Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub > Beginner’s Lounge
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Beginner’s Lounge Where all good (and bad) ideas start. This is the Beginner’s Lounge, where if you need a helping hand or want to develop your small ideas, you bring it here. We won't bite.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #19751    
Old October 4th, 2011 (12:07 PM).
Neox301291 Neox301291 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 6
yes i figured ist out alredy thanks for the great help

i have only one problem left. I need tilesets for underground citys and routes all the god buildings are on grass and when you mod it then all is so terrible
  #19752    
Old October 4th, 2011 (05:07 PM).
metapod23's Avatar
metapod23 metapod23 is offline
Hardened Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 673
Quote originally posted by EdensElite:
I thought so . So if i want a pokemon to level up by 10 levels or gain 10 HP, i need ASM, is there no way to script it at all?
I believe JPAN'S Hacked Engine has a feature that allows you to create items that use scripts. However, you would then need to be able to script the change in the Pokemon's level or HP. You might be able to do it using writebytetooffset and the data info from here:

http://bulbapedia.bulbagarden.net/wiki/Pokémon_data_structure_in_Generation_III

But I haven't tried it myself.
__________________
  #19753    
Old October 4th, 2011 (05:28 PM).
Jarred0809's Avatar
Jarred0809 Jarred0809 is offline
The Eternal Lurker
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Near Chicago
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 197
Is there a ROMhack that replaces Unova's Pokemon with the originals?

For example:
Woobat becomes Zubat
Patrat becomes Rattata
Purrloin becomes Meowth
  #19754    
Old October 4th, 2011 (05:57 PM).
cazzler's Avatar
cazzler cazzler is offline
Feraligatr FtW!
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Silver Mountain
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 504
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to cazzler
Sorry if this has been answered somewhere, I'm new to hacking, I'm using AdvanceMap to change the wild Pokemon in Emerald, but everytime I seem to do it and click on a different route to edit, it asks me if I want to save the wild Pokemon data, to which I click yes... When I return to it though, its default again...

My question is, why it does that and how do I change the wild Pokemon without it returning to its default setting?
  #19755    
Old October 4th, 2011 (06:41 PM).
Skara's Avatar
Skara Skara is offline
THIS. IS. SEMPITERNAL.
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Manchester, England
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 350
Is there any way I can make it so Professor Juniper gives you the National Dex rather than the Unova PokeDex?
__________________
I'VE LEFT THIS ACCOUNT. Here is my new profile
  #19756    
Old October 4th, 2011 (07:15 PM).
DavidJCobb DavidJCobb is offline
RESIDENT RAAAAAAAAAAAAGEMASTER
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 275
Quote originally posted by cazzler:
Sorry if this has been answered somewhere, I'm new to hacking, I'm using AdvanceMap to change the wild Pokemon in Emerald, but everytime I seem to do it and click on a different route to edit, it asks me if I want to save the wild Pokemon data, to which I click yes... When I return to it though, its default again...

My question is, why it does that and how do I change the wild Pokemon without it returning to its default setting?
AMap 1.95's a bit screwy... If you change more than one species at a time, the changes are lost.

Set all the levels first. Save the map. Change to a different map. Change back. Change one wild species. Save. Go to another map. Go back. Repeat until they're all how you want.

And never, under any circumstances, should you delete a Wild Pokemon list. Doing so may corrupt the data beyond repair. Just change the "encounter ratio" to 0.
__________________
  #19757    
Old October 5th, 2011 (12:43 PM).
Skara's Avatar
Skara Skara is offline
THIS. IS. SEMPITERNAL.
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Manchester, England
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 350
Quote originally posted by Jarred0809:
Is there a ROMhack that replaces Unova's Pokemon with the originals?

For example:
Woobat becomes Zubat
Patrat becomes Rattata
Purrloin becomes Meowth
1. Not every Unova Pokemon is a remake of an old Pokemon.
2. No, because the old Pokemon are still in Black/White XD

