Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #13226    
Old January 23rd, 2010 (05:24 PM).
DisChineezBoi's Avatar
DisChineezBoi
graphical hacker-sucks at hex
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: A small town outside Vancouver.
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
I need to make teh ho-oh in the Goldses into a Entei. By which, I mean, I need to make it so that when you encounter the Ho-oh in Tin Tower, you battle an Entei instead. Also, does anyone know of a good, sturdy GSC gym leader editor, and can point me in that direction? Tankses.
__________________

Pokemon Gold will live on forever!



  #13227    
Old January 23rd, 2010 (05:49 PM).
HackChu's Avatar
HackChu
I need a haircut...
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bankrupt Amerika
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
UGH!!! I have searched high and low for this problem but I can't find it nor figuire it out, its driving me crazy!!!

I have inserted a Ash Intro sprite and Ash sprite for the trainer card...they insert fine but its the palttes. They seem to use the defaluts palettes that the sprites had before. For example I made Ash's bag green on the intro before I inserted it, it got inserted but the color was different. Being curious I opened in PS and used the color table to bring out Red's palettes and it turned out to look exactly the same as it did in game. I know it has something to do with the palettes here but I don't know what. Do I have to hex edit to add a new palette table so that the new colors I add show?

Someone please help.
__________________
Join us!

My 'learning how to combine battle scripts' thread:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=183001

SoulSilver FC:1162 1864 5409
Name: Ethan

Black FC: 2666 1354 4379
Name: Ashton

White 2 FC: 1120 8065 3049
Name: Nate

3DS Friend Code: 1349-4646-2412
Name: tysonrss
  #13228    
Old January 23rd, 2010 (05:52 PM).
trebornosliw's Avatar
trebornosliw
Learning
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
You can actually insert Ash's pallete with the new sprite, just select "import pallette" when you import the OW. Problem is, any other sprites using that pallete will also be changed.
__________________
Credit for my avatar goes to the Lego company.
  #13229    
Old January 23rd, 2010 (05:55 PM).
HackChu's Avatar
HackChu
I need a haircut...
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bankrupt Amerika
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Thanks but not OWs, Sprites, like the ones that actually show the character. I know all about OWs and have hex edited some...thanks though.
__________________
Join us!

My 'learning how to combine battle scripts' thread:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=183001

SoulSilver FC:1162 1864 5409
Name: Ethan

Black FC: 2666 1354 4379
Name: Ashton

White 2 FC: 1120 8065 3049
Name: Nate

3DS Friend Code: 1349-4646-2412
Name: tysonrss
  #13230    
Old January 23rd, 2010 (06:09 PM).
trebornosliw's Avatar
trebornosliw
Learning
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Oh, sorry. I misunderstood the question :\
I am an absolute disaster with sprite insertion, but you might be able to find some useful info/tools in this thread: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=85025&highlight=braille
It's Hackmew's tools thread, with APE, or Advance Pallette Editor. Of course, you're probably already using this too, and I'm just being obnoxious now
__________________
Credit for my avatar goes to the Lego company.
  #13231    
Old January 23rd, 2010 (06:14 PM).
HackChu's Avatar
HackChu
I need a haircut...
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bankrupt Amerika
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Lol yeah its fine but I know all about this, but at least your helping
__________________
Join us!

My 'learning how to combine battle scripts' thread:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=183001

SoulSilver FC:1162 1864 5409
Name: Ethan

Black FC: 2666 1354 4379
Name: Ashton

White 2 FC: 1120 8065 3049
Name: Nate

3DS Friend Code: 1349-4646-2412
Name: tysonrss
  #13232    
Old January 23rd, 2010 (07:12 PM).
powerprotector
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
I need help with getting the map banks for the cave of origin on emerald to appear. When ever I try to enter the room is completely black and I can only move my character to look around. I want to use these unused maps for my hack so if anyone knows how to get this to appear normally it will really help me.
  #13233    
Old January 24th, 2010 (01:56 AM).
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote originally posted by tyson:
UGH!!! I have searched high and low for this problem but I can't find it nor figuire it out, its driving me crazy!!!

