Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #13801    
Old March 10th, 2010 (12:34 AM).
Maco's Avatar
Maco Maco is offline
learning the ropes...
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 72
Quote originally posted by Shadow_Knux:
Does anyone know the XSE script commands to play music when you talk to someone (like the gym leaders) in FireRed? A brief explanation or link to a tutorial would be great; I can't find one anywhere.
There's a guide in the help file of XSE itself.

Click 'Help', 'Guide', then find the 'Practical Classroom' section. At the bottom of 'Dialogs' is a brief guide on music scripting.
__________________
Need help replacing Pokemon sprites? Tutorial here.
  #13802    
Old March 10th, 2010 (12:39 AM).
Stash23's Avatar
Stash23 Stash23 is offline
Interested In Hacking; Noob Lv
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 21
Hey, all.

I have an issue when making a new map. I'm keen to inserting, replacing and tiling the map. That's all good with me. So I'll put you in my position so you can understand where I would need help at.

I highlight Mt. Moon, create new map, insert it into an empty map SLOT. (So for FireRed, Bank 1, Map Slot 123. I manually create a new map slot.) After I assemble my new cave map and added movement permissions (C's and 1's), I added the warp points. No scripts are implemented. It has environment setups; regular cave, regular weather, Tanoby Ruins music.

Well, when I run the game, I can enter the cave from the outside (and here comes the problems) but trying to exit from inside won't allow me. I ID'ed the warp point from the cave exit Unknown 3 however still no luck. Also, it being a cave, I'd assume I can run within it, I cannot. Nor would it let me pull out the bike. I get the message from Oak saying I can't use it.

So I'm wondering if there's something I'm missing. I've tried many things thinking that the program had to have things done specifically.
...I don't know what else there could be.

Thanks.
__________________



  #13803    
Old March 10th, 2010 (02:11 AM).
Skara's Avatar
Skara Skara is offline
THIS. IS. SEMPITERNAL.
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Manchester, England
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 350
How do I change the music in Pokémon Firered to anything I want?
__________________
I'VE LEFT THIS ACCOUNT. Here is my new profile
  #13804    
Old March 10th, 2010 (08:34 AM).
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail Team Fail is online now
Dragon at heart
Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 9,801
Quote originally posted by Stash23:
Hey, all.

I have an issue when making a new map. I'm keen to inserting, replacing and tiling the map. That's all good with me. So I'll put you in my position so you can understand where I would need help at.

I highlight Mt. Moon, create new map, insert it into an empty map SLOT. (So for FireRed, Bank 1, Map Slot 123. I manually create a new map slot.) After I assemble my new cave map and added movement permissions (C's and 1's), I added the warp points. No scripts are implemented. It has environment setups; regular cave, regular weather, Tanoby Ruins music.

Well, when I run the game, I can enter the cave from the outside (and here comes the problems) but trying to exit from inside won't allow me. I ID'ed the warp point from the cave exit Unknown 3 however still no luck. Also, it being a cave, I'd assume I can run within it, I cannot. Nor would it let me pull out the bike. I get the message from Oak saying I can't use it.

So I'm wondering if there's something I'm missing. I've tried many things thinking that the program had to have things done specifically.
...I don't know what else there could be.

Thanks.
This one got me, too. There is an identical tile that has a "Warp" command, where if you put a warp on it, and step on the tile, there will be a downwards-pointing arrow that will enable the warp to work properly. That's the tile to use on the warp.

As for the bike, I'm still looking for a fix to that.
Quote originally posted by Skara:
How do I change the music in Pokémon Firered to anything I want?
What do you mean? Changing the music a map plays? Or taking a song in the game and replacing it with a custom song?
__________________
| | | | |
PM | VM
PC Minecraft Bukkit Server Moderator

Do the best with whatever you can today.
Then tomorrow, you will have surely progressed.

