Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Beginner’s Lounge Where all good (and bad) ideas start. This is the Beginner’s Lounge, where if you need a helping hand or want to develop your small ideas, you bring it here. We won't bite.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #20276    
Old January 3rd, 2012 (11:58 PM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 540
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Truality View Post
How is it not tile-related if it's a behavior type? What are the behavior bytes on the tile you altered this to?
It's tile related, but the rectangle itself is a sprite. The behavior byte is $28 $00, Hero halfway
underwater.

Edit: I know it's a sprite because it shows up in VBA's OAM viewer, which shows all the sprites currently on the screen.
__________________


I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.



Relevant Advertising!

  #20277    
Old January 4th, 2012 (12:22 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is online now
Memento Mori
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 14,219
This question just kinda popped up into my head right now.
Didi anyone try to implement PokéRus throughout hacking...?
Is it even possible? =)
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
  #20278    
Old January 4th, 2012 (12:25 AM). Edited January 4th, 2012 by Nate VonGrimm.
Nate VonGrimm's Avatar
Nate VonGrimm Nate VonGrimm is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Uxbridge
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by movieguy12 View Post
Aw man. Right on. Is there any way to replace pearl pokemon yet?
Not been done yet.
Still a lot more we need to learn about Pokemon DS games before we can hack them at all.
We can only do the minor things like change the started Pokemon etc...


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ash493 View Post
This question just kinda popped up into my head right now.
Didi anyone try to implement PokéRus throughout hacking...?
Is it even possible? =)
This can only be done through ASM hacking.
As PokeRus is random, it isn't implemented through any scripts (seeing as wild pokemon in grass aren't scripts).
__________________
Currently working on a new Pokemon Hack with an in-depth story line!
That's about as much as you're going to get for now...


  #20279    
Old January 4th, 2012 (12:41 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is online now
Memento Mori
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 14,219
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nate VonGrimm View Post



This can only be done through ASM hacking.
As PokeRus is random, it isn't implemented through any scripts (seeing as wild pokemon in grass aren't scripts).
I'm not that dumb to not know that it cannot be done throughout regular scripting and ASM is needed.
I actually wanted to know if anyone actually finished implementing it.
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
  #20280    
Old January 4th, 2012 (1:09 AM).
SKRoy SKRoy is offline
Pokémon Hacker
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 66
I'm making a hack, but I have a big problem. I have done a few things and I was trying some things out in the game. But when I want to the start menu (the menu with pokédex, pokemon, bag, save etc.) the whole game freeze.... How can I fix this?
  #20281    
Old January 4th, 2012 (3:15 AM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
hOI!!!!!! i'm tEMMIE!!
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Bashful
Posts: 3,487
Quote:
Originally Posted by SKRoy View Post
I'm making a hack, but I have a big problem. I have done a few things and I was trying some things out in the game. But when I want to the start menu (the menu with pokédex, pokemon, bag, save etc.) the whole game freeze.... How can I fix this?
Unless we know exactly what you did and what you edited with exact offsets, there is no chance of fixing it, and even if we did, the most common piece of advice is either to restart or find a backup that has a working start menu. Sorry.
__________________


Temmie vibrates intensely.

awwAwa cute!! (pets u)

OMG!! humans TOO CUTE (dies)

can't blame a BARK for tryin'...

RATED TEM OUTTA TEM.

  #20282    
Old January 4th, 2012 (12:17 PM).
jdthebud's Avatar
jdthebud jdthebud is offline
Engineering Solutions
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Washington, USA
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Posts: 3,108
Quote:
Originally Posted by colcolstyles View Post
Okay, that leads me to this:
Quote:
Originally Posted by colcolstyles View Post
Alright I found it. The names for the rivals and other stuff are stored at '0x5E821B'. Each name is separated by an '0xFF' byte so if your new name is shorter than the previous name, then all you have to do is fill the bytes of the previous name that you didn't use with '0xFF'. However, if your new name is longer (and it most likely will be if you're replacing May's name) then you will have to repoint the text. The pointer to Brendan's name can be found at '0x009090' and May's at '0x00909C'. I don't know where the pointers to the other texts (e.g. Team names, game names, team leader names, etc.) are but they shouldn't be too hard to locate.
Oh yeah and this is all for Emerald, by the way.
Well, I am a complete amateur at hacking. What program would I use to do this (Hex editing, right)? and maybe a little starter tutorial link? TIA!
__________________
jdthebud is dead. He was the Tinkerer.

"Just leave me alone with my guns!"

