Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #17926    
Old March 20th, 2011 (09:03 PM).
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron Darthatron is offline
巨大なトロール。
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,152
Quote originally posted by Teh Blazer:
I have a strange thingy that I have no idea on how it should be fixed. I lead a warp to a new map I inserted into the ROM and it looks fine and nothing seems to have changed, but the scripts won't activate on it. Also, the movement permissions I changed stay in their original state (As in, I change a few unwalkable tiles to walkable, but in the game they stay unwalkable), even though they are changed in AdvanceMap.

Anyone know how to fix it?
It sounds like you're not reloading the ROM. Reseting alone won't reload the ROM, you have to physically open it again.

Either that, or you're loading the wrong file?
__________________
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です
  #17927    
Old March 21st, 2011 (12:35 AM). Edited March 21st, 2011 by Diamond1304.
Diamond1304's Avatar
Diamond1304 Diamond1304 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Not here, at least.
Age: 18
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 1,145
Hi, I'm new to this forum and the reason why I came here was to find a B&W ROM to play on my computer before I actually get the game on my birthday. I tried searching for my question but so far, I see none alike.

If I'm in the wrong place, may the mods move my question to the appropriate place, I just decided to ask around here since this is about ROMs.

Kay, so my question is, I'm using a NO$GBA emulator and I want to play B&W on it so where can I get one? More specifically, I want to play Black as I would be getting White and I just wanted to find out the differences. Thanks in advanced for answering. xD

EDIT: I know it's against the rules to link the downloads to someone else, so maybe you could just PM me? If that's not allowed, then try and tell me where and how to get it. Thanks once more!
  #17928    
Old March 21st, 2011 (12:59 AM). Edited March 21st, 2011 by I_Love_Cats.
I_Love_Cats's Avatar
I_Love_Cats I_Love_Cats is offline
Cat in a Zapdos Hat
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New Bark Town
Gender: Female
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 3
1. How do I edit (& view) the intro sprite of kotone in HGSS & where are they located? (During gender Select).

2. Where is the pokeball throwing & Item/Skill/HM/TM using animations for kotone and how to I view and edit them?

3. How can I edit the intro movie and in game text to replace kotone with Kris?

Links to guides or resources as well as explanations for HGSS would be appriciated. So far I find a multitude of things for GBA games but not as much for HGSS.
So far a friend and I have been working on a project to fully replace Kotone with Kris. We have replaced the majority of the overworld sprites save those mentioned above & also the Trainer sprite (Kris as your enemy sprite). We are still working on pokeball toss/battle back animations, intro etc.
Thank you if you reply.

Quote originally posted by Diamond1304:
Hi, I'm new to this forum and the reason why I came here was to find a B&W ROM to play on my computer before I actually get the game on my birthday. I tried searching for my question but so far, I see none alike.

If I'm in the wrong place, may the mods move my question to the appropriate place, I just decided to ask around here since this is about ROMs.

Kay, so my question is, I'm using a NO$GBA emulator and I want to play B&W on it so where can I get one? More specifically, I want to play Black as I would be getting White and I just wanted to find out the differences. Thanks in advanced for answering. xD
As far as I know, ROMs are not hosted on this site nor will they show you where to get them. DL'ing ROMs is illegal if you do not own the game yourself. As is distributing them.
  #17929    
Old March 21st, 2011 (01:46 AM).
Diamond1304's Avatar
Diamond1304 Diamond1304 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Not here, at least.
Age: 18
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 1,145
Quote originally posted by I_Love_Cats:
As far as I know, ROMs are not hosted on this site nor will they show you where to get them. DL'ing ROMs is illegal if you do not own the game yourself. As is distributing them.
Oh I see. But I don't mind playing a ROM that one of our PC members has created. I just want it to be set in the same setting as Pokemon Black and White. I don't really know any trusted sites and places.
  #17930    
Old March 21st, 2011 (06:40 AM).
Sawakita's Avatar
Sawakita Sawakita is offline
Not Invented Here
 
Join Date: May 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 180
Quote originally posted by kringlur:
Tile Layer Pro and Yellow version errors:

Sprites stored at the "top" of the ROM have weird... moved lines compared to the result image, and compared to the sprites stored at the bottom of the ROM which look normal. I tried to directly paste a sprite from the bottom to a sprite on the top and attached is what happened. The sprites also have these misplaced lines in them when using the Pokemon Yellow Sprite editor, so it's not just TLP.

