Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #19626    
Old September 13th, 2011 (05:21 AM).
M.L's Avatar
M.L M.L is offline
Busy atm
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 732
im slightly curious so im just ganna ask firstly
you know the animation where a black bird swoops down Like in ruby when you get the silphscope and he flies off how would you write or use this ?(and can it be used for FR?)

well this didnt get answered and people dont tend to answer ''old'' questions

another question is about Animeeditor i tried to create an animation and it worked but for only a single block and not the whole tile :/
anyone know what i need to do or what i did wring??
and sorry the same thing i loaded up a tile in the correct pallete(tileset)and it didnt show the tile just a solid blue colour?
__________________
Fluffy
  #19627    
Old September 13th, 2011 (02:18 PM).
leews24's Avatar
leews24 leews24 is offline
ha
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lilycove, Hoenn
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 105
um, quite simple question,
I used Advaced Pokemon Sprite Editor to insert attached image
However, it appears broken like attached thumbnail in the games.

Most ppl used unlz, but it somehow tells me its not indexed...

Thanks!
__________________
currently planning/predeveloping a hack

Pokemon LP Screenshot Walkthrough aint dead, cuz[EP10] IS FINALLY OUT
http://pkmlpscreenwalkthrough.weebly.com/
  #19628    
Old September 13th, 2011 (04:25 PM).
link12552's Avatar
link12552 link12552 is offline
just tired, that's all
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The not so distant future
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 201
Quote originally posted by leews24:
um, quite simple question,
I used Advaced Pokemon Sprite Editor to insert attached image
However, it appears broken like attached thumbnail in the games.

Most ppl used unlz, but it somehow tells me its not indexed...

Thanks!
What your seeing is bad Lz compression.

You need to save the image as an indexed PNG file (in the attachment its a jpeg), before you import it into your rom,
and you should make sure the offset your saving to is a multiple of 4 (ends in 0, 4, 8, or C).

There a couple of tutorials on this, like this one, in the tutorial section
__________________
  #19629    
Old September 13th, 2011 (07:10 PM).
Beerneo Beerneo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
Hi I was wondering if it was possible to remove pokemon from the FR/LG pokedex?
  #19630    
Old September 13th, 2011 (07:28 PM).
ZxC Mirai's Avatar
ZxC Mirai ZxC Mirai is offline
Huh?
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Pampanga Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 267
Quote originally posted by UnForgiven*:
Hello there again PC!
I have some small questions again here....

1.Can i make my own Battle Screen when i Face a Trainer Like the one in Ruby when you battle a magma grunt it shows the Team Magma Logo.....[FIRERED (U)]

2./can some one give me the List of Flags that ishouldn't use?

3.Is there any Danger in ROM when repointing in A-Trainer?(Adding POKeMONS)

4.How could i set a maptile in a FarawayPlace?

5.How could i use Setmaptile forever (The setmaptile wont disappear even when you go to another city)

6.How could i jump into an event without the [PLAYER]??

Thanks in Advance!

Please answer my Questions... :D

Very needed... Thanks DavidjCob for the another Questions... :D
__________________





POKEMON SkyWhite COMING SOON....
  #19631    
Old September 13th, 2011 (07:44 PM).
FixingTheOriginals FixingTheOriginals is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5
Quote originally posted by FixingTheOriginals:
Has anyone ever done a complete balance fix to the original pair of games? I may be new but I didn't see it in the list: showthread.php?t=253946

