Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub > Beginner’s Lounge
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Beginner’s Lounge Where all good (and bad) ideas start. This is the Beginner’s Lounge, where if you need a helping hand or want to develop your small ideas, you bring it here. We won't bite.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #15476    
Old July 18th, 2010 (07:11 AM).
Chimchar 9's Avatar
Chimchar 9 Chimchar 9 is offline
(:
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England, Southampton.
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 1,621
I'm having trouble to make the start of the journey in R/S/E be like FR, for example, starting off in your bedroom without going threw all the truck crap. Could someone tell me how to do this, as I've tried loads of tools.
__________________
Pokemon Green Diamond
Status: On Hold.
  #15477    
Old July 18th, 2010 (09:14 AM).
Heart's Soul's Avatar
Heart's Soul Heart's Soul is offline
Hey, look, I was gone.
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,532
Quote originally posted by Team Fail:
By using the stamp function, you can copy the tiles from the map, and it will copy all the movement permissions that are associated with that tile. For example, if you put a tree on the map, and made it's movement permissions, then used the stamp, ALT=CLICK AND DRAG, I believe, and put it on your map. Then, the movement permissions that you set earlier will be applied to that stamp, and you won't have to do as much!
Yes, but if you would just re-read my post, you'd notice that I said to do this without using the stamp function.
__________________
"No calendar today. Oh, that's a shame. What day is it today? It is no day. The calendar does not exist anymore. Today does not exist." - Professional Idiot
  #15478    
Old July 18th, 2010 (04:59 PM).
Doomsaloto's Avatar
Doomsaloto Doomsaloto is offline
Learning to be Pr0
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: TX ,USA
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 27
Okay, I have a somewhat large problem. I am unable to view when clicking 'view script' in Advance Map. Yes, I've specified my script editor, it is XSE, and when pressing view script XSE will just open up and display a blank script, no matter what event/script I try and open. I can edit scripts I've saved and write new scripts just fine, it's just viewing scripts already compiled into the ROM that's giving me trouble. Does anybody know whats causing this problem and how to fix it?
  #15479    
Old July 18th, 2010 (06:31 PM). Edited July 18th, 2010 by chrunch.
chrunch's Avatar
chrunch chrunch is offline
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,122
Quote originally posted by Chimchar 9:
I'm having trouble to make the start of the journey in R/S/E be like FR, for example, starting off in your bedroom without going threw all the truck crap. Could someone tell me how to do this, as I've tried loads of tools.
One easy way would be to remap the truck so it looks like your bedroom,
and change the warps. :3

EDIT:
Now for my question:
where, If there are any, can I find ripped RSE tiles?
__________________
  #15480    
Old July 18th, 2010 (11:22 PM).
Cardboard Roof Cardboard Roof is offline
PokéROM Hacker
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Hardy
Posts: 15
I am having aproblem with my PROF OAK script. I havnt changed anything except the text but heres the problem:

I took the original PROF OAK PALLET TOWN script (hey wait! dont go out!) and moved it over X amount of spaces to the right, i also moved OAK and his lab the same X amount of spaces so there was practically no difference except for there positions. However now when i stand on the script the game just freezes except for the music. (sorry for long post) is there any way i can fix this?
  #15481    
Old July 19th, 2010 (07:37 AM).
Doomsaloto's Avatar
Doomsaloto Doomsaloto is offline
Learning to be Pr0
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: TX ,USA
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 27
Quote originally posted by Cardboard Roof:
I am having aproblem with my PROF OAK script. I havnt changed anything except the text but heres the problem:

I took the original PROF OAK PALLET TOWN script (hey wait! dont go out!) and moved it over X amount of spaces to the right, i also moved OAK and his lab the same X amount of spaces so there was practically no difference except for there positions. However now when i stand on the script the game just freezes except for the music. (sorry for long post) is there any way i can fix this?
I think you might be having the same problem with motion scripts I was having. The game will just freeze if you don't set the Unknown and Var Numbers on your scripts for motion. In advance map, set the scripts for the tiles you step on to Unknown: 0003 and Var Number: 4050. I think that might do it.
  #15482    
Old July 19th, 2010 (08:21 AM).
ase's Avatar
ase ase is offline
learning How to Hack
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: MD, USA
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 44
Send a message via Yahoo to ase
Hi everyone i need help im looking for an emerald tileset to patch onto my Rom but i cant seem to find one plz give me a link thnks
__________________



follow the link below
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=222928
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this in your signature.

