< >
Hello, guest! Please log in or register.

The PokéCommunity

Go Back     The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub > Beginner’s Lounge [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices

Beginner’s Lounge Where all good (and bad) ideas start. This is the Beginner’s Lounge, where if you need a helping hand or want to develop your small ideas, you bring it here. We won't bite.

Closed Thread Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #14926    
Old June 10th, 2010 (4:40 AM).
hack1's Avatar
hack1 hack1 is offline
Dragon Green
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 141
On my hack, when I enter to Route 1, everything works. But after wild battle game blacks out. What's wrong?

Relevant Advertising!

  #14927    
Old June 10th, 2010 (5:13 AM).
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron Darthatron is offline
巨大なトロール。
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by hack1 View Post
On my hack, when I enter to Route 1, everything works. But after wild battle game blacks out. What's wrong?
You may have accidentally overwritten some important bytes that control battles, probably the wild pokemon data in the map - you can fix this in AMap. But, it may be the engine, which means you need to go to backup, or start again.
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です
  #14928    
Old June 10th, 2010 (10:22 AM).
psychicboy's Avatar
psychicboy psychicboy is offline
Hacking is all that matters...
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Twilight Town
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 538
Alright, how can I find out how much free space is still in the ROM?

And does expanding your rom to 32Mb essentially double your space available?
Soon to be Hacking legend...
~Psy







Wanna play my hack? Check it out here!

My sig was "too big brah", so I shortened it.
  #14929    
Old June 10th, 2010 (11:07 AM). Edited June 10th, 2010 by sonlen.
sonlen sonlen is offline
Hacking Noob
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 66
Does anyone know if the title screen palette is used for anything besides the title screen so that if I replaced the whole thing it would not mess anything else up?

Quote:
Originally Posted by psychicboy View Post
Alright, how can I find out how much free space is still in the ROM?

And does expanding your rom to 32Mb essentially double your space available?
You can use a hex editor and look for all the FF and 00 bytes, or use FSF, I beleive it is in the tools section. As for expanding the rom I'm not quite sure, I did it once but I had to delete it because I messed up the rom, and havn't tried it since, but it seems like it just adds more space for more things to add on to it.
Currently working on: Pokemon Moonlight
  #14930    
Old June 10th, 2010 (12:53 PM).
Chimchar 9's Avatar
Chimchar 9 Chimchar 9 is offline
(:
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England, Southampton.
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 1,621
Does anyone know the introduction's backround palette offset for firered?
Thanks!
Pokemon Green Diamond
Status: On Hold.
  #14931    
Old June 10th, 2010 (1:09 PM). Edited June 10th, 2010 by colcolstyles.
colcolstyles's Avatar
colcolstyles colcolstyles is offline
Yours truly
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Bay Area
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 1,592
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chimchar 9 View Post
Does anyone know the introduction's backround palette offset for firered?
Thanks! :)
After a quick search, I found it at 0x460568.

Brother of Vrai
  #14932    
Old June 10th, 2010 (1:19 PM).
.Paradox .Paradox is offline
Hack Completion: ~5%...LOL
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Posts: 16
Well I've fixed my own problem, but I couldn't tell anyone last night because my modem has this stupid timer thing so I can't go online after 11:00.

New problem though XD How do I get Oak to NOT appear in my map when you try to leave and he stops you? I've tried hidesprite 0x02 (his ID. I'm sure because the applymovements work for that ID) but I can't make it work. I've tried a level script to hide his sprite but it doesn't work and Idk what to do.
  #14933    
Old June 10th, 2010 (3:09 PM).
Nosophoros's Avatar
Nosophoros Nosophoros is offline
I'm eating your cake
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Amerika
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 44
When saving an imported zorua backsprite pokepic says, "image is too big, would you like to expand rom?"
Well, if I say yes it just disapears when I "revisit" the pokemon. If I say no it simply doesn't load.

