Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #18726    
Old June 9th, 2011 (06:20 PM).
Cyndaquil312's Avatar
Cyndaquil312 Cyndaquil312 is offline
I'm Back!
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Roaming across Hoenn
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 51
I'm having an issue with a Gate House, every time I enter it, the screen goes black and the game freezes... Here's the specifics...

I'm working on a Hack using Fire Red rom. no special tilesets, and no scripts have been altered (yet).

I've connected route 1(running east and west) and route 2 (running north and south) together using the gate house that allows you to bypass Viridian Forest, (the one where you get the flash HM in the normal game).

I've tried using map connections, without map connections, resetting the warps, everything I could think of, but nothing seems to work.

Does anybody know what I'm doing wrong?
__________________
http://www.pokecommunity.com/signaturepics/sigpic255493_5.gif
  #18727    
Old June 10th, 2011 (04:24 AM).
Orinjmate's Avatar
Orinjmate Orinjmate is offline
The Orinj of the Mate
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: England
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 120
What are the potential consequences of increasing the block amount of the secondary tileset?
__________________
Currently working on a new hack named Hollow.
Pokemon Sky SD Creator
  #18728    
Old June 10th, 2011 (05:00 AM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 3,444
Quote originally posted by Orinjmate:
What are the potential consequences of increasing the block amount of the secondary tileset?
Well, a possibility is that the tileset gets increased. Not much can go wrong, just keep an eye out for any oddities that may occur (I experienced one or 2 things), but they can be easily fixed as and when the time comes, so just ask if you need help with that (especially in Ruby), such as one of the tilesets going blank. All that's needed is a reload of the Picture and the Blocks if you already saved them, and that fixes that.
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...


Nerves o
f Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

  #18729    
Old June 10th, 2011 (09:22 AM).
Whispeon's Avatar
Whispeon Whispeon is offline
Newfound Ghosttype Eeveelution
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: In the place near the thing with the people
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 15
I'm using Pokéscript and started on a hack. Here is the starter script:

#org $start
lock
faceplayer
checkflag 0x1200
if 0x01 goto $again
message $talk
$talk 1 = ... \p...Calm down... \p...Stop shaking... \p...Everything will be okay... \p...Nothing bad will happen... \p...Trust me... \p... \p...Could you do that for me? \pCan you trust me? \p... \p...Thank you... \p...You are very brave... \p... \p...Come...
boxset 6
applymovement 0xFF $outofway
$outofway 1 ; #binary 0x17 0x03 0xFE
pausemove 0x0000
applymovement 1 $come
$come 1 ; #binary 0x15 0x15 0xFE
pausemove 0x0000
applymovement 0xFF $fix
$fix 1 ; #binary 0x18 0x00 0xFE
pausemove 0x0000
applymovement 1 $go
$go 1 ; #binary 0x15 0x18 0x18 0x18 0x18 0x15 0x15 0x15 0x15 0x15 0x15 0x15 0x15 0x15 0x15 0x15 0x18 0x02
applymovement 0xFF $fllw
$fllw 1 ; #binary 0x15 0x18 0x18 0x18 0x18 0x15 0x15 0x15 0x15 0x15 0x15 0x15 0x15 0x15 0x15 0x15 0x03
pausemove 0x0000
message $cont
$cont 1 = ...Please... \p...Use this...
boxset 6
givepokemon 10 5 0x86
fanfare 0x13E
message $got
$got 1 = \v\h01 received the CATERPIE!
boxset 4
waitfanfare
pause 0x30
setflag 0x828
setflag 0x829
message $kepgoin
$kepgoin 1 = ... \p...Use these to catch Pokémon...
boxset 6
giveitem 0x04 0x05
message $finish
$finish 1 = ... \p...And these for healing...
boxset 6
giveitem 0x8B 0x05
message $done
$done 1 = ... \p...Please... \p...Go...
boxset 6
applymovement 0xFF $advance
$advance 1 ; #binary 0x17 0x03 0xFE
applymovement 1 $push
$push 1 ; #binary 0x17 0xFE
pausemove 0x0000
message $final
$final 1 = ...There is no time to waste...
boxset 6
setflag 0x1200
release
end

#org $again
lock
faceplayer
message $final
boxset 6
release
end

You see, It's refusing to compile. Any other script compiles fine. I've even tried rewriting it (this is the rewritten version, that I think is better).
Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong?
  #18730    
Old June 10th, 2011 (11:09 AM).
Arcticblast's Avatar
Arcticblast Arcticblast is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 43
On my Ruby ROM, I made a new map of a decrepit laboratory where Porygon should appear like in caves... but I can't get wild Pokemon to show up.

