The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.


Advertise here

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #13451    
Old February 9th, 2010, 11:55 PM
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely

Advertise here
Quote:
Originally Posted by icychill66 View Post
but that is just simply changing the sprites of pokemon. I'm wondering how to actually change the frequency of them appearing in the wild.
It may require some ASM knowledge. So... Basically, to any "hacker" that is new, it isn't possible, but if you ask ASM hackers, they say use ASM. As well as others.

Basically. ASM knowledge is needed.
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...


Nerves o
f Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

  #13452    
Old February 10th, 2010, 01:45 AM
Maco's Avatar
Maco
learning the ropes...
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Sorry for a long post below, I wanted to explain what I did clearly.

I've been trying to replace a Pokemon sprite in Fire Red with a revamped version of the Yellow Version Charmander I made. I coloured and indexed the file in photoshop, the revamped sprite is 64x64 pixels and uses the same transparent colour as the original (a light-brown colour).

When I import using Hackmew's unLZ, I tick all three boxes, and allocate the new sprite to an empty space suggested by Free Space Finder.

The intended new sprite and the result in-game:
Spoiler:



I've read many guides for this, and I've searched all over google and this thread for three days with no luck. Thanks in advance for the help.
  #13453    
Old February 10th, 2010, 02:26 AM
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by icychill66 View Post
I haven't seen anything about this, but does anyone know how to manipulate the shinyness? I would like to make wild encounters have a 1:400 or so chance of being shiny, rather than the 1:8,000 or whatever the exact number is. Is this possible to do?
The actual chances are 1/8192. Manipulating the shininess is not a good idea, anyway. You would have to ASM hack a lot of routines, and traded shinies would not be shiny any more. The closest thing you can get is through the Shinyzer and some level scripts: with a bit of randomness, you could increase the chances of finding a shiny.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ps:hi View Post
The only way that I know is

Spoiler:
to go into pokepic and export the shiny, and regular pictures, swap them with paint, import them back to pokepic, compress it to the rom, then try that.
Changing all the sprites is not that smart... it would have been definitely better to just replace the palette pointers, eventually. But anyway, doing that would result in all Pokémon looking shiny, even if they aren't.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Maco View Post
Sorry for a long post below, I wanted to explain what I did clearly.

I've been trying to replace a Pokemon sprite in Fire Red with a revamped version of the Yellow Version Charmander I made. I coloured and indexed the file in photoshop, the revamped sprite is 64x64 pixels and uses the same transparent colour as the original (a light-brown colour).

When I import using Hackmew's unLZ, I tick all three boxes, and allocate the new sprite to an empty space suggested by Free Space Finder.

The intended new sprite and the result in-game:
Spoiler:



I've read many guides for this, and I've searched all over google and this thread for three days with no luck. :( Thanks in advance for the help.
What offsets did you use?
__________________
  #13454    
Old February 10th, 2010, 03:19 AM
Maco's Avatar
Maco
learning the ropes...
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
0800000 (sprite) and 0800010 (palette). These were the first values to pop up in Free Space Finder.
A tutorial told me to separate the 2, and have the palette coming after.
  #13455    
Old February 10th, 2010, 04:16 AM
ryu15
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Gender: Male
Hi, do you know how can I change Lucas' name if I chosen Dawn as character in Pokemon Platinum? I want him to be named Diamond. Doable?
EDIT: ^$#^#!&!!!!!!! damn... what a fail

Last edited by ryu15; February 10th, 2010 at 12:48 PM. Reason: fail
  #13456    
Old February 10th, 2010, 05:25 AM
icychill66
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Ok, changing shinyness probability doesn't sound like the best thing to do, now. However, forgive my noobness..., I keep seeing this ASM thing coming up. I've tried to figure out what it is, but I don't know what it stands for. Could someone please tell me:
1. What is ASM?
2. What does it do?
3. Where can I learn how to do it?

thanks

Sorry, for the double post, but I just remembered that ASM stands for assembly language! haha anyways, I still would like to know how to learn to ASM hack the game.

Last edited by icychill66; February 10th, 2010 at 05:31 AM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
  #13457    
Old February 10th, 2010, 06:21 AM
Ps:hi's Avatar
Ps:hi
mr.MEGA HACK
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ...
Nature: Brave
I have this weird problem...

Whenever I do at least 3 hacks, and I test it out, The games sound gets all glitch y,
Then most of the time the game freezes.

