Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #20976    
Old April 10th, 2012 (06:45 AM).
pikachuFan50's Avatar
pikachuFan50
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: May 2010
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by redriders180:
It's your script offset...It's 0x18D2F018, which doesn't exist in the rom. The newer Advance Map supports 8 digit offsets, so when you highlighted the whole space, and copied in a 6 digit offset, it copied the six characters, and then the first two characters again to make 8. Try making it 0x0018D2F0
i will thx.and does the offset has to be hexadecimal or decimal?
  #20977    
Old April 10th, 2012 (06:46 AM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by pikachuFan50:
i will thx.and does the offset has to be hexadecimal or decimal?
Hexadecimal. I have to fill the rest of this message with nonsense to get over the 25 character limit, so apologies for that
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #20978    
Old April 10th, 2012 (07:38 AM). Edited April 10th, 2012 by DaleH771.
DaleH771's Avatar
DaleH771
I know who you are.
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Gender: Male
Right, Ive searched everywhere and I can not find an XSE download that actually works? Most are con methods to get me to download something else and arent actually real, and all the ones on here are broken. I just need to script ONE Gym Leader before I can release the Beta of my game damn it.... thanks

If its easier however, a Gym Leader script that works with PokeScript will be fine instead thanks!

Right, Ive searched everywhere and I can not find an XSE download that actually works? Most are con methods to get me to download something else and arent actually real, and all the ones on here are broken. I just need to script ONE Gym Leader before I can release the Beta of my game damn it.... thanks

If its easier however, a Gym Leader script that works with PokeScript will be fine instead thanks!
  #20979    
Old April 10th, 2012 (08:18 AM).
pikachuFan50's Avatar
pikachuFan50
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: May 2010
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by redriders180:
Hexadecimal. I have to fill the rest of this message with nonsense to get over the 25 character limit, so apologies for that
ok thx
.but i kinda dont know what do i have to put in advance map so plz explain me the whole process after i write the script
  #20980    
Old April 10th, 2012 (10:14 AM).
AyakaChan's Avatar
AyakaChan
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Gender: Female
Hi again, I hope you don't forget my last question it's really important, I know have another problem T____T;;

In the game there is a cave, and I want to make more maps to make the cave big but when I try to add a map it is added "PALLET TOWN"
Why is this happening? D:
__________________
  #20981    
Old April 10th, 2012 (10:25 AM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by AyakaChan:
Hi again, I hope you don't forget my last question it's really important, I know have another problem T____T;;

In the game there is a cave, and I want to make more maps to make the cave big but when I try to add a map it is added "PALLET TOWN"
Why is this happening? D:
The map has to have a name, so it gives the first one in index, which is Pallet Town. Change it by going to the "Header" tab, clicking the dropdown that says "Pallet Town", and selecting another name. It won't show up as the official name immediately, but hitting F5 will show the change.

Quote originally posted by pikachuFan50:
ok thx
.but i kinda dont know what do i have to put in advance map so plz explain me the whole process after i write the script
You had the process correct. When inserting the script, just highlight the last six zeroes and paste over it, instead of highlighting all eight.

Quote originally posted by DaleH771:
Right, Ive searched everywhere and I can not find an XSE download that actually works? Most are con methods to get me to download something else and arent actually real, and all the ones on here are broken. I just need to script ONE Gym Leader before I can release the Beta of my game damn it.... thanks

If its easier however, a Gym Leader script that works with PokeScript will be fine instead thanks!

