Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #1526    
Old July 22nd, 2007 (02:02 AM). Edited July 22nd, 2007 by Youji.
Youji's Avatar
Youji
Viridian City Gym Leader
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Germany
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote originally posted by elfin123:
does anyone have the unLZ.GBA Leaf Green list. i mean like where all the diffrent pics are?
Sorry it always be diferent in any Version. Sometimes it's there and in another LeafGreen it's there. Look around the higher numbers and sometimes use the 256 color mode and the Black/White mode.
Quote originally posted by bxela1:
My Sapphire hack is running along smoothly now that I am using pokescript. The only problem is that when I load pokemon sprites in unLZ.GBA they look fine but in the game the background stays and some of their color turns white.

BTW, I have edited the palettes to accompany the sprite.
Be sure that the first color of the palette is your background color. Also if you use a clear black in your sprite you have to hex it. A clear black color is in the battle transaparent. Try to use a liitle different color.
Quote originally posted by silverish_dewil:
I have only one question.
Since I am hacking Pokemon Fire Red is it posibble to put an animated map?
I don't think so because every animation in the game is saved (and indexed) in the game. So you have to put some new ones in and that's not possible, sorry.
  #1527    
Old July 22nd, 2007 (02:21 AM).
bxela1's Avatar
bxela1
Jirachi's number 1 fan
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Somewhere you aren't.
Gender:
Nature: Lonely
It doesn't seem to work but I think I know how to fix it now. Now I just need to work like crazy tomorrow as it is the last day of the holidays.
__________________
CURRENTLY INACTIVE BUT WILL BE BACK SOONER THAN YOU THINK, OR LATER, DEPENDS WHAT YOU THINK.

WATCH THIS SPACE!
  #1528    
Old July 22nd, 2007 (02:25 AM).
Youji's Avatar
Youji
Viridian City Gym Leader
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Germany
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote originally posted by bxela1:
It doesn't seem to work but I think I know how to fix it now. Now I just need to work like crazy tomorrow as it is the last day of the holidays.
Okay. Our holiday starts next wednesday~lol~. And how do you fix it yet?
  #1529    
Old July 22nd, 2007 (02:47 AM).
silverish_dewil's Avatar
silverish_dewil
PKMN Necromancer
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PKMN Graveyard
Age: 23
Gender:
Nature: Gentle
Thanx for the answer. Now, I have a huge problem. I've downloaded some tools from the http://wah.studiopokemon.com/index.php?go=herramientas/herramientas.php site, and none of the tools seem to work for me. I've recived some messages like this:


or this:


Please help me...
__________________

Proud Team Aeon's member.
  #1530    
Old July 22nd, 2007 (02:53 AM).
bxela1's Avatar
bxela1
Jirachi's number 1 fan
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Somewhere you aren't.
Gender:
Nature: Lonely
It works now, must have just clicked something wrong. I'm not looking forward to Tuesday because straight away I have to do an oral presentation as we ran out of time in term 2. Luckily it's only a 3 minute talk.
__________________
CURRENTLY INACTIVE BUT WILL BE BACK SOONER THAN YOU THINK, OR LATER, DEPENDS WHAT YOU THINK.

WATCH THIS SPACE!
  #1531    
Old July 22nd, 2007 (06:10 AM).
Youji's Avatar
Youji
Viridian City Gym Leader
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Germany
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote originally posted by silverish_dewil:
Thanx for the answer. Now, I have a huge problem. I've downloaded some tools from the http://wah.studiopokemon.com/index.php?go=herramientas/herramientas.php site, and none of the tools seem to work for me. I've recived some messages like this:


or this:


