Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub > Beginner’s Lounge
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Beginner’s Lounge Where all good (and bad) ideas start. This is the Beginner’s Lounge, where if you need a helping hand or want to develop your small ideas, you bring it here. We won't bite.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #176    
Old February 15th, 2007 (06:42 PM).
Glitchfinder's Avatar
Glitchfinder Glitchfinder is offline
Let's all get along, please?
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: The Twilight Zone
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 477
Quote originally posted by foofatron:
How come when I put sprites in pokepic they look fine but then in the game tey are messed up?How come when you move on to a new pokpic then you go backto the one you edited its all messed up?
Here are possible problems:

1. Your sprite has too many colors.
2. Your sprite doesn't have enough colors. (I believe the count is either 16 or 15)
3. Your sprite has non GBA-compatable colors. (Download GBA Color Picker to find GBA-compatable colors)
4. The problem may be that you aren't using colors from an in-game palette. (If it's just the colors that are messed up)
  #177    
Old February 15th, 2007 (06:50 PM).
foofatron foofatron is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Age: 13
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 309
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to foofatron
look here are the pictures.They are 64x64.
Attached Images
File Type: png EHikozaru.png‎ (1.5 KB, 263 views) (Save to Dropbox)
File Type: png Hikozaru.png‎ (1.4 KB, 267 views) (Save to Dropbox)
  #178    
Old February 15th, 2007 (08:04 PM).
ash2000's Avatar
ash2000 ash2000 is offline
Beginning Trainner/Hacker
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Pacific
Gender:
Nature: Calm
Posts: 116
Quote originally posted by hanosed:
Why doesn't EliteMap work with Pokemon Emerald and how do you fix it?
Elitemap is not competive with pokemon emerald.
__________________
  #179    
Old February 15th, 2007 (08:38 PM). Edited February 15th, 2007 by hanosed.
hanosed's Avatar
hanosed hanosed is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 6
Quote originally posted by ash2000:
Elitemap is not competive with pokemon emerald.
aww, then how do i change my starting point when i get out of the truck?

and Christos, can to tell me how you get to pick your pokemon in the beginning and get the running shoes and then make the guy who gives it to me go away like you did in pokemon liquid?

btw, there are some glitches on it
  #180    
Old February 16th, 2007 (01:03 AM).
*Shinigami*'s Avatar
*Shinigami* *Shinigami* is offline
死神
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 44
Quote:
That has to to with no$GBA not being able to fully emulate the 3D graphics of the games yet.
Just press the Start/A buttons to get to the title screen.
Thank you for the help Scizz
I really just need it for reference

Quote:
If you leave it black for a while you'll get to the titlescreen. It's really annoying, everything goes slow.
Yeah but it is so worth the wait O.O
  #181    
Old February 16th, 2007 (02:07 AM). Edited February 16th, 2007 by Swimmer♂.
Swimmer♂'s Avatar
Swimmer♂ Swimmer♂ is offline
Glub! Glub! Glub!
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Northampton, England
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 172
Can sum 1 plz tell me how to add more map headers in advancemap
plz help i have been searching for 3 days!
Thankyou!
  #182    
Old February 16th, 2007 (04:06 AM).
Christos's Avatar
Christos Christos is offline
chase is my favourite
ModeratorBSCS
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
Posts: 4,338
Quote originally posted by foofatron:
look here are the pictures.They are 64x64.
Are the sprites indexed?

Quote originally posted by speedonh:
Can sum 1 plz tell me how to add more map headers in advancemap
plz help i have been searching for 3 days!
Thankyou!
When you insert a map, put it in a new map header and a new header will be created.
__________________
  #183    
Old February 16th, 2007 (04:29 AM).
Prof. 9 Prof. 9 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Netherlands
Gender: Male
Posts: 151
I've encountered a problem with scripting. Again.