However, the one time it did work without this message, when I battled with him his sprite moved up and down (exposing his erased bottom-half).

Do I need to replace a different pokemon or resize the backsprite (it's already small)?
90% of teens today would die if Myspace had a system failure and was completely destroyed...If you are one of the 10% that would be laughing, put this in your signature.




DBZ Signature by x Necromorph x
  #14934    
Old June 10th, 2010 (4:00 PM). Edited June 10th, 2010 by sonlen.
sonlen sonlen is offline
Hacking Noob
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nosophoros View Post
When saving an imported zorua backsprite pokepic says, "image is too big, would you like to expand rom?"
Well, if I say yes it just disapears when I "revisit" the pokemon. If I say no it simply doesn't load.

However, the one time it did work without this message, when I battled with him his sprite moved up and down (exposing his erased bottom-half).

Do I need to replace a different pokemon or resize the backsprite (it's already small)?
Use Advanced Sprite Position Editor
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=196143
That thread has it and 2 others you might find especially useful too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by .Paradox View Post
Well I've fixed my own problem, but I couldn't tell anyone last night because my modem has this stupid timer thing so I can't go online after 11:00.

New problem though XD How do I get Oak to NOT appear in my map when you try to leave and he stops you? I've tried hidesprite 0x02 (his ID. I'm sure because the applymovements work for that ID) but I can't make it work. I've tried a level script to hide his sprite but it doesn't work and Idk what to do.
Do you need Oak on that map at all? If you just want him gone then remove him and the scripts that make him stop you.
Currently working on: Pokemon Moonlight
  #14935    
Old June 10th, 2010 (5:25 PM).
.Paradox .Paradox is offline
Hack Completion: ~5%...LOL
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonlen View Post

Do you need Oak on that map at all? If you just want him gone then remove him and the scripts that make him stop you.
No I need him there. Let me rephrase my question.

I need him to be invisible before he stops me to take me to his lab, because I can see him before I leave. Then I need him to be gone after I get my Pokemon. I can do the last part, but I can't the first part
  #14936    
Old June 10th, 2010 (5:27 PM).
sonlen sonlen is offline
Hacking Noob
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by .Paradox View Post

No I need him there. Let me rephrase my question.

I need him to be invisible before he stops me to take me to his lab, because I can see him before I leave. Then I need him to be gone after I get my Pokemon. I can do the last part, but I can't the first part
I beleive there are hidesprite and showsprite commands, that's all I can think of.
Currently working on: Pokemon Moonlight
  #14937    
Old June 10th, 2010 (5:34 PM).
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail Team Fail is online now
burning passion
ModeratorCS
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: yes
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 12,152
How would I go about making a scripted battle, like on the teachy TV in FireRed? (For FireRed) I want it so that you aren't in the battle yourself, but the game does a battle:

PLAYER used FLAMETHROWER!
PLAYER2 used BUBBLE!
No move selection here..
PLAYER returned CHARIZARD!
PLAYER sent out VENUSAUR!
and so on and so fourth....
  #14938    
Old June 10th, 2010 (5:38 PM). Edited June 10th, 2010 by sonlen.
sonlen sonlen is offline
Hacking Noob
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 66
@ .Paradox
Spoiler:

#dynamic 0x7543B2

#org @start
hidesprite (oaks map id here)
setflag (unused flag here)
checkflag 0x828
lockall
if 0x1 goto @done
playsong 0x12E 0x0
msgbox @1 0x6
showsprite (oaks map id here)
setflag (same as last setflag id)
applymovement 0x02 @move
applymovement 0xFF @move2
waitmovement 0x2
msgbox @2 0x6
applymovement 0x02 @move3
applymovement 0xFF @move4
waitmovement 0x0
setdooropened 0x0A 0x11
doorchange
applymovement 0x02 @move5
applymovement 0xFF @move6
waitmovement 0xFF
setdoorclosed 0x0A 0x11
doorchange
warp 0x4 0x3 0xFF 0x06 0x0C
waitstate
fadesong 0x12C
releaseall
end