Help?
__________________

Last edited by Ps:hi; February 10th, 2010 at 06:42 AM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
  #13458    
Old February 10th, 2010, 07:45 AM
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maco View Post
0800000 (sprite) and 0800010 (palette). These were the first values to pop up in Free Space Finder.
A tutorial told me to separate the 2, and have the palette coming after.
Well... The difference between the two offsets is too small. The sprite is inserted at 0x800000, while the palette is inserted just 16 bytes after, which is definitely not enough. Not to say you don't need to change the palette offset at all because you can just overwrite it. Reinsert it again, this time using the old palette offset and if you did it correctly, everything should be fine.


Quote:
Originally Posted by icychill66 View Post
Sorry, for the double post, but I just remembered that ASM stands for assembly language! haha anyways, I still would like to know how to learn to ASM hack the game.
You might want to use the search function; I've got some tutorials in my Knowledge thread. The link is my signature.
__________________
  #13459    
Old February 10th, 2010, 11:13 AM
Maco's Avatar
Maco
learning the ropes...
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by HackMew View Post
Well... The difference between the two offsets is too small. The sprite is inserted at 0x800000, while the palette is inserted just 16 bytes after, which is definitely not enough. Not to say you don't need to change the palette offset at all because you can just overwrite it. Reinsert it again, this time using the old palette offset and if you did it correctly, everything should be fine.
I've had some success with replacing the palette and inserting the image in some free space, but the transparency colour isn't working and there are 5 random dots where the black colour has turned to white along the outline (sign of too many colours when indexed?):
Spoiler:

Last edited by Maco; February 10th, 2010 at 11:28 AM.
  #13460    
Old February 10th, 2010, 11:24 AM
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maco View Post
When I do just replace the old sprite, I get the "Compressed size is too big" error. I'm thinking maybe I have more than 16 colours in the image, although I did specify 16 colours when indexing in photoshop. Perhaps I'm not doing that right?
No. Which tutorial is it?

Anyway, you tried the image BEFORE the pallette? No, the Pallette needs to be 2 lines above the Image, NOT the image before the pallette, so instead of 0800000 (sprite) and 0800010 (palette), it should go: 0800000 (pallette HEX) and 0800010 (Sprite HEX).
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...


Nerves o
f Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

  #13461    
Old February 10th, 2010, 11:28 AM
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deviation View Post

Anyway, you tried the image BEFORE the pallette? No, the Pallette needs to be 2 lines above the Image, NOT the image before the pallette, so instead of 0800000 (sprite) and 0800010 (palette), it should go: 0800000 (pallette HEX) and 0800010 (Sprite HEX).
Well, why repointing the palette at all?
__________________
  #13462    
Old February 10th, 2010, 11:37 AM
Muffin™'s Avatar
Muffin™
Knows your age
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: sucking balls
Age: 3
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Send a message via AIM to Muffin™
I've got a question. Does anyone know how to hide all of the sprites? (Besides the player, of course!) Because I'm making a hack and there's 8 people I want to hide, and only 3 disappear.
__________________
>>>/v/
  #13463    
Old February 10th, 2010, 11:41 AM
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Septile View Post
I've got a question. Does anyone know how to hide all of the sprites? (Besides the player, of course!) Because I'm making a hack and there's 8 people I want to hide, and only 3 disappear.
Do you need to hide them just temporarily?
__________________
  #13464    
Old February 10th, 2010, 11:46 AM
Muffin™'s Avatar
Muffin™
Knows your age
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: sucking balls
Age: 3
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Send a message via AIM to Muffin™
No, like disappear. EX: 8 people (fadescreen) all of there sprites disappear
__________________
>>>/v/
  #13465    
Old February 10th, 2010, 11:50 AM
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Septile View Post
No, like disappear. EX: 8 people (fadescreen) all of there sprites disappear
Then do this. Set the People ID for those 8 people just the same value. Then, in the script, put a fadescreen, then 8 hidesprite and setflag with the People ID value you set.
__________________
  #13466    
Old February 10th, 2010, 11:53 AM
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote:
Originally Posted by HackMew View Post
Well, why repointing the palette at all?
Why ask? Maybe he is inserting a Pokemon into the 25 Unknown slots? Anyway, his motives shouldn't be questioned.

Anyway, Maco, I suggest using a tutorial by torferno-x (I think that is his name), and of you get confused, ask me. But the pallette should be first n Hex, THEN the image 2 lines after, if inserting into Free Space.
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...


