Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #14801    
Old May 30th, 2010 (02:18 AM).
Darksun's Avatar
Darksun Darksun is offline
triple rainbow, yo
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 22nd floor of the Carrot Tower in Setagaya, Tokyo, Japan
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 123
Quote originally posted by SonicBlazePlatinum:
I tried to edit text with XSE, after I edit, save and look at it again/ see how it appears on the ROM, it's unedited even though I changed it. Can someone help me?
Did you compile it and input the new offset in the script offset-thingy? You don't have to save the script.
__________________

  #14802    
Old May 30th, 2010 (05:25 AM).
Namorax Namorax is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 7
Hi, I don't know if this is the right place but I'm still asking, because the search function didn't really help to solve my problem.

I want to change the items the Pokemarts in Celadon City and/or Goldenrod City are selling. I couldn't find any tool working with HG/SS, and that's why I wanted to ask:

Is there any other way to change the Items they're selling in these stores?
  #14803    
Old May 30th, 2010 (07:19 AM).
melosfox melosfox is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 23
Quote originally posted by colcolstyles:
The problem, as I see it, is that when you use "#org 0xXXXXXX", it tells XSE to compile that portion of the script to that address. So when you put "#org 0x000000", it places that part of the script at the address 0x000000 which, as you might imagine, overwrites some pretty crucial data seeing how it's the first address in the ROM. Instead of "#org 0xXXXXXX" and "goto 0xXXXXXX", I would recommend using something like "#org @script" and "goto @script". Also, the address 0x800000 is free space in Fire Red & Leaf Green but not in Ruby, Sapphire & Emerald.
Thanks, I didn't know that 800000 wasn't blanks space in Emerald. I haven't been using that though. I look up free space in the free space finder and change it to that. Same with the "000000" I look up what's free, then I change it to the proper address in the code.

I'm truly stumped.
  #14804    
Old May 30th, 2010 (07:20 AM).
Chaos Rush's Avatar
Chaos Rush Chaos Rush is offline
im sexy and i know it
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylor Swift
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 1,282
Reposting my question:
How do I add level scripts in G/S/C?
__________________
  #14805    
Old May 30th, 2010 (07:50 AM).
Binary's Avatar
Binary Binary is offline
え?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Age: 20
Posts: 3,994
Quote originally posted by SonicBlazePlatinum:
I tried to edit text with XSE, after I edit, save and look at it again/ see how it appears on the ROM, it's unedited even though I changed it. Can someone help me?
Decompile with the decompile button, edit and compile again.
__________________
  #14806    
Old May 30th, 2010 (09:51 AM).
melosfox melosfox is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 23
To what dynamic should I compile things to in Emerald using XSE?
  #14807    
Old May 30th, 2010 (09:56 AM).
Binary's Avatar
Binary Binary is offline
え?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Age: 20
Posts: 3,994
@melosfox:
Use FSF. The same way you do with FR/LG.
__________________
  #14808    
Old May 30th, 2010 (10:39 AM).
sonlen sonlen is offline
Hacking Noob
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 66
Does anyone know a way to have a palette that is inserted to free space used by just one pokemon?

The palette is in the upper left corner, I didnt't know if it was needed or not but I put it there incase someone needed to see it.
If it is possible I want just one Sneasel in the whole game to use that palette, but if it isn't possible it will be fine too. Thanks ahead of time.
__________________
Currently working on: Pokemon Moonlight
  #14809    
Old May 30th, 2010 (12:51 PM). Edited May 30th, 2010 by Samike360.
Samike360's Avatar
Samike360 Samike360 is offline
Lover of May
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: ATL
Gender:
Nature: Bold
Posts: 397
Does anybody know a script or a command to continue a script after losing a wild battle? I know that trainerbattle 0x3 will work for a trainer battle, but is there a similiar command for wild pokemon? It's very important XD
__________________





Please warm my eggs...I'll be sure to return the favor

From now one, if you haven't contacted me yet....I will not accept hacks unless they are at least in progressing hacks. So if you want my help, get some screenshots first.
  #14810    
Old May 30th, 2010 (03:24 PM).
sonlen sonlen is offline
Hacking Noob
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 66
Ok, so I can't find where the pokemon party sprites are located at, it seems PokePic doesn't work for editing or I can't figure out why it is exports 1 of the 2 animation pics. So does anyone know how I can change those?
__________________
Currently working on: Pokemon Moonlight
  #14811    
Old May 30th, 2010 (03:47 PM).
colcolstyles's Avatar
colcolstyles colcolstyles is offline
Yours truly
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Bay Area
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 1,592
Quote originally posted by melosfox:
To what dynamic should I compile things to in Emerald using XSE?
I believe that 0x9D0000-0xAFFFFF is all free space, along with some space near the end of the ROM. From 0xB00000 to something like 0xEC0000 there is a bunch of data (most of it compressed) that you don't want to mess with. I usually compile scripts to 0xA00000.
__________________

Brother of Vrai
  #14812    
Old May 30th, 2010 (04:04 PM).
melosfox melosfox is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 23
Quote originally posted by colcolstyles:
I believe that 0x9D0000-0xAFFFFF is all free space, along with some space near the end of the ROM. From 0xB00000 to something like 0xEC0000 there is a bunch of data (most of it compressed) that you don't want to mess with. I usually compile scripts to 0xA00000.
THANK YOU. That should help a great deal :D
  #14813    
Old May 30th, 2010 (06:29 PM).
Binary's Avatar
Binary Binary is offline
え?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Age: 20
Posts: 3,994
@Samike360:
Uhh..no? I think you just continue the script after the wildbattle command.
__________________
  #14814    
Old May 30th, 2010 (07:13 PM).
herbeon herbeon is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 10
Hi. I changed the Pokemon of the Gym Leaders in Pokemon Emerald using A-Trainer. I then realized that they don't use items, such as Hyper Potion, anymore, although they have the items (I checked in A-Trainer).

