Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #19176    
Old August 1st, 2011 (05:01 PM).
Kevin's Avatar
Kevin
kevin del rey
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Virginia
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by xionreaver:
I edited two maps for trial and error purposes(I'm new to this) and when I go from one map to the other, some of the tiles turn into seemingly random tiles. How would I fix this? I'm hacking Emerald.
Are the two maps connected? Because that's probably since the two maps have different tilesets. You could try and add a gatehouse between the two maps or make the path to the city/route longer so the tiles will change (I hope I explained that alright).
__________________
  #19177    
Old August 1st, 2011 (05:17 PM).
xionreaver
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Yeah the maps are connected. And that makes sense. I would have to make the path longer seeing how it's Littleroot Town and Route 1. Thanks for your time though.
  #19178    
Old August 2nd, 2011 (02:37 AM).
EdensElite's Avatar
EdensElite
No0b, but getting there.
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: UK
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Concerning JPAN's Hacked Engine; Is the patch enough or should I use the tool as well. If I have to use the tool then how many bytes do I need for each of the offsets
__________________

ROM Hacking was getting frustrating for me. I've now stopped productions and writing the game from scratch in HTML 5.

That means it will be playable in the browser, and across multiple devices such as the iPod touch.
  #19179    
Old August 2nd, 2011 (02:49 AM).
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron
巨大なトロール。
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote originally posted by EdensElite:
Concerning JPAN's Hacked Engine; Is the patch enough or should I use the tool as well. If I have to use the tool then how many bytes do I need for each of the offsets
Using the tool is a much better option. It saves a lot of space, since you only insert what you NEED; not everything. I'm not sure about how you know the bytes, though.
__________________
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です
  #19180    
Old August 2nd, 2011 (04:52 AM).
EdensElite's Avatar
EdensElite
No0b, but getting there.
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: UK
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
But If I have no concern for space I should just apply the patch and no damage wil be done to the stuff I've already done? So what offsets should I use then?

Also, How do you edit the boxes (you know on the PCs) are they somewhere in UnLz or something?
__________________

ROM Hacking was getting frustrating for me. I've now stopped productions and writing the game from scratch in HTML 5.

That means it will be playable in the browser, and across multiple devices such as the iPod touch.
  #19181    
Old August 2nd, 2011 (05:16 AM).
Hopeless Masquerade's Avatar
Hopeless Masquerade
すきま妖怪
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: 幻想郷
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
I con't really say this is a simple question, but I'd like to know.

Does anyone have the offset for FireRed's specials table?
__________________
  #19182    
Old August 2nd, 2011 (07:31 AM).
EdensElite's Avatar
EdensElite
No0b, but getting there.
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: UK
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Yeah, Apart from how to change the boxes on PCs

How do you add offsets to headers, specifically the one that allows NSE to read them in the same table as the other OWs.
__________________

ROM Hacking was getting frustrating for me. I've now stopped productions and writing the game from scratch in HTML 5.

That means it will be playable in the browser, and across multiple devices such as the iPod touch.
  #19183    
Old August 2nd, 2011 (11:27 AM).
DavidJCobb
RESIDENT RAAAAAAAAAAAAGEMASTER
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote originally posted by Darthatron:
Quote originally posted by EdensElite:
Concerning JPAN's Hacked Engine; Is the patch enough or should I use the tool as well. If I have to use the tool then how many bytes do I need for each of the offsets
Using the tool is a much better option. It saves a lot of space, since you only insert what you NEED; not everything. I'm not sure about how you know the bytes, though.
In the Word document that comes with the tool, JPAN (in most cases) states which offsets/variables/etc. he used for the various added functions. I assume that you'd enter that same data into the tool in order to keep its functioning consistent with the patch version.

It should also be noted that the patch will remove all existing NPCs and scripts (and Pallet Town's warps, but that's a bug) from the ROM, giving you more space to save scripts in. The tool won't do this for you.
__________________
  #19184    
Old August 2nd, 2011 (11:34 AM).
Gamer2020's Avatar
Gamer2020
This love is a sickness...
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Distant Land
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via Skype™ to Gamer2020
Quote originally posted by agentgeo:
I con't really say this is a simple question, but I'd like to know.

Does anyone have the offset for FireRed's specials table?
15FD60 and it is a simple question...
__________________
Pokemon Game Editor Download!
Pokemon TCG Assistant!
Fun Fact: Even though PGE isn't posted on PC anymore it still has the same number of downloads per day.
Accept no imitations!
  #19185    
Old August 2nd, 2011 (01:27 PM).
Fortunado
Prof. Hemlock is busy now...
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
How would I set a step-count limit like in the Safari Zone? I'm trying to make a little minigame.