DBZ: Possibly the BEST anime ever!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cna yuo raed tihs? Olny 55% of plepoe can.
I cdnuolt blveiee taht I cluod aulaclty uesdnatnrd waht I was rdanieg. The phaonmneal pweor of the hmuan mnid, aoccdrnig to a rscheearch at Cmabrigde Uinervtisy, it dseno't mtaetr in waht oerdr the ltteres in a wrod are, the olny iproamtnt tihng is taht the frsit and lsat ltteer be in the rghit pclae. The rset can be a taotl mses and you can sitll raed it whotuit a pboerlm. Tihs is bcuseae the huamn mnid deos not raed ervey lteter by istlef, but the wrod as a wlohe. Azanmig huh? yaeh and I awlyas tghuhot slpeling was ipmorantt! fi yuo cna raed tihs, palce it in yuor siantugre
I don't calculate stat values, I don't breed my way to perfection, and I don't care about natures. I catch my Pokemon the way they are, and treat them like individuals instead of brainless drones. If you use this philosophy, copy & paste this into your signature
  #15483    
Old July 19th, 2010 (09:21 AM).
Pandaren Pandaren is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 5
Here's a super-simple question:

How should I start hacking if I haven't got much experience in it?
  #15484    
Old July 19th, 2010 (09:23 AM).
DuoRyan's Avatar
DuoRyan DuoRyan is offline
Hack'in as usual, it seem.
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Somewhere.
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 336
Quote originally posted by Pandaren:
Here's a super-simple question:

How should I start hacking if I haven't got much experience in it?
It is call learning. Simple as that.
  #15485    
Old July 19th, 2010 (09:35 AM).
Heart's Soul's Avatar
Heart's Soul Heart's Soul is offline
Hey, look, I was gone.
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,532
Quote originally posted by ase:
Hi everyone i need help im looking for an emerald tileset to patch onto my Rom but i cant seem to find one plz give me a link thnks
Get an Emerald ROM, take the tileset, and place it in the game you want. It's slightly more complicated, but I want to finish this post fast.
__________________
"No calendar today. Oh, that's a shame. What day is it today? It is no day. The calendar does not exist anymore. Today does not exist." - Professional Idiot
  #15486    
Old July 19th, 2010 (12:04 PM).
Resultz's Avatar
Resultz Resultz is offline
All- round Poke-Whizz
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Yorkshire, England
Gender: Male
Posts: 583
Hey guys, just wondering what is a good point in my hack to start a thread on here at?
__________________
MY HACK:
LOOKING FOR HELP MAKING POKEMON HYACINTH:
APPLY IN THE THREAD!;
MANY POSITIONS AVAILABLE!

  #15487    
Old July 19th, 2010 (12:12 PM).
Nosophoros's Avatar
Nosophoros Nosophoros is offline
I'm eating your cake
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Amerika
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 44
Probably after developing a storyline and characters.
__________________
90% of teens today would die if Myspace had a system failure and was completely destroyed...If you are one of the 10% that would be laughing, put this in your signature.




DBZ Signature by x Necromorph x
  #15488    
Old July 19th, 2010 (12:16 PM).
FireFox's Avatar
FireFox FireFox is offline
Dialga Fangirl
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: UK
Age: 29
Gender: Female
Nature: Timid
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to FireFox Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to FireFox Send a message via Yahoo to FireFox
Hi guys. Is there a way of making a trainer send out Pokémon in the correct order?