How can I get around this? I just want to replace some of the sprites in the "top".
You clearly are at the wrong offset. Use the Goto function in TLP, write 1 in the offset textbox and check the "relative" checkbox, then press "Go!". Then press F3 (which is the shortcut key for "Goto Again") until you see sprites are displaying correctly (i.e. without those weird lines that you complain of).
__________________



| 1st Gen Hacking: Useful Links | A good example of REAL ROM Hacking |
  #17931    
Old March 21st, 2011 (06:53 AM). Edited March 21st, 2011 by r0bert.
r0bert's Avatar
r0bert r0bert is offline
Quitifyingly awesome.
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: kewl places
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 381
A not so simple question;Is it possible to insert small cutscenes?On firered I mean
like fire emblem,those images.
__________________
  #17932    
Old March 21st, 2011 (09:50 AM).
kringlur's Avatar
kringlur kringlur is offline
Velkominn í heim POKéMON!
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 90
Quote originally posted by Sawakita:
You clearly are at the wrong offset. Use the Goto function in TLP, write 1 in the offset textbox and check the "relative" checkbox, then press "Go!". Then press F3 (which is the shortcut key for "Goto Again") until you see sprites are displaying correctly (i.e. without those weird lines that you complain of).
Thanks so much! I even read tutorials for how to use TLP but clearly I'm stupid... you're always helping me, I really owe you.
__________________
RBGY: Compilation file with headers, how to edit, et cetera. Please message me with fixes/additions/whathave you. Newest version is 6th March 2011.
Tutorial: Replacing Fire Red tiles with RBY tiles in Advance Map
  #17933    
Old March 21st, 2011 (01:52 PM).
Collen Collen is offline
I have returned.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 71
Alright, I need help.
When I load a map, it says this:
Spoiler:



It used to be the Viridian City Gym, and I deleted all the map scripts for it.
What's the problem? How do I fix it?
__________________

  #17934    
Old March 21st, 2011 (08:45 PM).
Gamer2020's Avatar
Gamer2020 Gamer2020 is offline
This love is a sickness...
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Distant Land
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 796
Send a message via Skype™ to Gamer2020
Quote originally posted by Collen:
Alright, I need help.
When I load a map, it says this:
Spoiler:



It used to be the Viridian City Gym, and I deleted all the map scripts for it.
What's the problem? How do I fix it?
It is telling you right there in the message box...
__________________
Pokemon Game Editor Download!
Pokemon TCG Assistant!
Fun Fact: Even though PGE isn't posted on PC anymore it still has the same number of downloads per day.
Accept no imitations!
  #17935    
Old March 21st, 2011 (09:25 PM).
Abacus's Avatar
Abacus Abacus is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 4
Heya folks,

I'm not 100% sure that this belongs in this forum, so here's to hoping that I've come to the right place! Now, I've got an ambitious project for Pokemon Black/White in mind - a double battle against both Iris and Drayden - and this brings up several queries:

1- Apparently, people have already found the Narc locations for NPC sprites and in-battle sprites, but is there any way to actually edit them? I was imagining a shot of Iris and Drayden standing side by side before you fight them. Putting the two sprites next to each other in photoshop should be an easy task, but extracting the pictures is where the problem lies.

2- how about the flashy, pre-Gym-battle close up portraits? Where it shows your face and their face and a bunch of cool blurred lines? Has the Narc location for that been found?

3- Is there a known way to insert a trainer sprite into a specific location? I was imagining putting an immobile, speechless "statue" of Iris right next to Drayden. You'd need to talk to the old man to start the battle, and the little girl would just stand there in order to show that you're about to fight them both at once. If it can be done for Gen 4 with PPRE...

4- Am I correct in assuming that I can use the PPTXT text editing tool to give both trainers dialogue before the battle, and Kazowar's B/W Trainer Editor to turn Drayden's fight into a double battle with 6 dragons; 3 male and 3 female?

