Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub > Beginner’s Lounge
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Beginner’s Lounge Where all good (and bad) ideas start. This is the Beginner’s Lounge, where if you need a helping hand or want to develop your small ideas, you bring it here. We won't bite.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #12251    
Old November 11th, 2009 (02:59 PM).
Shadow_Knux's Avatar
Shadow_Knux Shadow_Knux is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 25
Hello, I'm pretty much a noob when it comes to hacking, but...

How can I change the Pokemon that are offered as Game Corner Prizes in Celadon?

Thanks in advance!
  #12252    
Old November 11th, 2009 (07:12 PM).
Aljam's Avatar
Aljam Aljam is offline
Pierce the heavens
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 583
Quote originally posted by Shadow_Knux:
Hello, I'm pretty much a noob when it comes to hacking, but...

How can I change the Pokemon that are offered as Game Corner Prizes in Celadon?

Thanks in advance!
You can do that by scripting.

This is a question I would like to ask. What are the dimensions for the boot screen in FR?
__________________
Paired with Druyii.
  #12253    
Old November 11th, 2009 (09:50 PM).
Haku.'s Avatar
Haku. Haku. is offline
(FLAME)...H....A...K..U
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Singapore :D
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 386
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Haku.
you know when you use the tilemap editor there is a dotted line right at the right..
that's the dimension.

EDIT:
can anyone answer my question on top?
__________________

  #12254    
Old November 11th, 2009 (10:28 PM).
SirCopycat SirCopycat is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 5
Me...once again, lol

Just need a push in te right direction, is there a Tutorial about changing the overworld sprites? I've tried doing it on my own, i have a little idea how to change it, i'm using Overworld editor, but whenever I change Oak's sprite it comes out pretty screwed, just need a little hand with a tut to see how to do it properly. Apologies if i'm getting annoying
  #12255    
Old November 12th, 2009 (11:16 AM).
Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
The Faltine
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenia
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,578
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
Quote originally posted by SirCopycat:
Me...once again, lol

Just need a push in te right direction, is there a Tutorial about changing the overworld sprites? I've tried doing it on my own, i have a little idea how to change it, i'm using Overworld editor, but whenever I change Oak's sprite it comes out pretty screwed, just need a little hand with a tut to see how to do it properly. Apologies if i'm getting annoying
What part did screw up?
You mean a tutorial of spriting (drawing) tutorial, or an inserting tutorial?
__________________
  #12256    
Old November 12th, 2009 (01:03 PM).
SirCopycat SirCopycat is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 5
Quote originally posted by H2O Turquoise:
What part did screw up?
You mean a tutorial of spriting (drawing) tutorial, or an inserting tutorial?
Sorry, should have stated better, inserting a Overworld sprite, i'm fine with spriting etc, just the inserting business, as I said with overworld Editor, as I said I want to change Prof Oaks Overworld Sprite to something else, so for ease I grabbed the Super Nerd Sprite 9think it's super nerd anyway) I added the sprite to Overworld Editor just fine, but when I added the second frame the colours got a bit distorted, and wghen I booted it up in game to see what it looked like it was still distorted.

I didn't save a screenie but i'll give it another go and grab a screenshot now:

this is my first step, I imported the sprite and chose to import the pallette as well (When I do it without it gets a distorted) and all is peachy:

overworld1 attatchment

then I go to the next frame and this has happened:

Overworld2 attachment

so i'm a bit confused, so I just carry on and add the sprite for that frame:

Overworld3 attachment

and then the sprte seems to have grown a beard >> and as I said when I import it into game it's just like hat pretty screwy.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg overworld3.jpg‎ (31.6 KB, 17 views) (Save to Dropbox)
File Type: jpg overworld1.jpg‎ (32.0 KB, 11 views) (Save to Dropbox)
File Type: jpg overworld2.jpg‎ (29.9 KB, 8 views) (Save to Dropbox)
  #12257    
Old November 12th, 2009 (01:17 PM).
Shadow_Knux's Avatar
Shadow_Knux Shadow_Knux is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 25
Quote originally posted by Aljam:
You can do that by scripting.

This is a question I would like to ask. What are the dimensions for the boot screen in FR?
I looked in the code, but I couldn't find out how to do that. Can you be more specific, please?
__________________
  #12258    
Old November 12th, 2009 (01:35 PM).
Aljam's Avatar
Aljam Aljam is offline
Pierce the heavens
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 583
Quote originally posted by Shadow_Knux:
I looked in the code, but I couldn't find out how to do that. Can you be more specific, please?
you use XSE which is located in the toolbox. then you learn how to script by using one of the XSE tuts in the Documents section.