Please help me...
Here is a link DLL files downloads. On this site you can download dll files for free. Just enter the name they said in the messages and download it. If this site havn't the dll fikes just google it.
Enter: nameoffdll.dll free download or so.
  #1532    
Old July 22nd, 2007 (07:12 AM).
glenmont9413
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Nature: Adamant
how do you remove from being in the truck in the begginning of sapphire??? cause when i used SMEA (start map editor) i set it to my room... and when i played it i was in the truck but not really in the truck i was in my room and i was TRAPPED... then when i set my clock wjhile in my room the mom came and said all this stuff then my rival was jus standing by the clock so i talked to her and she left but i COULDNT... So is there any way to remove the truck and being in and getting out of it???
Thnx...
__________________
My Trainer Card



~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`

PM ME IF YOU WANT TO JOIN MY TEAM!!!
[more info about what the ROM hack is and all that info when you PMed me]
Need At Least 2 MORE PPL!!!



I MADE A NEW BANNER!!! YAY!!!
***DO NOT GIVE ME ANY CREDITS FOR THESE SPRITES EXCEPT THE PINK GUY WHO I HAVE MADE!!! GIVE CREDIT TO TR ROSE Who Have Made These... Here's The Homepage Of Where You Can Get Them... http://trsrockin.com ***
**** CREDIT'S GOES TO GOBLINARO FOR THE NEW NAME OF THE HACK TEAM!!! ****
  #1533    
Old July 22nd, 2007 (09:16 AM).
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote originally posted by glenmont9413:
how do you remove from being in the truck in the begginning of sapphire??? cause when i used SMEA (start map editor) i set it to my room... and when i played it i was in the truck but not really in the truck i was in my room and i was TRAPPED... [...] COULDNT... So is there any way to remove the truck and being in and getting out of it???
Thnx...
Well, first of all use SMCA. SMEA is old and SMCA is just better, obviously.
I'll answer you by quoting my answer to a question like yours:

Quote originally posted by - HackMew -:
I think that the Readme is enough, isn't it?

Anyway, all hacking tools should not be used in a slapdash way, otherwhise you could have serious problem.

Regarding SMCA, I never told anyone that can fully remove the truck. I'm still working on that...
Also keep in mind that if you change the starting location, all the starting script have to be rewritten in the new place, of course. And you can't pretend that SMCA will do that for you.
__________________
  #1534    
Old July 22nd, 2007 (10:24 AM).
silverish_dewil's Avatar
silverish_dewil
PKMN Necromancer
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PKMN Graveyard
Age: 23
Gender:
Nature: Gentle
Quote originally posted by charmander07:
Here is a link DLL files downloads. On this site you can download dll files for free. Just enter the name they said in the messages and download it. If this site havn't the dll fikes just google it.
Enter: nameoffdll.dll free download or so.
thanks a lot that solves the problem.
__________________

Proud Team Aeon's member.
  #1535    
Old July 22nd, 2007 (01:15 PM).
Diggeh's Avatar
Diggeh
A horoscope of ambitions.
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Somewhere.
Age: 23
Gender:
Nature: Modest
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Diggeh
I've gotten farther along in my ROM hack, but I have a few more questions.

1) I'm having trouble with the game's PCs. On my earlier file for my hack, the PCs work fine. But, on my newer one with some edited text and routes, every PC in the game crashes when you Withdraw, Deposit, or Exit it. I've tried editing, but I have no idea what's wrong with it. Conflicting script error, maybe?

2) Whenever I attempt to insert a Pokemon's back sprite, the palatte always makes it come out weird.

Here's an example:

What I insert:



What they look like in-game:



I made the back sprite shiny and everything, but it won't work. Any help here?

3) I can't seem to fix the beginning text in the box with a Pikachu on it. Take a look at Zel's example from Shiny Gold:



I've loaded up the three parts of the entering text into AdvanceText, but whenever I edit it...Well...



I understand that the reason that happens is because AdvanceText only edits the smaller text boxes, not that huge beast.

But, I need to know how Zel managed to edit the text without it coming out as NPC-talking-size. Is there a program that I already may have that edits what it says?