Can anyone help me on this?
  #14815    
Old May 31st, 2010 (03:52 PM). Edited May 31st, 2010 by Scytha.
Scytha's Avatar
Scytha Scytha is offline
mass effect freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 155
Well I'd download another trainer editor like BattlEd and see what it says. I had the same problem and using BattleEd as an alternative helped me.

Quote originally posted by sonlen:
Ok, so I can't find where the pokemon party sprites are located at, it seems PokePic doesn't work for editing or I can't figure out why it is exports 1 of the 2 animation pics. So does anyone know how I can change those?
I'd suggest using the Advance Series, because PokePic is glitchy :/

Quote originally posted by sonlen:
Ok, so I can't find where the pokemon party sprites are located at, it seems PokePic doesn't work for editing or I can't figure out why it is exports 1 of the 2 animation pics. So does anyone know how I can change those?
I'd suggest using the Advance Series, because PokePic is glitchy :/

Quote originally posted by sonlen:
Ok, so I can't find where the pokemon party sprites are located at, it seems PokePic doesn't work for editing or I can't figure out why it is exports 1 of the 2 animation pics. So does anyone know how I can change those?
I'd suggest using the Advance Series, because PokePic is glitchy :/
__________________
Just a soldier.

tumblr - twitter - steam
  #14816    
Old May 31st, 2010 (05:53 PM). Edited June 1st, 2010 by sonlen.
sonlen sonlen is offline
Hacking Noob
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 66
Quote originally posted by Scytha:
Well I'd download another trainer editor like BattlEd and see what it says. I had the same problem and using BattleEd as an alternative helped me.



I'd suggest using the Advance Series, because PokePic is glitchy :/



I'd suggest using the Advance Series, because PokePic is glitchy :/



I'd suggest using the Advance Series, because PokePic is glitchy :/
Ummm.... was that a typo or just something I should have noticed so obviously ._. and I am not joking either x.x
Or were you just being a pain >.>


Edit: Im done with Ruby, it looks like a whole lot more is known about Fire Red so I am going to use that for my base now.
__________________
Currently working on: Pokemon Moonlight
  #14817    
Old June 1st, 2010 (12:05 AM).
Scytha's Avatar
Scytha Scytha is offline
mass effect freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 155
That wasn't intentional. Sorry ;/
__________________
Just a soldier.

tumblr - twitter - steam
  #14818    
Old June 1st, 2010 (04:06 AM).
sonlen sonlen is offline
Hacking Noob
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 66
Quote originally posted by Scytha:
That wasn't intentional. Sorry ;/
It's all good, and I noticed its glitchy too, I just had to restart a little because of it. x.x
__________________
Currently working on: Pokemon Moonlight
  #14819    
Old June 1st, 2010 (05:58 AM).
locoroco's Avatar
locoroco locoroco is offline
Ginga Densetsu Weed ANIME PWNS
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Manati, Puerto rico
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 251
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to locoroco
any1 know the offset for the running shoes in pokemon fire red for xse thx in advanced
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Signature needs to be kept to a 600px x 400px area. Your long line of text pushes it over the limit. Put a few enters there and you will be able to get it inside the limits.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
  #14820    
Old June 1st, 2010 (07:56 AM).
colcolstyles's Avatar
colcolstyles colcolstyles is offline
Yours truly
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Bay Area
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 1,592
Quote originally posted by locoroco:
any1 know the offset for the running shoes in pokemon fire red for xse thx in advanced
I believe that you enable running shoes by using "setflag 0x82F". Keep in mind that the flag is different in R/S/E.

Now, I don't mean to be a jek but in the title of this thread, in big, capital letters, it says "search before asking a question". Your question is a pretty popular one and all I had to do to find the answer was to search the thread for "running shoes fire red". In the future, you'll save yourself a lot of time waiting for the answer if you just look it up yourself.
__________________

Brother of Vrai
  #14821    
Old June 1st, 2010 (12:14 PM).
Sawakita's Avatar
Sawakita Sawakita is offline
Not Invented Here
 
Join Date: May 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 180
does anyone know how to add/change compressed sprites in pokemon r/b/y?
__________________



| 1st Gen Hacking: Useful Links | A good example of REAL ROM Hacking |
  #14822    
Old June 1st, 2010 (07:21 PM).
adhdguitar's Avatar
adhdguitar adhdguitar is offline
Newbie Pokémon Hacker
 
Join Date: May 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 210
Quick question. Is it possible to edit TMs in advance games? And if so, how?
__________________


Yellow: Complete
Crystal:
Complete
Sapphire: Not Started
Cherrim: Not Started
  #14823    
Old June 2nd, 2010 (04:01 PM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 6,932
Quote originally posted by adhdguitar:
Quick question. Is it possible to edit TMs in advance games? And if so, how?
"Edit" has so many meaning...
What do you mean? Edit the TM name, edit the TM move itself, edit the TM animation?
__________________

3DS FC: 0061-1111-6462
TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)


  #14824    
Old June 2nd, 2010 (05:44 PM).
lbirrueta's Avatar
lbirrueta lbirrueta is offline
HAXXING'
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: san jo'
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 31
How do I use the World Map Editor??? Please!!!!
__________________
  #14825    
Old June 2nd, 2010 (05:48 PM).
sonlen sonlen is offline
Hacking Noob
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 66
Quote originally posted by lbirrueta:
How do I use the World Map Editor??? Please!!!!
First off read the title "SEARCH BEFORE ASKING" I just did a search and got this in about 5 seconds.
www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=180336&highlight=world+map+editor
__________________
Currently working on: Pokemon Moonlight
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 12:19 PM.