edit: bah can't link because I'm new (even though I passed 3 capta and have a gmail...)
I can't believe I'm the only one ot have this idea, right?
  #19632    
Old September 14th, 2011 (08:46 AM).
M.L's Avatar
M.L M.L is offline
Busy atm
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 732
ohk im curious as to has their been research or any findings on a command or script like the trio beasts i gold where they roam around the region and you have a slight chance of finding them(sorry if this has been researched but i didnt find it :/)
thanx
__________________
Fluffy
  #19633    
Old September 14th, 2011 (08:55 AM).
CureYoshiDarkness's Avatar
CureYoshiDarkness CureYoshiDarkness is offline
Live! From Inkopolis!
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: シンオウ
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,032
Quote originally posted by M.L:
ohk im curious as to has their been research or any findings on a command or script like the trio beasts i gold where they roam around the region and you have a slight chance of finding them(sorry if this has been researched but i didnt find it :/)
thanx
I believed it has been researched, however I believe this is done through ASM coding, not standard scripting methods.
(To be honest, though... I'd like to know the exact method that is used for the Pokemon roaming effect/script.)
__________________

  #19634    
Old September 14th, 2011 (09:31 AM).
M.L's Avatar
M.L M.L is offline
Busy atm
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 732
Quote:
(To be honest, though... I'd like to know the exact method that is used for the Pokemon roaming effect/script.)
yea i just went through the research thread and found nothing :/
lol also is it possible to make a beast apear in a certain area more often than other areas :/
__________________
Fluffy
  #19635    
Old September 14th, 2011 (10:39 AM).
Bilaterus's Avatar
Bilaterus Bilaterus is offline
ToBe Best Spriter ;)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Gender: Male
Nature: Naive
Posts: 31
Quote:
4.How could i set a maptile in a FarawayPlace?

5.How could i use Setmaptile forever (The setmaptile wont disappear even when you go to another city)
4. Well I've not tried it but you could do a setflag checkflag combo, where you would set the flag on the script when it is being said to happen (i.e. the house is built now! setflag here) then use a level script (if you don't know what they are follow this link to this tutorial ______________________ [Can't post it yet not got 15 posts -.-]) and in that you could make it such that it its like (checkflag 0x???? if 0x01 goto $???? then in that offset write the whole setmaptile thing)

5. Well to make it last forever your going to need to mess around with flags so really you should know how to do this, near the end of the script just set the flag and it should stay put (well not change back)

Hoped this helped
__________________
Please don't feed the Laxes!



My (small) site offers help on all things Advance Mapping!
http://advancedfreak.webs.com/

Visit my youtube channel too and check out my tutorials on all things (you guessed it!) Advance Mapping!
http://www.youtube.com/user/AdvancedMapFreak
  #19636    
Old September 14th, 2011 (08:23 PM). Edited September 14th, 2011 by darkprince909.
darkprince909 darkprince909 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Gender:
Posts: 79


If you look at the space under the flower that the player is above, do you see that reflection? it only shows up on the flower tiles when im near this kind of water, and i was wondering if anyone knew how to fix it. ive tinkered with the block behavior settings before but no dice. thanks in advance.
  #19637    
Old September 14th, 2011 (08:52 PM). Edited September 14th, 2011 by DavidJCobb.
DavidJCobb DavidJCobb is offline
RESIDENT RAAAAAAAAAAAAGEMASTER
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 275
Quote originally posted by darkprince909:


If you look at the space under the flower that the player is above, do you see that reflection? it only shows up on the flower tiles when im near this kind of water, and i was wondering if anyone knew how to fix it. ive tinkered with the block behavior settings before but no dice. thanks in advance.
Which palettes did you use for the flower? And just to make sure, can you tell us which behavior and background bytes the flower uses?