Mario & Luigi: Dream Team - Dreamy Somnom Labyrinth
  #13805    
Old March 10th, 2010 (10:31 AM).
Stash23's Avatar
Stash23 Stash23 is offline
Interested In Hacking; Noob Lv
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 21
Quote originally posted by Team Fail:
There is an identical tile that has a "Warp" command, where if you put a warp on it, and step on the tile, there will be a downwards-pointing arrow that will enable the warp to work properly. That's the tile to use on the warp.
I'm using tilesets 0 and 15, btw. I just looked through the tilesets... I don't see any other identical tile.
__________________



  #13806    
Old March 10th, 2010 (12:08 PM).
Midori's Avatar
Midori Midori is offline
Deep Sea Tentacruel
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Age: 25
Gender: Female
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 30
Does anybody know the size a learned moveset table needs to be to store 14 moves? I need to know the size to input in FSF to find the space to write and repoint my fakemon move table to.
  #13807    
Old March 10th, 2010 (12:09 PM).
PeregrineFig's Avatar
PeregrineFig PeregrineFig is offline
Starting Pokémon Obsidian
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Michigan, USA
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Hardy
Posts: 202
What I'd like to know is, how can I change what music plays during a battle? I've analyzed both the scrips and trainer data, and cannot determine what indicates the battle music to be played (normal battle, gym leader battle, etc). I'd greatly appreciate if someone could explain to me how to edit this.
__________________
Current Projects:
POKéMON AQUA SAPPHIRE
POKéMON OBSIDIAN

  #13808    
Old March 10th, 2010 (12:10 PM).
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail Team Fail is online now
Dragon at heart
Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 9,801
Quote originally posted by Stash23:
I'm using tilesets 0 and 15, btw. I just looked through the tilesets... I don't see any other identical tile.
It's near the top of the 2nd tileset. They look the same. Use the tile editor to determine which is which.
__________________
| | | | |
PM | VM
PC Minecraft Bukkit Server Moderator

Do the best with whatever you can today.
Then tomorrow, you will have surely progressed.

Mario & Luigi: Dream Team - Dreamy Somnom Labyrinth
  #13809    
Old March 10th, 2010 (12:39 PM).
Midori's Avatar
Midori Midori is offline
Deep Sea Tentacruel
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Age: 25
Gender: Female
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 30
Does anybody know the minimum space taken up by a move table, and how much each move afterwards takes up in bytes?
  #13810    
Old March 10th, 2010 (01:34 PM).
Dark Palkia Dark Palkia is offline
Learning English xB
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chile! =P
Gender:
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 3
Hi guys, this is my first time here and also the first time I try to hack a pokemon ruby file...

How do you edit the Pokenav data? The map, the text wich displays on each tile of the map, the trainer calls data, the contests...?
__________________
By Me xP

  #13811    
Old March 10th, 2010 (03:06 PM).
altariaking's Avatar
altariaking altariaking is offline
Needs NO VMs...
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Scotland, Lesmahagow
Age: 40
Gender: Male
Nature: Naive
Posts: 1,098
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to altariaking
most of that i don't think is possible except changing the map. i think there was a tutorial in the documents and tutorials section.

now, i have a really big problem with emerald. i open it in a-map, and the tiles look all glitchy. then, it crashes
__________________
http://www.pokecommunity.com/member.php?u=253113
  #13812    
Old March 10th, 2010 (03:44 PM).
PeregrineFig's Avatar
PeregrineFig PeregrineFig is offline
Starting Pokémon Obsidian
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Michigan, USA
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Hardy
Posts: 202
Quote originally posted by Dark Palkia:
Hi guys, this is my first time here and also the first time I try to hack a pokemon ruby file...

How do you edit the Pokenav data? The map, the text wich displays on each tile of the map, the trainer calls data, the contests...?
You'd need more extensive hacking skills to edit the trainer eyes thingy and the contest info, but you can hack the map with unLZ and the map tiles with AdvanceMap. There are tutorials floating around for world map hacking.
__________________
Current Projects:
POKéMON AQUA SAPPHIRE
POKéMON OBSIDIAN

