The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.


Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #19776    
Old October 10th, 2011, 08:42 AM
EdensElite's Avatar
EdensElite
No0b, but getting there.
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: UK
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
I'm using map connections and using a different tileset 2 on the second map. However it doesn't load the different tileset when I go into the next map, it keeps the original so It looks all messed up, how do I fix this?
__________________

ROM Hacking was getting frustrating for me. I've now stopped productions and writing the game from scratch in HTML 5.

That means it will be playable in the browser, and across multiple devices such as the iPod touch.
  #19777    
Old October 10th, 2011, 09:20 AM
Vladimir312's Avatar
Vladimir312
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Gender: Male
Does anyone know how I would be able to edit the breeding in a pokemon game? I'm creating new pokemon and I want them to breed the way they're supposed to.
  #19778    
Old October 10th, 2011, 10:42 AM
ShaHar
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Belgium
Gender: Male
okay, now i have another little question,
sorry if i'm asking to much, but it's the best way to learn stuff...

so i'm using the game FR,
and the thing i'm trying to do is,
by talking to a Sign with a yes/no question (this part is working already),
but the thing is that i want to add a sort of 'event' when choosing yes,
if yes, i want to let an item appear on a table close to me.

i know i have to work with a flag and such, but how can you let something be hidden first and appear later? what command is better to use in this case...

in the spoiler you can find what i already have.

Spoiler:

#dyn 0x740000
#org @main
lock
faceplayer
checkflag 0x1003
if == jump @haveit
message @talk
callstd MSG_YESNO
compare LASTRESULT YES
if == jump @pushedyes
jump @pushedno

#org @haveit
message @gotit
callstd MSG_NORMAL
release
end

#org @pushedyes
setflag 0x1003
message @yes
callstd MSG_NORMAL
release
end

#org @pushedno
message @no
callstd MSG_NORMAL
release
end


#org @talk
= If you see this click yes to\nget a present

#org @gotit
= How's the present?\nPretty neat huh!!

#org @yes
= Go to the table!!

#org @no
= Oooohh, too bad, your loss.


Greetz,
ShaHar
  #19779    
Old October 10th, 2011, 04:57 PM
metapod23's Avatar
metapod23
Hardened Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaHar View Post
okay, now i have another little question,
sorry if i'm asking to much, but it's the best way to learn stuff...

so i'm using the game FR,
and the thing i'm trying to do is,
by talking to a Sign with a yes/no question (this part is working already),
but the thing is that i want to add a sort of 'event' when choosing yes,
if yes, i want to let an item appear on a table close to me.

i know i have to work with a flag and such, but how can you let something be hidden first and appear later? what command is better to use in this case...

in the spoiler you can find what i already have.

Spoiler:

#dyn 0x740000
#org @main
lock
faceplayer
checkflag 0x1003
if == jump @haveit
message @talk
callstd MSG_YESNO
compare LASTRESULT YES
if == jump @pushedyes
jump @pushedno

#org @haveit
message @gotit
callstd MSG_NORMAL
release
end

#org @pushedyes
setflag 0x1003
message @yes
callstd MSG_NORMAL
release
end

#org @pushedno
message @no
callstd MSG_NORMAL
release
end


#org @talk
= If you see this click yes to\nget a present

#org @gotit
= How's the present?\nPretty neat huh!!

#org @yes
= Go to the table!!

#org @no
= Oooohh, too bad, your loss.


Greetz,
ShaHar
You need to create a header in the map that sets the flag of the item you want hidden, unless a certain flag or variable is set (the one set when you hit yes in your script). You just need to use "03 On entering map/not on menu close" in A-Map.
__________________
  #19780    
Old October 10th, 2011, 05:14 PM
ManInTheMask's Avatar
ManInTheMask
Pro Hacker
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Gender: Male
What about a script that changes the original wild battle music into any song you want for a wild battle not executed by script command, but by stuff like grass, or water, etc.
  #19781    
Old October 10th, 2011, 06:04 PM
avolonsaber
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
I'm sure someone has asked this before, but there's just too many pages to look through :p Anyways, is there a known Flag that enables the National Dex in FireRed? I know that 0x829 activates the regular Pokedex, but 2 of the Starters in the hack I'm making aren't from Kanto, so they won't be able to evolve without the National Dex, which is why I want the Player's starting Pokedex to just be the National Dex.