Where would be a good offset to start off using free space? (other than 8000000)
__________________
Paired with Druyii.
  #12259    
Old November 12th, 2009 (02:38 PM).
Liquid Shadow's Avatar
Liquid Shadow Liquid Shadow is offline
xD
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Gender:
Posts: 224
Does anybody know the TileMap for the Pokemon logo in Pokemon Ruby? Any help would be appreciated.
__________________

4 truths of life
1. You cannot touch all your teeth with your tongue.
2. All idiots, after reading the first truth, will try it.
3. And discover that the first truth is a lie.
4. You're smiling now because you're an idiot.
  #12260    
Old November 12th, 2009 (07:04 PM).
Haku.'s Avatar
Haku. Haku. is offline
(FLAME)...H....A...K..U
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Singapore :D
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 386
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Haku.
aljam. do you know where to get lurio and lucario cry?
Oh yea and do anybody here knows the offset for the palette of the word "POKEMON FIRERED VERSION"
__________________

  #12261    
Old November 12th, 2009 (08:28 PM).
herbeon herbeon is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 10
Quote originally posted by colcolstyles:
Alright I found it. The names for the rivals and other stuff are stored at '0x5E821B'. Each name is separated by an '0xFF' byte so if your new name is shorter than the previous name, then all you have to do is fill the bytes of the previous name that you didn't use with '0xFF'. However, if your new name is longer (and it most likely will be if you're replacing May's name) then you will have to repoint the text. The pointer to Brendan's name can be found at '0x009090' and May's at '0x00909C'. I don't know where the pointers to the other texts (e.g. Team names, game names, team leader names, etc.) are but they shouldn't be too hard to locate.
Oh yeah and this is all for Emerald, by the way.
Thanks very much. It's really helpful to me.
By the way, what does "repoint" mean? I came across that words many times, but don't know its meaning.
  #12262    
Old November 12th, 2009 (11:33 PM).
~Teh Panda~'s Avatar
~Teh Panda~ ~Teh Panda~ is offline
Sea of Dreams - Redux
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 906
Hey, does anyone know the offsets for the intro to firered? I was interested in tinkering it and fooling with some of the animations. Any help would be greatly appreciated
__________________




Mystic still in work to let you know...
  #12263    
Old November 13th, 2009 (02:41 AM).
Mr. Frog's Avatar
Mr. Frog Mr. Frog is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The pony swamp (somewhere near johto)
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 38
Quote originally posted by SirCopycat:
Sorry, should have stated better, inserting a Overworld sprite, i'm fine with spriting etc, just the inserting business, as I said with overworld Editor, as I said I want to change Prof Oaks Overworld Sprite to something else, so for ease I grabbed the Super Nerd Sprite 9think it's super nerd anyway) I added the sprite to Overworld Editor just fine, but when I added the second frame the colours got a bit distorted, and wghen I booted it up in game to see what it looked like it was still distorted.

I didn't save a screenie but i'll give it another go and grab a screenshot now:

this is my first step, I imported the sprite and chose to import the pallette as well (When I do it without it gets a distorted) and all is peachy:

overworld1 attatchment

then I go to the next frame and this has happened:

Overworld2 attachment

so i'm a bit confused, so I just carry on and add the sprite for that frame:

Overworld3 attachment

and then the sprte seems to have grown a beard >> and as I said when I import it into game it's just like hat pretty screwy.
Not sure about that back sprite, but the other ones seem to be a pallet problem.
You say you said to import pallet... but the pallets in attachment 1 and 2 are different...

actually, that back sprite looks like its corrupt...
  #12264    
Old November 13th, 2009 (04:05 AM).
Crimson Stardust's Avatar
Crimson Stardust Crimson Stardust is offline
Anime Addiction
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: It is for me to noe and all of you to find out
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 1,296
Send a message via AIM to Crimson Stardust Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Crimson Stardust
hey i have this question i wanna ask.I have been around pc and ask some people about it,but it just does not really work out well.Look at this screenshot:
See the mist on the maps,it does not completely cover the whole tiles/map,is there anyway to fix this or i forgot to do something..If i were to put the background bytes to block by hero,wouldn't the hero be walking on to of the tree and house?
__________________



