[ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION) - Page 696 - The PokéCommunity Forums

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #17376    
Old January 8th, 2011 (05:06 PM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Im comin' home...
Community Supporter Tier 1
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Quote originally posted by <(-.-)>:
i'm trying to hack surfing sprite (the part you ride on) in firered but i can't find it in overworld. does anyone know where it's storedi
The graphics editing tool NSE (Nameless Sprite Editor) comes with a bookmarking function.

The bookmark file that comes with NSE contains a bookmark of the surfing pokemon (The thing the player surfs on)

The cool thing is NSE lets you edit the sprite right there, no need to export/import (Unless you'd prefer it that way, in that case you can also import, as NSE supports importing and exporting of any sprite.)
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
  #17377    
Old January 9th, 2011 (01:08 AM).
Beechlgz
Advanced Trainer
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote originally posted by Beechlgz:
That's not what I'm asking. What I'm asking is, if I wanted to make a brand new hidden item, would I need to sacrifice another hidden item elsewhere in the game to use its ID, or can I make up new hidden IDs that come after the last hidden ID in the game?
So, what happens if I make up new hidden IDs, is that a bad thing? Should I sacrifice currently used hidden items instead?
  #17378    
Old January 9th, 2011 (02:02 AM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
^
i am not really sure but why not do some trial and error?
i mean, y not try using one?
__________________

3DS FC: 0061-1111-6462
TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)


  #17379    
Old January 9th, 2011 (02:21 AM).
Beechlgz
Advanced Trainer
 
Join Date: May 2010
It seemed to work but I don't know yet if it may have affected anything else without me knowing, that's why I'm hoping someone here might know.

Like, I'm afraid of accidentally over-writing some code I'm unaware of by using values that I'm not sure are already in use (I doubt I could keep on 'making up' hidden IDs foever, for example).
  #17380    
Old January 9th, 2011 (03:19 AM).
Hi-Techneon's Avatar
Hi-Techneon
Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Belgium
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Rash
Quote originally posted by Beechlgz:
It seemed to work but I don't know yet if it may have affected anything else without me knowing, that's why I'm hoping someone here might know.

Like, I'm afraid of accidentally over-writing some code I'm unaware of by using values that I'm not sure are already in use (I doubt I could keep on 'making up' hidden IDs foever, for example).
The only thing you could mess up are the flags. For example, don't use 800 in Ruby for example as once you picked up the item you will have access to the party screen.
__________________

VDex:
White:
  #17381    
Old January 9th, 2011 (03:46 AM).
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji
Helfen, Wehren, Heilen
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Downia-upside
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote originally posted by Beechlgz:
It seemed to work but I don't know yet if it may have affected anything else without me knowing, that's why I'm hoping someone here might know.

Like, I'm afraid of accidentally over-writing some code I'm unaware of by using values that I'm not sure are already in use (I doubt I could keep on 'making up' hidden IDs foever, for example).
You can't affect anything by using new/different hidden item IDs - It is literally just making sure that you can't recieve the same thing twice and would have no connection to any other code. By making a new hidden item you won't be tampering with anything unless you go out of your way to radically change how the entire hidden item system works or something like that. If you're using Advance Map or another map editor don't worry about anything.

I believe that you can only go up to FF (256) hidden items anyway so you're not going to overwrite something important as you're going to be restricted to a certain space in the game's code.
__________________
  #17382    
Old January 9th, 2011 (07:52 AM).
Washibon's Avatar
Washibon
---
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Gender: Female
Quote originally posted by Banjora Marxvile:
Where did you insert the new tile? I need a pic of that in Block Editor, just to see what you did. I have a feeling you may have replaced the black blocks that make up the invisible foreground by accident, but I'm not sure.
Where are those located in the tile set?

Unfortunately, I can't post pictures yet. I don't have enough posts.