I've been looking online for a while and all I'm seeing are weird scripts or things involving ASM, the former I don't want and latter I don't know. Just a Flag or a simple way to enable it. Anyone know how?
  #19782    
Old October 10th, 2011, 06:22 PM
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji
repeat repeat repeat
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Upside-downia
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote:
Originally Posted by avolonsaber View Post
I'm sure someone has asked this before, but there's just too many pages to look through :p Anyways, is there a known Flag that enables the National Dex in FireRed? I know that 0x829 activates the regular Pokedex, but 2 of the Starters in the hack I'm making aren't from Kanto, so they won't be able to evolve without the National Dex, which is why I want the Player's starting Pokedex to just be the National Dex.

I've been looking online for a while and all I'm seeing are weird scripts or things involving ASM, the former I don't want and latter I don't know. Just a Flag or a simple way to enable it. Anyone know how?
You unlock the National Dex in FR/LG by using the command 'special 0x16F'.
  #19783    
Old October 10th, 2011, 06:33 PM
avolonsaber
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrFuji View Post
You unlock the National Dex in FR/LG by using the command 'special 0x16F'.
Fuji, my dude, lol. Awesome. How would I go about putting it into my script, instead of "setflag 0x829" could I just put "special 0x16F"?
  #19784    
Old October 10th, 2011, 06:39 PM
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron
巨大なトロール。
Community Supporter Tier 2
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote:
Originally Posted by avolonsaber View Post
Fuji, my dude, lol. Awesome. How would I go about putting it into my script, instead of "setflag 0x829" could I just put "special 0x16F"?
You need to do both. Setting the flag of 0x829 shows the pokedex in the menu.
__________________
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です
  #19785    
Old October 10th, 2011, 06:40 PM
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji
repeat repeat repeat
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Upside-downia
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote:
Originally Posted by avolonsaber View Post
Fuji, my dude, lol. Awesome. How would I go about putting it into my script, instead of "setflag 0x829" could I just put "special 0x16F"?
Unfortunately, no because 'setflag 0x829' makes the Pokedex option appear on the pause screen, while 'special 0x16F' upgrades the Pokedex. While you should be able to evolve non-Kanto Pokemon, if you try to use the special without setting the flag then you won't be able to open the Pokedex on the menu at all.
  #19786    
Old October 10th, 2011, 07:11 PM
avolonsaber
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darthatron View Post
You need to do both. Setting the flag of 0x829 shows the pokedex in the menu.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrFuji View Post
Unfortunately, no because 'setflag 0x829' makes the Pokedex option appear on the pause screen, while 'special 0x16F' upgrades the Pokedex. While you should be able to evolve non-Kanto Pokemon, if you try to use the special without setting the flag then you won't be able to open the Pokedex on the menu at all.
Cool beans. Thanks, guy (:
  #19787    
Old October 11th, 2011, 04:37 AM
Thrasher24's Avatar
Thrasher24
~Legendary Master~
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Outside of Pallet Town, Kanto
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
1. where do i got to request sprites?
2. has any1 made pkmn white/black for the GBA? (like a hack of gba game, but turned it in2 b/w)
3. how do i change the battle scene trainer sprites? (emerald)
4. whats a 'basic' text editor for emerald? a-text editor only works for FR/LG (mayB R/S) but not emerald. (Unless i need a patch or ad on or somthing)
__________________
My 6 PkMn:
Fly! Char! Master!
Fossil! Pichu! Mew2
  #19788    
Old October 11th, 2011, 09:40 AM
BlazingMagmar
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Gender:
hi
i successfully imported a team rocket battle midi into my leaf green and it works brilliantly. However i dont know how to make this battle music only be used by team rocket grunts. I replaced the music for R/S trainer battle music. So how do i make team rocket grunts use this battle music without making every trainer in the game use it?
  #19789    
Old October 11th, 2011, 12:24 PM
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji
repeat repeat repeat
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Upside-downia
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thrasher24 View Post
1. where do i got to request sprites?
2. has any1 made pkmn white/black for the GBA? (like a hack of gba game, but turned it in2 b/w)
3. how do i change the battle scene trainer sprites? (emerald)
4. whats a 'basic' text editor for emerald? a-text editor only works for FR/LG (mayB R/S) but not emerald. (Unless i need a patch or ad on or somthing)
1) You could try the Pixel Art section of the Art Gallery, but I think you will have a tough time getting somebody to sprite for you if you request anything more than one or two sprites.