I have inserted a Ash Intro sprite and Ash sprite for the trainer card...they insert fine but its the palttes. They seem to use the defaluts palettes that the sprites had before. For example I made Ash's bag green on the intro before I inserted it, it got inserted but the color was different. Being curious I opened in PS and used the color table to bring out Red's palettes and it turned out to look exactly the same as it did in game. I know it has something to do with the palettes here but I don't know what. Do I have to hex edit to add a new palette table so that the new colors I add show?

Someone please help.
Edit the palette first. Then make sure the new sprite colors match properly.


Quote originally posted by powerprotector:
I need help with getting the map banks for the cave of origin on emerald to appear. When ever I try to enter the room is completely black and I can only move my character to look around. I want to use these unused maps for my hack so if anyone knows how to get this to appear normally it will really help me.
Have you tried looking at the level script?
__________________
  #13234    
Old January 24th, 2010 (04:46 AM).
HackChu's Avatar
HackChu
I need a haircut...
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bankrupt Amerika
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Wow thanks hackmew...im confused though, sorry if it seems im being newbish i just get confused easy.
__________________
Join us!

My 'learning how to combine battle scripts' thread:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=183001

SoulSilver FC:1162 1864 5409
Name: Ethan

Black FC: 2666 1354 4379
Name: Ashton

White 2 FC: 1120 8065 3049
Name: Nate

3DS Friend Code: 1349-4646-2412
Name: tysonrss
  #13235    
Old January 24th, 2010 (05:51 AM).
ElBurrito's Avatar
ElBurrito
Trainer of Shadows
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Is it possible to add more pokemon to a hack? I woulld like more than just 386 pokemon in my hack.
  #13236    
Old January 24th, 2010 (07:49 AM).
Night-Shade's Avatar
Night-Shade
Working On Pokemon Night Shade
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Gender: Male
hey i'm hacking ruby on the title screen were it says ruby version how do you change to be something else
__________________

[FONT=Times New Roman]Pokemon Night Shade
Coming Soon
Hacks I Support
[SPOILER]






Pokemon Night Shade
Website:
Night-Shade.tk
Post
Coming Soon
Email:
[email protected]
PS I Dont Go On Msn
  #13237    
Old January 24th, 2010 (09:36 AM). Edited January 24th, 2010 by simonrule18.
simonrule18's Avatar
simonrule18
Iwant to create my own pokemon
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to simonrule18 Send a message via Yahoo to simonrule18
can any give tutorials in how change pokemon font with "tile molester"

can any one give name of this font in pictures please
  #13238    
Old January 24th, 2010 (10:32 AM).
Chaos Rush's Avatar
Chaos Rush
im sexy and i know it
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylor Swift
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
If I talk to a person event I created, the game freezes (but with music still playing). This is what the event & script looks like:
http://img51.imageshack.us/img51/3700/freezewtf.png
http://img502.imageshack.us/img502/1209/ugh2.png

If I talk to that person in game, it freezes. This also happened with another person event I made, and the only way I can fix it is if I overwrite an existing script.
__________________
  #13239    
Old January 24th, 2010 (02:07 PM).
Toxicroak's Avatar
Toxicroak
Mustard
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Toxicroak
can i change the main characters sprites in diamond and peaarl? the overworld and the battle sprites
__________________
--

- Serperior - Giovanni - Bluno - The Fist - Don - Turok -
  #13240    
Old January 24th, 2010 (02:08 PM).
Denali's Avatar
Denali
C++ Programmer
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Michigan
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Okay I have a question. I am remodeling the inside of the Pokémon Mansion with differetn tiles. But when I enter the mansion in VBA it is very dark. How could I make it so it looks like any other building's inside?
  #13241    
Old January 24th, 2010 (02:38 PM).
~Hot n' Cold~'s Avatar
~Hot n' Cold~
is too good for a title.
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Michigan
Age: 18
Gender: Female
Nature: Naive
-Map Question-

This is what the top floor of what my house looks like...


This is the bottom. When I come down from the upstairs...


This happens. You can walk down right one tile, but you can only walk one. You can walk down, and but you cannot get back upstairs. Also...


This is what it looks like at the bottom of the screen. (Sorry for the blurry picture.) If you look at the map above, you can see that it looks just fine in the picture.


Check this out - the cop at the top of the screen is obviously standing there next to Nidoran. However, when you look in game...


