Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #20926    
Old April 6th, 2012 (10:37 PM).
supershadow64ds's Avatar
supershadow64ds supershadow64ds is offline
Confused GBA Hacker
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 16
I recently downloaded a tool called Day Night Seasons. I have successfully inserted a day/night cycle into my Pokemon Fire Red hack, but I am asking for scripting help on how to display the time/day of the week. (I am a horrible noob at VAR hacking :cer_confused: ) So uh yeah...
  #20927    
Old April 7th, 2012 (03:30 AM).
Teomat Teomat is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 36
I think that question was already asked but is there any program that can be used to modify abilities(Not ability which pokemon has, but description of ability itself) and also a program for Item modifying?
  #20928    
Old April 7th, 2012 (06:55 AM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 537
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by Teomat:
I think that question was already asked but is there any program that can be used to modify abilities(Not ability which pokemon has, but description of ability itself) and also a program for Item modifying?
For item modifying, try Item Manager, which can be downloaded here. It allows you to create new items in the unused space, change which pocket things go in, and the description, along with the ASM code to execute when used.

Quote originally posted by supershadow64ds:
I recently downloaded a tool called Day Night Seasons. I have successfully inserted a day/night cycle into my Pokemon Fire Red hack, but I am asking for scripting help on how to display the time/day of the week. (I am a horrible noob at VAR hacking :cer_confused: ) So uh yeah...
The time of the day is written to certain parts of the memory, as follows:
Year: two bytes, 0x0300553C
Filler/Day of the week: one byte, 0x0300553E
Month: one byte, 0x0300553F
Day: one byte, 0x03005540
Filler: one byte, 0x03005541
Hour: one byte, 0x03005542
Minute: one byte, 0x03005543
Second: one byte, 0x03005544

Also, the memory offset for variable 0x8004 is 0x020370c0.
So, all you need to do is incorporate the following:


Code:
...
copybyte 0x020370C0 OFFSET_OF_WHICHEVER_TIME_YOU_NEED
...
This will store the whichever time you chose into variable 0x8004. For example:

Spoiler:
#dynamic 0x800000
#org @start
copybyte 0x020370C0 0x0300553C
copybyte 0x020370C1 0x0300553D
buffernumber 0x0 0x8004
msgbox @1 MSG_FACE
release
end

#org @1
= Did you know that the year is [buffer1]?


Would load the year to 0x8004, buffer it, and display it in a message. You need to use copybyte twice, because the year is two bytes long. But since variables are two bytes, the year is still in only one variable.

Good luck!
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #20929    
Old April 7th, 2012 (07:53 AM).
Teomat Teomat is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 36
Quote originally posted by redriders180:
For item modifying, try Item Manager, which can be downloaded here. It allows you to create new items in the unused space, change which pocket things go in, and the description, along with the ASM code to execute when used.
Thanks... But how to edit item discription here? 0_0
  #20930    
Old April 7th, 2012 (09:27 AM).
EdensElite's Avatar
EdensElite EdensElite is offline
No0b, but getting there.
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: UK
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 190
Quote originally posted by PokémonShinySilver:
You'll need the US version of Pokémon Ruby, you'll need the first version of the ROM, which would be 1.0, not 1.1 or some newer version.

I'm having some trouble locating it, any idea of the ROM number?
__________________

ROM Hacking was getting frustrating for me. I've now stopped productions and writing the game from scratch in HTML 5.

That means it will be playable in the browser, and across multiple devices such as the iPod touch.
  #20931    
Old April 7th, 2012 (09:50 AM).
Magic's Avatar
Magic Magic is online now
キュウコン
Moderator
CS
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Posts: 5,310
Quote originally posted by Teomat:
Thanks... But how to edit item discription here? 0_0
What you want to do is open up XSE, and make a script like this=

------

#Dynamic 0x800000

#org @Description
= This is my new item!

------


You will then get an offset when you compile it to the ROM, for arguments sake we'll use 0x800016

You will then put '800016' into the description box, and the description should change.



Voilà.
__________________
Looking for spriters/pixel artists for a ROM hacking project.
Join in Hack-a-long #1

Moderator of The Roleplay Corner
  #20932    
Old April 7th, 2012 (11:46 AM).
supershadow64ds's Avatar
supershadow64ds supershadow64ds is offline
Confused GBA Hacker
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 16
Quote originally posted by redriders180:
For item modifying, try Item Manager, which can be downloaded here. It allows you to create new items in the unused space, change which pocket things go in, and the description, along with the ASM code to execute when used.


