< >
Hello, guest! Please log in or register.

The PokéCommunity

Go Back     The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub > Beginner’s Lounge [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices

Beginner’s Lounge Where all good (and bad) ideas start. This is the Beginner’s Lounge, where if you need a helping hand or want to develop your small ideas, you bring it here. We won't bite.

Closed Thread Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #18301    
Old April 22nd, 2011 (4:15 AM).
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron Darthatron is offline
巨大なトロール。
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by -PARADOX- View Post
Ok no-one seemed to answer me the last time, so here it goes attempt number 2 at trying to get help with my problem!!!!
In the following screenshot you will see that the players overworld has got lines running through it! Csn someone please tell me how to fix this....

Oh btw it got the lines when i inserted the female players overworlds and she too also has the same problem.

P.S Nothing in the screen is to be used for anyone elses hack or whatecer....
I know I didn't respond because "Nothing in the screen is to be used for anyone elses hack or whatecer...." makes you sound like a self-righteous child.

Anyway, it probably has something to do with the way you inserted it, so why don't you tell us how you did that? It looks like it's a 256 color image, only using 16 colors, so what would normally be the 2nd color is just a zero. Is it all indexed properly?
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です

Relevant Advertising!

  #18302    
Old April 22nd, 2011 (4:20 AM).
pokemon1412's Avatar
pokemon1412 pokemon1412 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Nature: Calm
Posts: 56
I have a little question about marowak "ghost" in pokemon tower...

Is it possible to change marowak "ghost" into different species and edit its level...?

I edited green script in that map, but it didn't work at all...
  #18303    
Old April 22nd, 2011 (4:33 AM).
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron Darthatron is offline
巨大なトロール。
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by pokemon1412 View Post
I have a little question about marowak "ghost" in pokemon tower...

Is it possible to change marowak "ghost" into different species and edit its level...?

I edited green script in that map, but it didn't work at all...
JPAN's hacked engine allows you to do that, if I'm not mistaken.
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です
  #18304    
Old April 22nd, 2011 (5:20 AM).
-PARADOX-'s Avatar
-PARADOX- -PARADOX- is offline
Overworld Spriter :)
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Northern. Ireland.
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 74
sorry if the screen wasnt viewable... the overworlds basicallsy have transparent lines running through them :/
Ehm yeah i can say what i done
first i got the overworlds
converted them to 16 colours
changed the transparent colour to the first
used overworld changer and resized the overworlds to 32x32
then i inserted the overworlds with overworld editor

all the rest of the overworlds worked perfect and they followed the same method :/ just the hero and heroine overworlds wont.
  #18305    
Old April 22nd, 2011 (8:16 AM).
Quickster's Avatar
Quickster Quickster is offline
Dream or Drop?
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by ..Beyond View Post
I've been thinking about trying to get a netbook in order to make use of some PC-oriented programs that my Mac isn't compatible with, such as just about every hacking tool I've come across. However, I don't know what system requirements I should be looking for. Does anyone have any recommendations for things like RAM and hard drive space in relation to the best hacking programs? For instance, does a certain program work better under certain circumstances (in terms of hardware/processors/what have you)?

Also, I've been having trouble with patching. Is there a way to obtain a ROM that has already been patched with a completed hack? The one I was working with was Flora Sky.

Thanks for your help.
Well Darthatron answered the first part of your question good enough so about the second, Im guessing your having problems with patching Flora Sky because you dont have the right base. You need the "Pokemon Emerald TrashMan" rom. Google would be your best friend for that matter.
I laugh looking at this.

But sometimes I want to come back to it...

