Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #12101    
Old October 26th, 2009 (09:25 AM).
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote originally posted by Ash493:
Ash's Gray has script where one of your pokemon is removed...
And I don't think there's ASM used.
I don't know exactly, but if you say no ASM is involved, then it must be the Pokémon Day Care special. Which is not the same, obviously.
__________________
  #12102    
Old October 26th, 2009 (11:21 AM).
Mister Flogers's Avatar
Mister Flogers
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Quote originally posted by HackMew:
I don't know exactly, but if you say no ASM is involved, then it must be the Pokémon Day Care special. Which is not the same, obviously.
Well isnt there a code that removed the 1st pokemon from your party?
  #12103    
Old October 26th, 2009 (01:48 PM). Edited October 26th, 2009 by Chaos Rush.
Chaos Rush's Avatar
Chaos Rush
im sexy and i know it
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylor Swift
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Is there any way to change the battle music of a certain trainer? (And no, Advance-Trainer CAN NOT do that)

Also if that's impossible, is there any way to change the music of a trainer class?
  #12104    
Old October 26th, 2009 (04:30 PM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote originally posted by AztecFire:
Is there any way to change the battle music of a certain trainer? (And no, Advance-Trainer CAN NOT do that)

Also if that's impossible, is there any way to change the music of a trainer class?
well, yeah, it's possible.
I think HackMew knows how to do that, though it requires an ASM touch to accomplish that. =3
__________________
#495 Snivy
Supporter Collab January 2015



  #12105    
Old October 26th, 2009 (05:47 PM).
Mister Flogers's Avatar
Mister Flogers
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Okay so to extend upon my questions

1.Isn't there a code to remove the first pokemon in your party? if so what is it?
2.If there is a code, is there one to that moves any pokemon to the first slot?
3.How do i make it so a sprite appears after an event has happened, because I have this code set up:

Spoiler:
#org $script
checkflag 0x1203
if B_TRUE goto $QUESTS
removesprite 1
release
end

#org $QUESTS
showsprite 1
lock
faceplayer
checkflag 0x827
if 0x01 goto $quest3
checkflag 0x825
if 0x01 goto $quest2
checkflag 0x820
if 0x01 goto $quest1
checkflag 0x1204
if 0x00 goto $greet
message $thanks
$thanks 1 = \c\h01\h06Harold: Thank you again\nfor getting my shell back.
boxset 6
release
end


but what happens is the sprite is still in the place i put in in advanced map and if i talk to it, it disappears and if i dont talk to the npc and do the event before that sets the flag, the sprite doesnt show up after the event that. how do I set it up so the sprite is not there before the event and is there after.
__________________

  #12106    
Old October 27th, 2009 (12:04 AM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
Quote originally posted by Spherical Ice:
Quote originally posted by ziglef:
Ok so this is what happens, i'm working on my own rom, and i got the starting map to work and i got the 2 map to work also, but now i changed some warps and stuff and when i go to the warp that goes from the first map to the second the games just stays black...

Anyone got an ideia how to fix this ?
Uh, even though this was aaaaaaaaaaages ago, there's been no proper answer and I have the same problem. Help, anyone?
I have added 03 as the unknown for the warp event and in Advance Map everyhting warps fine, just so you know. Finally, the map I'm warping to was one I had inserted. I guess it has something to do with the Map Footer, but I'm unsure.
H'okay, repostin' this lil' question. Answered much appreciated. ^.^
__________________
  #12107    
Old October 27th, 2009 (12:35 AM).
Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
Tropical Sunlight
The Faltine
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenia
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
Quote originally posted by Spherical Ice:
H'okay, repostin' this lil' question. Answered much appreciated. ^.^
This? Oh.
That's because you resized the map (if you didn't then idk).
Just change the size back to their normal FR size and the map is active again!
If not, try fixing some of the movement permissions or OWs.
__________________
  #12108    
Old October 27th, 2009 (03:38 AM).
Pokepal17's Avatar
Pokepal17
More cowbell~
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Steeltown
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote originally posted by Spherical Ice:
H'okay, repostin' this lil' question. Answered much appreciated. ^.^
The map resized probably shared a map footer with other maps. So To fix the map footer, copy the original map footer data from a clean ROM into your ROM.
__________________
Pokémon Stardrop
  #12109    
Old October 27th, 2009 (07:10 AM).
Bozster's Avatar
Bozster
Chief Lunatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Gender: Male
Does anyone know the link to a tutorial for Pokecry, because I can't make any sense of it?
  #12110    
Old October 27th, 2009 (12:22 PM).
NarutoActor's Avatar
NarutoActor
The rocks cry out to me
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
Age: 21
Gender: Female
Nature: Bashful
Send a message via AIM to NarutoActor Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to NarutoActor
Quote originally posted by Spherical Ice:
H'okay, repostin' this lil' question. Answered much appreciated. ^.^
what? I answered this question manny times.
hear is the easy fix go to the map that is giving you problems and click th insert button on advance map and insert the same map in the same spot. Advance map will give the map a new offset and this will fix the problem.