I replaced the section of black blocks in the middle of the tile set. In between the beachy/sea tiles.
  #17383    
Old January 9th, 2011 (09:48 AM).
1st Gen FTW's Avatar
1st Gen FTW
We only need 151.
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by XeroGraviti:
Um...Fire Red DOES have more than 1 battle theme. Unless your asking for something else? If so can you be more specific?
I know it does have more than one theme, but I meant like having all of the themes there are, and then a rival theme for example because when you battle your rival it's just the regular battle theme. In other words, is there a way to have a regular battle theme, a gym leader battle theme, a champion battle theme and a rival battle theme? Or maybe even more than a rival theme?
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Too wide. Maximum width allowed is 500 px.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
  #17384    
Old January 9th, 2011 (05:11 PM).
Metroid Die
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
When I use a warp to any map that was already created in the game, it works perfectly fine. However, when I use a warp that goes to a map that I created, it restarts the ROM.

I'm using Fire Red.

Any tips on what might be going on?
  #17385    
Old January 10th, 2011 (08:17 AM).
abidon
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Gender: Male
Hi,I'm new and I want to translate Pokemon Fire Red into my mother tongue language.But i haven't got any idea on how to use a hex editor.Can you help me?Please don't tell it detailed.Because I can't understand that way.Can you just show the ways with images please?Thanks by now.
  #17386    
Old January 10th, 2011 (09:24 AM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote originally posted by Washibon:
Where are those located in the tile set?

Unfortunately, I can't post pictures yet. I don't have enough posts.

I replaced the section of black blocks in the middle of the tile set. In between the beachy/sea tiles.
... I actually meant... Wait, did you insert fresh new tiles into the ROM? If you replaced some of those blank tiles where you said, it shouldn't do anything. My main concern is now what did you do (if you did) to the Tileset that you can open and changed in Paint.
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...