  #12265    
Old November 13th, 2009 (05:24 AM).
d3c0d3d d3c0d3d is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 11
sorry, this is probably too simple for a simple questions thread, but what is an ASM assembler, and where could I find one?
  #12266    
Old November 13th, 2009 (05:38 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
Memento Mori
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 13,376
Quote originally posted by d3c0d3d:
sorry, this is probably too simple for a simple questions thread, but what is an ASM assembler, and where could I find one?
You can use command-line interface in PC, command prompt to be exact.
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
  #12267    
Old November 13th, 2009 (10:20 AM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 3,447
Quote originally posted by ♠ΛςΣ ρπΔητΦΩ♠:
hey i have this question i wanna ask.I have been around pc and ask some people about it,but it just does not really work out well.Look at this screenshot:
See the mist on the maps,it does not completely cover the whole tiles/map,is there anyway to fix this or i forgot to do something..If i were to put the background bytes to block by hero,wouldn't the hero be walking on to of the tree and house?
This is because the mist is in the middle layer (or whatever it is), which is below OWs and the Top layers of tiles, but above the bottom ayer of tiles. I am not sure if this can be fixed or not, and only Blocks are covered by Sprites seems to fix the mist... But that would cause tree top issues, such as walking on them, and the buildings...
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...

Nerves of Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

  #12268    
Old November 13th, 2009 (07:58 PM).
SirCopycat SirCopycat is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 5
wee, guess who, thanks to giradialkia i've managed to sort my Oak sprite problem..with some minor..palette weirdness going but I can deal with it.

BUT I seem to have a problem with my front sprite, he seems to have a split personality so to speak >>;;

pokecommunity.com/album.php?albumid=4947&pictureid=35643

I've tried importing the sprite a few times to fix itself, moving the sprite image up a notch in photoshop but still nothing
  #12269    
Old November 14th, 2009 (12:28 AM).
Haku.'s Avatar
Haku. Haku. is offline
(FLAME)...H....A...K..U
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Singapore :D
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 386
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Haku.
I have another pallete question for you guys lol.
Does anyone knows the pallete offset for start menu, box which is below the start menu?
__________________

  #12270    
Old November 14th, 2009 (05:39 AM). Edited November 14th, 2009 by triczek2.
triczek2 triczek2 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
I have a question too:
Is anybody know that Pokemon Ash Gray or Pokemon Ash Quest is in production?
(On youtube you can watch films about this games) Please, answer me

+

Is enybody do game with Ash in Hoen region?I would like to make a game like this but if someone is already doing it I will not
  #12271    
Old November 14th, 2009 (07:22 AM). Edited November 15th, 2009 by chentm.
chentm's Avatar
chentm chentm is offline
Stylish Improv
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: In the Cyberworld.
Gender: Male
Posts: 3
How do I edit the VS picture that slides in before the start of an Elite Four battle in R/S/E?
I tried finding the forums but to no avail, someone please guide me!
  #12272    
Old November 14th, 2009 (07:28 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
Memento Mori
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 13,376
Quote originally posted by triczek2:
I have a question too:
Is anybody know that Pokemon Ash Gray or Pokemon Ash Quest is in production?
(On youtube you can watch films about this games) Please, answer me

Is enybody do game with Ash in Hoen region?I would like to make a game like this but if someone is already doing it I will not
Ash Gray yes, Ash's Quest not.
No noone's doing Hoenn journey.
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
  #12273    
Old November 14th, 2009 (08:41 AM).
Angry Ampharos's Avatar
Angry Ampharos Angry Ampharos is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Gender:
Posts: 80
Quote originally posted by -Smash:
Im here again. With a probably easy Q, probably.

Anyone know how to change the pallete of the heroes' backsprites in Emerald?
APE offset, or anything. Im sure some of you have gone through this one before..


For the love of F, don't ignore this one.
Unzl gba

ugh... why do we need 25 characters in a message?
  #12274    
Old November 14th, 2009 (09:54 AM).
Aljam's Avatar
Aljam Aljam is offline
Pierce the heavens
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 583
Quote originally posted by -Smash:
Im here again. With a probably easy Q, probably.

Anyone know how to change the pallete of the heroes' backsprites in Emerald?
APE offset, or anything. Im sure some of you have gone through this one before..


For the love of F, don't ignore this one.
Just get in a battle in your game as the trainer. then when your backsprit e is shown, use palette viewer.
__________________
Paired with Druyii.
  #12275    
Old November 14th, 2009 (12:15 PM).
triczek2 triczek2 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks Ash493 for answer. So I can do hack with Ash in Hoen, If enybody want help write to me private message
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 10:36 AM.