This is my script:
#org 0x6C46D0
checkflag 0x80C
compare LASTRESULT 0x1
if 0x1 call 0x6C4702
movesprite 0x11 0x11 0x22
applymovement 0x12 0x6C4734
pause 0x20
message 0x6C44C9
boxset 0x6
applymovement 0xFF 0x6C4766
pause 0x10
release
end

#org 0x6C4734
#raw 0x01
#raw 0x02
#raw 0xFE

#org 0x6C4702
message 0x6B45EA
boxset 0x6
release
end

#org 0x6C4766
#raw 0x09
#raw 0xFE

I want it to check if the player has the sixth Badge, if yes, say a message, if no, make a sprite move to x=11, y=22, make the sprite look up, then look to the left, then make a message appear, then make the player walk one block to the north.

So, I inserted it into my ROM, and activated it. Here comes the first problem - the movesprite command doesn't work (btw, the Rubikon log said that there was an unknown character or something like that). Anyway, then the message appears, and I walk one block to the north. However, then the other message appeared (the one that's suppossed to appear if the player has the sixth Badge). I have no idea why.

Can anyone help me with this script? I'm hacking Pokémon Ruby, and i'm trying to make this script activate in the Littleroot Town map.
  #184    
Old February 16th, 2007 (05:46 AM). Edited February 16th, 2007 by Swimmer♂.
Swimmer♂'s Avatar
Swimmer♂ Swimmer♂ is offline
Glub! Glub! Glub!
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Northampton, England
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 172
Ok thanks for the help Christos! BUT: i went into map header and i created a new bank, i saved my map in the new bank, but it still went into the littleroot folder. is there anyway i could make a new folder where i can store my new maps and give them different "names" e.g vinetree city? Thankyou!
  #185    
Old February 16th, 2007 (12:40 PM).
_-Davie-_'s Avatar
_-Davie-_ _-Davie-_ is offline
Hacker Elite
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chester-le-street, Country Durham, United Kingdom
Age: 23
Gender:
Nature: Bold
Posts: 28
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to _-Davie-_
Hey,

For some puzzling reason when I [Ctrl] and Click on a sprite(script to be accurate) It wont allow me to view that specific script. Unfortunately I've tried lots and lots of different scripts in this process but still to no avail. So I was wondering if there was any effective way to view scripts in the game.

Thanks In Advance,
~Davie~
__________________
  #186    
Old February 16th, 2007 (01:25 PM).
foofatron foofatron is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Age: 13
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 309
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to foofatron
[QUOTE=Christos;2385343]Are the sprites indexed?



Whats indxed?
  #187    
Old February 16th, 2007 (03:27 PM).
Glitchfinder's Avatar
Glitchfinder Glitchfinder is offline
Let's all get along, please?
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: The Twilight Zone
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 477
[QUOTE=foofatron;2385657]
Quote originally posted by Christos:
Are the sprites indexed?



Whats indxed?
Indexed is the type of color on the picture. (RGB, CMYK, etc. are other types) Most advanced art programs have it as an option. Try downloading GIMP, which is pretty much the same as Photoshop.
  #188    
Old February 16th, 2007 (03:38 PM).
Blaziken626's Avatar
Blaziken626 Blaziken626 is offline
Pokemon Black Shadow
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Age: 21
Gender:
Nature: Mild
Posts: 208
I have, yet again, a scripting question. If I wanted to make a message script with a flag so that it doesn't have that message again, in what order would I put everything in? I have a script here:

Code:
#org 0xB00000
lock
checkflag 0x364
compare LASTRESULT 0x1
if 0x1 goto 0xB00200
setflag 0x364
faceplayer
message 0xB00100
boxset 0x6
release
end

#org 0xB00100
= Hello.

#org 0xB00200
end
If anything is wrong with it, could someone tell me please?
  #189    
Old February 16th, 2007 (04:43 PM).
foofatron foofatron is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Age: 13
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 309
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to foofatron
[QUOTE=Glitchfinder;2385778]
Quote originally posted by foofatron:

Indexed is the type of color on the picture. (RGB, CMYK, etc. are other types) Most advanced art programs have it as an option. Try downloading GIMP, which is pretty much the same as Photoshop.
ok but how come when I put the backsprite in it messes up the front sprite.I load the stuff in PNG.
  #190    
Old February 17th, 2007 (01:16 AM).
frank$or frank$or is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 91
Hi, i've got a problem.

