< >
Hello, guest! Please log in or register.

The PokéCommunity

Go Back     The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub > Beginner’s Lounge [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices

Beginner’s Lounge Where all good (and bad) ideas start. This is the Beginner’s Lounge, where if you need a helping hand or want to develop your small ideas, you bring it here. We won't bite.

Closed Thread Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #15001    
Old June 13th, 2010 (3:04 PM).
gaiaruler's Avatar
gaiaruler gaiaruler is offline
New Hacker
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 7
Hi,
For some reason my buf rite in poketscript started not to respond. I tried to reinstall it a few times and nothing!
HELP!

Relevant Advertising!

  #15002    
Old June 13th, 2010 (3:06 PM).
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron Darthatron is offline
巨大なトロール。
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by gaiaruler View Post
Hi,
For some reason my buf rite in poketscript started not to respond. I tried to reinstall it a few times and nothing!
HELP!
Your best option would be to switch to XSE, by HackMew - it is far less buggy, and it's updated.
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です
  #15003    
Old June 13th, 2010 (3:30 PM).
gaiaruler's Avatar
gaiaruler gaiaruler is offline
New Hacker
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darthatron View Post
Your best option would be to switch to XSE, by HackMew - it is far less buggy, and it's updated.
I might but will the codes work the same as in thethethethe's Pokescript Scripting Tutorial?
  #15004    
Old June 13th, 2010 (3:35 PM).
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron Darthatron is offline
巨大なトロール。
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by gaiaruler View Post
I might but will the codes work the same as in thethethethe's Pokescript Scripting Tutorial?
They will be slightly different. Look at diegoisawesome's tutorial.
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です
  #15005    
Old June 13th, 2010 (3:39 PM).
gaiaruler's Avatar
gaiaruler gaiaruler is offline
New Hacker
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darthatron View Post
They will be slightly different. Look at diegoisawesome's tutorial.
ohh so the only changes is that you put dynamic.......
and instead of $ for offset you put @
  #15006    
Old June 13th, 2010 (4:19 PM).
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron Darthatron is offline
巨大なトロール。
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by gaiaruler View Post
ohh so the only changes is that you put dynamic.......
and instead of $ for offset you put @
Pretty much that and msgbox uses two parameters, instead of 1. And Boxset is gone. Eg:
Code:
msgbox @blah
boxset 0x6
is now...
Code:
msgbox @blah 0x6
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です
  #15007    
Old June 13th, 2010 (6:25 PM).
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail Team Fail is offline
burning passion
ModeratorCS
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: yes
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 12,165
Quote:
Originally Posted by diegoisawesome View Post
This might not be that much of a help to you, but there's a program called tr.exe that can do just that. Look on the thread called "[Other] The ELF Method of inserting Music into a Rom - Hands on!". I'm pretty sure you can download it from there. It talks about Sappy, but you can do it manually, too (if you know how).

PM me if you need more help. I helped you because I noticed for how long you've been struggling with this problem, and came across this thread recently. :D
Ok, thanks. I'll give it a shot- I've been having issues with Sappy ever since I switched to Vista and 7 beta. This might help alot.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Darthatron View Post
Pretty much that and msgbox uses two parameters, instead of 1. And Boxset is gone. Eg:
Code:
msgbox @blah
boxset 0x6
is now...
Code:
msgbox @blah 0x6
And looking at this might make me switch to XSE, if I can ever figure out the program.
  #15008    
Old June 13th, 2010 (7:32 PM).
Denali's Avatar
Denali Denali is offline
C++ Programmer
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Michigan
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 195
Whenever I use Start Map Chooser Advance to start in a map that I have edited, it doesn't work. When I play the ROM it just goes black after the intro. I am using Firered.
  #15009    
Old June 13th, 2010 (8:34 PM).
.Paradox .Paradox is offline
Hack Completion: ~5%...LOL
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Posts: 16
How do I make a Pokeball item that disappears after I obtain it? I tried looking in the guide in XSE but it doesn't load for me and I need help. I got it to work for the 3 Pokeball scripts I made for the 3 starters but I can't get it to work for items.
  #15010    
Old June 13th, 2010 (8:50 PM). Edited June 14th, 2010 by Ninja Caterpie.
Ninja Caterpie's Avatar
Ninja Caterpie Ninja Caterpie is offline
Sitting by the back window
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Best City OCE
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 5,988
Items:
Code:
#org @start
giveitem 0xITEM 0xNUMBER 0x0
end
If 0x0 doesn't work, change it to 0x1. I can't remember, but one of them is the "PLAYER FOUND ____" and that automatically hides items. Remember to use an unset flag as the PERSON ID of the Pokeball to keep it hidden.


