Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub > Beginner’s Lounge
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Beginner’s Lounge Where all good (and bad) ideas start. This is the Beginner’s Lounge, where if you need a helping hand or want to develop your small ideas, you bring it here. We won't bite.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #20001    
Old November 27th, 2011 (06:00 PM).
darkprince909 darkprince909 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Gender:
Posts: 79
So im having a little trouble with making an above water bridge that will let you encounter pokemon underneath (with a water background. got it to work once but with a grass bg :/ ) but not encounter pokemon up top. i know it worked in emerald with the cycling road, and that was set to just 70 00. i tried that on FR, but no luck. I tried several different combinations that i could think of, but nothing seemed to work

and no, the encounter rate was not all the way down. i checked it. you can find pokemon just fine in the normal grass and normal water blocks.

anyway, if someone could help me out, itd be appreciated, because having pokemon not appear under a bridge above water doesnt make sense, especially if the can be found the next tile over. What, are they trying to avoid getting eaten by a troll or something lol?
  #20002    
Old November 27th, 2011 (06:30 PM).
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji DrFuji is offline
Helfen, Wehren, Heilen
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Downia-upside
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 1,322
Quote originally posted by darkprince909:
So im having a little trouble with making an above water bridge that will let you encounter pokemon underneath (with a water background. got it to work once but with a grass bg :/ ) but not encounter pokemon up top. i know it worked in emerald with the cycling road, and that was set to just 70 00. i tried that on FR, but no luck. I tried several different combinations that i could think of, but nothing seemed to work

and no, the encounter rate was not all the way down. i checked it. you can find pokemon just fine in the normal grass and normal water blocks.

anyway, if someone could help me out, itd be appreciated, because having pokemon not appear under a bridge above water doesnt make sense, especially if the can be found the next tile over. What, are they trying to avoid getting eaten by a troll or something lol?
Your Emerald method didn't work because R/S/E's behaviour and background byte effect don't correlate with FR/LG's effects. Try setting the behaviour bytes to 11/15, 04 (depending on what type of water you're using) and the background bytes to 00, 22. This should allow you to find Pokemon underneath the bridge, but I'm unsure as to whether you'll also find them on top the bridge as well. You'll have to try that out for yourself :D
__________________
  #20003    
Old November 28th, 2011 (06:46 AM).
M.L's Avatar
M.L M.L is offline
Busy atm
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 732
So i have a few questions here, so im hacking ruby just so you know. Now i know in Firered in APE there is the offsets in the bookmarks that allow you to change the background where oak is introducing that stuff but does any one know the ruby offsets?
__________________
Fluffy
  #20004    
Old November 28th, 2011 (04:35 PM).
darkprince909 darkprince909 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Gender:
Posts: 79
Quote originally posted by DrFuji:
Your Emerald method didn't work because R/S/E's behaviour and background byte effect don't correlate with FR/LG's effects. Try setting the behaviour bytes to 11/15, 04 (depending on what type of water you're using) and the background bytes to 00, 22. This should allow you to find Pokemon underneath the bridge, but I'm unsure as to whether you'll also find them on top the bridge as well. You'll have to try that out for yourself :D
Those bytes didnt work. the first behavior has to be set to 08 or 70 to work as a bridge, and they both seem to define the terrain as land, unlike RSE, where 70 was over water. by setting the behavior bytes to 70 04 and background to 00 02, the bridge works fine (except wild pokemon also appear on top ). maybe theres a way to fix this byte to work like it did im RSE through hex or asm or something. unfortunately, thats my poorest area of rom hacking, so id have no idea how to do it
  #20005    
Old November 28th, 2011 (08:41 PM).
Epitaph93's Avatar
Epitaph93 Epitaph93 is offline
Intermediate Digidestined
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Texas
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 119
When using the countpokemon command, can you have it check if the variable is greater than a number, rather than simply equal to it?
__________________
I'm Epitaph and I plan on releasing the first full-fledged Digimon hack of Pokemon Fire Red. We're getting close to the first release so come check it out in the Progressing hacks, and see how you can help us with the project.
  #20006    
Old November 29th, 2011 (01:25 AM).
romancandle romancandle is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 72
Does anyone know how the Feebas script works in Emerald? I've been looking through the Awesome Phrase scripts and that route's scripts, but find it I can't.
  #20007    
Old November 29th, 2011 (11:33 PM).
JET73L's Avatar
JET73L JET73L is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Are there currently any tools or tutorials for Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Red Rescue Team for the Game Boy Advance?