On a related note, how would I make it a once-daily event?
  #19186    
Old August 2nd, 2011 (06:12 PM).
Hopeless Masquerade's Avatar
Hopeless Masquerade
すきま妖怪
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: 幻想郷
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote originally posted by Gamer2020:

15FD60 and it is a simple question...
Thanks! I've been looking for that for a while.
__________________
  #19187    
Old August 2nd, 2011 (07:08 PM).
Cherrysa23
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Gender:
hi!

I'd need help to find an emulator which can load pokemon ruby (because I found lots of emulator with breakpoint possibility, but guess what... most of them crash on pokemon games) and I want an emulator which allows for breakpoint (in read and write). the only one I found except the ones that crash is no$gba, for which you need to pay...

can anyone tell me about one working?
  #19188    
Old August 2nd, 2011 (07:09 PM).
ZangoMango's Avatar
ZangoMango
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Trying to replace a trainer sprite by importing it into unLZ, but it keeps telling me the image is not Indexed when I've done the standard treatment to Index it (Irfanview, 16 colors, paste into paint, paste over it the original), which has worked for my other sprites... just not this one. Here's the sprite
  #19189    
Old August 2nd, 2011 (07:18 PM).
DavidJCobb
RESIDENT RAAAAAAAAAAAAGEMASTER
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote originally posted by ZangoMango:
Trying to replace a trainer sprite by importing it into unLZ, but it keeps telling me the image is not Indexed when I've done the standard treatment to Index it (Irfanview, 16 colors, paste into paint, paste over it the original), which has worked for my other sprites... just not this one. Here's the sprite
Save it directly from IrfanView as a PNG, after decreasing the color depth to 16 colors. Do not select a transparent color.
__________________
  #19190    
Old August 2nd, 2011 (07:39 PM).
Cherrysa23
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Gender:
hi!

I actually found this by hackmew

ht tp://ww w.pokecom munity.co m/showthread.php?t=117917&page=4

and from what I see, all the people here use VBA SDL H And open pokemon ruby without problem, but when I do, the screen remains white and I have nothing...
  #19191    
Old August 2nd, 2011 (07:42 PM).
DavidJCobb
RESIDENT RAAAAAAAAAAAAGEMASTER
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote originally posted by Cherrysa23:
hi!

I actually found this by hackmew

ht tp://ww w.pokecom munity.co m/showthread.php?t=117917&page=4

and from what I see, all the people here use VBA SDL H And open pokemon ruby without problem, but when I do, the screen remains white and I have nothing...
Found a possible answer using Google. Apparently, you need to change the save type that your emulator is using.
__________________
  #19192    
Old August 2nd, 2011 (07:47 PM). Edited August 2nd, 2011 by Cherrysa23.
Cherrysa23
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Gender:
thx a lot for answering!

actually, I just found that the vba-over.ini file was missing!

it's working now

hi!

I'd have another question which is probably simple... with advance map, how do you change the starting map in pokemon ruby?
  #19193    
Old August 2nd, 2011 (08:20 PM).
DavidJCobb
RESIDENT RAAAAAAAAAAAAGEMASTER
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote originally posted by Cherrysa23:
I'd have another question which is probably simple... with advance map, how do you change the starting map in pokemon ruby?
You can't change it with AdvanceMap. You can change the player's position after the truck cutscene, by using the SMCA tool in HackMew's tool thread. (It's in the spoiler at the bottom of the first post.) I don't know if you can get rid of the truck cutscene itself, though.
__________________
  #19194    
Old August 2nd, 2011 (08:59 PM).
Cherrysa23
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Gender:
hi!

I would have a last uquestion, about ASM hacking now...

I have a certain address loaded in R1, and I'd like to find where it's done...

so here are my ideas to find it....

have a breakpoint which says : check when R1 = ??? but I don't know how to set it...

find in the cygnus hex editor if there is ldr R1, 08.... but then, I found nowhere what is the instruction in hex for ldr R1, address

that about my ideas...

I,m also not sure if this question isn't too advance for this thread?
  #19195    
Old August 2nd, 2011 (10:09 PM).
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron
巨大なトロール。
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote originally posted by Cherrysa23:
hi!

I would have a last uquestion, about ASM hacking now...