5- Is this an overall manageable pipe dream, or am I in need of a major reality check?

Cheers!
  #17936    
Old March 21st, 2011 (10:09 PM).
I_Love_Cats's Avatar
I_Love_Cats I_Love_Cats is offline
Cat in a Zapdos Hat
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New Bark Town
Gender: Female
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 3
Is it possible to batch text edit everything for all maps in a ROM? specifically I am aiming to replace all instances of "Lyra" with "Kris".

So far I have been doing this manually zone by zone, but a faster way would be pretty awesome as opposed to copying each map into .txt and using replace all.
  #17937    
Old March 22nd, 2011 (02:35 AM).
Collen Collen is offline
I have returned.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 71
Quote originally posted by Gamer2020:

It is telling you right there in the message box...
But how do I save it at an offset dividable by four?
__________________

  #17938    
Old March 22nd, 2011 (08:50 AM).
TARDISam's Avatar
TARDISam TARDISam is offline
ShinyMakuhita that got away...
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Coventry, UK
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 21
Battle music. Is the battle theme defined by the trainer class? If so, how can I change a trainer class theme? (I'm guessing hex). And please don't say A-Trainer, because you can't, the music value in that is for the encounter theme, not the battle. And I don't mean 'just swap round the themes in Sappy', either.

I would have though that this would have been a FAQ, but I haven't found anyone ask it. I know Mastermind_X did a hex 'Jukebox' tutorial, but I couldn't get that to work, and anyway, I'm working on Emerald.

Thanks in advance
__________________
  #17939    
Old March 22nd, 2011 (02:15 PM).
adhdguitar's Avatar
adhdguitar adhdguitar is offline
Newbie Pokémon Hacker
 
Join Date: May 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 210
How do I get a script to pick up where it left off after a trainerbattle? Is there anyway to use Trainerbattle 0x2 to continue from the same point in that script? Do I just use the pointer for that exact spot?

Thanks in advance.
__________________


Yellow: Complete
Crystal:
Complete
Sapphire: Not Started
Cherrim: Not Started
  #17940    
Old March 22nd, 2011 (03:25 PM).
joshblevins's Avatar
joshblevins joshblevins is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 79
how do you edit the options it gives you for a multibox in a script i have it to where the professor in my game walks up to the charecters says what he is supposed to say and then it gives me a multibox which it is supposed to do i just want to edit the multibox to say the starters for my game and then i need to know how to assign the starters so that when you click on houdour it gives you a houndour and when you click on ralts it gives you a ralts and the same for heracross. any help is greatly appreciated!
__________________
Working on a Fire Red Remake Hack nameless for the time being!
  #17941    
Old March 22nd, 2011 (04:19 PM).
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji DrFuji is offline
Helfen, Wehren, Heilen
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Downia-upside
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 1,322
Quote originally posted by adhdguitar:
How do I get a script to pick up where it left off after a trainerbattle? Is there anyway to use Trainerbattle 0x2 to continue from the same point in that script? Do I just use the pointer for that exact spot?

Thanks in advance.
Use the command 'trainerbattle 0x1'. It is used like this:

Code:
...
trainerbattle 0x1 0x[Trainer No.] @before @after @later
 
#org @before
= Text 1.
 
#org @after
= Text 2.
 
#org @later
CONTINUE SCRIPT HERE
Quote originally posted by joshblevins:
how do you edit the options it gives you for a multibox in a script i have it to where the professor in my game walks up to the charecters says what he is supposed to say and then it gives me a multibox which it is supposed to do i just want to edit the multibox to say the starters for my game and then i need to know how to assign the starters so that when you click on houdour it gives you a houndour and when you click on ralts it gives you a ralts and the same for heracross. any help is greatly appreciated!
You can edit the choices of a textbox that is already in-game through a HEX editor or Advance Text by searching for the choices and then changing them to Houndour, Ralts and Heracross. You could also use this multichoice editor if you wish.

Using a multichoice in a script isn't hard. Here is an example of how it would work for you:

Code:
...
multichoice 0xXX 0xYY 0xZZ 0xAA
copyvar 0x8000 0x800D
compare 0x8000 0x0
if 0x1 goto @Houndour
compare 0x8000 0x1
if 0x1 goto @Ralts
compare 0x8000 0x2
if 0x1 goto @Heracross
end
 
#org @Houndour
givepokemon 0xE4 0x5 0x0 0x0 0x0
...
 
