Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #12226    
Old November 10th, 2009 (05:59 AM).
herbeon herbeon is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 10
Quote originally posted by Aljam:
try XSE. It's a good program for that kinda stuff. but you gotta learn how to script.
Thanks for your suggestion. I tried XSE, and learned some basic scripting. But I think I need to know the offset number in order to change some of the text, which I cannot find using Advance Map, such as the intro text, or some other texts in cutscene, like the one when Prof. Birth (or some name like that) is attacked by a Pokemon in the beginning part. Is there any other suggestion? :D
  #12227    
Old November 10th, 2009 (06:02 AM).
Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
The Faltine
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenia
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,578
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
Quote originally posted by herbeon:
Thanks for your suggestion. I tried XSE, and learned some basic scripting. But I think I need to know the offset number in order to change some of the text, which I cannot find using Advance Map, such as the intro text, or some other texts in cutscene, like the one when Prof. Birth (or some name like that) is attacked by a Pokemon in the beginning part. Is there any other suggestion? :D
Open Advance-Map, see your event/person and there's your offset!
Btw you have to use A-Text to change the intro talking.
__________________
  #12228    
Old November 10th, 2009 (06:13 AM).
herbeon herbeon is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 10
Quote originally posted by H2O Turquoise:
Open Advance-Map, see your event/person and there's your offset!
Btw you have to use A-Text to change the intro talking.
Thanks, but I can't use Emerald on A-Text. It says INI file does not exist >.<
  #12229    
Old November 10th, 2009 (06:26 AM).
Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
The Faltine
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenia
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,578
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
Quote originally posted by herbeon:
Thanks, but I can't use Emerald on A-Text. It says INI file does not exist >.<
Oh. I'm pretty sure you can just search for it on Google or search HackMew's tool thread.
__________________
  #12230    
Old November 10th, 2009 (06:30 AM).
herbeon herbeon is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 10
Quote originally posted by H2O Turquoise:
Oh. I'm pretty sure you can just search for it on Google or search HackMew's tool thread.
Found it. Thanks a million :D
  #12231    
Old November 10th, 2009 (09:05 AM).
pokeadvent's Avatar
pokeadvent pokeadvent is offline
What should I write....?
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chittagong, Bangladesh
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 10
How do you insert tilesets in advance map?
__________________
<img src=http://www.pokecommunity.com/signaturepics/sigpic178544_3.gif border=0 alt= />



Games I support

Spoiler:


POKEMON ASPHAR by 00VAMPIRE

POKEMON SHADOW BLACK by MERVYN797

POKEMON RAPTOR by O.G. DUKE

  #12232    
Old November 10th, 2009 (11:57 AM).
Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
The Faltine
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenia
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,578
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
Quote originally posted by pokeadvent:
How do you insert tilesets in advance map?
Read some tutorials, I suggest Aljam's.
__________________
  #12233    
Old November 10th, 2009 (12:07 PM).
Deucalion Deucalion is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 14
How do you change the encounter type? At the moment, I'm mapping a cave, but for fairly important plot related reasons, there is grass inside the cave, and rather than have battles possibly activate on any step, a la ordinary caves, I only want the possibility for battles to activate on steps within grass, just like any normal route. I thought you could do this by going to Advance Map, going to the Map Header, going to Map Options, and selecting the option "Route" under the drop-down list named "Type", but this seems to have had absolutely no effect, and Pokemon still appear on any step as though it was a cave.
  #12234    
Old November 10th, 2009 (12:11 PM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 3,444
Quote originally posted by Deucalion:
How do you change the encounter type? At the moment, I'm mapping a cave, but for fairly important plot related reasons, there is grass inside the cave, and rather than have battles possibly activate on any step, a la ordinary caves, I only want the possibility for battles to activate on steps within grass, just like any normal route. I thought you could do this by going to Advance Map, going to the Map Header, going to Map Options, and selecting the option "Route" under the drop-down list named "Type", but this seems to have had absolutely no effect, and Pokemon still appear on any step as though it was a cave.
It is in the Block Behaviour for the tiles. Select the tile you are walking on in Block Editor, and change the behaviour to 00, to make it do nothing (however, I would kinda just make a copy of the tile that has no behaviour in a different spot in the Tileset, and then use that one, as if you change it to 00, it stays like that every time you use the Tileset, meaning no cave has random battles)
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...


