The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #14801    
Old May 30th, 2010, 02:18 AM
Darksun's Avatar
Darksun
triple rainbow, yo
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 22nd floor of the Carrot Tower in Setagaya, Tokyo, Japan
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by SonicBlazePlatinum View Post
I tried to edit text with XSE, after I edit, save and look at it again/ see how it appears on the ROM, it's unedited even though I changed it. Can someone help me?
Did you compile it and input the new offset in the script offset-thingy? You don't have to save the script.
__________________

  #14802    
Old May 30th, 2010, 05:25 AM
Namorax
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Hi, I don't know if this is the right place but I'm still asking, because the search function didn't really help to solve my problem.

I want to change the items the Pokemarts in Celadon City and/or Goldenrod City are selling. I couldn't find any tool working with HG/SS, and that's why I wanted to ask:

Is there any other way to change the Items they're selling in these stores?
  #14803    
Old May 30th, 2010, 07:19 AM
melosfox
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: May 2010
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by colcolstyles View Post
The problem, as I see it, is that when you use "#org 0xXXXXXX", it tells XSE to compile that portion of the script to that address. So when you put "#org 0x000000", it places that part of the script at the address 0x000000 which, as you might imagine, overwrites some pretty crucial data seeing how it's the first address in the ROM. Instead of "#org 0xXXXXXX" and "goto 0xXXXXXX", I would recommend using something like "#org @script" and "goto @script". Also, the address 0x800000 is free space in Fire Red & Leaf Green but not in Ruby, Sapphire & Emerald.
Thanks, I didn't know that 800000 wasn't blanks space in Emerald. I haven't been using that though. I look up free space in the free space finder and change it to that. Same with the "000000" I look up what's free, then I change it to the proper address in the code.

I'm truly stumped.
  #14804    
Old May 30th, 2010, 07:20 AM
Chaos Rush's Avatar
Chaos Rush
im sexy and i know it
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylor Swift
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Reposting my question:
How do I add level scripts in G/S/C?
__________________
  #14805    
Old May 30th, 2010, 07:50 AM
Binary's Avatar
Binary
え?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Age: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by SonicBlazePlatinum View Post
I tried to edit text with XSE, after I edit, save and look at it again/ see how it appears on the ROM, it's unedited even though I changed it. Can someone help me?
Decompile with the decompile button, edit and compile again.
__________________
  #14806    
Old May 30th, 2010, 09:51 AM
melosfox
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: May 2010
Gender: Male
To what dynamic should I compile things to in Emerald using XSE?
  #14807    
Old May 30th, 2010, 09:56 AM
Binary's Avatar
Binary
え?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Age: 20
@melosfox:
Use FSF. The same way you do with FR/LG.
__________________
  #14808    
Old May 30th, 2010, 10:39 AM
sonlen
Hacking Noob
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Gender: Male
Does anyone know a way to have a palette that is inserted to free space used by just one pokemon?

The palette is in the upper left corner, I didnt't know if it was needed or not but I put it there incase someone needed to see it.
If it is possible I want just one Sneasel in the whole game to use that palette, but if it isn't possible it will be fine too. Thanks ahead of time.
__________________
Currently working on: Pokemon Moonlight
  #14809    
Old May 30th, 2010, 12:51 PM
Samike360's Avatar
Samike360
Lover of May
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: ATL
Gender:
Nature: Bold
Does anybody know a script or a command to continue a script after losing a wild battle? I know that trainerbattle 0x3 will work for a trainer battle, but is there a similiar command for wild pokemon? It's very important XD
__________________





Please warm my eggs...I'll be sure to return the favor

From now one, if you haven't contacted me yet....I will not accept hacks unless they are at least in progressing hacks. So if you want my help, get some screenshots first.

Last edited by Samike360; May 30th, 2010 at 01:05 PM.
  #14810    
Old May 30th, 2010, 03:24 PM
sonlen
Hacking Noob
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Gender: Male
Ok, so I can't find where the pokemon party sprites are located at, it seems PokePic doesn't work for editing or I can't figure out why it is exports 1 of the 2 animation pics. So does anyone know how I can change those?
__________________
Currently working on: Pokemon Moonlight
  #14811    
Old May 30th, 2010, 03:47 PM
colcolstyles's Avatar
colcolstyles
Yours truly
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Bay Area
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote:
Originally Posted by melosfox View Post
To what dynamic should I compile things to in Emerald using XSE?
I believe that 0x9D0000-0xAFFFFF is all free space, along with some space near the end of the ROM. From 0xB00000 to something like 0xEC0000 there is a bunch of data (most of it compressed) that you don't want to mess with. I usually compile scripts to 0xA00000.
__________________

Brother of Vrai
  #14812    
Old May 30th, 2010, 04:04 PM
melosfox
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: May 2010
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by colcolstyles View Post
I believe that 0x9D0000-0xAFFFFF is all free space, along with some space near the end of the ROM. From 0xB00000 to something like 0xEC0000 there is a bunch of data (most of it compressed) that you don't want to mess with. I usually compile scripts to 0xA00000.
THANK YOU. That should help a great deal :D
  #14813    
Old May 30th, 2010, 06:29 PM
Binary's Avatar
Binary
え?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Age: 20
@Samike360:
Uhh..no? I think you just continue the script after the wildbattle command.
__________________
  #14814    
Old May 30th, 2010, 07:13 PM
herbeon
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Hi. I changed the Pokemon of the Gym Leaders in Pokemon Emerald using A-Trainer. I then realized that they don't use items, such as Hyper Potion, anymore, although they have the items (I checked in A-Trainer).