I want to change the attacks of pokemon in PET, that works fine.
But when i battle INGAME, the attacks are ****ed up.

: i gave a elec. pokemon thundershock, tackle, slam and spark.
INGAME: vine whip, hyper beam, leer, shadow ball

can i solve this?
if not, any other way to change pkmns attacks?
  #191    
Old February 17th, 2007 (01:42 AM).
Swimmer♂'s Avatar
Swimmer♂ Swimmer♂ is offline
Glub! Glub! Glub!
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Northampton, England
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 172
I got another question: what are the numbers for the offsets of the badges in pokemon ruby? i searched the archives all morning but still couldn't find what i needed to know.

Also does anyone know had to add new map folders on advance map so i can give my new maps new names?

Thanks
  #192    
Old February 17th, 2007 (01:46 AM).
Christos's Avatar
Christos Christos is offline
chase is my favourite
ModeratorBSCS
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
Posts: 4,338
Quote originally posted by Blaziken626:
I have, yet again, a scripting question. If I wanted to make a message script with a flag so that it doesn't have that message again, in what order would I put everything in? I have a script here:

Code:
#org 0xB00000
lock
checkflag 0x364
compare LASTRESULT 0x1
if 0x1 goto 0xB00200
setflag 0x364
faceplayer
message 0xB00100
boxset 0x6
release
end

#org 0xB00100
= Hello.

#org 0xB00200
end
If anything is wrong with it, could someone tell me please?
Did you try it out?

[QUOTE=foofatron;2385919]
Quote originally posted by Glitchfinder:

ok but how come when I put the backsprite in it messes up the front sprite.I load the stuff in PNG.
Try inserting these sprites.



Indexed by *Neos*.

Quote originally posted by frank$or:
Hi, i've got a problem.

I want to change the attacks of pokemon in PET, that works fine.
But when i battle INGAME, the attacks are ****ed up.

: i gave a elec. pokemon thundershock, tackle, slam and spark.
INGAME: vine whip, hyper beam, leer, shadow ball

can i solve this?
if not, any other way to change pkmns attacks?
You could edit the attacks with a Hex Editor.

Quote originally posted by speedonh:
I got another question: what are the numbers for the offsets of the badges in pokemon ruby? i searched the archives all morning but still couldn't find what i needed to know.

Also does anyone know had to add new map folders on advance map so i can give my new maps new names?

Thanks
You mean the unLZ number for the badges?
__________________
  #193    
Old February 17th, 2007 (02:01 AM).
Swimmer♂'s Avatar
Swimmer♂ Swimmer♂ is offline
Glub! Glub! Glub!
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Northampton, England
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 172
yes plz christos, the unLZ numbers for the badges in ruby

and also how to create more names for my maps if you know

Thanks
  #194    
Old February 17th, 2007 (02:09 AM).
Blazichu's Avatar
Blazichu Blazichu is offline
Bahhhh?
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: The ground?
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,390
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Blazichu
Quote originally posted by frank$or:
Hi, i've got a problem.

I want to change the attacks of pokemon in PET, that works fine.
But when i battle INGAME, the attacks are ****ed up.

: i gave a elec. pokemon thundershock, tackle, slam and spark.
INGAME: vine whip, hyper beam, leer, shadow ball

can i solve this?
if not, any other way to change pkmns attacks?
What I have noticed in PET it selects the attack that is one below the one you have selected. So you should pick the attack above thundershock, tackle, slam and spark to have the right moves that you want.

eg. in PET: THUNDERSHOCK <attack you have selected>
VINEWHIP <attack PET has selected/thought was selected>

So whatever is above THUNDERSHOCK is the attack you pick to make it work.