Although... if you want a Rom Hack WITH the "originals" as well as Unova's Pokemon, you could always play Volt White.
__________________
I'VE LEFT THIS ACCOUNT. Here is my new profile
  #19758    
Old October 5th, 2011 (02:24 PM).
south69_dallas south69_dallas is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 30
where is a good starting point for a nube? like ive played some hacks but have never done any coding or anything close to editing making my own hack but now i want to. So i know a little advance map and ive edited the starters but is there a tutorial that goes over everything? alot of the tutorials kinda seem like for ppl that have some exp vs none...like i dnt have photoshop so i cant change the title screen? and how to add scripts to sign posts etc etc sorry for the long post...and thanks ahead for any replys.
  #19759    
Old October 5th, 2011 (03:19 PM).
Skara's Avatar
Skara Skara is offline
THIS. IS. SEMPITERNAL.
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Manchester, England
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 350
Quote originally posted by south69_dallas:
where is a good starting point for a nube? like ive played some hacks but have never done any coding or anything close to editing making my own hack but now i want to. So I know a little advance map and ive edited the starters but is there a tutorial that goes over everything? alot of the tutorials kinda seem like for ppl that have some exp vs none...like i dnt have photoshop so i cant change the title screen? and how to add scripts to sign posts etc etc sorry for the long post...and thanks ahead for any replys.
Search in the 'Tutorials' section.
__________________
I'VE LEFT THIS ACCOUNT. Here is my new profile
  #19760    
Old October 5th, 2011 (03:36 PM).
chrunch's Avatar
chrunch chrunch is offline
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,119
Quote originally posted by south69_dallas:
where is a good starting point for a nube? like ive played some hacks but have never done any coding or anything close to editing making my own hack but now i want to. So i know a little advance map and ive edited the starters but is there a tutorial that goes over everything? alot of the tutorials kinda seem like for ppl that have some exp vs none...like i dnt have photoshop so i cant change the title screen? and how to add scripts to sign posts etc etc sorry for the long post...and thanks ahead for any replys.
If you want to learn how to script, I learnt it using thisvideo tutorial, although it's for Pokescript, not XSE, so that might not be what you want.
__________________
  #19761    
Old October 5th, 2011 (10:05 PM).
Thrasher24's Avatar
Thrasher24 Thrasher24 is offline
~Legendary Master~
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Outside of Pallet Town, Kanto
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 55
can some 1 plz get me the full Script for nat dex in emerald. i did EVERYTHING ppl said and it hasnt worked. som1 plz help? thnx.
__________________
My 6 PkMn:
Fly! Char! Master!
Fossil! Pichu! Mew2
  #19762    
Old October 6th, 2011 (12:01 AM).
cazzler's Avatar
cazzler cazzler is offline
Feraligatr FtW!
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Silver Mountain
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 504
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to cazzler
@DavidJCobb: Yeah I realized, I'm now using Advance Map 1.92...

I have another question, regarding replacing existing 3rd gen sprites in Emerald with D/P ones. I've been using this Tutorial and on ''Stage 2'' Step 2, it says my sprite isn't indexed, I've followed the whole tutorial. I'm using Windows 7 and I've read that this method won't work with Windows 7 and I'm wondering if its true? or if there is an alternative?
  #19763    
Old October 6th, 2011 (01:11 AM).
DavidJCobb DavidJCobb is offline
RESIDENT RAAAAAAAAAAAAGEMASTER
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 275
Quote originally posted by cazzler:
@DavidJCobb: Yeah I realized, I'm now using Advance Map 1.92...

I have another question, regarding replacing existing 3rd gen sprites in Emerald with D/P ones. I've been using this Tutorial and on ''Stage 2'' Step 2, it says my sprite isn't indexed, I've followed the whole tutorial. I'm using Windows 7 and I've read that this method won't work with Windows 7 and I'm wondering if its true? or if there is an alternative?
If you use GIMP, you can find instructions on creating a precisely-indexed image here.
__________________
  #19764    
Old October 8th, 2011 (06:10 AM).
Oxnite's Avatar
Oxnite Oxnite is offline
aka Arbok
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: The Netherlands.
Gender:
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 305
I have a small question.

In Pokémon Fire Red and Pokémon Leaf Green, does each Unown form have its own palette? Or do Unown forms share a common palette (which could be the case because only their form changes)?

Thanks a lot.
__________________
  #19765    
Old October 8th, 2011 (06:40 AM).
link12552's Avatar
link12552 link12552 is offline
just tired, that's all
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The not so distant future
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 201
Quote originally posted by Oxnite:
I have a small question.

In Pokémon Fire Red and Pokémon Leaf Green, does each Unown form have its own palette? Or do Unown forms share a common palette (which could be the case because only their form changes)?

Thanks a lot.
All the unknown use the same palette by default, but they each contain their own unique pointer in the palette table so they can be individually changed.
In Firered BPRE, the pointers for the normal palette start at 0x237954, and the shiny palette pointers start at 0x238714.
Most tools for editing Pokemon sprites will take this into account.
__________________
  #19766    
Old October 8th, 2011 (06:55 AM).
Oxnite's Avatar
Oxnite Oxnite is offline
aka Arbok
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: The Netherlands.
Gender:
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 305
Quote originally posted by link12552:
All the unknown use the same palette by default, but they each contain their own unique pointer in the palette table so they can be individually changed.
In Firered BPRE, the pointers for the normal palette start at 0x237954, and the shiny palette pointers start at 0x238714.
Most tools for editing Pokemon sprites will take this into account.
Whoa, that was quick! Thank you very much, I was hoping for this answer!

I guess the Unown Forms cannot have different moves, stats etc., can they?
__________________
  #19767    
Old October 8th, 2011 (10:51 AM).
dudedude1 dudedude1 is offline
.
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 141
I have a couple of questions

1. I was trying to add all r/s tiles to fire red by exporting the picture, blocks, and palettes but when I insert the tiles are either funny colored or all messed up. How can I fix this?