My question is, how do I do this without putting grass in it?
  #18731    
Old June 10th, 2011 (11:22 AM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 3,444
Quote originally posted by Arcticblast:
On my Ruby ROM, I made a new map of a decrepit laboratory where Porygon should appear like in caves... but I can't get wild Pokemon to show up.

My question is, how do I do this without putting grass in it?
It's to do with the Tile Behaviour. Open Block Editor in Advance Map, select your tile, and set the Tile Behaviour to the one which allows Wild Pokemon to be encounterable.
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...


Nerves o
f Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

  #18732    
Old June 10th, 2011 (11:57 AM).
Arcticblast's Avatar
Arcticblast Arcticblast is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 43
It's working now. Thanks!
  #18733    
Old June 10th, 2011 (03:14 PM).
kringlur's Avatar
kringlur kringlur is offline
Velkominn í heim POKéMON!
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 90
I'm trying to import tiles from RBY into Fire Red and A-Map. When I manage to get them in, they look like they're made of two colours instead of four. I tried to change the palette in Palette Editor and it didn't work. Then when I go onto the main map and look at the tiles, random tiles are in random colours instead of all of them being the correct colour.



__________________
RBGY: Compilation file with headers, how to edit, et cetera. Please message me with fixes/additions/whathave you. Newest version is 6th March 2011.
Tutorial: Replacing Fire Red tiles with RBY tiles in Advance Map
  #18734    
Old June 10th, 2011 (03:45 PM).
miksy91's Avatar
miksy91 miksy91 is offline
A GB/C Rom Hacker since 2010
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: A small country in the North
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 1,302
Quote originally posted by kringlur:
I'm trying to import tiles from RBY into Fire Red and A-Map. When I manage to get them in, they look like they're made of two colours instead of four.
I'm not certain but they're likely of two colours.
2nd gen games use the GBC palette system (four colours), Game Boy Color support doesn't exist for 1st gen games.

If you've played them "with colours", that's because they've SGB support which makes them look like they would have colours but they don't.
__________________
My Rom Hack




Learn how to hack GB/C games:

Check my GameBoy/Color hacking videos in Youtube
-The video set uses Pokemon Silver (U) rom for demonstrations
  #18735    
Old June 10th, 2011 (03:57 PM). Edited June 10th, 2011 by kringlur.
kringlur's Avatar
kringlur kringlur is offline
Velkominn í heim POKéMON!
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 90
Quote originally posted by miksy91:
I'm not certain but they're likely of two colours.
2nd gen games use the GBC palette system (four colours), Game Boy Color support doesn't exist for 1st gen games.

If you've played them "with colours", that's because they've SGB support which makes them look like they would have colours but they don't.
I don't mean that they should be red, yellow, etc. I mean the amount of colours in the non-coloured tiles don't match. Here's what the ripped tiles look like originally, as you can see there should be more shades of grey than there are in A-map. There should be four colours (generation two games have more than four colours, you remembered it backwards):

__________________
RBGY: Compilation file with headers, how to edit, et cetera. Please message me with fixes/additions/whathave you. Newest version is 6th March 2011.
Tutorial: Replacing Fire Red tiles with RBY tiles in Advance Map
  #18736    
Old June 10th, 2011 (04:13 PM).
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji DrFuji is offline
Helfen, Wehren, Heilen
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Downia-upside
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 1,322
Quote originally posted by kringlur:
I don't mean that they should be red, yellow, etc. I mean the amount of colours in the non-coloured tiles don't match. Here's what the ripped tiles look like originally, as you can see there should be more shades of grey than there are in A-map:

Find the RGB numbers of the colours that are in the tiles you want to insert because you then need to change the pallet in A-Map to reflect those colours. Try inserting the tiles again with those colours and they should come out perfectly.
__________________
  #18737    
Old June 10th, 2011 (04:28 PM).
kringlur's Avatar
kringlur kringlur is offline
Velkominn í heim POKéMON!
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 90
Quote originally posted by DrFuji:
Find the RGB numbers of the colours that are in the tiles you want to insert because you then need to change the pallet in A-Map to reflect those colours. Try inserting the tiles again with those colours and they should come out perfectly.
I messed up somewhere, because now it looks like this:

__________________
RBGY: Compilation file with headers, how to edit, et cetera. Please message me with fixes/additions/whathave you. Newest version is 6th March 2011.
Tutorial: Replacing Fire Red tiles with RBY tiles in Advance Map
  #18738    
Old June 10th, 2011 (04:37 PM).
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji DrFuji is offline
Helfen, Wehren, Heilen
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Downia-upside
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 1,322
Quote originally posted by kringlur:
I messed up somewhere, because now it looks like this:

When tiles have the last colour in the palette (that green) as oppossed to another colour in the palette, it indicates that the tiles you are trying to insert have colours that are not in that palette. Have you written the palette changes to the ROM, saved the tileset again and then attempted to put the tiles in?

