Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Beginner’s Lounge Where all good (and bad) ideas start. This is the Beginner’s Lounge, where if you need a helping hand or want to develop your small ideas, you bring it here. We won't bite.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #13201    
Old January 19th, 2010 (9:18 PM).
colcolstyles's Avatar
colcolstyles colcolstyles is offline
Yours truly
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Bay Area
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 1,592
Quote:
Originally Posted by marinationstation View Post
I'm hacking (attempting to) Fire Red. I mapped out Pallet Town using Advanced Map. Here's my problem:

I put a "person" on the map, its actually a pokeball. I used a script on the pokeball for "giveitem". However, when I play the ROM in VBA, the pokeball is not where I placed it in Advanced Map.

What should I do?

Thanks in advance.
I can't be say for sure but if I had to take a stab at it, I'd say that you overwrote the girl in Pallet Town with the pokéball. If you play through a clean Fire Red ROM, you'll notice that the girl change positions depending on certain in-game conditions (e.g., sometimes she's walking around, sometimes she's by the northern exit, sometimes she's next to that signpost). If you create a brand new person event, the pokéball should work fine.
__________________

Brother of Vrai

Relevant Advertising!

  #13202    
Old January 20th, 2010 (6:08 AM). Edited January 20th, 2010 by marinationstation.
marinationstation marinationstation is offline
Brock loves Ash
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 3
Ok, i'll try that when i get home from school. Shhhh, comp. engineering class!

I have a couple other questions about ROM hacking, i'm not sure where i should ask them though. Should i post them in a thread or pm a member?
  #13203    
Old January 20th, 2010 (6:36 AM).
raupy's Avatar
raupy raupy is offline
A Visual Basic programmer
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Posts: 21
Hi,

I would like to hack the text in soul silver. I've got 15 files extracted. But I haven't got a tablefile. How I hack the Text?
__________________
▬|████|▬ This is Nudelholz. Copy Nudelholz in your Signatur to make better Kuchens and other Teigproducts!
(Nudelholz, teig and Kuchens are German Words, this is a German joke xD)
  #13204    
Old January 20th, 2010 (2:14 PM).
Azrael Infinity's Avatar
Azrael Infinity Azrael Infinity is offline
Pokemon Spriting Master!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 17
I ma currently working on a RUBY hack, called Pokemon Nightfall, it's two partner games are Pokemon Daybreak, and Pokemon Twilight.

I have been working ont hem for a very long time.

i believe the project started in 06, but i stopped working on them because it was friggin hard!

anyway, I am trying to insert a custom title screen, but every time i do, it looks all glitchy and such.

i am using unLZ

will anybody tell me what I'm doing wrong?

or a link to a tutorial?
__________________


Finished:
Pokemon Red Version Pokemon Blue Version
Pokemon Yellow Version
Pokemon Gold Version Pokemon Silver Version
Pokemon Crystal Version
Pokemon Ruby Version PokemonSapphire Version
Pokemon Emerald Version
Pokemon FireRed Version Pokemon LeafGreen Version
Pokemon XD Pokemon Coluseum

Working on:
Pokemon Platinum Version
  #13205    
Old January 20th, 2010 (3:14 PM).
Teh Blazer's Avatar
Teh Blazer Teh Blazer is offline
Divider of Zero
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 'MERICA
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 757
I just have one simple question to ask: What is the offset number for the Fire Red Logo on the front of the ROM? You know, for APE.
__________________
Being a hero is overrated anyways
  #13206    
Old January 20th, 2010 (7:30 PM).
chrunch chrunch is offline
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,333
each time I try to add a trainer radius to a trainer on a-map, when I walk up to them, they say an endless line of qaF, qaF, etc...
__________________
  #13207    
Old January 20th, 2010 (7:47 PM).
Toxicroak's Avatar
Toxicroak Toxicroak is offline
Mustard
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Posts: 461
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Toxicroak
Can you add new pokemon to D/P, if yes, how?
__________________
--

- Serperior - Giovanni - Bluno - The Fist - Don - Turok -
  #13208    
Old January 21st, 2010 (5:56 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
Memento Mori
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 14,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toxicroak View Post
Can you add new pokemon to D/P, if yes, how?
Yes but afaik we don't know how to do it so far...