Nerves o
f Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

  #12235    
Old November 10th, 2009 (12:17 PM).
Haku.'s Avatar
Haku. Haku. is offline
(FLAME)...H....A...K..U
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Singapore :D
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 386
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Haku.
so deviation, you mean we can actually decide where random battle will appear..cool!
i never knew that. thx a billion.
__________________

  #12236    
Old November 10th, 2009 (12:21 PM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 3,444
It is all determined by Block Behaviour. You will be surprised at what Block Behaviour can do (however, be careful, when determining Random battles, apparently the battle background will always be the caves. I am not sure of this, as I was told it)
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...


Nerves o
f Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

  #12237    
Old November 10th, 2009 (12:43 PM).
Deucalion Deucalion is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 14
Thanks, that had been puzzling me for a while. Foolishly, I'd assumed only behaviour 2 caused wild battles.

So by having a block that looks no different from the others, but in fact has a behaviour of 8, and by changing the encounter rate to 100, we could have a cave where if you step on a certain tile, an encounter is forced, but all the others are safe? Because if so, that would be extremely useful.
  #12238    
Old November 10th, 2009 (01:17 PM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 3,444
Quote originally posted by Deucalion:
Thanks, that had been puzzling me for a while. Foolishly, I'd assumed only behaviour 2 caused wild battles.
Quote originally posted by Deucalion:

So by having a block that looks no different from the others, but in fact has a behaviour of 8, and by changing the encounter rate to 100, we could have a cave where if you step on a certain tile, an encounter is forced, but all the others are safe? Because if so, that would be extremely useful.
If they had the behaviour for Wild Battle Encounter (I am not sure what that is in Firered) then yeah. If all the other tiles were 00, or anything other than Water tiles, or encounter tiles, as the water tiles kinda force battles as well. (I think...)
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...


Nerves o
f Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

  #12239    
Old November 10th, 2009 (01:23 PM). Edited November 10th, 2009 by NarutoActor.
NarutoActor's Avatar
NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
The rocks cry out to me
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
Age: 21
Gender: Female
Nature: Bashful
Posts: 1,975
Send a message via AIM to NarutoActor Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to NarutoActor
Quote originally posted by Ash493:
Yeah but ya cannot change intro texts with it.
And maybe even level scripts... but I'm not sure about it.
HA, another example of how my tutorial would of benifited the community. (crinco said it was common knolage :C)

On Topic, You can edit the intro text eather use visual boy and find the texts offset and decomlie it as text in xse, or find the offset ( or I can just tel you the offset) and put it in the script search in PKSV and decomplie it has text.

Quote originally posted by Deviation:
It is all determined by Block Behaviour. You will be surprised at what Block Behaviour can do (however, be careful, when determining Random battles, apparently the battle background will always be the caves. I am not sure of this, as I was told it)
use 08 00 for a flor backrond.

Quote originally posted by xmouvelianx:
so deviation, you mean we can actually decide where random battle will appear..cool!
i never knew that. thx a billion.
you know a basic wildbattle scipt would work too.
__________________
~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
  #12240    
Old November 10th, 2009 (03:08 PM).
Viremaster Viremaster is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 3
Here is my question...

for a personal project, I've wanted to make my own gen 1 pokemon save editor. I have seen one released over a decade ago, and wanted to use it as a reference. However upon using it to do a minor change to the file (money held), it became unreadable to the game. I tried manually changing the variable. Same result, saying the save file was corrupted. Is this a form of anti-tamperment, or am I hacking the file incorrectly?

I am using the last release of VBA to emulate Pokemon Blue.
  #12241    
Old November 10th, 2009 (04:29 PM).
Hassamu_Scizor's Avatar
Hassamu_Scizor Hassamu_Scizor is offline
The Impulse
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 4
Ok this might be somewhere in the hundreds of pages here, I searched for it but I only skimmed through everything that came up and none of the posts seemed to relate to the upcoming question. I think the answer may be "learn how to use XSE and Advance Map together better" but here goes:

How do I do either of these things:
Move the starting area? Like from Pallet to say, Saffron.
Start with a Pokemon? Like Growlithe or Scizor?

I'm kinda lazy so if it's a really easy answer or something sorry for wasting your time...
  #12242    
Old November 10th, 2009 (04:40 PM).
BlitŻ's Avatar
BlitŻ BlitŻ is offline
guahh my dog is so cute
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bay Area, Califronia.
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 472
I'm having a problem inserting my titlescreen, however it only happens under certain circumstances. I'm using NTME to make a tilemap to insert a pokemon or a new background, but whenever i insert and load it up in VBA, it doesn't work. But if I load it up in No$ Gba, it does.., so does anybody know how i can make it work in VBA?>
__________________
  #12243    
Old November 10th, 2009 (11:00 PM).
herbeon herbeon is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 10
Quote originally posted by NarutoActor:
On Topic, You can edit the intro text eather use visual boy and find the texts offset and decomlie it as text in xse, or find the offset ( or I can just tel you the offset) and put it in the script search in PKSV and decomplie it has text.
Could you tell me how to find the offsets, other than tracing it using A-Map?