Quote originally posted by Bilaterus:
5. Well to make it last forever your going to need to mess around with flags so really you should know how to do this, near the end of the script just set the flag and it should stay put (well not change back)
To the best of my knowledge, scripting flags have absolutely no effect on setmaptile.
__________________
  #19638    
Old September 14th, 2011 (09:01 PM).
darkprince909 darkprince909 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Gender:
Posts: 79
the flower is using palette 0 on firered (the default one for grass and trees) and the only modified behavior byte is telling it to be covered by sprites (20). all the others are set to 00.
  #19639    
Old September 15th, 2011 (03:05 AM).
treeckopa treeckopa is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hong Kong
Gender:
Posts: 18
Is it now possible to have the 4th gen class split in Emerald? And in AdvanceMap, there are a lot of weather in the header tab. Which one is for hail? Steady snow causes no effect during battle...
  #19640    
Old September 15th, 2011 (06:47 AM).
CureYoshiDarkness's Avatar
CureYoshiDarkness CureYoshiDarkness is offline
Live! From Inkopolis!
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: シンオウ
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,032
Quote originally posted by treeckopa:
Is it now possible to have the 4th gen class split in Emerald? And in AdvanceMap, there are a lot of weather in the header tab. Which one is for hail? Steady snow causes no effect during battle...
You mean in Diamond, Pearl and Platinum Generation in Emerald? You have to be a little more detailed on that question. Sorry if I'm not helpful on that.

In AdvanceMap, steady snow should be giving you the hailing effect in battle.
(I just tested in on my Emerald rom and it's giving me the hailing effect for multiple "snow" weather styles.)
__________________

  #19641    
Old September 15th, 2011 (07:46 AM).
ManInTheMask's Avatar
ManInTheMask ManInTheMask is offline
Pro Hacker
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 24
This is ManInTheMask, and I could use some help from you ROM Hacking experts.

THE PROBLEM:

I'm working on a GBA ROM, and one of my scripts may require using a certain song during the battle. For example, in Ruby, Sapphire, and Emerald, you hear a certain theme when you battle Team Aqua/Magma grunts and the boss. This also applies for Gym Battles in any game normally, but in this case, I want to use this for GBA ROMs.

MY GOAL:

My goal is to create a battle script using a certain type of track in the game's music collection. I'm counting on you guys to help me out!
  #19642    
Old September 15th, 2011 (02:28 PM).
treeckopa treeckopa is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hong Kong
Gender:
Posts: 18
Quote originally posted by Yoshi-san:
You mean in Diamond, Pearl and Platinum Generation in Emerald? You have to be a little more detailed on that question. Sorry if I'm not helpful on that.

In AdvanceMap, steady snow should be giving you the hailing effect in battle.
(I just tested in on my Emerald rom and it's giving me the hailing effect for multiple "snow" weather styles.)
Sorry cause I don't know much English...maybe I should say...
In Emerald, whether a move is physical or special depends on the type of the move.
Can I change it so that it depends on the move itself, just like DPPt/HGSS?

However in my emerald, both steady snowing and three snow flakes give me no effect in battle...
  #19643    
Old September 16th, 2011 (07:33 AM).
CureYoshiDarkness's Avatar
CureYoshiDarkness CureYoshiDarkness is offline
Live! From Inkopolis!
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: シンオウ
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,032
Quote originally posted by treeckopa:
Sorry cause I don't know much English...maybe I should say...
In Emerald, whether a move is physical or special depends on the type of the move.
Can I change it so that it depends on the move itself, just like DPPt/HGSS?

However in my emerald, both steady snowing and three snow flakes give me no effect in battle...
I believe there is a tool that can help you with editing the attack move types.
Again, I believe you can edit the moveset traits with the certain tools.

I'll have to work with the Emerald weather set again.
I may have edited mine to allow the hailing effect to start at the beginning of a battle. (Local hex edits.)
But, I gotta check.
__________________

  #19644    
Old September 16th, 2011 (10:32 AM).
Thrasher24's Avatar
Thrasher24 Thrasher24 is offline
~Legendary Master~
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Outside of Pallet Town, Kanto
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 55
How do i activate a hex? i want 2start my emerald hack with the nat dex
  #19645    
Old September 16th, 2011 (02:37 PM). Edited September 16th, 2011 by treeckopa.
treeckopa treeckopa is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hong Kong
Gender:
Posts: 18
Quote originally posted by Yoshi-san:
I believe there is a tool that can help you with editing the attack move types.
Again, I believe you can edit the moveset traits with the certain tools.