#ONEderground
The Underground's 1st Anniversary Collab

Mono-Color Challenge Hall of Fame Underground
  #20283    
Old January 4th, 2012 (12:58 PM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 540
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Out of curiousity, how do the trainer stars work in-game? Is it a flag that's set, or a variable, or is it a built-in function? I'm hacking Firered, btw.
__________________


I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


  #20284    
Old January 4th, 2012 (1:37 PM).
hinkage's Avatar
hinkage hinkage is offline
Go make some new disaster
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Age: 21
Posts: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
Out of curiousity, how do the trainer stars work in-game? Is it a flag that's set, or a variable, or is it a built-in function? I'm hacking Firered, btw.
It's a flag.

I believe that's what the settrainerflag and cleartrainerflag script commands are for. (I've never used them, though).
__________________
(ღ˘⌣˘ღ)
  #20285    
Old January 4th, 2012 (2:12 PM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 540
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote:
Originally Posted by hinkage View Post
It's a flag.

I believe that's what the settrainerflag and cleartrainerflag script commands are for. (I've never used them, though).
I was talking about the trainer stars, the stars that appear on your trainer card if you complete certain events, like completing the Pokedex or getting into the Hall of Fame.
__________________


I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


  #20286    
Old January 4th, 2012 (5:47 PM).
hinkage's Avatar
hinkage hinkage is offline
Go make some new disaster
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Age: 21
Posts: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
I was talking about the trainer stars, the stars that appear on your trainer card if you complete certain events, like completing the Pokedex or getting into the Hall of Fame.
Also flags. Logically, it makes sense: if Badges (aka achievements) are flags, Trainer Card stars (also achievements) would also be flags.

But, I don't know what number they are.
__________________
(ღ˘⌣˘ღ)
  #20287    
Old January 4th, 2012 (7:07 PM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 540
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote:
Originally Posted by hinkage View Post
Also flags. Logically, it makes sense: if Badges (aka achievements) are flags, Trainer Card stars (also achievements) would also be flags.

But, I don't know what number they are.
But then again, you can obtain the stars in any order, which led me to believe that its a variable. If anyone does know the flags or variables, though, I'd be grateful if they told me.
__________________


I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


  #20288    
Old January 4th, 2012 (9:09 PM).
Pia Carrot's Avatar
Pia Carrot Pia Carrot is offline
its only game
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 611
Has anybody developed ASM code to disregard the female character? I would very much like to get in on that.
__________________
  #20289    
Old January 5th, 2012 (3:34 AM).
Truality Truality is offline
Left for good
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,007
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Truality Send a message via Skype™ to Truality
Quote:
Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
But then again, you can obtain the stars in any order, which led me to believe that its a variable. If anyone does know the flags or variables, though, I'd be grateful if they told me.
It's neither a flag nor a variable; it's a special. Well to be exact, a special2, which associates with a common variable and returns a value.

Specifically, special2 LASTRESULT 0xA3 checks the Trainer Card achievements-its color and number of stars; placing the achievement number from 0 to 7 in 0x8004 (LASTRESULT), you get a number in return. If it's 0, the achievement is incomplete. If 1, it's completed. I still don't know which variable is which, though.

So in script form, it should be like this:
Code:
#org @start
...
special2 LASTRESULT 0xA3
compare LASTRESULT 0xZ (Z is the number from 0 to 7)
if 0x1 goto @achievementcomplete
...
end
You should thank JPAN for this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil Arms View Post
Has anybody developed ASM code to disregard the female character? I would very much like to get in on that.
I don't think so, I've been searching for that as well, and to no avail so far. (somebody PLEASE, prove me wrong)

Quote:
Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
It's tile related, but the rectangle itself is a sprite. The behavior byte is $28 $00, Hero halfway underwater.

Edit: I know it's a sprite because it shows up in VBA's OAM viewer, which shows all the sprites currently on the screen.
I want to do a research about this sometime soon, as it's an interesting bit. I'll notify you with a VM if I get any results.
__________________
This is my December . . .
  #20290    
Old January 5th, 2012 (8:10 AM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 540
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Truality View Post
It's neither a flag nor a variable; it's a special. Well to be exact, a special2, which associates with a common variable and returns a value.

Specifically, special2 LASTRESULT 0xA3 checks the Trainer Card achievements-its color and number of stars; placing the achievement number from 0 to 7 in 0x8004 (LASTRESULT), you get a number in return. If it's 0, the achievement is incomplete. If 1, it's completed. I still don't know which variable is which, though.