Example if you warp to map 3.1 and it gose black go to map 3.1 in advance map and insert 3.1.

uhh Dosent anyone Read Befor asking, no lie I ansered this question at least 5 times in this thread its getting old a mod should ask this to the fequently ask questions thread.
__________________
~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
  #12111    
Old October 27th, 2009 (08:17 PM).
Larvitar170's Avatar
Larvitar170
Noobie hacker
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kentucky.
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
This is an issue that deals with scripting. I am trying to figure out how to make it to where when the player loses, he goes to the pokemon center. I am using the patch that deleted all the events to try to fix my own game with my own scripting, but I can't figure out how to actually script it. Any ideas?
__________________
Current project: Pokemon Mud Brown (Working Title, will be changed.)
No link because I haven't made a page for it yet.
Team: Myself as mapper, scripter, and spriter.Brandinokthx as spriter.

  #12112    
Old October 27th, 2009 (10:01 PM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote originally posted by Bozster:
Does anyone know the link to a tutorial for Pokecry, because I can't make any sense of it?
I am trying to do some research on it but I know little about ROM modifying, so...
To answer your question, there's no tutorial for it yet.
Though I am thinking of opening one, but I dunno... :\
__________________
#495 Snivy
Supporter Collab January 2015



  #12113    
Old October 27th, 2009 (11:59 PM).
B_Kennedy
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Gender: Male
I have three questions:
1. Is it possible, by modifying the overworld sprite of the player, to have a pokemon follow you?

2. If the above is possible, can a script be made to change the sprite when the pokemon evolves?

3. Is it possible to make it so that a certain pokemon can not be removed from the active party?
  #12114    
Old October 28th, 2009 (12:15 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami
Memento Mori
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote originally posted by B_Kennedy:
1. Is it possible, by modifying the overworld sprite of the player, to have a pokemon follow you?

2. If the above is possible, can a script be made to change the sprite when the pokemon evolves?

3. Is it possible to make it so that a certain pokemon can not be removed from the active party?
1. by modifying player's OW yes. If ya don't change it then just by ASM
2. ASM I guess but I'm not sure if this is possible
3. I don't think so.
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
  #12115    
Old October 28th, 2009 (03:59 AM).
NarutoActor's Avatar
NarutoActor
The rocks cry out to me
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
Age: 21
Gender: Female
Nature: Bashful
Send a message via AIM to NarutoActor Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to NarutoActor
Quote originally posted by Larvitar170:
This is an issue that deals with scripting. I am trying to figure out how to make it to where when the player loses, he goes to the pokemon center. I am using the patch that deleted all the events to try to fix my own game with my own scripting, but I can't figure out how to actually script it. Any ideas?
the rom is already programed if you loose to take you to the last gym you were at.
__________________
~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
  #12116    
Old October 28th, 2009 (05:29 AM).
Larvitar170's Avatar
Larvitar170
Noobie hacker
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kentucky.
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote originally posted by NarutoActor:
the rom is already programed if you loose to take you to the last gym you were at.
I thought so too, but when I test it, it takes me back to my first town, top right corner, with messed up pallets.
__________________
Current project: Pokemon Mud Brown (Working Title, will be changed.)
No link because I haven't made a page for it yet.
Team: Myself as mapper, scripter, and spriter.Brandinokthx as spriter.

  #12117    
Old October 28th, 2009 (08:33 AM).
Hash06
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kent, England
Gender: Male
Hi ive been hacking pokemon firered for about 3 months now but it has been nothing special but now id like to be able to make all or at least as many of the reagions that have been created in pokemon all in one game. Also i would like to be able put all of the new pokemon in the game so it is possible to catch every single pokemon in the game. If someone could help me with both of these problems id be very thankfull cheers.
  #12118    
Old October 28th, 2009 (10:03 AM).
Bayonetta's Avatar
Bayonetta
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
F/R questions:

Is it possible to extend the time of the title screen so it wont loop back to the boot screen?
And how?