The time of the day is written to certain parts of the memory, as follows:
Year: two bytes, 0x0300553C
Filler/Day of the week: one byte, 0x0300553E
Month: one byte, 0x0300553F
Day: one byte, 0x03005540
Filler: one byte, 0x03005541
Hour: one byte, 0x03005542
Minute: one byte, 0x03005543
Second: one byte, 0x03005544

Also, the memory offset for variable 0x8004 is 0x020370c0.
So, all you need to do is incorporate the following:


Code:
...
copybyte 0x020370C0 OFFSET_OF_WHICHEVER_TIME_YOU_NEED
...
This will store the whichever time you chose into variable 0x8004. For example:

Spoiler:
#dynamic 0x800000
#org @start
copybyte 0x020370C0 0x0300553C
copybyte 0x020370C1 0x0300553D
buffernumber 0x0 0x8004
msgbox @1 MSG_FACE
release
end

#org @1
= Did you know that the year is [buffer1]?


Would load the year to 0x8004, buffer it, and display it in a message. You need to use copybyte twice, because the year is two bytes long. But since variables are two bytes, the year is still in only one variable.

Good luck!
I have little to no knowledge on what you just said, but I am certain that the script you used is exclusive to Xtreme Script Editor. Unfortunately, I use PokeScript, and I have searched and searched but I have yet to find Xtreme Script Editor.
  #20933    
Old April 7th, 2012 (12:22 PM).
Rumille's Avatar
Rumille Rumille is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 72

I just started making a new hack and it's the first time I started working with map connections. However, if I go from the top map to the bottom map, my top map gets glitched as shown above. When I return to the top map and walk around it disappears (when it gets in the non-viewable part and then back to the viewable part it's normal again), but if I go back to the bottom map, it gets glitched again.

What causes this and how can I solve it?
  #20934    
Old April 7th, 2012 (12:24 PM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 3,444
Quote originally posted by Rumille:

I just started making a new hack and it's the first time I started working with map connections. However, if I go from the top map to the bottom map, my top map gets glitched as shown above. When I return to the top map and walk around it disappears (when it gets in the non-viewable part and then back to the viewable part it's normal again), but if I go back to the bottom map, it gets glitched again.

What causes this and how can I solve it?
It's because your 2 maps have different secondary tilesets. One way is to make both share the same secondary tilesets, or not use those tiles in that map right away. It's perfectly normal.
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...


Nerves o
f Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

  #20935    
Old April 7th, 2012 (01:49 PM).
Rumille's Avatar
Rumille Rumille is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 72
Ah, yes, I should have known. Thank you!
  #20936    
Old April 7th, 2012 (04:18 PM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 537
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by supershadow64ds:
I have little to no knowledge on what you just said, but I am certain that the script you used is exclusive to Xtreme Script Editor. Unfortunately, I use PokeScript, and I have searched and searched but I have yet to find Xtreme Script Editor.
I don't know anything about Pokescript, although I'm pretty sure that if all else fails, you can use raws. copybyte is the same as #raw 0x15, so you can either look at the list of commands pokescript uses, and find which is 0x15, or just script with raws, which I think is used quite often when using pokescript.

Also, insert the obligatory speech about how XSE is better than Pokescript. use whichever you want, you can always change later.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #20937    
Old April 7th, 2012 (05:08 PM).
XFeralTSDX XFeralTSDX is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: California.
Gender: Male
Posts: 24
Hey, I have a question.
http://pastebin.com/nnsUY5sG <--- This has my script in it. This script should be that a person gives you an HM03 and then you fight them, but instead it does nothing. Can you help? I'm using PKSV. And I'm a noob at scripting. Please help!
__________________
http://www.Youtube.com/user/XFeralTSDX
  #20938    
Old April 7th, 2012 (06:33 PM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 537
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by XFeralTSDX:
Hey, I have a question.
http://pastebin.com/nnsUY5sG <--- This has my script in it. This script should be that a person gives you an HM03 and then you fight them, but instead it does nothing. Can you help? I'm using PKSV. And I'm a noob at scripting. Please help!
Call me crazy, but I don't think flag 0x8740517 exists. Maybe try changing it to an actual flag, such as 0x100 or something.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #20939    
Old April 8th, 2012 (12:49 AM).
Teomat Teomat is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 36
How using unLZ.GBA I can found overworld trainers sprites in Emerland Rom? What numbers are they?
  #20940    
Old April 8th, 2012 (08:06 AM).
OMGWURMPLES!'s Avatar
OMGWURMPLES! OMGWURMPLES! is offline
För Sverige i tiden
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Female
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 49
When I try to put music into my rom using Sappy, I get this error message:
Code:
Pub.s:19: unavailable op-code "and"
Assembly halted.
What does this mean and how can I fix it?
__________________



Berwald Oxenstierna.
'Lion of the North'
Konungariket Sverige
Sweden
Team Sealand! Now recruiting