Right, Ive searched everywhere and I can not find an XSE download that actually works? Most are con methods to get me to download something else and arent actually real, and all the ones on here are broken. I just need to script ONE Gym Leader before I can release the Beta of my game damn it.... thanks

If its easier however, a Gym Leader script that works with PokeScript will be fine instead thanks!
Most of the links around here are probably dying, since Megaupload closed down, and other sites are starting to limit downloading. Anyway, but here is a copy of XSE for you. Courtesy of the great Hackmew!
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #20982    
Old April 10th, 2012 (12:18 PM).
Rumille's Avatar
Rumille
Togepi
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Gender: Male
Is there a way to change the starting position at the beginning of the game? So you start in a certain map.
  #20983    
Old April 10th, 2012 (12:53 PM).
droomph's Avatar
droomph
mmm gurl that 90s
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: bar'jách
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Search up "SMCA", and if you're using RSE also search up "Truck Remover".
__________________
did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
o i forgot 5
uraqt


  #20984    
Old April 10th, 2012 (02:09 PM).
Rumille's Avatar
Rumille
Togepi
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Gender: Male
The problem with SMCA is that I can't seem to set an 'Y'-position. Only the X. What's up with that?
  #20985    
Old April 10th, 2012 (02:58 PM).
sonic1's Avatar
sonic1
ASM is my life now...
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Portugal
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Quote originally posted by Rumille:
The problem with SMCA is that I can't seem to set an 'Y'-position. Only the X. What's up with that?
Code:
080549F8 @ =============== S U B R O U T I N E =======================================
080549F8
080549F8
080549F8 sub_080549F8:                           @ CODE XREF: new_game+CAp
080549F8
080549F8 var_8           = -8
080549F8
080549F8                 PUSH    {LR}
080549FA                 SUB     SP, SP, #4
080549FC                 MOVS    R2, #1
080549FE                 NEGS    R2, R2
08054A00                 MOVS    R0, #6
08054A02                 STR     R0, [SP,#8+var_8]
08054A04                 MOVS    R0, #4
08054A06                 MOVS    R1, #1
08054A08                 MOVS    R3, #6
08054A0A                 BL      sub_0805538C
08054A0E                 BL      load_warp_map
08054A12                 ADD     SP, SP, #4
08054A14                 POP     {R0}
08054A16                 BX      R0
08054A16 @ End of function sub_080549F8
Thing is that the coordinate Y is stored in stack.

To customize the Y coordinate, go to offset 0x054A00 in an hex editor and change the 06 to what you want to be the Y coordinate.

~Sonic1
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
over 350px high
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
  #20986    
Old April 11th, 2012 (07:32 AM).
pikachuFan50's Avatar
pikachuFan50
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: May 2010
Gender: Male
still doesn't work h t t p: //youtu.be/rId6cQkv6tY
  #20987    
Old April 11th, 2012 (07:45 AM).
Magic's Avatar
Magic
キュウコン
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by pikachuFan50:
still doesn't work h t t p: //youtu.be/rId6cQkv6tY
There's nothing wrong with your script, so I can only imagine it's your dynamic.

Always use dynamic 0x800000 (or some people use 0x740000 but the first is easier to remember). Free space finder is redundant, and what you're overwriting may not actually be free space.

If that doesn't work, try decompiling the script (from A-Map) and see if it's the same as the original.
__________________
Looking for spriters/pixel artists for a ROM hacking project.
ENQUIRE WITHIN
  #20988    
Old April 11th, 2012 (08:42 AM).
pikachuFan50's Avatar
pikachuFan50
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: May 2010
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by SwiftSign:
There's nothing wrong with your script, so I can only imagine it's your dynamic.

Always use dynamic 0x800000 (or some people use 0x740000 but the first is easier to remember). Free space finder is redundant, and what you're overwriting may not actually be free space.

If that doesn't work, try decompiling the script (from A-Map) and see if it's the same as the original.
whatcha mean by decompiling.and if i always use 0x800000 how am i gonna write the other scripts i mean they have to have diferent offsets.right?
  #20989    
Old April 11th, 2012 (08:49 AM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by pikachuFan50:
whatcha mean by decompiling.and if i always use 0x800000 how am i gonna write the other scripts i mean they have to have diferent offsets.right?
#dynamic 0x800000 means that XSE will calculate how many bytes you need, search for the free space, and insert it where it will fit. It starts searching at 0x800000, and keeps searching until it finds enough free space, and then puts the script there. Basically, just always put #dynamic 0x800000 at the top, then begin writing the script.