Thanks in advance,
~Diggeh
__________________
  #1536    
Old July 22nd, 2007 (01:33 PM).
Echo Hunter
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Nature: Adamant
Question: Is it possible to move the "True" Double Battle Script (you and someone else vs. two other people) to Fire Red? If so, what is the Script?
  #1537    
Old July 22nd, 2007 (01:46 PM).
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote originally posted by Diggeh:
I've gotten farther along in my ROM hack, but I have a few more questions.

1) I'm having trouble with the game's PCs. On my earlier file for my hack, the PCs work fine. But, on my newer one with some edited text and routes, every PC in the game crashes when you Withdraw, Deposit, or Exit it. I've tried editing, but I have no idea what's wrong with it. Conflicting script error, maybe?

2) Whenever I attempt to insert a Pokemon's back sprite, the palatte always makes it come out weird.

3) I can't seem to fix the beginning text in the box with a Pikachu on it. [...]
Is there a program that I already may have that edits what it says?
1. Well, I hope that you have a backup because it seems that you overwrot some important data. If you can get the backup, try to make changes step by step checking if the PC still work. In this way you'll trace what corrupted the PC's script.

2. Uhm, what program did you use to insert the sprite?

3. To edit that text it's better to use an hex editor which support table files, like Thingy32/Translhextion for example. The presentation text can be edited just like a common textbox; keep in mind that the max length is 42 (or 40? I don't remember at the moment) instead of 36.
__________________
  #1538    
Old July 22nd, 2007 (02:04 PM).
glenmont9413
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Nature: Adamant
how do you remove the machokes from being in your living room when you first move in???
__________________
My Trainer Card



~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`

PM ME IF YOU WANT TO JOIN MY TEAM!!!
[more info about what the ROM hack is and all that info when you PMed me]
Need At Least 2 MORE PPL!!!



I MADE A NEW BANNER!!! YAY!!!
***DO NOT GIVE ME ANY CREDITS FOR THESE SPRITES EXCEPT THE PINK GUY WHO I HAVE MADE!!! GIVE CREDIT TO TR ROSE Who Have Made These... Here's The Homepage Of Where You Can Get Them... http://trsrockin.com ***
**** CREDIT'S GOES TO GOBLINARO FOR THE NEW NAME OF THE HACK TEAM!!! ****
  #1539    
Old July 22nd, 2007 (02:06 PM).
Dr.Stiles's Avatar
Dr.Stiles
Word to yer mama >__>
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: uhmmmm....
Age: 21
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Dr.Stiles Send a message via Yahoo to Dr.Stiles
how do i put sprites in me threads?
__________________

My PC Family
--------------
My Friend Codes
-------------------
Join Here
----------
  #1540    
Old July 22nd, 2007 (02:39 PM).
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote originally posted by glenmont9413:
how do you remove the machokes from being in your living room when you first move in???
Select the first Machoke and change its Move type to Hidden, then change its People ID to 0000. Do the same for the other Machoke. Finally put both on the very top of the map. Save the ROM and you're done.
__________________
  #1541    
Old July 22nd, 2007 (03:55 PM).
Echo Hunter
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Nature: Adamant
Quote originally posted by Echo Hunter:
Question: Is it possible to move the "True" Double Battle Script (you and someone else vs. two other people) to Fire Red? If so, what is the Script?


.....................anyone? :/
  #1542    
Old July 22nd, 2007 (06:31 PM).
Diggeh's Avatar
Diggeh
A horoscope of ambitions.
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Somewhere.
Age: 23
Gender:
Nature: Modest
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Diggeh
Quote originally posted by - HackMew -:
1. Well, I hope that you have a backup because it seems that you overwrot some important data. If you can get the backup, try to make changes step by step checking if the PC still work. In this way you'll trace what corrupted the PC's script.

2. Uhm, what program did you use to insert the sprite?

3. To edit that text it's better to use an hex editor which support table files, like Thingy32/Translhextion for example. The presentation text can be edited just like a common textbox; keep in mind that the max length is 42 (or 40? I don't remember at the moment) instead of 36.
1) Aww, really?