  #20941    
Old April 8th, 2012 (09:15 AM).
Swellow rules Swellow rules is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 23
I was just wondering if there was a "changesprite" command that would change a character's sprite from one sprite to another.
  #20942    
Old April 8th, 2012 (09:53 AM).
AyakaChan's Avatar
AyakaChan AyakaChan is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Gender: Female
Posts: 27
So me and my friend are starting a hack and we are done with the first city and the first route. But when we test-play the game there is a problem. When you come downstairs in the protagonists house and try to go out to the city (warping from house to city) you end up in a black "world" with no sprites or anything, you only see a black screen and hear the Pallet Town music. :cer_confused:

Can someone explain why this is happening and how to fix it? PLEASE?
__________________
  #20943    
Old April 8th, 2012 (12:35 PM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 537
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by Teomat:
How using unLZ.GBA I can found overworld trainers sprites in Emerland Rom? What numbers are they?
Trainers start at #1868, and end at #1960.

Quote originally posted by Swellow rules:
I was just wondering if there was a "changesprite" command that would change a character's sprite from one sprite to another.
No such command exists, unless you want to use ASM, or have JPANs hack engine for Firered.

Well, technically, there is an address in the memory that tells which person number is controlled by the D-pad. But the camera won't follow them. So either ASM or JPANs Hack Engine.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #20944    
Old April 8th, 2012 (02:25 PM).
redx2dth's Avatar
redx2dth redx2dth is offline
Metapods' got class!
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Im an AI. I live in a chip.
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Sassy
Posts: 27
Before i ask: Yes i did search. For several hours actually.
Does anyone have a link to an emerald titlescreen tutorial? I see millions for firered and even ruby but not one for emerald.
  #20945    
Old April 8th, 2012 (02:33 PM).
droomph's Avatar
droomph droomph is offline
mmm gurl that 90s
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: bar'jách
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Posts: 4,289
Sorry, we don't have any. But if you need to do it RIGHT NOW you can always play around in unLZ if you wanted. Emerald should have a similar format as to FR (probably even easier) so it shouldn't be impossible if you know what you're doing.
__________________
did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
o i forgot 5
uraqt


  #20946    
Old April 8th, 2012 (02:53 PM).
south69_dallas south69_dallas is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 30
ok so im using advance trainer and i want to add pokemon to a trainer so i chnage the # that the trainer has and it says repoint needed. What is repoint needed and how do i do that? i did look the tutorials but didnt see anything on a-trainer
  #20947    
Old April 8th, 2012 (03:38 PM).
redx2dth's Avatar
redx2dth redx2dth is offline
Metapods' got class!
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Im an AI. I live in a chip.
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Sassy
Posts: 27
Quote originally posted by droomph:
Sorry, we don't have any. But if you need to do it RIGHT NOW you can always play around in unLZ if you wanted. Emerald should have a similar format as to FR (probably even easier) so it shouldn't be impossible if you know what you're doing.
Ive just decided to switch to firered seemings how theres a hacked engine for it and everythings covered like it isnt with emerald.
  #20948    
Old April 8th, 2012 (03:40 PM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 537
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by south69_dallas:
ok so im using advance trainer and i want to add pokemon to a trainer so i chnage the # that the trainer has and it says repoint needed. What is repoint needed and how do i do that? i did look the tutorials but didnt see anything on a-trainer
In A-trainer, there's an actual button that says "Repoint". Click it, and it'll tell you the old offset, a place to type in a new offset, number of bytes needed, and a suggested offset. I usually just copy the suggested offset into the new offset, and click "repoint".
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #20949    
Old April 8th, 2012 (05:50 PM).
nekotina's Avatar
nekotina nekotina is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Gender: Female
Posts: 26
Hello, I'm currently hacking Firered with adv. map and connected Pallet Town with a new map to the right, but ever since I did that (And if I play my game I can go to that map and back without a problem) every time I go to a different map a notification appears saying "Access violation at address 004C1523 in module 'advance map exe.' Read of address 00000310" And I cannot acces my map connections editor anymore...

Could anyone help with this?
  #20950    
Old April 8th, 2012 (06:57 PM).
droomph's Avatar
droomph droomph is offline
mmm gurl that 90s
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: bar'jách
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Posts: 4,289
Quote originally posted by nekotina:
Hello, I'm currently hacking Firered with adv. map and connected Pallet Town with a new map to the right, but ever since I did that (And if I play my game I can go to that map and back without a problem) every time I go to a different map a notification appears saying "Access violation at address 004C1523 in module 'advance map exe.' Read of address 00000310" And I cannot acces my map connections editor anymore...

Could anyone help with this?
I think you might have accidentally broken something. Try restarting, and if you have any special maps you NEEED to save just go ahead and save them as a .map file (on the File menu, etc.)

I'm sorry...it's just sometimes (as we don't know everything) the programs go KABLOOIE and you need to start all over again.
__________________
did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
o i forgot 5
uraqt


Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 06:27 AM.