Now for my own question...is there a size limit for Emerald maps? If so, what would it be? =|
Brony represent.
  #15011    
Old June 14th, 2010 (10:06 AM).
gaiaruler's Avatar
gaiaruler gaiaruler is offline
New Hacker
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 7
Does anyone know the following pokemon script for gba?
  #15012    
Old June 14th, 2010 (10:26 AM).
slawter666 slawter666 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 67

That keeps appearing on a few maps, and i'm not sure where/what I would search to fix it. I'm using an Emerald (E) rom.

How do I fix it?

Slawter666
  #15013    
Old June 14th, 2010 (11:35 AM).
icychill66 icychill66 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 126
I am sorry, but I'm having trouble finding information on this subject by myself. Where can I learn more about hex editing for Fire Red? (such as hex locations of different data and whatnot)
  #15014    
Old June 14th, 2010 (1:24 PM).
sonlen sonlen is offline
Hacking Noob
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by slawter666 View Post

That keeps appearing on a few maps, and i'm not sure where/what I would search to fix it. I'm using an Emerald (E) rom.

How do I fix it?

Slawter666
I only get that error message when I accidentally overwrite part of that pointer or even part of the map, or you change the pointer in the header menu of the map.
Currently working on: Pokemon Moonlight
  #15015    
Old June 14th, 2010 (1:24 PM).
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron Darthatron is offline
巨大なトロール。
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by slawter666 View Post

That keeps appearing on a few maps, and i'm not sure where/what I would search to fix it. I'm using an Emerald (E) rom.

How do I fix it?

Slawter666
Search for the given value in your ROM and turn it into a point.

In this case, search for 10 66 48 00 (Reversed address of what you posted). And change the highlighted bit to 08.
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です
  #15016    
Old June 14th, 2010 (1:26 PM). Edited June 14th, 2010 by sonlen.
sonlen sonlen is offline
Hacking Noob
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by icychill66 View Post
I am sorry, but I'm having trouble finding information on this subject by myself. Where can I learn more about hex editing for Fire Red? (such as hex locations of different data and whatnot)
The best thing to do is google something like pokemon fire red hex offsets, though I have yet to find a list with everything on it, I beleive there is still alot more to figure out about what alot of the offsets are for.

Quote:
Originally Posted by .Paradox View Post
How do I make a Pokeball item that disappears after I obtain it? I tried looking in the guide in XSE but it doesn't load for me and I need help. I got it to work for the 3 Pokeball scripts I made for the 3 starters but I can't get it to work for items.
Post the starters script and what you have for the items and I will look at it.
Currently working on: Pokemon Moonlight
  #15017    
Old June 14th, 2010 (1:32 PM).
PatJamma's Avatar
PatJamma PatJamma is offline
♪I can hear my heart bell♪
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: A secret place at Lake of Rage
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 475
What is the most user friendly/easiest scripting program (for FireRed)? and where can i find a tutorial for it?
Lies! I was never here! Purple taste like crayons!
Signature under construction
  #15018    
Old June 14th, 2010 (1:35 PM).
altariaking's Avatar
altariaking altariaking is offline
Needs NO VMs...
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Scotland, Lesmahagow
Age: 41
Gender: Male
Nature: Naive
Posts: 1,098
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to altariaking
Quote:
Originally Posted by PatJamma View Post
What is the most user friendly/easiest scripting program (for FireRed)? and where can i find a tutorial for it?
xse? diegoisawesome's tutorial?
Quote:
SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION
sigh, some people...
http://www.pokecommunity.com/member.php?u=253113
  #15019    
Old June 14th, 2010 (2:06 PM).
gaiaruler's Avatar
gaiaruler gaiaruler is offline
New Hacker
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 7
for some reason when i write a script in XSE then compile it then looking at it again it says:


'----------
#org 0x80005F

Can anyone help?