EG:
In A-Trainer, it's setup as (class is 'PKMN TRAINER'):
'Mon1 Lv9
'Mon2 Lv7
'Mon3 Lv9
'Mon4 Lv11

In-game, depending on your level, it sends the order thus:

'Mon1 Lv9
'Mon4 Lv11
'Mon2 Lv7
'Mon3 Lv9

Someone once told me to turn the AI of the Pokémon down to 0, they're all on 0. Advice please. Thank you :)
__________________
  #15489    
Old July 19th, 2010 (12:26 PM).
Heart's Soul's Avatar
Heart's Soul Heart's Soul is offline
Hey, look, I was gone.
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,532
Quote originally posted by FireFox:
Hi guys. Is there a way of making a trainer send out Pokémon in the correct order?

EG:
In A-Trainer, it's setup as (class is 'PKMN TRAINER'):
'Mon1 Lv9
'Mon2 Lv7
'Mon3 Lv9
'Mon4 Lv11

In-game, depending on your level, it sends the order thus:

'Mon1 Lv9
'Mon4 Lv11
'Mon2 Lv7
'Mon3 Lv9

Someone once told me to turn the AI of the Pokémon down to 0, they're all on 0. Advice please. Thank you
It depends on the Pokémon you use in battle against trainers.
__________________
"No calendar today. Oh, that's a shame. What day is it today? It is no day. The calendar does not exist anymore. Today does not exist." - Professional Idiot
  #15490    
Old July 19th, 2010 (12:39 PM).
Resultz's Avatar
Resultz Resultz is offline
All- round Poke-Whizz
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Yorkshire, England
Gender: Male
Posts: 583
by develop a story do you mean ideas-wise or actually making the hack wise?

I've inserted most of the fakemon, most of the tiles are inserted, and the first few maps and scripts are done, aswell as the majority of the storyline, would you say im ready to make a thread?
__________________
MY HACK:
LOOKING FOR HELP MAKING POKEMON HYACINTH:
APPLY IN THE THREAD!;
MANY POSITIONS AVAILABLE!

  #15491    
Old July 19th, 2010 (12:48 PM).
Nosophoros's Avatar
Nosophoros Nosophoros is offline
I'm eating your cake
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Amerika
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 44
Sure, I mean most of the hacks I see posted in the progressing hacks section have a long ways to go.
__________________
90% of teens today would die if Myspace had a system failure and was completely destroyed...If you are one of the 10% that would be laughing, put this in your signature.




DBZ Signature by x Necromorph x
  #15492    
Old July 19th, 2010 (12:50 PM).
Resultz's Avatar
Resultz Resultz is offline
All- round Poke-Whizz
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Yorkshire, England
Gender: Male
Posts: 583
Quote originally posted by Nosophoros:
Sure, I mean most of the hacks I see posted in the progressing hacks section have a long ways to go.
Okay i'll work on that tomorrow, thanks :D
__________________
MY HACK:
LOOKING FOR HELP MAKING POKEMON HYACINTH:
APPLY IN THE THREAD!;
MANY POSITIONS AVAILABLE!

  #15493    
Old July 19th, 2010 (12:56 PM).
Cardboard Roof Cardboard Roof is offline
PokéROM Hacker
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Hardy
Posts: 15
Thankyou Doomsaloto for your help.
Now i have another problem :/

The OAK scripts works perfectly, except for the fact that OAK himself doesnt actually walk up to you... or maybe he does, but hes invisible. I really cant figure this one out. How do I make him show up? Once again nothing has been changed except positions and what he says.
  #15494    
Old July 19th, 2010 (01:02 PM).
FireFox's Avatar
FireFox FireFox is offline
Dialga Fangirl
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: UK
Age: 29
Gender: Female
Nature: Timid
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to FireFox Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to FireFox Send a message via Yahoo to FireFox
Thanks Heart's Soul.
Quote originally posted by Cardboard Roof:
Thankyou Doomsaloto for your help.
Now i have another problem :/