Nerves o
f Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

  #13467    
Old February 10th, 2010, 11:57 AM
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deviation View Post

Why ask? Maybe he is inserting a Pokemon into the 25 Unknown slots? Anyway, his motives shouldn't be questioned.
Consider it was a revamped Charmander, I assumed he was replacing the original Charmander sprite. Anyway, Maco, could you post the sprite you're trying to insert?
__________________
  #13468    
Old February 10th, 2010, 01:34 PM
mgarciai
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Heres a picture to show my problem.
I'm not allowed to post urls yet. But I thought this would be the easiest way to describe my problem.

Why did Red get discolored like that when I switch him and Blue?
Same thing happened in Emerald when I switched Brendan and Wally.

img189.imageshack.us/img189/6789/27347386.jpg
  #13469    
Old February 10th, 2010, 02:41 PM
Maco's Avatar
Maco
learning the ropes...
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
You mean the indexed sprite right?
im away from my computer now, ill upload it when i get home.
@deviation i was going to replace the original charmander sprite with my revamp
  #13470    
Old February 10th, 2010, 03:14 PM
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgarciai View Post
Heres a picture to show my problem.
I'm not allowed to post urls yet. >_> But I thought this would be the easiest way to describe my problem.

Why did Red get discolored like that when I switch him and Blue?
Same thing happened in Emerald when I switched Brendan and Wally.

img189.imageshack.us/img189/6789/27347386.jpg
The problem is the pallete. Red and Green (yeah, Green actually) use different palettes, and therefore it doesn't look good.
__________________
  #13471    
Old February 10th, 2010, 04:14 PM
mgarciai
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by HackMew View Post
The problem is the pallete. Red and Green (yeah, Green actually) use different palettes, and therefore it doesn't look good.
Should've been clearer.
What would the best way be to fix that?
I changed the palette applied at the bottom to the one normally used by red then it would have worked. However, I guess even if I reassign it in OWE that the palette will go back to the one originally used by Green/Blue/Gary/Rival/ Oaks' Grandson/ W/e (lol) had?

What I want to avoid is changing a palette that will then affect every other trainer on the overworld.

Eh... I changed it from the one it was using to 16 and now it seems to work.

Now the only other small thing that is bothering me is that arrows when leaving a building or the exclamation mark on top of the player character are green. Normally, they are white. How is the color of these items affected? Are they part of the main character ow sprite?

Last edited by mgarciai; February 10th, 2010 at 04:23 PM. Reason: solved own problem
  #13472    
Old February 10th, 2010, 05:14 PM
mattattack's Avatar
mattattack
Huh, Son?
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Why would you care?
Nature: Jolly
I asked the same question in diego's tut but i think it should go here: How to do you trigger those green script squares in A-map. (IE you land on it and a person comes toward you) and what is a variable? like LASTRESULT?
__________________
Sometimes...it's hell before you get to heaven...

My Trainer Card


Help me raise my pokemon!

Cre....Creselia!!?!?!?!?!?!
  #13473    
Old February 10th, 2010, 06:19 PM
Neutral12's Avatar
Neutral12
The EV Trainer
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Under your bed
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via AIM to Neutral12 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Neutral12 Send a message via Yahoo to Neutral12
How do I edit default trainer sprites to make them custom trainers? I have no idea what i'm doing and I have been trying to figure it out all day.
  #13474    
Old February 10th, 2010, 06:26 PM
mgarciai
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by neutral12 View Post
How do I edit default trainer sprites to make them custom trainers? I have no idea what i'm doing and I have been trying to figure it out all day.
Well, for the overworld sprite just use the overworld editor.
For the trainer icon on the trainer card you can use unLZ.gba and look for the section with the trainer sprites and eventually find it there and change it however you want. Just have to make sure the icon is compatible (indexed)

Before you write in it using unLZ.gba youre gonna want to find free space, so look for fsf and tutorials on how to use that.

As for the trainer backsprite, well that one gets harder. I used tma, tile molester alternate, but Im sure theres an easier way to do that... right?
  #13475    
Old February 10th, 2010, 06:46 PM
Neutral12's Avatar
Neutral12
The EV Trainer
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Under your bed
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via AIM to Neutral12 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Neutral12 Send a message via Yahoo to Neutral12
I'm so lost, I tried looking in the tutorials section and it doesn't help me because I have no idea on what i'm exactly looking for. I'm trying to edit the trainer battle sprite. I'm trying to replace Brandons sprite with a different sprite that I made myself, but i'm so confused and lost I don't know what i'm doing. As far as I know I know unLZ is involved, but whenever I try to import the one I made it gives me an error message saying that it's not indexed... So yea over all i'm confused and lost big time.
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links


Advertise here
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 06:28 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.