(I would put pictures but i need 15 posts)
  #15020    
Old June 14th, 2010 (3:40 PM).
phosphate5's Avatar
phosphate5 phosphate5 is offline
Random little kid
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Somewhere in the world
Age: 20
Nature: Careful
Posts: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by phosphate5 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by phosphate5
Ok... I changed all the TMs with Item Manager. Including changing Water Pulse into Muddy Water. Then I beat Juan in Emerald and got TM03, booted it up, and it was still water pulse. I taught it to Gyarados, and it was still Water Pulse. I went back to Item Manager, and it said TM 03 was now Muddy Water. YAPE says the same thing in the TM compatibility section. So... what's the problem?

Bumping my question. I wonder why all my questions get drowned out.
Argh! Drowned out again. Can anyone actually answer this question?
  #15021    
Old June 14th, 2010 (5:41 PM).
tjwilliams24's Avatar
tjwilliams24 tjwilliams24 is offline
Gone.
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: United States
Gender: Male
Posts: 313
Sorry if it's already been asked before, but I made a map, so how do I make it replace Alabastia(Pallet Town) in my Fire Red rom?
Aoccdrnig to rscheearch at an Elingsh uinervtisy, it deosn't mttaer in waht oredr the ltteers in a wrod are, olny taht the frist and lsat ltteres are at the rghit pcleas. The rset can be a toatl mses and you can sitll raed it wouthit a porbelm. Tihs is bcuseae we do not raed ervey lteter by ilstef, but the wrod as a wlohe.

  #15022    
Old June 15th, 2010 (12:10 PM).
Resultz's Avatar
Resultz Resultz is offline
All- round Poke-Whizz
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Yorkshire, England
Gender: Male
Posts: 583
Hey, i don't think this deserves its own thread so i'll post it here.

Whats the easiest/Least time consuming way of inserting a Fakemon's sprites into a pokemon game, OVER an existing pokemon?
Like what tools etc. do i need, because i've seen a few ways of doing it and i can't say i'm too confident with it..
MY HACK:
LOOKING FOR HELP MAKING POKEMON HYACINTH:
APPLY IN THE THREAD!;
MANY POSITIONS AVAILABLE!

  #15023    
Old June 15th, 2010 (12:41 PM).
slawter666 slawter666 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darthatron View Post
Search for the given value in your ROM and turn it into a point.

In this case, search for 10 66 48 00 (Reversed address of what you posted). And change the highlighted bit to 08.
Thanks

I tried searching for it in cygnus free edition but it comes up string not found, i presume i'm still doing something wrong...do i need to use something different than a hex editor or am i just using it wrong?

Also if i get this problem again will I always have to change the 00 to 08 or would it be something else?
  #15024    
Old June 15th, 2010 (1:08 PM).
sonlen sonlen is offline
Hacking Noob
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Resultz View Post
Hey, i don't think this deserves its own thread so i'll post it here.

Whats the easiest/Least time consuming way of inserting a Fakemon's sprites into a pokemon game, OVER an existing pokemon?
Like what tools etc. do i need, because i've seen a few ways of doing it and i can't say i'm too confident with it..
Search for the Advance Tools and then look up a tutorial, that set is the best, well in my opinion that is.
Currently working on: Pokemon Moonlight
  #15025    
Old June 15th, 2010 (10:01 PM).
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron Darthatron is offline
巨大なトロール。
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by slawter666 View Post
Thanks

I tried searching for it in cygnus free edition but it comes up string not found, i presume i'm still doing something wrong...do i need to use something different than a hex editor or am i just using it wrong?

Also if i get this problem again will I always have to change the 00 to 08 or would it be something else?
You should be searching for a value, not a string.
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です
Closed Thread Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


  All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:13 AM.


Contact Us Archive Privacy Statement Terms of Service Top