#org @done
releaseall
end

#org @move
#raw 0x62
#raw 0x12
#raw 0x12
#raw 0x12
#raw 0x12
#raw 0x12
#raw 0x12
#raw 0x12
#raw 0xFE

#org @move2
#raw 0x03
#raw 0xFE

#org @move3
#raw 0x13
#raw 0x13
#raw 0x13
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x12
#raw 0x12
#raw 0x12
#raw 0x01
#raw 0xFE

#org @move4
#raw 0x13
#raw 0x13
#raw 0x13
#raw 0x13
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x12
#raw 0x12
#raw 0xFE

#org @move5
#raw 0x11
#raw 0x60
#raw 0xFE

#org @move6
#raw 0x12
#raw 0x11
#raw 0x60
#raw 0xFE

#org @1
= No, don't go out there!
#org @2
= You can't go out there\nwithout your own Pokemon.\pWild Pokemon will hurt you.\nCome with me and we'll get you one.

I believe this is your script, and I added a couple things, you just need to add the raw values at the top.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Team Fail View Post
How would I go about making a scripted battle, like on the teachy TV in FireRed? (For FireRed) I want it so that you aren't in the battle yourself, but the game does a battle:

PLAYER used FLAMETHROWER!
PLAYER2 used BUBBLE!
No move selection here..
PLAYER returned CHARIZARD!
PLAYER sent out VENUSAUR!
and so on and so fourth....
I would suggest finding the script for the old man who teaches you to catch pokemon and copying it and modifying it, or even that TV show you talked about.
Currently working on: Pokemon Moonlight
  #14939    
Old June 10th, 2010 (5:47 PM).
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail Team Fail is online now
burning passion
ModeratorCS
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: yes
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 12,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonlen View Post
I would suggest finding the script for the old man who teaches you to catch pokemon and copying it and modifying it, or even that TV show you talked about.
Ok, thanks. Another question: Can I assemble my .s files without using Sappy? It crashes whenever I try to assemble.
  #14940    
Old June 10th, 2010 (5:50 PM).
sonlen sonlen is offline
Hacking Noob
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Team Fail View Post
Ok, thanks. Another question: Can I assemble my .s files without using Sappy? It crashes whenever I try to assemble.
I personally have never used Sappy, I want to get a working title screen before I get started with everything else, so hopefully soon I can get a new palette in so I can use my title screen I made part of in photoshop.

Does anyone know if it is safe to replace the title screen palette, I just need to know if anything else in the game uses it for anything.
Currently working on: Pokemon Moonlight
  #14941    
Old June 10th, 2010 (6:02 PM).
.Paradox .Paradox is offline
Hack Completion: ~5%...LOL
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonlen View Post
I beleive there are hidesprite and showsprite commands, that's all I can think of.
That doesn't work though for me. Well when I tried making it a level script that loads as soon as the map loads. But nothing happens and idk what to do.
  #14942    
Old June 10th, 2010 (6:47 PM).
~Merilyn's Avatar
~Merilyn ~Merilyn is offline
Pokemon Misted Amethyst
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Posts: 34
Does anyone know how to insert the standard Pokemon Firered tree into Pokemon Emerald? I don't want to screw up any other tiles, I just want that tree inserted by overwriting the emerald tree, but the Emerald tree is shorter than the Firered tree, so I can't insert it without screwing up something else. Thanks in advance.
  #14943    
Old June 10th, 2010 (7:24 PM).
sonlen sonlen is offline
Hacking Noob
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by .Paradox View Post

That doesn't work though for me. Well when I tried making it a level script that loads as soon as the map loads. But nothing happens and idk what to do.
Well I havn't really looked into level scripting, so all I can say is wait for more help or try to add it as a script and on a person script. Anyways Good Luck.
Currently working on: Pokemon Moonlight
  #14944    
Old June 10th, 2010 (8:19 PM).
Aggron1991's Avatar
Aggron1991 Aggron1991 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Posts: 42
I used A-Trainer to make two new trainers in Fire Red. Everything works fine about them, except for one thing: The items they use either at the beginning of the battle or when their Pokemon's HP is low.