He is, for reasons unknown, not next to Nidoran, and instead is standing the opposite direction facing inside the tree.

Sorry for the long post and thanks in advance!
__________________
  #13242    
Old January 24th, 2010 (03:04 PM).
BlitŻ's Avatar
BlitŻ
guahh my dog is so cute
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bay Area, Califronia.
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote originally posted by ~Hot n' Cold~:
-Map Question-

This is what the top floor of what my house looks like...


This is the bottom. When I come down from the upstairs...


This happens. You can walk down right one tile, but you can only walk one. You can walk down, and but you cannot get back upstairs. Also...


This is what it looks like at the bottom of the screen. (Sorry for the blurry picture.) If you look at the map above, you can see that it looks just fine in the picture.


Check this out - the cop at the top of the screen is obviously standing there next to Nidoran. However, when you look in game...


He is, for reasons unknown, not next to Nidoran, and instead is standing the opposite direction facing inside the tree.

Sorry for the long post and thanks in advance!
For the first problem: Move the warp right one tile, and it should work correctly.

2nd: Did you make this map as a new map in a new bank or existing one? That problem happened to me when I did that, but if not, try making a new tile via the block editor and replace those tiles. If its still not working, ask here again :/

3rd:Change his person event number,your problem happened to me a alot, and I just changed it to one another event isn't using and it worked.
__________________
  #13243    
Old January 24th, 2010 (03:09 PM).
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote originally posted by BlitŻ:
3rd:Change his person event number,your problem happened to me a alot, and I just changed it to one another event isn't using and it worked.
Changing the person event number won't fix it. The problem happens because the level script in that map moves that person. The solution would be removing the part of the script which is doing that. Tipically that happens when replacing Pallet Town or Viriadian City.
__________________
  #13244    
Old January 24th, 2010 (03:19 PM).
BlitŻ's Avatar
BlitŻ
guahh my dog is so cute
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bay Area, Califronia.
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote originally posted by HackMew:
Changing the person event number won't fix it. The problem happens because the level script in that map moves that person. The solution would be removing the part of the script which is doing that. Tipically that happens when replacing Pallet Town or Viriadian City.
Oh, then that makes perfect sense why it kept happening to me , but wouldn't changing the person event also fix it because, the script in viridian city moves person event number 4, so if you change it doesn't get moved.
__________________
  #13245    
Old January 24th, 2010 (03:35 PM).
Denali's Avatar
Denali
C++ Programmer
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Michigan
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
The inside of the Pokémon Mansion gives the impression of being dark and eerie. Anyone know how to make it be normal, like in a house?
  #13246    
Old January 24th, 2010 (03:44 PM).
BlitŻ's Avatar
BlitŻ
guahh my dog is so cute
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bay Area, Califronia.
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote originally posted by Denali:
The inside of the Pokémon Mansion gives the impression of being dark and eerie. Anyone know how to make it be normal, like in a house?
Change the weather from cloudy to regular
__________________
  #13247    
Old January 24th, 2010 (03:51 PM).
Denali's Avatar
Denali
C++ Programmer
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Michigan
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Thanks so much! That would've bugged me....
Oh I also have another question. How do you change the picture of when you warp into the Pokémon Mansion to something different? Or just turn it off altogether?
  #13248    
Old January 24th, 2010 (04:17 PM).
BlitŻ's Avatar
BlitŻ
guahh my dog is so cute
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bay Area, Califronia.
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote originally posted by Denali:
Thanks so much! That would've bugged me....
Oh I also have another question. How do you change the picture of when you warp into the Pokémon Mansion to something different? Or just turn it off altogether?
Put the map in a bank other than 1, or you can change the show name on entering to something other than 007, but I'm not sure about that because I have never tried
__________________
  #13249    
Old January 25th, 2010 (09:07 AM).
Xatoku's Avatar
Xatoku
Game Developer
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Gender: Male
Does anybody know how I would go about removing the option to be a girl?
  #13250    
Old January 25th, 2010 (09:16 AM).
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote originally posted by Xatoku:
Does anybody know how I would go about removing the option to be a girl?
You can by ASM hacking the intro.
__________________
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 04:58 PM.