By the way, I have another question. How can I change the names of May, Brendan, and Wally? I see in the text that there is a variable [RIVAL]. Is it possible that I can find the offset where the names are assigned?
  #12244    
Old November 11th, 2009 (12:09 AM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
Im comin' home...
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,816
Quote originally posted by herbeon:
Could you tell me how to find the offsets, other than tracing it using A-Map?

By the way, I have another question. How can I change the names of May, Brendan, and Wally? I see in the text that there is a variable [RIVAL]. Is it possible that I can find the offset where the names are assigned?
Try searching for it in the ROM... Use a Hex Editor and a Table...
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
  #12245    
Old November 11th, 2009 (01:08 AM).
Surf's Avatar
Surf Surf is offline
...
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rust
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 1,198
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Surf
Are there any flags, that are set, that define the gender?
__________________
I'm looking for some good (When I say good,
I mean you can hold your own by yourself)
N**i Zombies players, to form a team or even a
clan, to play with casually.
Send me a PM with your Highest Level and your PSN,
and I'll get back to you.
  #12246    
Old November 11th, 2009 (03:23 AM).
Aljam's Avatar
Aljam Aljam is offline
Pierce the heavens
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 583
Quote originally posted by herbeon:
Could you tell me how to find the offsets, other than tracing it using A-Map?

By the way, I have another question. How can I change the names of May, Brendan, and Wally? I see in the text that there is a variable [RIVAL]. Is it possible that I can find the offset where the names are assigned?
use A-text and search for the name. Then, write it to the ini and change it. voila there you go XD
__________________
Paired with Druyii.
  #12247    
Old November 11th, 2009 (07:30 AM).
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew HackMew is offline
Mewtwo Strikes Back
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,314
Quote originally posted by Surf:
Are there any flags, that are set, that define the gender?
No, no flags. The gender is the 8th byte in the player data structure. Further info can be found on my first ASM lesson, in the Documents and Tutorials.
__________________
  #12248    
Old November 11th, 2009 (11:23 AM). Edited November 11th, 2009 by colcolstyles.
colcolstyles's Avatar
colcolstyles colcolstyles is offline
Yours truly
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Bay Area
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 1,592
Quote originally posted by Surf:
Are there any flags, that are set, that define the gender?
No but you can obtain the player's gender in a script with 'checkgender' just like 'checkflag' except with no parameters. I think thethethethe's scripting tutorial covers that.
Quote originally posted by herbeon:
By the way, I have another question. How can I change the names of May, Brendan, and Wally? I see in the text that there is a variable [RIVAL]. Is it possible that I can find the offset where the names are assigned?
Alright I found it. The names for the rivals and other stuff are stored at '0x5E821B'. Each name is separated by an '0xFF' byte so if your new name is shorter than the previous name, then all you have to do is fill the bytes of the previous name that you didn't use with '0xFF'. However, if your new name is longer (and it most likely will be if you're replacing May's name) then you will have to repoint the text. The pointer to Brendan's name can be found at '0x009090' and May's at '0x00909C'. I don't know where the pointers to the other texts (e.g. Team names, game names, team leader names, etc.) are but they shouldn't be too hard to locate.
Oh yeah and this is all for Emerald, by the way.
__________________

Brother of Vrai
  #12249    
Old November 11th, 2009 (11:59 AM).
Haku.'s Avatar
Haku. Haku. is offline
(FLAME)...H....A...K..U
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Singapore :D
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 386
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Haku.
okay guys.. how do i make new over world sprite without any bugs..
the 40+ patch didnt work.. only showed in a-map but not in gba.
__________________

  #12250    
Old November 11th, 2009 (01:52 PM).
NarutoActor's Avatar
NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
The rocks cry out to me
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
Age: 21
Gender: Female
Nature: Bashful
Posts: 1,975
Send a message via AIM to NarutoActor Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to NarutoActor
Quote originally posted by herbeon:
Could you tell me how to find the offsets, other than tracing it using A-Map?

By the way, I have another question. How can I change the names of May, Brendan, and Wally? I see in the text that there is a variable [RIVAL]. Is it possible that I can find the offset where the names are assigned?
theres a hex tutorial on pc or vm me and I can send you the tutorial I made.
__________________
~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 12:41 PM.