  #13813    
Old March 10th, 2010 (04:04 PM).
ninnyjams ninnyjams is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 4
I can't seem to find much information on this... but so far most of the hacks I've tried don't have netplay. Or if they do, I'm not finding them? I'm looking for a hack that my friend and I can play, eventually build a team and go battle eachother at the bottom of a pokemon center. Do most hacks take this out, or...?
  #13814    
Old March 10th, 2010 (04:40 PM).
Team Rocket's Raichu Team Rocket's Raichu is offline
Bye-Bye!
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Age: 19
Posts: 535
Quote originally posted by ninnyjams:
I can't seem to find much information on this... but so far most of the hacks I've tried don't have netplay. Or if they do, I'm not finding them? I'm looking for a hack that my friend and I can play, eventually build a team and go battle eachother at the bottom of a pokemon center. Do most hacks take this out, or...?
VBALink. Google it. I'm not sure if I can link to it.
__________________

I'm a supermod of that forum.

I've left, bye PC.
  #13815    
Old March 10th, 2010 (05:08 PM).
PeregrineFig's Avatar
PeregrineFig PeregrineFig is offline
Starting Pokémon Obsidian
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Michigan, USA
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Hardy
Posts: 202
It shouldn't be terribly difficult to make a Pokeball event give you the Pokemon. Just make the pokeball on the map, and write your script something like this: (written in XSE format here)

Spoiler:

#dynamic 0x740000
#org @start
lock
givepokemon 0x(species) 0x(level) 0x0 0x0 0x0
call @vars
showmsg @text MSG_KEEPOPEN
closeonkeypress
showmsg @text2 MSG_YESNO
compare 0x800D 0x1
if 0x1 call @nickname
setflag 0x(flag)
release
end

#org @vars
copyvar 0x8012 0x8013
return

#org @nickname
fadescreen 0x1
special 0x9E
waitstate
return

#org @text
= \v\h01 received a \v\h02!

#org @text2
= Would you like to give a nickname to\nthis \v\h02?

If you use that script, make sure to set the flag used as the person ID of the pokeball event.
__________________
Current Projects:
POKéMON AQUA SAPPHIRE
POKéMON OBSIDIAN

  #13816    
Old March 10th, 2010 (05:10 PM).
Team Rocket's Raichu Team Rocket's Raichu is offline
Bye-Bye!
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Age: 19
Posts: 535
Can I make it where a script gives you six Pokemon instead of just one?
__________________

I'm a supermod of that forum.

I've left, bye PC.
  #13817    
Old March 10th, 2010 (05:14 PM).
PeregrineFig's Avatar
PeregrineFig PeregrineFig is offline
Starting Pokémon Obsidian
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Michigan, USA
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Hardy
Posts: 202
Quote originally posted by Team Rocket's Raichu:
Can I make it where a script gives you six Pokemon instead of just one?
I think that'd just be a regular givepokemon script on steroids, wouldn't it? Just make sure the player can't possibly already have a pokemon when it's executed or that would cause problems.
__________________
Current Projects:
POKéMON AQUA SAPPHIRE
POKéMON OBSIDIAN

  #13818    
Old March 10th, 2010 (05:17 PM).
Team Rocket's Raichu Team Rocket's Raichu is offline
Bye-Bye!
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Age: 19
Posts: 535
Quote originally posted by PeregrineFig:
I think that'd just be a regular givepokemon script on steroids, wouldn't it? Just make sure the player can't possibly already have a pokemon when it's executed or that would cause problems.
I guess I'll gust ask HackMew.
__________________

I'm a supermod of that forum.

I've left, bye PC.
  #13819    
Old March 10th, 2010 (08:09 PM).
ninnyjams ninnyjams is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 4
Quote originally posted by Team Rocket's Raichu:
VBALink. Google it. I'm not sure if I can link to it.
No, I know about VBALink, but most of the hacks I've tried don't even have the room beneath the Pokecenters for battling. Or am I just thinking wrong and that wasn't ever how it was done on the GBA? It's been awhile since I played one of them, the last one I did play was Silver, I remember having to take the stairs in the Pokecenter to go under it and talk to the lady at the desk so I could link up. Most of these hacks (so far, checking the first two pokecenters in each) don't have the stairs to even go down. Is it done differently, is it only at later pokecenters, or should I move on and keep trying hacks? Because it's awfully hard to find hacks that are finished/etc.
  #13820    
Old March 10th, 2010 (10:50 PM). Edited March 11th, 2010 by Destiny..
Destiny.'s Avatar
Destiny. Destiny. is offline
The Absol Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Gender: Female
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 164
EDIT:
Figured out how to hack Game Corner Pokemon in GBC
__________________