#org @Ralts
givepokemon 0x188 0x5 0x0 0x0 0x0
...
 
#org @Heracross
givepokemon 0xD6 0x5 0x0 0x0 0x0
...
Quote originally posted by diegoisawesome:
XX: X co-ordinate of box (Usually 0)
YY: Y co-ordinate of box (Usually 0)
ZZ: Multichoice ID
AA: Determines if B can cancel. 0x0 means B can cancel.
__________________
  #17942    
Old March 23rd, 2011 (04:21 AM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 6,960
Hello.
I wanna ask a question.
I wanna make a trainer rebattable with the script command "cleartrainerflag", but whenever I do so, I can't rebattle the specified trainer.
What should the trainer battle command look like?
Thanks~
__________________

3DS FC: 0061-1111-6462
TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)


  #17943    
Old March 23rd, 2011 (05:49 AM).
adhdguitar's Avatar
adhdguitar adhdguitar is offline
Newbie Pokémon Hacker
 
Join Date: May 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 210
Hi. I'm having some problems getting person events to disappear.
Spoiler:

Code for script event who's variable number is 5004.
Code:
'---------------
#org 0x800580
lock
setvar 0x5005 0x1
call 0x8800600
setvar 0x5004 0x1
release
end

'---------------
#org 0x800600
playsong 0x112 0x0
msgbox 0x8800770 MSG_FACE '"Who's there?\nHave we been spotted..."
compare 0x5005 0x1
if 0x1 call 0x88006A0
compare 0x5005 0x2
if 0x1 call 0x88006C0
compare 0x5005 0x3
if 0x1 call 0x8800720
trainerbattle 0x2 0x2 0x0 0x88007C0 0x8800840 0x8800654
return

'---------------
#org 0x8006A0
applymovement 0x9 0x88008C0
applymovement 0x8 0x88008E0
waitmovement 0x8
return

'---------------
#org 0x8006C0
applymovement 0x9 0x8800900
applymovement 0x8 0x8800920
waitmovement 0x8
return

'---------------
#org 0x800720
applymovement 0x9 0x8800940
applymovement 0x8 0x8800960
waitmovement 0x8
return

'---------------
#org 0x800654
msgbox 0x8800890 MSG_FACE '"This is bad...\nLet's go. "
applymovement 0x9 0x8800980
applymovement 0x8 0x88009A0
waitmovement 0x8
hidesprite 0x9
hidesprite 0x8
movesprite2 0x9 0xFA 0xFA
movesprite2 0x8 0xFA 0xFA
return
Code for the map script execute upon entering the map.

Code:
'---------------
#org 0x80A000
compare 0x5004 0x1
if 0x1 call 0x880A00E
end

'---------------
#org 0x80A00E
hidesprite 0x9
hidesprite 0x8
return


Yet when you re-enter the map, they're still there. >.< Any ideas?
__________________


Yellow: Complete
Crystal:
Complete
Sapphire: Not Started
Cherrim: Not Started
  #17944    
Old March 23rd, 2011 (07:36 AM).
jota_rdk's Avatar
jota_rdk jota_rdk is offline
Spanish hacker [Javi4315]
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Spain
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 98
Hey, are there any tutorial about how to add a new region map in pokémon ruby?

PS: Add, no modify the original map xD.
__________________
Pokémon Golden Legend // Pokémon Silver Legend


My tutorials:

__________________
My english is very bad, I know. Sorry! xD
  #17945    
Old March 23rd, 2011 (08:00 AM).
Complans's Avatar
Complans Complans is offline
Trainer
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 98
Quote originally posted by adhdguitar:
Hi. I'm having some problems getting person events to disappear.
Spoiler:

Code for script event who's variable number is 5004.
Code:
'---------------
#org 0x800580
lock
setvar 0x5005 0x1
call 0x8800600
setvar 0x5004 0x1
release
end