So far, the only tool I've been able to find from the past couple of years (and the only completed tool) has been Sebby's partner changer tool and the only tutorial I've been able to find was something that recommended Sebby's ultimate tool (unfinished, as far as I know) and WordPad (which can't handle files that size and replaces nonstandard characters anyway).

Additional key words (for those searching this later): PMD, GBA, Gameboy
  #20008    
Old November 30th, 2011 (12:43 AM).
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji DrFuji is offline
Helfen, Wehren, Heilen
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Downia-upside
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 1,322
Quote originally posted by Epitaph93:
When using the countpokemon command, can you have it check if the variable is greater than a number, rather than simply equal to it?
Yes, it is most certainly possible to this. The countpokemon command is essentially useless if you don't have the 'compare' and 'if' commands following it. While compare sets a number that you want to check in comparison to the number of Pokemon in your party, the if command sets a condition that determines how the script should continue.

If you want to see whether the number of Pokemon in your party is greater than 3, you could make this script:
Code:
countpokemon
compare 0x800D 0x3
if 0x2 goto @Continue
Rather than using 0x1 in the if command's condition to indicate that both numbers should be equal, 0x2 will see if the size of your party is greater than 3 members. Here is a table that you can use that shows the conditions that you can set and their respective HEX values:

Quote originally posted by diegoisawesome's XSE tutorial:
Lower Than (0x0)
Equals (0x1)
Greater Than (0x2)
Lower than or Equal to (0x3)
Greater than or Equal to (0x4)
Not exactly equal to (0x5)
__________________
  #20009    
Old December 1st, 2011 (11:40 AM).
MammonAzrael's Avatar
MammonAzrael MammonAzrael is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 5
Quote originally posted by MammonAzrael:
Hello all.

I started work on a Let's Play of Pokemon Crystal a little while ago (on VisualBoy Advance), and I was hoping to find an editor or whatever that would let me change the evolution requirements of pokemon that require trading (as I obvious can't evolve them otherwise). I'm not sure if editor is the correct term, but that should get the gist across. Do you have any suggests? As far as I can tell YAPE doesn't work on gen 2 games. Thanks!

I did a search for this, but being new to the forums I have no idea how well I did, but obviously my search was unsuccessful.
Anyone have any suggestions? Is this even the right thread for this question? Is this question even forum appropriate (I'm assuming it is since a mod hasn't wiped it already)?
  #20010    
Old December 3rd, 2011 (12:34 AM).
chrunch's Avatar
chrunch chrunch is offline
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,120
I want to use the SeaGallop boat (in the Sevii islands) animation in FR, but when I insert it into a script (special 0x17B), instead of warping the player to where I want, it warps them to Vermilion City automatically, even though I placed a warp command after to take the player to where I want. :/

Is there any easy way around this without having to hex edit? Thanks.
__________________
  #20011    
Old December 3rd, 2011 (06:30 AM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is online now
Team Rocket Grunt would like to battle!
ModeratorCS
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 3,680
Quote originally posted by chrunch:
I want to use the SeaGallop boat (in the Sevii islands) animation in FR, but when I insert it into a script (special 0x17B), instead of warping the player to where I want, it warps them to Vermilion City automatically, even though I placed a warp command after to take the player to where I want. :/

Is there any easy way around this without having to hex edit? Thanks.
I'm pretty sure it's only through hex editing. I think somewhere in the Tutorials section there's an explanation.
__________________

"Develop amnesia conveniently and forget everything you've heard!"
spheal clicker | rom hacking | pokémon gaia
staff antagonists collab 2015
  #20012    
Old December 3rd, 2011 (09:27 AM).
Sawakita's Avatar
Sawakita Sawakita is offline
Not Invented Here
 
Join Date: May 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 180
Quote originally posted by MammonAzrael:
Anyone have any suggestions? Is this even the right thread for this question? Is this question even forum appropriate (I'm assuming it is since a mod hasn't wiped it already)?
Try reading this documentation. You can apply the modifications using a hex editor.
__________________