I have a crapload of back-ups, but now I have to re-do all of Route 2 and a bunch of text in AdvanceText... D:

2) I'm using unLZ.GBA.

3) Okay, thanks. I'll try that.
__________________
  #1543    
Old July 23rd, 2007 (03:18 AM).
willypiggy's Avatar
willypiggy
パンケーキ! Yum!
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Gender:
Nature: Modest
I have a real noobie question, about a year back I started ROM hacking, I stopped due to GCSEs and such but now its my summer holidays I wanna start again, I have already put a new picture in my title screen on Fire red but my problem is... I cant remember how to edit pallets, there was a tutorial a while ago but its gone now... can someone point me in the direction of a guide or tell me how to? Thanks BTW, Hackmew, your tools are amazing!
__________________
  #1544    
Old July 23rd, 2007 (08:55 AM).
GWXCORE's Avatar
GWXCORE
Protector of the Core
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Marshall MO
Age: 24
Gender:
Nature: Hardy
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to GWXCORE
ok i'm on hackmew's rom raiders team and he had me revamp some themes. i took new bark's theme and tabbed it out by hand in guitar pro 5(guitarist midi program) made my changes, and then exported it to midi. i went through sappy and mid2agb and everything like a tutorial said. but when i play the music in the game its slow, missing tracks at certain points, and then just stops randomly and when i go to somewhere with diff music, it won't start back! please help me
  #1545    
Old July 23rd, 2007 (09:59 AM). Edited July 23rd, 2007 by bonaza.
bonaza
Booted out - don't be like me!
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Nature: Adamant
My script isn't triggering when the player steps on it. Its supposed to move the player, but nothing is happening.

#org 0x800050
Checkflag 0x26A
if 0x1 goto 0x800100
setflag 0x26A
applymovement 0xFE 0x800110
release
end

#org 0x800100
end

#org 0x800110
#raw 0x60
#raw 0x35
#raw 0x80
#raw 0x80
#raw 0x80
#raw 0x80
#raw 0x80
#raw 0x80
#raw 0xFE
  #1546    
Old July 23rd, 2007 (11:59 AM).
silverish_dewil's Avatar
silverish_dewil
PKMN Necromancer
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PKMN Graveyard
Age: 23
Gender:
Nature: Gentle
Quote originally posted by Diggeh:
3) I can't seem to fix the beginning text in the box with a Pikachu on it. Take a look at Zel's example from Shiny Gold:



I've loaded up the three parts of the entering text into AdvanceText, but whenever I edit it...Well...



I understand that the reason that happens is because AdvanceText only edits the smaller text boxes, not that huge beast.

But, I need to know how Zel managed to edit the text without it coming out as NPC-talking-size. Is there a program that I already may have that edits what it says?

Thanks in advance,
~Diggeh
The easiest way is to edit text in advance text editor (search for it in toolbox forum). All you need is to find the text and turn on the special dialog button and the text will appear to be normal.
__________________

Proud Team Aeon's member.
  #1547    
Old July 23rd, 2007 (12:59 PM).
Epsilon's Avatar
Epsilon
Shiny Scizor
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The netherlands
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
I want to find the offset for the charizard in the FR
title screen to use with advanced pallette editor, how?
__________________
  #1548    
Old July 23rd, 2007 (01:48 PM). Edited July 24th, 2007 by Pazuzu.
mattheulmcinnis
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
it is in the tutorials section but here is the offset. 2011

Quote:
My script isn't triggering when the player steps on it. Its supposed to move the player, but nothing is happening.

#org 0x800050
Checkflag 0x26A
if 0x1 goto 0x800100
setflag 0x26A
applymovement 0xFE 0x800110
release
end

#org 0x800100
end

#org 0x800110
#raw 0x60
#raw 0x35
#raw 0x80
#raw 0x80
#raw 0x80
#raw 0x80
#raw 0x80
#raw 0x80
#raw 0xFE
I think it is suppose to be

applymovement 0x800110 0xFE

0xFE always goes at the end.