And, Is there a tutorial that explains how to change the animation of the intro video?
the one with gengar and nidorino fighting.
__________________
  #12119    
Old October 28th, 2009 (10:05 AM).
Larvitar170's Avatar
Larvitar170
Noobie hacker
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kentucky.
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote originally posted by Hash06:
Hi ive been hacking pokemon firered for about 3 months now but it has been nothing special but now id like to be able to make all or at least as many of the reagions that have been created in pokemon all in one game. Also i would like to be able put all of the new pokemon in the game so it is possible to catch every single pokemon in the game. If someone could help me with both of these problems id be very thankfull cheers.
Can't be done. From what I hear, in FR you can have two big regions and one small.

As for the pokemon, there are the ones from the first three gyms plus 25 more due to some strange circumstance.
__________________
Current project: Pokemon Mud Brown (Working Title, will be changed.)
No link because I haven't made a page for it yet.
Team: Myself as mapper, scripter, and spriter.Brandinokthx as spriter.

  #12120    
Old October 28th, 2009 (10:05 AM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
Quote originally posted by Hash06:
Hi ive been hacking pokemon firered for about 3 months now but it has been nothing special but now id like to be able to make all or at least as many of the reagions that have been created in pokemon all in one game. Also i would like to be able put all of the new pokemon in the game so it is possible to catch every single pokemon in the game. If someone could help me with both of these problems id be very thankfull cheers.
Pretty much impossible. Sorry. You could probably fit in two regions and the already programmed-in 386 'mons, plus the 25 free spaces that I don't really enjoy using.

Sorry, buddy. D:

Edit: Damn, beaten. But yeah, you get the idea.

@ Drakuaza: Well, the latter is possible with ASM, IIRC. But I'm not sure how. To just change the sprites of Gengar and Nidorino, unLZ-GBA is handy. (:
By the way, MS rules. XD
__________________
  #12121    
Old October 28th, 2009 (10:52 AM).
Bayonetta's Avatar
Bayonetta
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote originally posted by Spherical Ice:
Pretty much impossible. Sorry. You could probably fit in two regions and the already programmed-in 386 'mons, plus the 25 free spaces that I don't really enjoy using.

Sorry, buddy. D:

Edit: Damn, beaten. But yeah, you get the idea.

@ Drakuaza: Well, the latter is possible with ASM, IIRC. But I'm not sure how. To just change the sprites of Gengar and Nidorino, unLZ-GBA is handy. (:
By the way, MS rules. XD
Hmm. I see, well is there any ASM tutorial that could explain that? i couldnt find anything regarding that issue at the current guides

@maplestory thing, i quit it like 3 months or 4 ago.
__________________
  #12122    
Old October 28th, 2009 (11:27 AM).
Larsie13
Gone
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 23
Nature: Modest
Quote originally posted by Drakuaza:
F/R questions:

Is it possible to extend the time of the title screen so it wont loop back to the boot screen?
And how?

And, Is there a tutorial that explains how to change the animation of the intro video?
the one with gengar and nidorino fighting.
About the first question... As far as I know, the title screen is special in that the song played there has no loop point. In other words, when it's done, it's done. Nothing happens. Now, when the game is on the title screen, and notices that the song has finished playing, it automatically resets the game. Through some ASM hacking, it should be possible to extend the time, or, alternately, you could insert a longer song. Or of course a song that loops, so that the game doesn't reset at all.
  #12123    
Old October 28th, 2009 (11:30 AM).
tente2's Avatar
tente2
"Outta my way, dammit!"
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Snowpoint City
Gender: Male
Nature: Bashful
Hey,I'm trying to make a hack out of emerald,and I ALWAYS MAKE SURE SPRITES ARE 100% CUSTOM.Unfortunately,I haven't tried a hack before for 3rd gen,and have no idea how to change tilesets.I know a-map has a tool for it,but it doesn't accept my tilesets (as in they don't show up).How did you people with the custom tilesets import them?
  #12124    
Old October 28th, 2009 (11:47 AM).
Bayonetta's Avatar
Bayonetta
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote originally posted by Larsie13:
About the first question... As far as I know, the title screen is special in that the song played there has no loop point. In other words, when it's done, it's done. Nothing happens. Now, when the game is on the title screen, and notices that the song has finished playing, it automatically resets the game. Through some ASM hacking, it should be possible to extend the time, or, alternately, you could insert a longer song. Or of course a song that loops, so that the game doesn't reset at all.
I have a song that lasts 1:24. and it loops at 50 or so.So its not the song. its the timing, and the original title loops, add it to a map, it will loop.
__________________
  #12125    
Old October 28th, 2009 (11:52 AM).
NarutoActor's Avatar
NarutoActor
The rocks cry out to me
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
Age: 21
Gender: Female
Nature: Bashful
Send a message via AIM to NarutoActor Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to NarutoActor
did you walk to your mom. if you game allows you to get defeated without first taking to your mom that will happen.
__________________
~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 01:16 PM.