@Teamrocketjessie : It shouldn't be problem... maybe just re-download your ROM.
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
  #13209    
Old January 21st, 2010 (5:57 AM).
Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
The Faltine
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenia
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,578
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrunch View Post
each time I try to add a trainer radius to a trainer on a-map, when I walk up to them, they say an endless line of qaF, qaF, etc...
Do they have an offset specified?
  #13210    
Old January 21st, 2010 (1:41 PM).
Toxicroak's Avatar
Toxicroak Toxicroak is offline
Mustard
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Posts: 461
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Toxicroak
Can you edit the title screen in D/P if so, how?
__________________
--

- Serperior - Giovanni - Bluno - The Fist - Don - Turok -
  #13211    
Old January 21st, 2010 (2:53 PM).
chrunch chrunch is offline
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,333
Quote:
Originally Posted by H2O Turquoise View Post
Do they have an offset specified?
No. They don't have a offset specified.
__________________
  #13212    
Old January 21st, 2010 (3:04 PM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
Oh Hai Thar~
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 8,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrunch
each time I try to add a trainer radius to a trainer on a-map, when I walk up to them, they say an endless line of qaF, qaF, etc...

No. They don't have a offset specified.
then that is maybe the problem.
see, even trainers has to have offsets on them.

you can view other Trainers which are already in the game via A-Map, and from there, you can see that the trainers has both a trainer radius and an offset.
__________________


FC: 0061-1111-6462
TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

  #13213    
Old January 21st, 2010 (8:43 PM).
Toxicroak's Avatar
Toxicroak Toxicroak is offline
Mustard
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Posts: 461
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Toxicroak
Im having trouble with the sprite editor in D/P i imoprt the picture without any errors in the image convertor i look at the sprites and theyre all there, but after i save it to the narc and re import it into the rom the origonal sprite is still the same, anyone know whats going on?
__________________
--

- Serperior - Giovanni - Bluno - The Fist - Don - Turok -
  #13214    
Old January 22nd, 2010 (11:36 AM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
hOI!!!!!! i'm tEMMIE!!
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Bashful
Posts: 3,487
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toxicroak View Post
Im having trouble with the sprite editor in D/P i imoprt the picture without any errors in the image convertor i look at the sprites and theyre all there, but after i save it to the narc and re import it into the rom the origonal sprite is still the same, anyone know whats going on?
I'm sure there is a tutorial for it somewhere. Try Searching Google or PC, as with all questions. this may have been answered before... I will try to find it myself.
__________________


Temmie vibrates intensely.

awwAwa cute!! (pets u)

OMG!! humans TOO CUTE (dies)

can't blame a BARK for tryin'...

RATED TEM OUTTA TEM.

  #13215    
Old January 22nd, 2010 (1:46 PM). Edited January 22nd, 2010 by Toxicroak.
Toxicroak's Avatar
Toxicroak Toxicroak is offline
Mustard
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Posts: 461
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Toxicroak
i know how to do the sprite replacing its just its not working this time.

EDIT: im trying to replace arceus so i replaced his alternate formes and the sprite imported but the colors were screwed up, any ideas?
__________________
--

- Serperior - Giovanni - Bluno - The Fist - Don - Turok -
  #13216    
Old January 22nd, 2010 (4:36 PM).
arpeejajo's Avatar
arpeejajo arpeejajo is offline
King Of Muay Thai
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Woodbridge, ON
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 36
I need help with replacing the back sprite of a Pokemon. I replace it successfully, but when I play the game it freezes once the player throws the Pokeball.
__________________
"A strong fighter is not one who always wins, but one who stands after defeat."