I have a certain address loaded in R1, and I'd like to find where it's done...

so here are my ideas to find it....

have a breakpoint which says : check when R1 = ??? but I don't know how to set it...

find in the cygnus hex editor if there is ldr R1, 08.... but then, I found nowhere what is the instruction in hex for ldr R1, address

that about my ideas...

I,m also not sure if this question isn't too advance for this thread?
Which disassembler are you using?
__________________
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です
  #19196    
Old August 2nd, 2011 (10:47 PM).
U.Flame's Avatar
U.Flame
Brony Hacker
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sapphire City in future Hoenn
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
I have a person event problem. I created an incredibly complex maze of breakable rocks and boulders. When I tested it, not all of them loaded. I'm guessing it's because of too many events in one space? How can I get them all to load?
__________________
Hacks I'm currently working on:
Pokemon Sapphire Hoenn's Ruin - My own hack, actively making progress.
3rd Gen Multiplayer Project - Research and development, occasionally testing, sometimes with support.
Pokemon Ruby Destiny Broken Timeline - Mapping assigned maps, slow pace at the moment.
Pokemon Cursed/Creepy White - Group project, on hiatus for now with plans to return eventually.

Times I've been ninja'd: 18
Times I've ninja'd people: 3
  #19197    
Old August 2nd, 2011 (10:54 PM).
DavidJCobb
RESIDENT RAAAAAAAAAAAAGEMASTER
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote originally posted by U_Flame:
I have a person event problem. I created an incredibly complex maze of breakable rocks and boulders. When I tested it, not all of them loaded. I'm guessing it's because of too many events in one space? How can I get them all to load?
To the best of my knowledge, you can't -- if there are more than 16. I'm fairly certain that there's a hard limit of 16 OWs on-screen (on-map?), including the player-character.

If you're using FireRed with JPAN's hack, then some very complex tile scripts (where the rocks are tiles instead of Person events) could help, but I'm not sure if that would work. Even if it did, the boulders would still need to be Person events.
__________________
  #19198    
Old August 2nd, 2011 (11:45 PM). Edited August 3rd, 2011 by wackyracer.
wackyracer
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Gender: Male
I'm very new to pokemon ROM development, but not new to game development. I need help with something simple (at least it seems that way).

I'm having trouble finding a way to get Advance-Text and my Emerald ROM to show all of the speeches from all NPCs (computer people) in the game.

It used to say that I had no INI file and I had to make a new blank one. I was not about to do that so I researched and found a thread here at pokecommunity from sandchair or whatever and he posted an INI file for Advance-Text Emerald speeches, but not all of them, and some still in gibberish / encrypted code.

His INI file is really annoying and not 100% finished, and I'm working on a pokemon game of mine... I can't really edit all of the needed speeches properly...

So much would be appreciated if I could get an INI file that contains all of the speeches or some other way to get all of the speeches and edit them. Whatever way it has to be done, I will go do it. Just give me the help, please

EDIT: And I also would like to know if the Emerald Title screen is editable, and if the intro scene with Birch is editable (changing the example pokemon from Lotad to something else)?
  #19199    
Old August 3rd, 2011 (12:06 AM).
HACKERXIDE's Avatar
HACKERXIDE
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Pallet Town
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Could someone explain how to script a battle where someone walks up to you and says something then a battle happens(like when you battle gary half of the time). I don't know how to combine trainerbattle and applymovement.
__________________
  #19200    
Old August 3rd, 2011 (12:51 AM).
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron
巨大なトロール。
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote originally posted by wackyracer:
I'm very new to pokemon ROM development, but not new to game development. I need help with something simple (at least it seems that way).

I'm having trouble finding a way to get Advance-Text and my Emerald ROM to show all of the speeches from all NPCs (computer people) in the game.

It used to say that I had no INI file and I had to make a new blank one. I was not about to do that so I researched and found a thread here at pokecommunity from sandchair or whatever and he posted an INI file for Advance-Text Emerald speeches, but not all of them, and some still in gibberish / encrypted code.

His INI file is really annoying and not 100% finished, and I'm working on a pokemon game of mine... I can't really edit all of the needed speeches properly...

So much would be appreciated if I could get an INI file that contains all of the speeches or some other way to get all of the speeches and edit them. Whatever way it has to be done, I will go do it. Just give me the help, please

EDIT: And I also would like to know if the Emerald Title screen is editable, and if the intro scene with Birch is editable (changing the example pokemon from Lotad to something else)?
You can search for text. So find the text you want to replace in the game, then search for it in the program. There is no complete INI file.
__________________
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 08:25 AM.