Nerves o
f Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

  #17387    
Old January 10th, 2011 (10:01 AM).
kidkouga's Avatar
kidkouga
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Brooklyn
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Okay I'm well aware there are several tutorials on how to insert overworlds but to be honest its just not processing in my brain as well as i'd like to...I've continuously ran into problem after problem and its a real pain. I'm asking if theres anyone out there who can help me with inserting OW sprites. Right now I'm using NSE with fire red because i have more pallets that way. My major problem is all this hexing stuff which is a major hack block. So if anyone is willing to help me out one-on-one on increasing the max overworld number i'd be greatful
  #17388    
Old January 10th, 2011 (11:18 AM).
Kevin's Avatar
Kevin
kevin del rey
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Virginia
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by abidon:
Hi,I'm new and I want to translate Pokemon Fire Red into my mother tongue language.But i haven't got any idea on how to use a hex editor.Can you help me?Please don't tell it detailed.Because I can't understand that way.Can you just show the ways with images please?Thanks by now.
You should look around the Tutorials sub-forum to find some guides on hex editing; it may or may not be there, though (depending on what kind of hex editor you're using).
__________________
  #17389    
Old January 10th, 2011 (11:21 AM).
Washibon's Avatar
Washibon
---
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Gender: Female
Quote originally posted by Banjora Marxvile:
... I actually meant... Wait, did you insert fresh new tiles into the ROM? If you replaced some of those blank tiles where you said, it shouldn't do anything. My main concern is now what did you do (if you did) to the Tileset that you can open and changed in Paint.
Ah, well I used the second palette I think..
The palette, when I opened it- It had the tiles at the top, and then it had a large amount of black space under. I inserted the tiles into that black space. Was I not supposed to do that? ;o;
  #17390    
Old January 11th, 2011 (04:11 AM).
Corroded Arceus
Pokemon Staurolite Creator
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Age: 22
Gender: Female
Nature: Adamant
I cannot seem to change Oak’s Dialogue from being about Bulbasaur to being about Eevee in my FireRed hack, Pokemon Staurolite. When I click on the “BULBASAUR” tab in Advanced Text, it comes up with “A:A:A” When I changed this to be about Eevee, it glitched the game up majorly, as in the Eevee I hacked to be on the Title screen instead of the Charizard was a gitched mess of pixels. I downloaded a fresh ROM, thinking it was the problem, but this ROM just had a blank space under the Bulbasaur tab, and when I typed the text I wanted into this space and tested it in the game, it just said the usual text about Bulbasaur. I have tried multiple ROMs and the problem won’t fix. Help!
  #17391    
Old January 11th, 2011 (04:24 AM).
Regeneration's Avatar
Regeneration
meow
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Somewhere I Belong
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Send a message via Skype™ to Regeneration
Quote originally posted by abidon:
Hi,I'm new and I want to translate Pokemon Fire Red into my mother tongue language.But i haven't got any idea on how to use a hex editor.Can you help me?Please don't tell it detailed.Because I can't understand that way.Can you just show the ways with images please?Thanks by now.
I don't think you need a Hex Editor for it anyway. Just use Advance Text or a scripting program like XSE or PokeScript or any other scripting program available.
  #17392    
Old January 11th, 2011 (06:32 AM).
<(-.-)>'s Avatar
<(-.-)>
Its a penguin!
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sitting in the shaddows plotting how not to pay next months rent
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
I'm inserting self made tiles (64x64) into advance map but it cuts off the far left 16x16 squares. How do you fix this?
__________________
-3(I-3)<3(-U+3)
``-3I+9<-3U+9
````-3I<-3U
``````I>U
``````
  #17393    
Old January 11th, 2011 (07:30 AM).
abidon
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Gender: Male
Thanks for your interest Regeneration and Destiny Demon.Then if I could use Advance Text,can you tell me how to use it to change every text in pokemon fire red?
  #17394    
Old January 11th, 2011 (08:20 AM).
Washibon's Avatar
Washibon
---
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Gender: Female
Quote originally posted by Corroded Arceus:
I cannot seem to change Oak’s Dialogue from being about Bulbasaur to being about Eevee in my FireRed hack, Pokemon Staurolite. When I click on the “BULBASAUR” tab in Advanced Text, it comes up with “A:A:A” When I changed this to be about Eevee, it glitched the game up majorly, as in the Eevee I hacked to be on the Title screen instead of the Charizard was a gitched mess of pixels. I downloaded a fresh ROM, thinking it was the problem, but this ROM just had a blank space under the Bulbasaur tab, and when I typed the text I wanted into this space and tested it in the game, it just said the usual text about Bulbasaur. I have tried multiple ROMs and the problem won’t fix. Help!