| 1st Gen Hacking: Useful Links | A good example of REAL ROM Hacking |
  #20013    
Old December 3rd, 2011 (12:40 PM).
MammonAzrael's Avatar
MammonAzrael MammonAzrael is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 5
Quote originally posted by Sawakita:
Try reading this documentation. You can apply the modifications using a hex editor.
Awesome, thanks. I believe I can work with that, it looks very well spelled out. Now...where can I get a hex editor? (I'm completely new to hacking) I checked the tools resource, but it looks like the links are out of date.
  #20014    
Old December 3rd, 2011 (08:02 PM).
movieguy12 movieguy12 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 65
Are you able to rom hack and edit Pokemon pearl platinum diamond soul silver heart gold fire red leaf green and add the new black an white Pokemon into the games? By editing and Rom hacking? Thanks :).
  #20015    
Old December 4th, 2011 (07:42 AM).
SwirlyBirds's Avatar
SwirlyBirds SwirlyBirds is offline
apparently not quite dead
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: May 2010
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 813
Quote originally posted by movieguy12:
Are you able to rom hack and edit Pokemon pearl platinum diamond soul silver heart gold fire red leaf green and add the new black an white Pokemon into the games? By editing and Rom hacking? Thanks .
For 3rd Generation, (FR, LG, R, S, E) you can do that easily. Use YAPE to change the stats, UNLZ to change the sprites, etc. For later games, I'm not so sure. We've haven't even reached the point where it's easy to make a 4th or 5th Generation hack - though some people are still doing it.
__________________
this is not a signature
  #20016    
Old December 4th, 2011 (07:47 AM).
Magius's Avatar
Magius Magius is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Age: 26
Posts: 76
Is there any tools or information on how to do rip the tile sets from gen 3 games? Advance Map does not rip them the way I need them to be. I need the top/bottom layers to not be merged.
  #20017    
Old December 4th, 2011 (08:10 AM).
SwirlyBirds's Avatar
SwirlyBirds SwirlyBirds is offline
apparently not quite dead
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: May 2010
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 813
Quote originally posted by Magius:
Is there any tools or information on how to do rip the tile sets from gen 3 games? Advance Map does not rip them the way I need them to be. I need the top/bottom layers to not be merged.
Uh, just go to A-Map's block editor and click Save Tileset 1 (for the top part) or Save Tileset 2 (for the bottom part). In addition, it'll save the tileset in whatever palette you're currently viewing in the block editor.
__________________
this is not a signature
  #20018    
Old December 4th, 2011 (08:48 AM). Edited December 4th, 2011 by movieguy12.
movieguy12 movieguy12 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 65
Quote originally posted by HackDeoxys:
For 3rd Generation, (FR, LG, R, S, E) you can do that easily. Use YAPE to change the stats, UNLZ to change the sprites, etc. For later games, I'm not so sure. We've haven't even reached the point where it's easy to make a 4th or 5th Generation hack - though some people are still doing it.

Hm so for 3rd gen you can only change the stats and sprites of the gen 3 Pokemon to make then "become" the gen 5? But not have gens 4+5 with gens 1-3 already in it? Basically can I have all 649 with editing and hacking in a gen 3 game? Lol.

And when it comes to gen4 games, now I've seen a white version edited with having all 649 in it. Couldn't you use the same editor and make all 649 for a gen 4? Or would it involve some heavy scripting? This may be way out of left field but could you use Pokemon essentials for adding or editing or the pmb files into a gen 4 game?

Sorry I know that doesn't make Sense lol
But I don't know how to do it and was just hoping you could :). Basically im replaying all the games from gen 5 to prob gen 3 and I was wanting to take my serperior with me but maybe at a lower level. (make Sense) it would be like ashs Pikachu.

Edit:I guess I understand how the editor of Pokemon white could add in the remaining 4** other Pokemon since your able to have them in there. But I just want to edit/hack and bring some newer ones into the older gens :.(
  #20019    
Old December 4th, 2011 (03:55 PM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 538
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by chrunch:
I want to use the SeaGallop boat (in the Sevii islands) animation in FR, but when I insert it into a script (special 0x17B), instead of warping the player to where I want, it warps them to Vermilion City automatically, even though I placed a warp command after to take the player to where I want. :/

Is there any easy way around this without having to hex edit? Thanks.
There actually is a way to do this easily. Before the special, you have to use set variable 0x8006 to:

0x0 for Vermillion
0x1 for One Island
0x2 for Two Island
0x3 for Three Island
0x4 for Four Island
0x5 for Five Island
0x6 for Seven Island
0x7 for Six Island

The special only warps to those eight ports. The only way to make it go anywhere else is to either make a warp from one of those places to the town/route in question, or simply not use the special.

Note: I'm pretty sure its variable 0x8006, but if that isn't right, it's definitely either 0x8004 or 0x8005.