2) Not to my knowledge.

3) You can use a tutorial like this one. It is based on FR/LG, but the steps should be more or less the same for Emerald.

4) A-Text is as basic as you can get and there aren't any editors that work 100% with Emerald off the top of my head. I would suggest getting a script editor like XSE so you can make your own scripts, rather than editing the text of others.
  #19790    
Old October 12th, 2011, 06:04 AM
soilder148
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Gender: Male
I'm very new to rom hacking and I was starting to hack the Gold version. First I wanted to add my own bitmap sprite for the character in the game. Then I'd like to edit one of the gym leaders name and sprite and stuff also. That's really all for tight now I guess.
  #19791    
Old October 13th, 2011, 03:30 AM
~Anbuja's Avatar
~Anbuja
Let's Keep It Simple
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: In Snorlax Stomach
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Send a message via Skype™ to ~Anbuja
Question:
I inserted a pokemon OW it's a flying type pokemon so i want it to make like it is flying on the mapps...soooo
In a-map the Ow inserted and such give no problems...but the movement to make it run up down makes it only walk one tile up and one tile down and that looks very unnatural sooo i wanted to ask is that another Movement type you give the OW in a-map(i tryed all) or is it a script that make the ow walk for example 6 tiles up and 6 tiles down and that all reapeting again...?

Question:
I inserted a pokemon OW it's a flying type pokemon so i want it to make like it is flying on the mapps...soooo
In a-map the Ow inserted and such give no problems...but the movement to make it run up down makes it only walk one tile up and one tile down and that looks very unnatural sooo i wanted to ask is that another Movement type you give the OW in a-map(i tryed all) or is it a script that make the ow walk for example 6 tiles up and 6 tiles down and that all reapeting again...?
__________________

Last edited by ~Anbuja; October 13th, 2011 at 03:31 AM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
  #19792    
Old October 13th, 2011, 03:44 AM
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji
repeat repeat repeat
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Upside-downia
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anbuja's_BlooDY View Post
Question:
I inserted a pokemon OW it's a flying type pokemon so i want it to make like it is flying on the mapps...soooo
In a-map the Ow inserted and such give no problems...but the movement to make it run up down makes it only walk one tile up and one tile down and that looks very unnatural sooo i wanted to ask is that another Movement type you give the OW in a-map(i tryed all) or is it a script that make the ow walk for example 6 tiles up and 6 tiles down and that all reapeting again...?
In FR there are a number of Bikers on Cycling Road that constantly move up and down like you want - It would be easiest to see how they move and copy their data. Most of their movement values (The window underneath movement type in AMap) are set at 61 so I would suggest changing your NPC's value to match it. While I haven't messed around with this a lot, I'm inclined to believe that the first number you place in the movement value window will correspond to the number of squares the NPC will move in one direction, in this case, six. If someone wants to correct me on that last point, then go ahead :)
  #19793    
Old October 13th, 2011, 05:55 AM
BlazingMagmar
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Gender:
Hi i have been trying to get team rocket grunts to use the R/S trainer battle music. I followed Mastermind_Xs tutorial. However when i start the game it wont go past the intro screen (it freezes at the moment the gamefreak logo is supposed to come up) whats more i loaded a savestate and it works. But whenever a sound effect is supposed to play or if the music is supposed to chnge the game freezes. Im using Fire Red (U) v1.0

Any idea whats wrong?
  #19794    
Old October 13th, 2011, 04:56 PM
Pingouin_7
This account is now inactive
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Hardy
Hello, I am attempting to hack the first generation of Pokémon.
More specifically, Pokémon Blue.

I am trying to hack three things.

First, I would like to be able to edit the sprites of the Pokémon. The reason why I want to do that is because I am attempting to edit Pokémon Blue and make it into an English Pokémon Green.
Right now, I am basing myself on two patches, one made by Chaos Rush which changes the graphics back to those from the original Japanese Green (Thanks a lot for that patch, BTW) and another one which changes the titlescreen so that it has Bulbasaur and says Pokémon Green version on it (I did that part. Some person from romhacking.net helped me for editing the Blue Version text, though.)