Just in case: Basic tile inserting tutorial.
__________________
  #18739    
Old June 10th, 2011 (04:57 PM).
kringlur's Avatar
kringlur kringlur is offline
Velkominn í heim POKéMON!
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 90
Quote originally posted by DrFuji:
When tiles have the last colour in the palette (that green) as oppossed to another colour in the palette, it indicates that the tiles you are trying to insert have colours that are not in that palette. Have you written the palette changes to the ROM, saved the tileset again and then attempted to put the tiles in?

Just in case: Basic tile inserting tutorial.
I've tried four tutorials now and apparently I'm retarded, because I still can't figure it out. How do I properly replace the colours in a palette, instead of changing the colours in my new tiles to the existing palette colours? Earlier I replaced random colours with the colours I needed it to have, and that resulted in the green image above. Replacing in Paint some of the remaining colours that I didn't need from the old tiles (like blue) to a colour in my new tiles didn't seem to work either. I tried using A-Palette to create a new palette and that made everything look worse than any of my other attempts.
__________________
RBGY: Compilation file with headers, how to edit, et cetera. Please message me with fixes/additions/whathave you. Newest version is 6th March 2011.
Tutorial: Replacing Fire Red tiles with RBY tiles in Advance Map
  #18740    
Old June 10th, 2011 (05:19 PM).
NurseBarbra's Avatar
NurseBarbra NurseBarbra is offline
くら くら?
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 322
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to NurseBarbra
Quote originally posted by kringlur:
TLDR...Jk
You mean advanced tile insertion like this , Right?
  #18741    
Old June 10th, 2011 (05:50 PM).
kringlur's Avatar
kringlur kringlur is offline
Velkominn í heim POKéMON!
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 90
Quote originally posted by NurseBarbra:
You mean advanced tile insertion like this , Right?
I assume so, I don't know the name of it, I just know that I want these tiles to be coloured properly. Also nice avatar.
__________________
RBGY: Compilation file with headers, how to edit, et cetera. Please message me with fixes/additions/whathave you. Newest version is 6th March 2011.
Tutorial: Replacing Fire Red tiles with RBY tiles in Advance Map
  #18742    
Old June 11th, 2011 (12:44 AM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 3,444
Quote originally posted by kringlur:
I assume so, I don't know the name of it, I just know that I want these tiles to be coloured properly. Also nice avatar.
Well, colour the tiles to fit the original pallette, then just redo the pallette to that the tiles look best in. It's not really "advanced" tile inserting, as in theory, inserting one tile successfully can lead to inserting them all successfully. Thats often the most reliable way.

Basically, recolour your tiles to fit into the pallette the tileset is in, then remake the pallette of the tiles afterwards to make them look good with Advance Maps Pallette Editor.
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...


Nerves o
f Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

  #18743    
Old June 11th, 2011 (02:33 AM).
M.L's Avatar
M.L M.L is offline
Busy atm
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 732
oh and if you redoing tileset ones tiles make sure they are in pallete 0-6 or they glitch up lol
__________________
Fluffy
  #18744    
Old June 11th, 2011 (02:35 AM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 3,444
Quote originally posted by M.L:
oh and if you redoing tileset ones tiles make sure they are in pallete 0-6 or they glitch up lol
Correction, they don't "glitch up", they change due to pallettes 7-12 being part of the ever changing Secondary Tileset. Great if you are making Gyms appear different in other areas if the pallette only has one colour change, though, in theory (like in HG/SS)
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...