'---------------
#org 0x800600
playsong 0x112 0x0
msgbox 0x8800770 MSG_FACE '"Who's there?\nHave we been spotted..."
compare 0x5005 0x1
if 0x1 call 0x88006A0
compare 0x5005 0x2
if 0x1 call 0x88006C0
compare 0x5005 0x3
if 0x1 call 0x8800720
trainerbattle 0x2 0x2 0x0 0x88007C0 0x8800840 0x8800654
return

'---------------
#org 0x8006A0
applymovement 0x9 0x88008C0
applymovement 0x8 0x88008E0
waitmovement 0x8
return

'---------------
#org 0x8006C0
applymovement 0x9 0x8800900
applymovement 0x8 0x8800920
waitmovement 0x8
return

'---------------
#org 0x800720
applymovement 0x9 0x8800940
applymovement 0x8 0x8800960
waitmovement 0x8
return

'---------------
#org 0x800654
msgbox 0x8800890 MSG_FACE '"This is bad...\nLet's go. "
applymovement 0x9 0x8800980
applymovement 0x8 0x88009A0
waitmovement 0x8
hidesprite 0x9
hidesprite 0x8
movesprite2 0x9 0xFA 0xFA
movesprite2 0x8 0xFA 0xFA
return
Code for the map script execute upon entering the map.

Code:
'---------------
#org 0x80A000
compare 0x5004 0x1
if 0x1 call 0x880A00E
end

'---------------
#org 0x80A00E
hidesprite 0x9
hidesprite 0x8
return


Yet when you re-enter the map, they're still there. >.< Any ideas?
To hide a sprite you have to set a flag which is the sprite's Person ID on AdvanceMap.
  #17946    
Old March 23rd, 2011 (08:07 AM).
Poster's Avatar
Poster Poster is offline
Will pixel art for pizza
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Somewhere in between
Posts: 193
Quote originally posted by destinedjagold:
Hello.
I wanna ask a question.
I wanna make a trainer rebattable with the script command "cleartrainerflag", but whenever I do so, I can't rebattle the specified trainer.
What should the trainer battle command look like?
Thanks~
Iirc, clearing trainer flags should do it when performed for a script with only a trainer battle in it. Maybe the script in which you want the battle to occur got e.g deactivated by a flag?
__________________
  • Outdated
  #17947    
Old March 23rd, 2011 (12:04 PM).
Skara's Avatar
Skara Skara is offline
THIS. IS. SEMPITERNAL.
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Manchester, England
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 350
What are the NARCs in HGSS for Wild Pokemon, Trainers + Gym Leaders and Pokemon Data?
__________________
I'VE LEFT THIS ACCOUNT. Here is my new profile
  #17948    
Old March 23rd, 2011 (01:13 PM).
Thrasher24's Avatar
Thrasher24 Thrasher24 is offline
~Legendary Master~
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Outside of Pallet Town, Kanto
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 55
i edited brock's pokemon, and added vulpix to the list in advanced trainer, now i cant battle him or talk to him. why?
  #17949    
Old March 23rd, 2011 (02:38 PM).
AyameHikaru's Avatar
AyameHikaru AyameHikaru is offline
Beauty Queen
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Gender: Female
Nature: Impish
Posts: 141
^Sometimes if you add more Pokemon than they had originally it messes stuff up. Keep him to two, just change those.
__________________
~When Life gives you lemons, make grape juice and let Life wonder how you did it.~
LOOKING FOR A DISGAEA FAN/SPRITER FOR A CROSSOVER GAME!
Current Challenges:
Ultimate Fire Type Challenge: Johto, 10 Badges
Lyrics Challenge: Kanto, 1 Badge
Nuzlocke Challenge: Kanto, 0 Badges
Monochrome Challenge: Hoenn, 5 Badges
  #17950    
Old March 23rd, 2011 (03:12 PM).
pkemaniac999's Avatar
pkemaniac999 pkemaniac999 is offline
in need of help for a hack, pm
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 29
hello! i havent been to the forum in a while, but now that im here, im a noob again...
i need to ask a hard question,
an experienced GSC hacker can probably answer this, i need to change the breeding groups in Silver to give mewtwo and mew the abillity to breed and produce offspring. How can i do this using hex?
thanks!
__________________


Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 08:34 AM.