Free 3DS Games!
  #13217    
Old January 22nd, 2010 (7:11 PM).
Muffin™'s Avatar
Muffin™ Muffin™ is offline
Knows your age
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: sucking balls
Age: 6
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 429
Send a message via AIM to Muffin™
EDIT:FOUND OUT WHAT THE PROB WAS
__________________
>>>/v/
  #13218    
Old January 23rd, 2010 (1:49 AM).
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew HackMew is offline
Mewtwo Strikes Back
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by arpeejajo View Post
I need help with replacing the back sprite of a Pokemon. I replace it successfully, but when I play the game it freezes once the player throws the Pokeball.
In my book, that's not exactly "replacing successfully". Could you describe the exact steps you did?
__________________
  #13219    
Old January 23rd, 2010 (2:13 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
Memento Mori
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 14,226
I had the same problem once...
You have to insert new backsprite to new offset.
Then memorize the offset and then by using PEP write the offset to backsprite offset bar of pokemon you want.
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
  #13220    
Old January 23rd, 2010 (11:35 AM).
Denali's Avatar
Denali Denali is offline
C++ Programmer
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Michigan
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 195
So I made a warp to a new map and the only thing I get is a black screen when I try and go through it. I've checked in Advance Map that the warps to the two places are connected, and they are. But I just can't seem to figure out how to get them to work. Can anyone help me?
  #13221    
Old January 23rd, 2010 (11:40 AM).
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail Team Fail is offline
burning passion
ModeratorCS
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: yes
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 12,757
Quote:
Originally Posted by Denali View Post
So I made a warp to a new map and the only thing I get is a black screen when I try and go through it. I've checked in Advance Map that the warps to the two places are connected, and they are. But I just can't seem to figure out how to get them to work. Can anyone help me?
What happens when you open up the map that keeps freezing on A-map? If it doesn't say "Read beyond end of File", you may need to Repoint the map.
__________________
CONTENTS
001
  THE LAB
002
  VISITOR MESSAGE
003
  PRIVATE MESSAGE
004
  PUSHING BUTTONS
005
  PUSHING BUTTONS BLOG
006
  ALT
007
  PHO
008
  PAIR 1
009
  PAIR 2
010
  TWITTER
011
  TF'S MUSIC STUDIO
012
  PC DISCORD - #GENERAL
SEEN
151

OWN
151
DATA
CRY
AREA
QUIT
  #13222    
Old January 23rd, 2010 (11:43 AM). Edited January 23rd, 2010 by Denali.
Denali's Avatar
Denali Denali is offline
C++ Programmer
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Michigan
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 195
In A-Map it's fine. I can edit it, etc.

How do I repoint the map? Is that like re-setting the entrance to the new map?
  #13223    
Old January 23rd, 2010 (1:14 PM).
ElBurrito's Avatar
ElBurrito ElBurrito is offline
I'm not just any burrito. I am THE burrito.
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Middle of Nowhere, Missouri. 'Murica!.
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 394
I was wondering if it's possible to add more pokemon to a hack. i want more than just 386 pokemon in it.
  #13224    
Old January 23rd, 2010 (1:25 PM).
Hiche.. Hiche.. is offline
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 979
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElBurrito View Post
I was wondering if it's possible to add more pokemon to a hack. i want more than just 386 pokemon in it.
It's possible. Why don't you read through Documents and Tutorials? I am sure you will find a tutorial.
Here's one: Tutorial
  #13225    
Old January 23rd, 2010 (3:09 PM).
KajiVenator's Avatar
KajiVenator KajiVenator is offline
The Flame Huntzman
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: California
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 181
I'm looking for the tool for extracting a few images from Pokemon Mystery Dungeon Explorers of Sky. Would someone mind pointing me in the correct direction?
__________________
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 3:30 AM.