The OAK scripts works perfectly, except for the fact that OAK himself doesnt actually walk up to you... or maybe he does, but hes invisible. I really cant figure this one out. How do I make him show up? Once again nothing has been changed except positions and what he says.
Would it be showsprite 0xOAKS_ID?
Where OAKS_ID is the person event ID of Oak?
__________________
  #15495    
Old July 19th, 2010 (01:11 PM). Edited July 19th, 2010 by Cardboard Roof.
Cardboard Roof Cardboard Roof is offline
PokéROM Hacker
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Hardy
Posts: 15
Quote originally posted by FireFox:
Thanks Heart's Soul.


Would it be showsprite 0xOAKS_ID?
Where OAKS_ID is the person event ID of Oak?
Im not sure... im a little new to scripting. however im using XSE if it makes a difference but i cant find that line you specified. would it be

showsprite 0x3?
  #15496    
Old July 19th, 2010 (01:23 PM).
Resultz's Avatar
Resultz Resultz is offline
All- round Poke-Whizz
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Yorkshire, England
Gender: Male
Posts: 583
I have another wuestion:

Is it possible that editing growth rate of a pokemon can cause it to skip a level when it evolves?
'my starter leveled up to 16, evolved, and was level 17'
It also shouldve learnt curse at Level 18, but didnt even try, how can this be cause?
__________________
MY HACK:
LOOKING FOR HELP MAKING POKEMON HYACINTH:
APPLY IN THE THREAD!;
MANY POSITIONS AVAILABLE!

  #15497    
Old July 19th, 2010 (02:27 PM).
icychill66 icychill66 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 126
I want to add Glaceon and Leafeon to my hack, but I don't want to replace any of the original Pokemon. From what I know, I need to replace the "???" after the regular pokemon with YAPE or another editor. Once I do that, Does anyone know how to extend the Pokedex? Is there a way to make it have more than 386 slots for pokemon? If I don't extend it, the game will freeze if glaceon or leafeon is caught.
  #15498    
Old July 19th, 2010 (02:54 PM).
DuoRyan's Avatar
DuoRyan DuoRyan is offline
Hack'in as usual, it seem.
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Somewhere.
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 336
Quote originally posted by icychill66:
I want to add Glaceon and Leafeon to my hack, but I don't want to replace any of the original Pokemon. From what I know, I need to replace the "???" after the regular pokemon with YAPE or another editor. Once I do that, Does anyone know how to extend the Pokedex? Is there a way to make it have more than 386 slots for pokemon? If I don't extend it, the game will freeze if glaceon or leafeon is caught.
look for a pokdex order editor they usually have alot of slot
  #15499    
Old July 19th, 2010 (02:56 PM).
Nosophoros's Avatar
Nosophoros Nosophoros is offline
I'm eating your cake
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Amerika
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 44
When I replace the ??? with a new pokemon sprite in unlz gba it only uses the light green and white colors, how do I use the new pokemon's pallette?
__________________
90% of teens today would die if Myspace had a system failure and was completely destroyed...If you are one of the 10% that would be laughing, put this in your signature.




DBZ Signature by x Necromorph x
  #15500    
Old July 19th, 2010 (04:14 PM).
Nivek15's Avatar
Nivek15 Nivek15 is offline
Honest Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 10
I'm playing Crystal version and I want to evolve my Haunter into a Gengar. Since I can't trade, the only way to do that is by hacks. I tried hacking Haunter into a Gengar but it only changed the picture to a Gengar. When I battle with it it says "Gengar" but still appears as a Haunter. When I check its stats it shows a picture of a Gengar. How do I completely turn my Haunter into a Gengar while keeping all the stats and moves, but have the game treat it like an actual Gengar?
__________________
Pokemon Heart Gold
Name: KEVIN
FC: 4383 4257 7470
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 04:56 AM.