One of the trainers, despite the fact that I didn't give him any items to use, uses Black Belt at the beginning of the battle for some reason, which raises his Pokemon's defense, strangely enough.

The other trainer has but one item, Full Restore, selected for use, but when his Pokemon's HP is low, he uses Soul Dew (@_@) followed by the caption "Foe FEAROW's SOUL DEW restored health!" even though its HP doesn't change.

Does anyone have a clue as to why this might be happening?
  #14945    
Old June 10th, 2010 (10:27 PM). Edited June 10th, 2010 by krillian.
krillian's Avatar
krillian krillian is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 42
I don't know if this is a simple question but,

does anyone know the when it is morning and nightime in pokemon emeraled

@Aggron1991
why don't you try starting again, and use a blank trainer

@~Merilyn
(Not a simple question by the way)
Thats easy to do, make sure each titleset firered your hack have the same palltes
then copy the firered tree over your hack tree save and it is done just intesect the titleset into your hack, I you would like me to make a toutrial i will do it
  #14946    
Old June 11th, 2010 (1:30 AM).
SonicBlazePlatinum's Avatar
SonicBlazePlatinum SonicBlazePlatinum is offline
/)^3^(\
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cloudsdale, Equestria
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 1,041
Quote:
Originally Posted by SonicBlazePlatinum View Post
I ended up deleting the script. I was currently changing the text. It's the sign in Littleroot in Emerald on the brown signpost. How do I get it back?

EDIT: I managed to get signpost back but ever word is surrounded by a line now. What do I do to fix it? Here is the picture:
http://img32.imageshack.us/i/pokemonemeraldpng2.png/
Does anyone know how to fix this glitch? I need help with it!
Also known as SentryBronyPlatinum or Shadowbolt Pegasus.
  #14947    
Old June 11th, 2010 (1:37 AM).
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron Darthatron is offline
巨大なトロール。
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by SonicBlazePlatinum View Post
Does anyone know how to fix this glitch? I need help with it!
It looks like you've messed up the text box tile map. Try importing the original tile map, if this could be the case.
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です
  #14948    
Old June 11th, 2010 (5:00 AM).
SonicBlazePlatinum's Avatar
SonicBlazePlatinum SonicBlazePlatinum is offline
/)^3^(\
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cloudsdale, Equestria
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 1,041
How do I import the original tile map? Also how do you change the TMs Gym Leaders give you in Emerald/Fire Red? After I fix the text I'm going to change it and make sure not to mess up.
Also known as SentryBronyPlatinum or Shadowbolt Pegasus.
  #14949    
Old June 11th, 2010 (5:30 AM).
sky_queen3's Avatar
sky_queen3 sky_queen3 is offline
Minusle Fangirl. ;)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia
Age: 26
Gender: Female
Nature: Naive
Posts: 250
Erm, does anyone know who made this tileset? I'd like to use some of it but don't know who to credit.

http://img222.imageshack.us/img222/2...hto4yhk5tj.png

(I wasn't sure where to ask so I asked here.)
  #14950    
Old June 11th, 2010 (5:48 AM).
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron Darthatron is offline
巨大なトロール。
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by SonicBlazePlatinum View Post
How do I import the original tile map? Also how do you change the TMs Gym Leaders give you in Emerald/Fire Red? After I fix the text I'm going to change it and make sure not to mess up.
Rip the tilemap from a clean rom and then import it into the edited one. You would edit the script in order to change the TM that is given.
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です
Closed Thread Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


  All times are GMT -8. The time now is 9:51 AM.


Contact Us Archive Privacy Statement Terms of Service Top