I'll have to work with the Emerald weather set again.
I may have edited mine to allow the hailing effect to start at the beginning of a battle. (Local hex edits.)
But, I gotta check.
It seems that the move editor doesn't allow me to choose whether a move is physical or special...

Quote originally posted by Thrasher24:
How do i activate a hex? i want 2start my emerald hack with the nat dex
Are you talking about national pokedex?
For Emerald, setflag 0x861 can activate your pokedex, while special 0x1F3 can upgrade your pokedex into national pokedex.
  #19646    
Old September 17th, 2011 (12:28 AM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 3,444
Quote originally posted by treeckopa:
It seems that the move editor doesn't allow me to choose whether a move is physical or special...


Are you talking about national pokedex?
For Emerald, setflag 0x861 can activate your pokedex, while special 0x1F3 can upgrade your pokedex into national pokedex.
That's because it doesn't, they were on about the type, as they misread what you meant.

As far as I know, there is no actual patch or tool or whatever to change whether a move is physical or special, but there has been a development in the same idea in Firered in the Research and Development area. You could ask in that thread if it was possible to do it for Emerald, and how.
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...


Nerves o
f Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

  #19647    
Old September 17th, 2011 (10:47 AM).
Slike's Avatar
Slike Slike is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 49
I've been working on a hack called Der Erif, subtitled "Fire Red: Backwards Edition". Naturally, this is a hack of Fire Red in which the path from Viridian to Pewter is blocked and the player must go south of Pallet, in which all of the water has been changed to land, and the map/trainers/scripts are adjusted to create a path that takes the gyms entirely backwards, not including Viridian, which will remain last.

My problem arises after Blaine is beaten. I do not want the Sevii Islands at that point in the game (as it would be after the first gym) so I deleted the scripts of Bill and his boat in Cinnabar, but once the player exits Cinnabar gym, the script begins for Bill to show up and invite the player to the Sevii Islands. After checking all of the scripts in Cinnabar Island, none of them have any mention of Bill's invitation. On another forum someone told me that this is a "Level script" but when I asked him how to change it he told me to come here because apparently you guys are pretty chill.

So rambling aside: Where is the script that cues for Bill to invite the player to the Sevii Islands and how do I remove it? It would be much appreciated.
  #19648    
Old September 17th, 2011 (11:50 AM).
DavidJCobb DavidJCobb is offline
RESIDENT RAAAAAAAAAAAAGEMASTER
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 275
Quote originally posted by Slike:
On another forum someone told me that this is a "Level script" but when I asked him how to change it he told me to come here because apparently you guys are pretty chill.

So rambling aside: Where is the script that cues for Bill to invite the player to the Sevii Islands and how do I remove it? It would be much appreciated.
AdvanceMap. Header tab. "Map script" section.

"Script no." combobox allows you to select a level script to view, if there are more than one. "Open script" will view the selected script in XSE, allowing you to make sure that you don't delete the wrong one.

Most maps have a script that runs the "setworldmapflag" command and does little else; these are normal, don't delete them. They mark a flightspot as usable if the map has one.

In your case, it looks like Cinnabar Island's 0th level script contains both the setworldmapflag command and parts of Bill's script... So replace it with a script that only runs setworldmapflag, and then delete all other level scripts.
__________________
  #19649    
Old September 17th, 2011 (01:13 PM).
Derriken Derriken is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 4
Im fairly new to scripting, and i was wondering; Is there a way to force an egg to hatch, whether through a special or ASM or some such? If not, is there a way to ramp up the step counter so it hatches sooner?

PS. Im using FR.
Any help is highly appreciated, thanks!
  #19650    
Old September 17th, 2011 (01:25 PM).
xyer xyer is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 3
Heyho, just another newb asking some questions.

I was wondering if there is a possibility to check the levels of the pokemons that are in the players party? If someone could show me a way to do this that would be really helpful.

Another question is how to use the Pokedollar/Yen/whatever sign in a msgbox?
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 06:42 PM.