Second, I would like to be able to edit the Game Corner prizes. I am attemting to make a minor hack of Blue so that it becomes, in essence, a translation of the Japanese Blue version.
Right now I can handle editing the wild Pokémon and in-game trades, but I'm stuck with editing the Game Corner prizes.

Last but not least, I want to edit the SGB border of the mentionned above Pokémon Blue rom to the SGB border from the original Green version.
(I know Coolboyman knows how to that, judging by Pokémon Brown. I PMed him, but if anyone else knows, I wouldn't mind your help.)


I don't mind hex editing as long as I know what I'm doing and what I'm editing.
In fact, it would be preferable if I was hex editing, because then I would actually learn something about rom hacking, because all those previous rom edits were all done with programs that do all the work for you.

Thanks in advance to whoever has the knowledge and time to reply to me.
  #19795    
Old October 14th, 2011, 05:59 AM
NismoZ's Avatar
NismoZ
SMW Hacker
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Gender: Male
I have two questions. First, are trainer battle sprites (in FireRed, sorry about missing that ) uncompressed (like most of the other graphics) in the ROM? Secondly, and related, where are they?
__________________
CHANGING SIGNATURE PLEASE BE PATIENT

Last edited by NismoZ; October 14th, 2011 at 06:08 AM.
  #19796    
Old October 14th, 2011, 06:26 AM
link12552's Avatar
link12552
just tired, that's all
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The not so distant future
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by NismoZ View Post
I have two questions. First, are trainer battle sprites (in FireRed, sorry about missing that ) uncompressed (like most of the other graphics) in the ROM? Secondly, and related, where are they?
Nope, they're compressed.
In BPRE:
The table for the Image Offsets is at 0x23957C
and the palette table is at 0x239A1C

Tools that can open compressed images like NSE (there's a plugin) or UnlZ(they're in there somewhere) can display and edit these.
I think there are some Trainer-Editing tools as well.
__________________
  #19797    
Old October 14th, 2011, 04:33 PM
Sephiroth2009
Booted out - don't be like me!
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
I inserted my big Intro sprites into my game. They come out fine so I'm inclined to believe that I did something right. However after choosing a name they look minorly different. The rival is the strangest part. Again, everything is fine.

rival.PNG

However again, after choosing a name manually this happens.

rival1.PNG

I used Dante's tutorial, I don't understand why this happens. Can someone please help me?
  #19798    
Old October 14th, 2011, 05:00 PM
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron
巨大なトロール。
Community Supporter Tier 2
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sephiroth2009 View Post
I inserted my big Intro sprites into my game. They come out fine so I'm inclined to believe that I did something right. However after choosing a name they look minorly different. The rival is the strangest part. Again, everything is fine.

Attachment 62270

However again, after choosing a name manually this happens.

Attachment 62271

I used Dante's tutorial, I don't understand why this happens. Can someone please help me?
It looks like the palette is reloaded, so there must be a second one somewhere. Or maybe you forgot to change a pointer? Either way, search for that palette and edit it to match the one you want.
__________________
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です
  #19799    
Old October 14th, 2011, 06:08 PM
Sephiroth2009
Booted out - don't be like me!
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darthatron View Post
It looks like the palette is reloaded, so there must be a second one somewhere. Or maybe you forgot to change a pointer? Either way, search for that palette and edit it to match the one you want.
Thanks for the reply. But I don't know.

I checked "automatically fix pointers". And I used the same palette as the rival. Saved it as act, oped it with Gimp and inserting the palettes into the rival black and white sprite. I than saved it, used the unindexed image and pasted it over the rival sprite. saved it than opened it with Gimp and inserted the palette file again to see if it would remain the same, in which it did. I had to change the background color to match the rival's though with Paint but I doubt that had influence. Anyway with the rival saved I inserted into unlz with a new offset.

So I just don't understand what the problem is.
  #19800    
Old October 14th, 2011, 07:02 PM
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Wew...
I searched this thread and the old archive for my question, but unfortunately, all I found was dust x,x

Anyway, I have 2 questions. I hope anyone can help me.
First, can anyone tell me how to make Latios start to roam around the region?
Second, can anyone tell me how to properly use the 'createvirtualsprite' command in XSE?

Thanks~
__________________
3DS FC: 0061-1111-6462
SV: 1364 | Rock Safari: Dwebble, Corsola and Barbaracle
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 12:52 AM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.