  #18306    
Old April 22nd, 2011 (8:38 AM).
Zepp710's Avatar
Zepp710 Zepp710 is offline
Fearaligatr
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 9
Could someone please give me advice on how to get XSE and Advance Map running on my mac. I REALLY want to start making my own rom hack. Do u know if AppleScript would work? Sorry i am a noob at doing stuff like this but i program in C, C++, Python, and a little Objective C
  #18307    
Old April 22nd, 2011 (9:17 AM).
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron Darthatron is offline
巨大なトロール。
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zepp710 View Post
Could someone please give me advice on how to get XSE and Advance Map running on my mac. I REALLY want to start making my own rom hack. Do u know if AppleScript would work? Sorry i am a noob at doing stuff like this but i program in C, C++, Python, and a little Objective C
You need to emulate Windows to get XSE or Advance Map working. WINE can do the job perfectly well.
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です
  #18308    
Old April 22nd, 2011 (11:52 AM).
jota_rdk's Avatar
jota_rdk jota_rdk is offline
Spanish hacker [Javi4315]
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Spain
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 98
Hey, I wanted to know if anyone has offered the code of one of their tools. The XSE code download is not working. Is there any other tool?
Pokémon Golden Legend // Pokémon Silver Legend


My tutorials:

__________________
My english is very bad, I know. Sorry! xD
  #18309    
Old April 22nd, 2011 (12:49 PM).
Zepp710's Avatar
Zepp710 Zepp710 is offline
Fearaligatr
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darthatron View Post
You need to emulate Windows to get XSE or Advance Map working. WINE can do the job perfectly well.
I have WINE downloaded and it runs things like pokemon online. should i select run in bottles? or directly?
  #18310    
Old April 22nd, 2011 (4:19 PM).
link12552's Avatar
link12552 link12552 is offline
just tired, that's all
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The not so distant future
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by -PARADOX- View Post
sorry if the screen wasnt viewable... the overworlds basicallsy have transparent lines running through them :/
Ehm yeah i can say what i done
first i got the overworlds
converted them to 16 colours
changed the transparent colour to the first
used overworld changer and resized the overworlds to 32x32
then i inserted the overworlds with overworld editor

all the rest of the overworlds worked perfect and they followed the same method :/ just the hero and heroine overworlds wont.
I think I may have found the solution, at-least maybe...
-and the best part is that...
you get to use NSE.

In NSE, open up the hero's preferences (Edit > Preferences) , and try changing the Animation from:
player to standard...

Make sure you are in INDEX mode, and save.

Seems to work for the most part.
  #18311    
Old April 22nd, 2011 (9:37 PM). Edited April 22nd, 2011 by DVK.
DVK's Avatar
DVK DVK is offline
Hack based-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New Zealand
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 146
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to DVK
can i use an animated gif as a titlescreen?

EDIT: to make myself more clear, can i do it on a fire red rom? just wanna know first before i go to the trouble off making it
  #18312    
Old April 22nd, 2011 (10:15 PM). Edited April 22nd, 2011 by Darthatron.
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron Darthatron is offline
巨大なトロール。
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zepp710 View Post
I have WINE downloaded and it runs things like pokemon online. should i select run in bottles? or directly?
I honestly have no idea. Sorry.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jota_rdk View Post
Hey, I wanted to know if anyone has offered the code of one of their tools. The XSE code download is not working. Is there any other tool?
http://www.andreasartori.net/hackmew...XSE_Source.zip
Quote:
Originally Posted by DVK View Post
can i use an animated gif as a titlescreen?

EDIT: to make myself more clear, can i do it on a fire red rom? just wanna know first before i go to the trouble off making it
In a round about way, yes. But it's really not very easy. It's been done, though.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NuetDQEUqKQ

It requires ASM hacking, which is very advanced.
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です
  #18313    
Old April 23rd, 2011 (4:06 AM).
Rasenshurikenbum's Avatar
Rasenshurikenbum Rasenshurikenbum is offline
ASM is very cool!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Poland
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 69
I'm my making my own pokemon ruby hack but now I'm only changing pokedex (inserting new sprites, edit stats in YAPE, etc...). I want to make Honchkrow (in place of remoraid, if that matters). I want to make Murkrow's evolution into Honchkrow using Dusk Stone. I made it in thethethethe's Item Editor sacrificing tinymushroom (changed name and description). Then I opened Evolution Editor Pro and gave Murkrow dusk stone for evolution. Everything was great but in game I cannot use dusk stone. I think it's beacause of tinymushroom's effect - only for selling. My question: how can I change tinymushroom effect to evolution stones (fire, water, thunder, leaf...). I think it'll be hard to do that but please reply. If you can, please also make some kind of "tutorial". Do not write "in hex editors" unless you do not tell me how to do that...
Sorry for my english if something's wrong...