PS: You're compiling a script in a very roundabout fashion. All you need to do is write the script, and hit the button with two gears. (when you mouseover, it says compile). And you don't need to save the script either.

Decompiling is when you open the script from Advance Map, i.e. double clicking the event and opening up its event in XSE.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #20990    
Old April 11th, 2012 (08:58 AM).
pikachuFan50's Avatar
pikachuFan50
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: May 2010
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by redriders180:
#dynamic 0x800000 means that XSE will calculate how many bytes you need, search for the free space, and insert it where it will fit. It starts searching at 0x800000, and keeps searching until it finds enough free space, and then puts the script there. Basically, just always put #dynamic 0x800000 at the top, then begin writing the script.

PS: You're compiling a script in a very roundabout fashion. All you need to do is write the script, and hit the button with two gears. (when you mouseover, it says compile). And you don't need to save the script either.

Decompiling is when you open the script from Advance Map, i.e. double clicking the event and opening up its event in XSE.
nad so when i click compile in xse i copy the one that is highlited?
  #20991    
Old April 11th, 2012 (09:01 AM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by pikachuFan50:
nad so when i click compile in xse i copy the one that is highlited?
Correct. Just make sure you start at #org 0x800000 always.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #20992    
Old April 11th, 2012 (09:07 AM).
pikachuFan50's Avatar
pikachuFan50
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: May 2010
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by redriders180:
Correct. Just make sure you start at #org 0x800000 always.
#org or #dynamic ??????????????????????????????????
  #20993    
Old April 11th, 2012 (09:21 AM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by pikachuFan50:
#org or #dynamic ??????????????????????????????????
My bad. #dynamic is what you want.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #20994    
Old April 11th, 2012 (09:22 AM).
pikachuFan50's Avatar
pikachuFan50
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: May 2010
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by redriders180:
My bad. #dynamic is what you want.
and umm i still don't understand about xse finding free space how am i going to know hwat offset it is?
  #20995    
Old April 11th, 2012 (09:34 AM).
droomph's Avatar
droomph
mmm gurl that 90s
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: bar'jách
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Choose a spot, and #dynamic will find the closest area of free space to that spot for you, so you don't have to worry about that.
__________________
did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
o i forgot 5
uraqt


  #20996    
Old April 11th, 2012 (09:38 AM).
pikachuFan50's Avatar
pikachuFan50
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: May 2010
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by droomph:
Choose a spot, and #dynamic will find the closest area of free space to that spot for you, so you don't have to worry about that.
POTATO.i suck hahah.what do you mean chose a spot.can u show a pic or sumting.english isnt my native language and im 13.so i dont really understand much
  #20997    
Old April 11th, 2012 (09:52 AM).
droomph's Avatar
droomph
mmm gurl that 90s
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: bar'jách
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
So like,
Code:
#dynamic 0x800000
means that it will search from offset 0x800000, and from there, it looks for a certain amount of repetitions of a certain byte, usually 0xFF. Once it finds a string of that byte long enough it will compile the script there.
__________________
did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
o i forgot 5
uraqt


  #20998    
Old April 11th, 2012 (09:54 AM).
pikachuFan50's Avatar
pikachuFan50
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: May 2010
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by droomph:
So like,
Code:
#dynamic 0x800000
means that it will search from offset 0x800000, and from there, it looks for a certain amount of repetitions of a certain byte, usually 0xFF. Once it finds a string of that byte long enough it will compile the script there.
yeah.but what do i write into A-MAP
  #20999    
Old April 11th, 2012 (09:55 AM).
droomph's Avatar
droomph
mmm gurl that 90s
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: bar'jách
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
When you compile the script, it will give you a certain offset. You copy that offset over to Amap.
__________________
did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
o i forgot 5
uraqt


  #21000    
Old April 11th, 2012 (10:17 AM).
pikachuFan50's Avatar
pikachuFan50
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: May 2010
Gender: Male
hmm still doesnt work.this is the script

#dynamic 0x800000
#org @start
lock
faceplayer
msgbox @talk 0x6
release
end
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 02:10 PM.