So I want to put Nat.Dex Pokemon in Shadow Blast.unfortunately,I haven't seen a way to activate the Nat.Dex in R/S.Does anybody know?Is there a special script?Thanks.
__________________
Everything you say to me pushes one step closer to the edge



And I'm about to break
I need a little room to breathe...

Steam IGN: Hybrid Theory
  #12087    
Old October 24th, 2009 (10:36 PM).
Mister Flogers's Avatar
Mister Flogers
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Quote originally posted by BlaziquazaLv.Z:
So,what was I going to say?Oh,right.So I want to put Nat.Dex Pokemon in Shadow Blast.unfortunately,I haven't seen a way to activate the Nat.Dex in R/S.Does anybody know?Is there a special script?Thanks.
All that I know is that if you give your character a pokemon from the Nat.Dex, you automatically get it, like charmander.

Quote originally posted by Ninja Caterpie:
1. :\
2. call somethingorrather...it's in thethethethe's scripting tutorial.
3. You can go from 0x01 to 0xFFFF. Most of the ones before 0x1000 are used, though.
4. Not nearly enough fly spots or space, even on an expanded ROM; don't even try.
Thank you, so heres some follow up questions

1.so you cant remove, or give away a pokemon? =[
2.is there enough for me to include johto and if possible hoenn?

again thanks in advanced
  #12088    
Old October 25th, 2009 (12:19 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami
Memento Mori
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote originally posted by romancandle:
Code:
givepokemon 0x4002 0x5 0x0 0x0 0x0 0x0
Thats the charmander pokeball script. The 3rd 0x is the item hex code. Put the hex code in that spot in the script.
Huh ya really used part of Nintendo's scary level script? :D
I wouldn't use it... but since he wants all starters to be Eevee it doesn't matter...

Anyways to Westie : replace the 0x0 after 0x5 with 0x60 (Fire Stone), or 0x61 (Thunder Stone), or 0x62 (Water Stone)

Quote originally posted by Mister Flogers:
2.is there enough for me to include johto and if possible hoenn?
Yeah ya can include 2 regions in one hack.
And remove pokemon... there's a way but... how to say it... it's way too complicated.
Try to pm/vm metapod23. He knows how to do it.
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
  #12089    
Old October 25th, 2009 (04:08 AM). Edited October 27th, 2009 by Spherical Ice.
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
Quote originally posted by ziglef:
Ok so this is what happens, i'm working on my own rom, and i got the starting map to work and i got the 2 map to work also, but now i changed some warps and stuff and when i go to the warp that goes from the first map to the second the games just stays black...

Anyone got an ideia how to fix this ?
Uh, even though this was aaaaaaaaaaages ago, there's been no proper answer and I have the same problem. Help, anyone?
I have added 03 as the unknown for the warp event and in Advance Map everyhting warps fine, just so you know. Finally, the map I' warping to was one I had inserted. I guess it has something to do with the Map Footer, but I'm unsure.
__________________
  #12090    
Old October 25th, 2009 (07:23 AM).
giradialkia's Avatar
giradialkia
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ireland
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to giradialkia
I've got a question- well, request- can anyone link me to the old version of Overworld Editor? I want to use the +40 sprite patch, but can't edit them to the full if i've only got Overworld Editor RE. So, yeah, can anyone link me to the old one, please?
__________________

This one's called 'Blue', and it's very Pokémon themed, so have a listen! Check out the links below for more stuff, if you like this!



This is the Doctor
This is my Soundcloud
This is my bandcamp

My Pokémon Y character is the same as my username. If you see me as a Passerby let me know! I tend to get a lot of Passerby requests and I often wonder if it's people from this site.
  #12091    
Old October 25th, 2009 (08:03 AM).
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote originally posted by Ninja Caterpie:
3. You can go from 0x01 to 0xFFFF. Most of the ones before 0x1000 are used, though.
Not quite. Flags are "only" 0x1 - 0x3FFF. But yeah, anything that's 0x1000 or higher is not used by the game at 99.9%.
__________________
  #12092    
Old October 25th, 2009 (08:06 AM).
Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
Tropical Sunlight
The Faltine
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenia
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
Quote originally posted by HackMew:
Not quite. Flags are "only" 0x1 - 0x3FFF. But yeah, anything that's 0x1000 or higher is not used by the game at 99.9%.
Above 0x3FFF are variables, right?
__________________
  #12093    
Old October 25th, 2009 (08:15 AM).
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote originally posted by H2O Turquoise:
Above 0x3FFF are variables, right?
Yeah, that's right. Variables are 0x4000-0xFFFF plus a bunch of temp ones.
__________________
  #12094    
Old October 25th, 2009 (01:17 PM).
Mister Flogers's Avatar
Mister Flogers
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Quote originally posted by HackMew:
Yeah, that's right. Variables are 0x4000-0xFFFF plus a bunch of temp ones.
Oh okay thanks that would explain why 0xF000 didnt work as a flag thanks,

So I was looking into it and asked foullump if he knew anything about removing pokemon, and he said that there might be a removepokemon code but he doesnt know how it works(wether you just put pokemon number and level)

1.Does removepokemon work?
2.If so ,what are the parameters supposed to be?

Oh and

Quote:
Yeah ya can include 2 regions in one hack.
And remove pokemon... there's a way but... how to say it... it's way too complicated.
Try to pm/vm metapod23. He knows how to do it.
is there enough for 3?
  #12095    
Old October 25th, 2009 (03:41 PM).
midnight ride
none
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Hello everyone.

This is a Fire Red ROM.

I was wondering if it was possible to make more room on a ROM for maps, like having the name on the list instead of choosing to re-name an already named map and thus change all of the original map to what I re-named that one to. Because my system of saving the names over old maps isn't the best.
  #12096    
Old October 26th, 2009 (06:24 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami
Memento Mori
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote originally posted by Mister Flogers:
is there enough for 3?
Well... maybe small (like 4 gyms max one...) but I don't think there's a space to include 3 full 8 gyms regions.
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
  #12097    
Old October 26th, 2009 (08:46 AM).
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote originally posted by Mister Flogers:
So I was looking into it and asked foullump if he knew anything about removing pokemon, and he said that there might be a removepokemon code but he doesnt know how it works(wether you just put pokemon number and level)

1.Does removepokemon work?
2.If so ,what are the parameters supposed to be?
There's no such "removepokemon" command, nor special. You have to use plain ASM.
__________________
  #12098    
Old October 26th, 2009 (09:01 AM).
Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
Tropical Sunlight
The Faltine
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenia
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
Quote originally posted by HackMew:
There's no such "removepokemon" command, nor special. You have to use plain ASM.
I think there was a special, a bug in Pokemon Crono beta 1 that caused all of the player's Pokemon to disappear. But that was for Ruby.
__________________
  #12099    
Old October 26th, 2009 (09:04 AM).
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote originally posted by H2O Turquoise:
I think there was a special, a bug in Pokemon Crono beta 1 that caused all of the player's Pokemon to disappear. But that was for Ruby.
A bug is not useful though :P
Anyway, thethethethe made a tutorial once, but the routine was buggy and never fixed, so not really usable. But yeah, I might be making something by myself someday.
__________________
  #12100    
Old October 26th, 2009 (09:10 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami
Memento Mori
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote originally posted by H2O Turquoise:
I think there was a special, a bug in Pokemon Crono beta 1 that caused all of the player's Pokemon to disappear. But that was for Ruby.
Ash's Gray has script where one of your pokemon is removed...
And I don't think there's ASM used.
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 04:11 PM.