Now for my question. How do I make the strength boulders go through a hole and pop out in the next level (such as in the Seafoam Islands) or activate a script (such as in the Tanoby Key)?
  #20020    
Old December 4th, 2011 (05:12 PM).
SwirlyBirds's Avatar
SwirlyBirds SwirlyBirds is offline
apparently not quite dead
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: May 2010
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 813
Quote originally posted by movieguy12:
Hm so for 3rd gen you can only change the stats and sprites of the gen 3 Pokemon to make then "become" the gen 5? But not have gens 4+5 with gens 1-3 already in it? Basically can I have all 649 with editing and hacking in a gen 3 game? Lol.
No. There's 30 free spots for Pokémon, but only 30. Others you'll have to replace.
__________________
this is not a signature
  #20021    
Old December 4th, 2011 (05:22 PM).
movieguy12 movieguy12 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 65
Quote originally posted by HackDeoxys:
No. There's 30 free spots for Pokémon, but only 30. Others you'll have to replace.

If what your saying is true then that's perfect! Lol all I wanted was to take a snivy with me backwards from gen 5 to gen 3. I mean obviously can't transfer but I can "pretend" it's the same as the one in black...sooooo how might I do this? :)
  #20022    
Old December 4th, 2011 (06:09 PM).
JET73L's Avatar
JET73L JET73L is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Quote originally posted by JET73L:
Are there currently any tools or tutorials for Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Red Rescue Team for the Game Boy Advance?

So far, the only tool I've been able to find from the past couple of years (and the only completed tool) has been Sebby's partner changer tool and the only tutorial I've been able to find was something that recommended Sebby's ultimate tool (unfinished, as far as I know) and WordPad (which can't handle files that size and replaces nonstandard characters anyway).
Just letting you all know I'm still here and watching for responses, in case someone knows but was holding back because it looked like I'd given up.
  #20023    
Old December 4th, 2011 (10:52 PM).
DMONDThrice's Avatar
DMONDThrice DMONDThrice is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 9
Alright, I've seen this asked before, but never really answered in a satisfactory way. The question is, how do you make certain characters have certain battle themes in Pokemon Fire Red? As in, you battle a character, and their theme is, say, the Team Rocket battle theme. I have read about this "ASM" method and, frankly, it is very vague, and I am not a godlike hex editor. I'm looking for a simple way to tell the game to play a certain battle theme, or maybe a tool that can do it.

I know simply changing the character's class works in Emerald, but this is not the case in Fire Red. Honestly, I could use Emerald, but the sprite selection is very limited, the tiles are not as good, and all the scripting experience I have is with Fire Red.

I've seen hints that a setvar command could do this, but I don't know what variable to use or what to set it to in that instance. Does anyone know of any way to do this? Please, nothing about how to add in music with Sappy or something, that isn't what I'm looking for. And nothing about that ASM tutorial either. And no, changing the "intro music" value in Advance Trainer has no effect on the -battle- music.
  #20024    
Old December 4th, 2011 (11:08 PM).
Chaos Rush's Avatar
Chaos Rush Chaos Rush is offline
im sexy and i know it
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylor Swift
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 1,286
Quote originally posted by DMONDThrice:
Alright, I've seen this asked before, but never really answered in a satisfactory way. The question is, how do you make certain characters have certain battle themes in Pokemon Fire Red? As in, you battle a character, and their theme is, say, the Team Rocket battle theme. I have read about this "ASM" method and, frankly, it is very vague, and I am not a godlike hex editor. I'm looking for a simple way to tell the game to play a certain battle theme, or maybe a tool that can do it.

I know simply changing the character's class works in Emerald, but this is not the case in Fire Red. Honestly, I could use Emerald, but the sprite selection is very limited, the tiles are not as good, and all the scripting experience I have is with Fire Red.

I've seen hints that a setvar command could do this, but I don't know what variable to use or what to set it to in that instance. Does anyone know of any way to do this? Please, nothing about how to add in music with Sappy or something, that isn't what I'm looking for. And nothing about that ASM tutorial either. And no, changing the "intro music" value in Advance Trainer has no effect on the -battle- music.
ASM is the only way to do it. Every music hack you see with FireRed has ASM. The routine is documented here:
http://sfc.pokefans.net/lesson.php?id=13

Unfortunately since you really don't want to use ASM, I'm afraid there's no way for you to do it.
__________________
  #20025    
Old December 5th, 2011 (01:44 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
Memento Mori
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 13,289
Quote originally posted by HackDeoxys:
No. There's 30 free spots for Pokémon, but only 30. Others you'll have to replace.
It's acutally 25, not 30.
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 10:33 AM.