http://www.mediafire.com/?zzn4ynwzned
  #13821    
Old March 11th, 2010 (05:21 AM).
PeregrineFig's Avatar
PeregrineFig PeregrineFig is offline
Starting Pokémon Obsidian
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Michigan, USA
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Hardy
Posts: 202
Pokecenters didn't start having basements until D/P. There's no way that I know of even with VBALink to battle someone over the internet on a GBA ROM.
__________________
Current Projects:
POKéMON AQUA SAPPHIRE
POKéMON OBSIDIAN

  #13822    
Old March 11th, 2010 (05:51 AM).
PeregrineFig's Avatar
PeregrineFig PeregrineFig is offline
Starting Pokémon Obsidian
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Michigan, USA
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Hardy
Posts: 202
I really suggest trying XSE, it's a bit easier to use and get working. If you do download XSE, this script should do the trick, with obvious minor edits:

Spoiler:

#dynamic 0x740000
#org @begin
lockall
checkflag 0x200
compare 0x800D 0x1
if 0x1 goto @flagset
msgbox @birch MSG_KEEPOPEN
closeonkeypress
applymovement 0x2 @lab
waitmovement 0x0
msgbox @poke MSG_KEEPOPEN
applymovement 0x3 @follow
applymovement 0xFF @follow
waitmovement 0x0
setvar 0x(whatever var you set the script to) 0x1 (assuming you set the script to var value 0000)
releaseall
end

#org @flagset
Whatever you intended to happen if the flag is set

#org @lab
First movement data

#org @follow
Second movement data

#org @birch
= Stop!

#org @poke
= You can't go out there yet!\nCome, follow me.
__________________
Current Projects:
POKéMON AQUA SAPPHIRE
POKéMON OBSIDIAN

  #13823    
Old March 11th, 2010 (07:48 AM).
ninnyjams ninnyjams is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 4
Quote originally posted by PeregrineFig:
Pokecenters didn't start having basements until D/P. There's no way that I know of even with VBALink to battle someone over the internet on a GBA ROM.
Yes, that's why you fool it into thinking you're connected to another GBA with a program like VBALink, which has netplay. I also really think you're wrong about the Pokecenter thing. Like, for instance, there's an emulator that will let me play a Super Nintendo game online by fooling it into thinking I simply have two controllers plugged in. There's a program that lets you play the original Halo online by making your Xbox think it's plugged into another one via system link. And in this vein, I can get a Pokemon Blue rom and play my friend across the country in VBALink the same why I'd plug our gameboys in together. And I believe this was done via a room under or above the Pokecenter, and if not, where was it done? Gameboy to Gameboy battling has always been around for the pokemon games, and that's what VBALink is for. Now I want to know what supports it..
  #13824    
Old March 11th, 2010 (08:06 AM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is online now
Moderator
CS
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 3,496
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
The upstairs of the Pokémon Centre in the Generation Three games was where the player, when he/she had a Multiplayer Link/Wireless Adapter plugged in/attatched to their GBA, they could trade or battle with the GBA on the other end. PC's gained their basement floor in the Fourth Generation.
__________________
  #13825    
Old March 11th, 2010 (08:25 AM).
ninnyjams ninnyjams is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 4
Quote originally posted by Spherical Ice:
The upstairs of the Pokémon Centre in the Generation Three games was where the player, when he/she had a Multiplayer Link/Wireless Adapter plugged in/attatched to their GBA, they could trade or battle with the GBA on the other end. PC's gained their basement floor in the Fourth Generation.
Like I said... and thank you all for listening to me and not being rude or anything, but I'm not concerned with whether it was downstairs or upstairs, just that there was another floor in the Pokecenter for battling and trading via link. My question stands, does anyone know of any completed hacks that haven't removed this?
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 11:27 AM.