PLEASE HELP!!!
  #18314    
Old April 23rd, 2011 (5:57 AM).
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron Darthatron is offline
巨大なトロール。
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rasenshurikenbum View Post
I'm my making my own pokemon ruby hack but now I'm only changing pokedex (inserting new sprites, edit stats in YAPE, etc...). I want to make Honchkrow (in place of remoraid, if that matters). I want to make Murkrow's evolution into Honchkrow using Dusk Stone. I made it in thethethethe's Item Editor sacrificing tinymushroom (changed name and description). Then I opened Evolution Editor Pro and gave Murkrow dusk stone for evolution. Everything was great but in game I cannot use dusk stone. I think it's beacause of tinymushroom's effect - only for selling. My question: how can I change tinymushroom effect to evolution stones (fire, water, thunder, leaf...). I think it'll be hard to do that but please reply. If you can, please also make some kind of "tutorial". Do not write "in hex editors" unless you do not tell me how to do that...
Sorry for my english if something's wrong...

PLEASE HELP!!!
Sadly it's not simple to do so. There are several checks in place to see if it's an evolution item. To find them requires you to reverse engineer the game's engine. Needless to say, it's not easy work.
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です
  #18315    
Old April 23rd, 2011 (6:52 AM).
jota_rdk's Avatar
jota_rdk jota_rdk is offline
Spanish hacker [Javi4315]
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Spain
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 98
If I use the special 0xBC, Pokémon party will be opened, and if I use special2 0x8005 0xBA, it will check what Pokémon I choosed. But, Are there any way of knowing the level of chosen pokémon?
Pokémon Golden Legend // Pokémon Silver Legend


My tutorials:

__________________
My english is very bad, I know. Sorry! xD
  #18316    
Old April 23rd, 2011 (7:53 AM).
Zepp710's Avatar
Zepp710 Zepp710 is offline
Fearaligatr
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 9
OK so i got advance map to work somehow. i opened it in a different bottle or something but XSE still doesn't work. SCREW YOU MAC
  #18317    
Old April 23rd, 2011 (7:53 AM).
r0bert's Avatar
r0bert r0bert is offline
Quitifyingly awesome.
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: kewl places
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 381
I've inserted seasons with DNS,but how do I change the effects?
like in winter the trees are white and it's snowing,or a different tree,How?
  #18318    
Old April 23rd, 2011 (7:55 AM).
Rasenshurikenbum's Avatar
Rasenshurikenbum Rasenshurikenbum is offline
ASM is very cool!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Poland
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darthatron View Post
Sadly it's not simple to do so. There are several checks in place to see if it's an evolution item. To find them requires you to reverse engineer the game's engine. Needless to say, it's not easy work.
So it's too hard for me. But do you know where to find help? I still want to evolve by stone. If not, I'll use evolution by trade with item... and add guy that says: "In this game dusk stone, shiny stone and dawn stone cannot be used normally. To evolve pokemon you need to give a stone to pokemon and then make trade with friend" (friend to make game more realistic)
  #18319    
Old April 23rd, 2011 (8:49 AM). Edited April 23rd, 2011 by Quilava's Master.
Quilava's Master's Avatar
Quilava's Master Quilava's Master is offline
Shattered Dreams '13
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 694
Hmm this is a bit of a complex question. Everytime I battle a minun in my hack the game freezes when it uses a damage dealing move [music keeps playing but the attack animation never happens and it just hangs there saying Minun used Quick Attack]. This is only with minun not plusle or any other pokemon in hack. Would anyone happen to know why?