Quote:
ok i'm on hackmew's rom raiders team and he had me revamp some themes. i took new bark's theme and tabbed it out by hand in guitar pro 5(guitarist midi program) made my changes, and then exported it to midi. i went through sappy and mid2agb and everything like a tutorial said. but when i play the music in the game its slow, missing tracks at certain points, and then just stops randomly and when i go to somewhere with diff music, it won't start back! please help me

I think you should have it in Sapphys fromat which I don't know what the format is this is the best I can do for you.

I need help because on my pokemon firered game that I am hacking the Hoenn and Jhoto pokemon try to evolve and they can't. why is that?
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
You have too many images in your signature, and altogether they exceed the height limit of 300 pixels. Please take some out to meet the limit.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
  #1549    
Old July 23rd, 2007 (10:43 PM).
bxela1's Avatar
bxela1
Jirachi's number 1 fan
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Somewhere you aren't.
Gender:
Nature: Lonely
My hack is moving along quite well and I just wondered how much of my game should be finished before I should post it in the Hacks showcase and how much longer after that until I should post a BETA?
__________________
CURRENTLY INACTIVE BUT WILL BE BACK SOONER THAN YOU THINK, OR LATER, DEPENDS WHAT YOU THINK.

WATCH THIS SPACE!
  #1550    
Old July 23rd, 2007 (10:57 PM).
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote originally posted by Diggeh:
2) I'm using unLZ.GBA.
I've just inserted the two Piplon's sprites wiht unLZ.GBA and I got the same problem. Taking a closer look, I saw that the palette used in the backsprite is not "well-formed". Well, probably you won't understand what I mean. So, try to see a normal Pokémon like Bulbasaur etc. and compare his normal palette with the shiny one. Then do the same thing for your Piplon. I'm sure you'll see the difference.


Quote originally posted by willypiggy:
I cant remember how to edit pallets, there was a tutorial a while ago but its gone now... can someone point me in the direction of a guide or tell me how to? Thanks BTW, Hackmew, your tools are amazing!
Well, there's a little tutorial in the Documents and Tutorial section. If you can wait, anyway, I'll post a tutorial for APE.


Quote originally posted by bonaza:
My script isn't triggering when the player steps on it. Its supposed to move the player, but nothing is happening.
When using applymovement to move the player you have to use 0xFF, not 0xFE.

Try this:

Code:
#org 0x800050
checkflag 0x26A
if 0x1 goto 0x800100
applymovement 0xFF 0x800110
setflag 0x26A
release
end

#org 0x800100
release
end

#org 0x800110
#raw 0x60
#raw 0x35
#raw 0x80
#raw 0x80
#raw 0x80
#raw 0x80
#raw 0x80
#raw 0x80
#raw 0xFE

Quote originally posted by Cronos:
I want to find the offset for the charizard in the FR
title screen to use with advanced pallette editor, how?
The easiest way is to use the search function. Open VBA, load the ROM and once on the titlescreen open the Palette Viewer. From there, save the background as a PaintShop palette or as an Adobe Color Table. Open APE, import the palette you just saved and change the index until you find the Charizard's palette. At this point, search it in the ROM and edit it as you like.


Quote originally posted by mattheulmcinnis:
I need help because on my pokemon firered game that I am hacking the Hoenn and Jhoto pokemon try to evolve and they can't. why is that?
You need to enabled the National Dex otherwhise they will never evolve. In the Documents and Tutorials you can find a neat tutorial about it.

Also don't answer with wrong and pointless answer, please.


Quote originally posted by bxela1:
My hack is moving along quite well and I just wondered how much of my game should be finished before I should post it in the Hacks showcase and how much longer after that until I should post a BETA?
It totally depends on you. You decide.
__________________
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 03:51 AM.