Can anyone help me on this?
  #14815    
Old May 31st, 2010, 03:52 PM
Scytha's Avatar
Scytha
mass effect freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
Well I'd download another trainer editor like BattlEd and see what it says. I had the same problem and using BattleEd as an alternative helped me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonlen View Post
Ok, so I can't find where the pokemon party sprites are located at, it seems PokePic doesn't work for editing or I can't figure out why it is exports 1 of the 2 animation pics. So does anyone know how I can change those?
I'd suggest using the Advance Series, because PokePic is glitchy :/

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonlen View Post
Ok, so I can't find where the pokemon party sprites are located at, it seems PokePic doesn't work for editing or I can't figure out why it is exports 1 of the 2 animation pics. So does anyone know how I can change those?
I'd suggest using the Advance Series, because PokePic is glitchy :/

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonlen View Post
Ok, so I can't find where the pokemon party sprites are located at, it seems PokePic doesn't work for editing or I can't figure out why it is exports 1 of the 2 animation pics. So does anyone know how I can change those?
I'd suggest using the Advance Series, because PokePic is glitchy :/
__________________
Just a soldier.

tumblr - twitter - steam

Last edited by Scytha; May 31st, 2010 at 04:00 PM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
  #14816    
Old May 31st, 2010, 05:53 PM
sonlen
Hacking Noob
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scytha View Post
Well I'd download another trainer editor like BattlEd and see what it says. I had the same problem and using BattleEd as an alternative helped me.



I'd suggest using the Advance Series, because PokePic is glitchy :/



I'd suggest using the Advance Series, because PokePic is glitchy :/



I'd suggest using the Advance Series, because PokePic is glitchy :/
Ummm.... was that a typo or just something I should have noticed so obviously ._. and I am not joking either x.x
Or were you just being a pain >.>


Edit: Im done with Ruby, it looks like a whole lot more is known about Fire Red so I am going to use that for my base now.
__________________
Currently working on: Pokemon Moonlight

Last edited by sonlen; June 1st, 2010 at 01:26 PM.
  #14817    
Old June 1st, 2010, 12:05 AM
Scytha's Avatar
Scytha
mass effect freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
That wasn't intentional. Sorry ;/
__________________
Just a soldier.

tumblr - twitter - steam
  #14818    
Old June 1st, 2010, 04:06 AM
sonlen
Hacking Noob
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scytha View Post
That wasn't intentional. Sorry ;/
It's all good, and I noticed its glitchy too, I just had to restart a little because of it. x.x
__________________
Currently working on: Pokemon Moonlight
  #14819    
Old June 1st, 2010, 05:58 AM
locoroco's Avatar
locoroco
Ginga Densetsu Weed ANIME PWNS
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Manati, Puerto rico
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to locoroco
any1 know the offset for the running shoes in pokemon fire red for xse thx in advanced
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Signature needs to be kept to a 600px x 400px area. Your long line of text pushes it over the limit. Put a few enters there and you will be able to get it inside the limits.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
  #14820    
Old June 1st, 2010, 07:56 AM
colcolstyles's Avatar
colcolstyles
Yours truly
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Bay Area
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote:
Originally Posted by locoroco View Post
any1 know the offset for the running shoes in pokemon fire red for xse thx in advanced
I believe that you enable running shoes by using "setflag 0x82F". Keep in mind that the flag is different in R/S/E.

Now, I don't mean to be a jek but in the title of this thread, in big, capital letters, it says "search before asking a question". Your question is a pretty popular one and all I had to do to find the answer was to search the thread for "running shoes fire red". In the future, you'll save yourself a lot of time waiting for the answer if you just look it up yourself.
__________________

Brother of Vrai
  #14821    
Old June 1st, 2010, 12:14 PM
Sawakita's Avatar
Sawakita
Not Invented Here
 
Join Date: May 2010
Gender: Male
does anyone know how to add/change compressed sprites in pokemon r/b/y?
__________________



| 1st Gen Hacking: Useful Links | A good example of REAL ROM Hacking |
  #14822    
Old June 1st, 2010, 07:21 PM
adhdguitar's Avatar
adhdguitar
Newbie Pokémon Hacker
 
Join Date: May 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Quick question. Is it possible to edit TMs in advance games? And if so, how?
__________________


Yellow: Complete
Crystal:
Complete
Sapphire: Not Started
Cherrim: Not Started
  #14823    
Old June 2nd, 2010, 04:01 PM
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by adhdguitar View Post
Quick question. Is it possible to edit TMs in advance games? And if so, how?
"Edit" has so many meaning...
What do you mean? Edit the TM name, edit the TM move itself, edit the TM animation?
__________________
  #14824    
Old June 2nd, 2010, 05:44 PM
lbirrueta's Avatar
lbirrueta
HAXXING'
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: san jo'
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
How do I use the World Map Editor??? Please!!!!
__________________
  #14825    
Old June 2nd, 2010, 05:48 PM
sonlen
Hacking Noob
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by lbirrueta View Post
How do I use the World Map Editor??? Please!!!!
First off read the title "SEARCH BEFORE ASKING" I just did a search and got this in about 5 seconds.
www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=180336&highlight=world+map+editor
__________________
Currently working on: Pokemon Moonlight
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 12:57 AM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.