Edit: Would anyone happen to know where the tables for a pokemon is located? like the table that dictates their attacks and things of that nature
The return of Pokemon Shattered Dreams! Click the screenshot to visit the thread, you know you want to.
  #18320    
Old April 23rd, 2011 (9:14 AM).
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron Darthatron is offline
巨大なトロール。
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by jota_rdk View Post
If I use the special 0xBC, Pokémon party will be opened, and if I use special2 0x8005 0xBA, it will check what Pokémon I choosed. But, Are there any way of knowing the level of chosen pokémon?
It depends on the game you're hacking, but yes it's possible using the "readbytefromoffset" command, and getting the level from the RAM.

http://bulbapedia.bulbagarden.net/wi...Generation_III
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zepp710 View Post
OK so i got advance map to work somehow. i opened it in a different bottle or something but XSE still doesn't work. SCREW YOU MAC
Damn.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rasenshurikenbum View Post
So it's too hard for me. But do you know where to find help? I still want to evolve by stone. If not, I'll use evolution by trade with item... and add guy that says: "In this game dusk stone, shiny stone and dawn stone cannot be used normally. To evolve pokemon you need to give a stone to pokemon and then make trade with friend" (friend to make game more realistic)
Trying looking in the Research and Development section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quilava's Master View Post
Hmm this is a bit of a complex question. Everytime I battle a minun in my hack the game freezes when it uses a damage dealing move [music keeps playing but the attack animation never happens and it just hangs there saying Minun used Quick Attack]. This is only with minun not plusle or any other pokemon in hack. Would anyone happen to know why?

Edit: Would anyone happen to know where the tables for a pokemon is located? like the table that dictates their attacks and things of that nature
Nope. Sorry.

Base Stats: http://bulbapedia.bulbagarden.net/wi...on_III#Storage
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です
  #18321    
Old April 23rd, 2011 (9:24 AM).
Johto_legend's Avatar
Johto_legend Johto_legend is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zepp710 View Post
OK so i got advance map to work somehow. i opened it in a different bottle or something but XSE still doesn't work. SCREW YOU MAC
from personal experience, i suggest using vmware, or another program that emulates windows. i tried using a program called crossover, but only advancemap worked. so your best shot is to get vmware or parallels.

P.S- Sometimes the programs need the newest .net framework. make sure u got the lastest one.
  #18322    
Old April 23rd, 2011 (9:39 AM).
r0bert's Avatar
r0bert r0bert is offline
Quitifyingly awesome.
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: kewl places
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by r0bert View Post
I've inserted seasons with DNS,but how do I change the effects?
like in winter the trees are white and it's snowing,or a different tree,How?
repeating this,because I really need an answer.
and another question,ho do you edit the 'hero is halfway underwater' OAM?
  #18323    
Old April 23rd, 2011 (10:27 AM).
Swellow rules Swellow rules is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 23
Question: Is it possible to add a new weather effect (i.e. Snow, Meteor Shower) with an over world effect and if possible an in battle effect (though in battle effect isn't necessary)?
  #18324    
Old April 23rd, 2011 (10:37 AM).
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron Darthatron is offline
巨大なトロール。
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swellow rules View Post
Question: Is it possible to add a new weather effect (i.e. Snow, Meteor Shower) with an over world effect and if possible an in battle effect (though in battle effect isn't necessary)?
It's possible, but would be EXTREMELY difficult to do. You would need to hack the games engine via ASM. It's the single most advanced form of ROM hacking there is.
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です
  #18325    
Old April 23rd, 2011 (12:27 PM).
Swellow rules Swellow rules is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darthatron View Post
It's possible, but would be EXTREMELY difficult to do. You would need to hack the games engine via ASM. It's the single most advanced form of ROM hacking there is.
Maybe I'll try it when I become an advanced ROM hacker. Also how do you expand a ROM so there's more space.
Closed Thread Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


  All times are GMT -8. The time now is 7:16 AM.


Contact Us Archive Privacy Statement Terms of Service Top