2. Has it already been achieved to increase the number of tiles in he world map in fire red from 256 to 1024 or 2048?

Thanks.
  #19768    
Old October 8th, 2011 (11:32 AM).
ShaHar ShaHar is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Belgium
Gender: Male
Posts: 7
Hi, okay to be honest, i'm kinda new at this stuff,
and i don't want to sound like i know everything you know,
i just have some spare time nowadays and wanted to try something new.

i recently started with hacking a ROM just to learn a couple things about it,
but you know when you want to test something, you always have to start over before you even can test the thing you want to test.

so now i just want to know (even if it's just a link to another thread),
- if you can skip, edit or remove the introduction screen of pokemon LG/FR??
- how to start at a map you recently added,
- how to already have at least 1 pokemon in the beginning of the game,


al these are just to test the things i want to edit, like (for example) add a new trainer, i want to see if the trainer reacts like how i want it, and for that i don't need the whole introduction screen!!!

if somebody please could help me out for this i would appreciate your time.

Greetz ShaHar
  #19769    
Old October 8th, 2011 (05:43 PM).
SwirlyBirds's Avatar
SwirlyBirds SwirlyBirds is offline
apparently not quite dead
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: May 2010
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 813
Quote originally posted by ShaHar:
Hi, okay to be honest, i'm kinda new at this stuff,
and i don't want to sound like i know everything you know,
i just have some spare time nowadays and wanted to try something new.

i recently started with hacking a ROM just to learn a couple things about it,
but you know when you want to test something, you always have to start over before you even can test the thing you want to test.

so now i just want to know (even if it's just a link to another thread),
- if you can skip, edit or remove the introduction screen of pokemon LG/FR??
- how to start at a map you recently added,
- how to already have at least 1 pokemon in the beginning of the game,


al these are just to test the things i want to edit, like (for example) add a new trainer, i want to see if the trainer reacts like how i want it, and for that i don't need the whole introduction screen!!!

if somebody please could help me out for this i would appreciate your time.

Greetz ShaHar
You don't have to restart every time. If you're using VisualBoyAdvance, you can use Shift-F1 to make a savestate file, which effectively saves your game. Just press F1 again to load it.
To change the map you start at, you can use Starter Map Chooser Advance (SMCA).
For the last one, it can be done rather easily with a level script.
__________________
this is not a signature
  #19770    
Old October 8th, 2011 (08:53 PM).
PKMN Trainer Alison's Avatar
PKMN Trainer Alison PKMN Trainer Alison is offline
I'll follow you into the dark.
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Australia.
Gender: Female
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 56
Does anyone know the pallet offset for the green circle under professor Oak's sprite in FR/LG?
__________________
[CENTER]
  #19771    
Old October 8th, 2011 (09:18 PM).
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji DrFuji is offline
Helfen, Wehren, Heilen
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Downia-upside
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 1,322
Quote originally posted by PKMN Trainer Alison:
Does anyone know the pallet offset for the green circle under professor Oak's sprite in FR/LG?
You can find the oval's pallet at 0x4629D0.
__________________
  #19772    
Old October 8th, 2011 (09:22 PM).
PKMN Trainer Alison's Avatar
PKMN Trainer Alison PKMN Trainer Alison is offline
I'll follow you into the dark.
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Australia.
Gender: Female
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 56
Quote originally posted by DrFuji:
You can find the oval's pallet at 0x4629D0.
Thank you so much. I really needed this!
__________________
[CENTER]
  #19773    
Old October 9th, 2011 (02:54 AM).
ShaHar ShaHar is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Belgium
Gender: Male
Posts: 7
Quote originally posted by HackDeoxys:
You don't have to restart every time. If you're using VisualBoyAdvance, you can use Shift-F1 to make a savestate file, which effectively saves your game. Just press F1 again to load it.
To change the map you start at, you can use Starter Map Chooser Advance (SMCA).
For the last one, it can be done rather easily with a level script.

though i appreciate your reply, still there are some problems with this,
first of all, if i restart from a savestate file, the things i changed aren't in the game, i really have to restart from the beginning all the time.
so it would be really great if i could skip that introduction screen somehow (with Prof Oak)...
ok, that SMCA was really helpfull, thanks for that man
hmm, if i knew how to do it, i already had done that,
but the level scripting is somewhat out of my league here xp

Greetz
  #19774    
Old October 9th, 2011 (03:05 AM).
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron Darthatron is offline
巨大なトロール。
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,152
Quote originally posted by ShaHar:
though i appreciate your reply, still there are some problems with this,
first of all, if i restart from a savestate file, the things i changed aren't in the game, i really have to restart from the beginning all the time.
so it would be really great if i could skip that introduction screen somehow (with Prof Oak)...
ok, that SMCA was really helpfull, thanks for that man
hmm, if i knew how to do it, i already had done that,
but the level scripting is somewhat out of my league here xp

Greetz
The savestate problem is simple. You can't be on the map you edited. It needs to be reloaded before the changes will show up. Hope that helped.
__________________
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です
  #19775    
Old October 9th, 2011 (03:19 PM).
kyou_kun's Avatar
kyou_kun kyou_kun is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7
How can you change the items listed in the pokemart for Diamond?
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 02:24 PM.