Christos is right, you could use hex which might be easier.
__________________

←(left) the online world for life(MSN, PC etc.)~
  #195    
Old February 17th, 2007 (03:26 AM).
Overclocked's Avatar
Overclocked Overclocked is offline
Paired with......Myself
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Age: 21
Gender:
Nature: Impish
Posts: 72
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Overclocked
Can someone please tell me where Chaizard is in FR for unLZ?
__________________

Problem...RAWNET went down so I'll be a while 'till I come back on
  #196    
Old February 17th, 2007 (07:55 AM).
nothing's Avatar
nothing nothing is offline
Gorto Hacker
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Gorto :)
Age: 18
Gender:
Nature: Brave
Posts: 33
There are some inactive tools in poketronic(Insert give pkmn script,Insert move data, etc.)How do I enable this tools?
__________________
--No signatures--
  #197    
Old February 17th, 2007 (08:16 AM). Edited February 17th, 2007 by foofatron.
foofatron foofatron is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Age: 13
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 309
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to foofatron
[QUOTE=Christos;2386294]Did you try it out?

Quote originally posted by foofatron:

Try inserting these sprites.



Indexed by *Neos*.



You could edit the attacks with a Hex Editor.



You mean the unLZ number for the badges?
It works but the back sprite is a orange queston mark in battle.You should make tortoral for this stuff.
  #198    
Old February 17th, 2007 (09:08 AM).
Leon2457's Avatar
Leon2457 Leon2457 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 12
hi does anyone know how to edit the pallete on xeon's overworld editor (english) without messing up any other pallettes
__________________
WOw IvE EEN AROUND THE SITE AND THERE ARE SOME AWESOME HaCKS BEING MADE I JOPe TO GOD THEY ARE REALEASED TO PLaY ON!


Leon's PokePet

blaze the level 74 Typhlosion!
  #199    
Old February 17th, 2007 (09:10 AM).
Blaziken626's Avatar
Blaziken626 Blaziken626 is offline
Pokemon Black Shadow
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Age: 21
Gender:
Nature: Mild
Posts: 208
[QUOTE=Christos;2386294]Did you try it out?

Quote originally posted by foofatron:

Try inserting these sprites.



Indexed by *Neos*.



You could edit the attacks with a Hex Editor.



You mean the unLZ number for the badges?
Actually I have a new script and I tried it out.
Code:
#org 0xB00000
lock
faceplayer
checkflag 0x364
compare LASTRESULT 0x1
if 0x1 goto 0xB00200
message 0xB00100
boxset 0x6
release
end

#org 0xB00200
message 0xB00300
boxset 0x6
end

#org 0xB00100
= Hello.

#org 0xB00300
= Goodbye.
But it didn't work.
  #200    
Old February 17th, 2007 (09:44 AM). Edited February 17th, 2007 by D-Trogh.
D-Trogh's Avatar
D-Trogh D-Trogh is offline
Dead
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Belgium
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Posts: 439
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to D-Trogh
Quote originally posted by Blaziken626:
Actually I have a new script and I tried it out.
Code:
#org 0xB00000
lock
faceplayer
checkflag 0x364
compare LASTRESULT 0x1
if 0x1 goto 0xB00200
setflag 0x364
message 0xB00100
boxset 0x6
release
end

#org 0xB00200
message 0xB00300
boxset 0x6
end

#org 0xB00100
= Hello.

#org 0xB00300
= Goodbye.
But it didn't work.
I edited it.. Go on and try it.. But remember, I'm just a newb at scripting..

Btw, about those flags.. Can I/we use anything we want ?
Like '...flag 0x1' or '...flag 0x354A' ??

Edit:
Quote:
Howcome LIPs says the changes are over the 16mb mark.And yet the patch is only 9 kb I've made bigger patches before whats wrong with it?
Well.. Maybe the changes on the hacked rom were over 16MB..
When patching an original with the patch, changes after 16MB won't be aplied. (Or Lips may give an error)
__________________
[NTME | WPEDS | HTPE | SGPE | TGPE | PDEDS]
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 12:57 PM.