Nerves o
f Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

  #18745    
Old June 11th, 2011 (10:17 PM).
jhay21's Avatar
jhay21 jhay21 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Nature: Timid
Posts: 20
how do i edit the moves/attack's description?

also anyone knowledgeable in asm could tell me what's wrong with this thing i wrote
Code:
.text
.align 2
.thumb
.thumb_func
.global DetectDead

main:
	push {r0-r2, lr}
	ldr r1, .PKMN_HP
	cmp r1, #0x0
	beq death
	add r2, #0x7
	
death:
	add r2, #0x1
	ldr r0, .VAR
	str r2, [r0]
	pop {r0-r2, pc}

.align 2
.PKMN_HP:
	.word 0x02024284 + 0x56
.VAR:
	.word 0x020370D0


im trying to compare the current hp of the 1st pokemon in the party to 0
and should return 1 if it is 0 and a non 1 number if not but it doesn't seem to work. i've also used the offset+1 on the script that calls it
  #18746    
Old June 12th, 2011 (05:55 AM).
kringlur's Avatar
kringlur kringlur is offline
Velkominn í heim POKéMON!
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 90
Thanks for last time, I managed to write a tutorial.

Anyway, I don't know if I should post here or in the Script Help thread, or what. If I get booted out of here then I'll post there.

I wanted to write a program for pokemon yellow. Here's a thread that explains how to change it so that you can get another pokemon than Pikachu, but Pikachu's sprite still follows you and has its emotions if your starter pokemon is in your party (this is what I want the program to do).

When I looked at the thread for making a program in Visual Basic six, it made sense except for that I don't know how to tell it the offset that it needs to start at for picking through the Pokemon list, and how to tell it exactly where to change the bytes (because it needs to change them in a few places).

Also, in Yellow version the Pokemon aren't listed in the same order as in the newer games, so should I just make sure the names in the list correspond to how it goes in the yellow rom?

ex. spot zero in yellow is Missingno, so:
00 Missingno
01 Rydon
02 Kangaskahn
03 Nidoran M

Or do I have to assign them something to make sure it does it correctly? Can I make an alphabetical list but still make sure it changes them correctly if they're out-of-order like this in the rom?
__________________
RBGY: Compilation file with headers, how to edit, et cetera. Please message me with fixes/additions/whathave you. Newest version is 6th March 2011.
Tutorial: Replacing Fire Red tiles with RBY tiles in Advance Map
  #18747    
Old June 12th, 2011 (10:07 AM).
r0bert's Avatar
r0bert r0bert is offline
Quitifyingly awesome.
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: kewl places
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 381
can you expand 16 colour palletes? in firered.
and I mean from 16 to 48.
__________________
  #18748    
Old June 12th, 2011 (12:26 PM).
kringlur's Avatar
kringlur kringlur is offline
Velkominn í heim POKéMON!
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 90
Spoiler:













Why did the doors turn into waves? Why are there random waves in the middle of town, and how come I'm not visible when I walk over them (because all the waves should be set so that happens)? The warps and event scripts still work just fine. Also why does my movement positions thing always seem upside-down?
__________________
RBGY: Compilation file with headers, how to edit, et cetera. Please message me with fixes/additions/whathave you. Newest version is 6th March 2011.
Tutorial: Replacing Fire Red tiles with RBY tiles in Advance Map
  #18749    
Old June 12th, 2011 (12:32 PM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 3,444
Quote originally posted by kringlur:
Spoiler:













Why did the doors turn into waves? Why are there random waves in the middle of town, and how come I'm not visible when I walk over them (because all the waves should be set so that happens)? The warps and event scripts still work just fine. Also why does my movement positions thing always seem upside-down?
Did you replace the wave tiles in Block Editor with new tiles? If so, explains why the animation stayed on those certain tiles.
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...


Nerves o
f Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

  #18750    
Old June 12th, 2011 (07:16 PM). Edited June 12th, 2011 by kringlur.
kringlur's Avatar
kringlur kringlur is offline
Velkominn í heim POKéMON!
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 90
Quote originally posted by Banjora Marxvile:
Did you replace the wave tiles in Block Editor with new tiles? If so, explains why the animation stayed on those certain tiles.
I replace them, yeah, but I made sure it didn't have anything in the behaviour bytes and stuff, unless I've been putting the wrong ones.

Spoiler:







EDIT: Nevermind, problem fixed! It turns out background byte 00 20 isn't "block is covered by hero", it's "show this other block on top of hero instead". I changed it to 00 00 and everything works fine now. Same with 00 22 "Wild Pokemon (Water)", and with the grass tiles i just had something that wasn't blank on the "top" section of the tile.
__________________
RBGY: Compilation file with headers, how to edit, et cetera. Please message me with fixes/additions/whathave you. Newest version is 6th March 2011.
Tutorial: Replacing Fire Red tiles with RBY tiles in Advance Map
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 08:40 AM.