So in script form, it should be like this:
Code:
#org @start
...
special2 LASTRESULT 0xA3
compare LASTRESULT 0xZ (Z is the number from 0 to 7)
if 0x1 goto @achievementcomplete
...
end
You should thank JPAN for this.
This seems useful for checking to see if you have a certain number of stars, but how would you give the player a star? I want to change what events give out a star in my game, and can't figure out how to accomplish this.
__________________


I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


  #20291    
Old January 5th, 2012 (8:41 AM).
Truality Truality is offline
Left for good
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,007
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Truality Send a message via Skype™ to Truality
Quote:
Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
This seems useful for checking to see if you have a certain number of stars, but how would you give the player a star? I want to change what events give out a star in my game, and can't figure out how to accomplish this.
I don't know, it would probably require ASM/some built-in researh to tamper with that kind of data, as the conditions for making a star appear in your trainer card are pre-defined, much like anything that happens in a 'special' command.
__________________
This is my December . . .
  #20292    
Old January 5th, 2012 (9:09 AM).
shadowdemonh shadowdemonh is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
I actually have a few questions,

1. Is there a way that I can make it so that they need a Specific number code to start a new game? Like to extend the story to another ROM, and you would get the number code after you finish the first ROM.

2. Is there a way to make one Rom Transfer Trainer data and Party to Another Rom? Transfer old party from 1st Rom (first part of game) to 2nd Rom (second part of game.)

Thanks in advance!
  #20293    
Old January 5th, 2012 (10:20 AM).
Indescribled's Avatar
Indescribled Indescribled is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
How do I fix this? Player goes under a tile for some reason.
Attached Images
File Type: png Problem.PNG‎ (11.5 KB, 8 views) (Save to Dropbox)
  #20294    
Old January 5th, 2012 (11:11 AM). Edited January 5th, 2012 by redriders180.
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 540
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indescribled View Post
How do I fix this? Player goes under a tile for some reason.
It's a very simple fix. First, open up A-map, and open up the block editor. Then, click on the block that you're going under. After you do that, go to "background byte" and click the dropdown, and select "block is covered by hero". Save, and exit the block editor, and it should work

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadowdemonh View Post
I actually have a few questions,

1. Is there a way that I can make it so that they need a Specific number code to start a new game? Like to extend the story to another ROM, and you would get the number code after you finish the first ROM.

2. Is there a way to make one Rom Transfer Trainer data and Party to Another Rom? Transfer old party from 1st Rom (first part of game) to 2nd Rom (second part of game.)

Thanks in advance!
I don't know about linking two games, but if your rom is so large it needs two, why don't you expand the rom? You can expand it up to double the size, and still use most programs. Of course, if you've already done that, then you must have ALOT of stuff in your rom...
__________________


I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


  #20295    
Old January 5th, 2012 (11:41 AM).
MissDigitalis's Avatar
MissDigitalis MissDigitalis is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Gender: Female
Posts: 115
What program do you use to edit the main trainer sprite? (I mean the one that you walk around with)
__________________

  #20296    
Old January 5th, 2012 (11:47 AM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 540
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote:
Originally Posted by MissDigitalis View Post
What program do you use to edit the main trainer sprite? (I mean the one that you walk around with)
Try either Nameless Sprite Editor or Overworld Editor Rebirth Edition, the former can be downloaded here while the latter can be found here. I perfer Nameless Sprite Editor, because it can edit basically any image in their rom, but it's your choice
__________________


I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


  #20297    
Old January 5th, 2012 (12:07 PM).
chrunch chrunch is offline
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,332
Does anyone know a good tutorial for inserting battle bases and backgrounds? Thanks. :D
__________________
  #20298    
Old January 5th, 2012 (1:37 PM).
MissDigitalis's Avatar
MissDigitalis MissDigitalis is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Gender: Female
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
Try either Nameless Sprite Editor or Overworld Editor Rebirth Edition, the former can be downloaded here while the latter can be found here. I perfer Nameless Sprite Editor, because it can edit basically any image in their rom, but it's your choice
Thanks.

Has anyone told you that you're awesome today?

Because you're awesome. XD
__________________

  #20299    
Old January 5th, 2012 (6:00 PM).
AustinWolff's Avatar
AustinWolff AustinWolff is offline
has left
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: LA, California
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 100
hey, I was wondering if there is a way in a script to take pokemon away from the PC.

Also, is there a way to make an event where you can't continue unless you have certain pokemon caught in the wild?
__________________
I have left. Feel free to disable my account.
  #20300    
Old January 5th, 2012 (6:05 PM).
MissDigitalis's Avatar
MissDigitalis MissDigitalis is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Gender: Female
Posts: 115
Is there a way to change the gym badges to the right color?

I've got my new gym badges in the right shapes but their colors are messed up even though I said to export the pallet.
__________________

Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 2:27 AM.