Rather than changing the names in Advance Text, you can download Advance Starter and easily change Bulbasaur to Eevee.
  #17395    
Old January 11th, 2011 (08:29 AM).
altariaking's Avatar
altariaking
Needs NO VMs...
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Scotland, Lesmahagow
Age: 40
Gender: Male
Nature: Naive
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to altariaking
Quote originally posted by Corroded Arceus:
I cannot seem to change Oak’s Dialogue from being about Bulbasaur to being about Eevee in my FireRed hack, Pokemon Staurolite. When I click on the “BULBASAUR” tab in Advanced Text, it comes up with “A:A:A” When I changed this to be about Eevee, it glitched the game up majorly, as in the Eevee I hacked to be on the Title screen instead of the Charizard was a gitched mess of pixels. I downloaded a fresh ROM, thinking it was the problem, but this ROM just had a blank space under the Bulbasaur tab, and when I typed the text I wanted into this space and tested it in the game, it just said the usual text about Bulbasaur. I have tried multiple ROMs and the problem won’t fix. Help!
Try using a hex editor, like translhextion, and a table file instead.
__________________
http://www.pokecommunity.com/member.php?u=253113
  #17396    
Old January 11th, 2011 (08:37 AM).
Regeneration's Avatar
Regeneration
meow
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Somewhere I Belong
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Send a message via Skype™ to Regeneration
Quote originally posted by abidon:
Thanks for your interest Regeneration and Destiny Demon.Then if I could use Advance Text,can you tell me how to use it to change every text in pokemon fire red?
It would be really difficult to change every bit of text in Advance Text alone, so you should use a scripting program and Advance Text both.
Use Advance Map and then go to Settings> Choose Script Editor> Then choose your program. Now you can open any script right in A-Map and then edit the dialogues, etc.
For stuff which cannot be accessed in A-Map, you should use A-Text and search for the string of text you want to change.
  #17397    
Old January 11th, 2011 (10:13 AM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote originally posted by Washibon:
Ah, well I used the second palette I think..
The palette, when I opened it- It had the tiles at the top, and then it had a large amount of black space under. I inserted the tiles into that black space. Was I not supposed to do that? ;o;
Well, depends. This huge space is within the 2nd tileset (pallette is different, as in, pallette are the colours) and that tileset is specific to some areas. If you add tiles there that you mean to use everywhere, it doesn't work. You need to add it to the major tileset.
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...


Nerves o
f Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

  #17398    
Old January 11th, 2011 (11:04 AM).
JustKidingYa's Avatar
JustKidingYa
No, this time its for real
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Thinking of a cool place to be
Gender: Male
Nature: Docile
Can someone help me ican't script because if i try
nothing happens or the freezes HELP
-------------------
I'm to lazy to make a signiture
  #17399    
Old January 11th, 2011 (11:44 AM).
abidon
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Gender: Male
Ok Thank u.But one more question.How cani create characters like:ç ş ı ğ ö ü in the text?
  #17400    
Old January 11th, 2011 (01:42 PM).
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji
Helfen, Wehren, Heilen
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Downia-upside
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote originally posted by JustKidingYa:
Can someone help me ican't script because if i try
nothing happens or the freezes HELP
-------------------
I'm to lazy to make a signiture
We need more information about what is going wrong than that. Can you tell us anything specific that you are doing? In addition, is it the scripting tool or the game itself that crashes?

Quote originally posted by abidon:
Ok Thank u.But one more question.How cani create characters like:ç ş ı ğ ö ü in the text?
Here's a quote from diegoisawesome's scripting tutorial:

Quote originally posted by diegoisawesome:
\h is used with hex values. Here's an example:

Quote:
Here's \hB7100!
That \hB7 is the currency sign of the Pokemon world.
So in this example, I'm going to use "$":

Quote:
Here's $100!
Here's a table of all the hex codes for each symbol:

Spoiler:
00=
01=À
02=Á
03=Â
04=Ç
05=È
06=É
07=Ê
08=Ë
09=Ì
0B=Î
0C=Ï
0D=Ò
0E=Ó
0F=Ô
10=Æ
11=Ù
12=Ú
13=Û
14=Ñ
15=ß
16=à
17=á
19=ç
1A=è
1B=é
1C=ê
1D=ë
1E=ì
20=î
21=ï
22=ò
23=ó
24=ô
25=æ
26=ù
27=ú
28=û
29=ñ
2A=º
2B=ª
2C=·
2D=&
2E=+
34=[Lv]
35==
36=;
51=¿
52=¡
53=[PK]
54=[MN]
55=[PO]
56=[Ke]
57=[BL]
58=[OC]
59=[K]
5A=Í
5B=%
5C=(
5D=)
68=â
6F=í
79=[u]
7A=[D]
7B=[L]
7C=[R]
A1=0
A2=1
A3=2
A4=3
A5=4
A6=5
A7=6
A8=7
A9=8
AA=9
AB=!
AC=?
AD=.
AE=-
AF=·
B0=[...]
B1="
B2=["]
B3='
B4=[']
B5=[m]
B6=[f]
B7=$
B8=,
B9=[x]
BA=/
BB=A
BC=B
BD=C
BE=D
BF=E
C0=F
C1=G
C2=H
C3=I
C4=J
C5=K
C6=L
C7=M
C8=N
C9=O
CA=P
CB=Q
CC=R
CD=S
CE=T
CF=U
D0=V
D1=W
D2=X
D3=Y
D4=Z
D5=a
D6=b
D7=c
D8=d
D9=e
DA=f
DB=g
DC=h
DD=i
DE=j
DF=k
E0=l
E1=m
E2=n
E3=o
E4=p
E5=q
E6=r
E7=s
E8=t
E9=u
EA=v
EB=w
EC=x
ED=y
EE=z
EF=[>]
F0=:
F1=Ä
F2=Ö
F3=Ü
F4=ä
F5=ö
F6=ü
F7=[u]
F8=[d]
F9=[l]
FA=\l
FB=\p
FC=\c
FD=\v
FE=\n
FF=\x
__________________
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 10:35 AM.